Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dope Heads (the New BESS Heads)

• 31-01-2006 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭

Wandering through campus the other day, coming in the nassau street entrance. There were two people on the wall by the entrance to the Arts Block (in full view) rolling a joint. Not hiding anything in any way. Seemed a bit 'over-obvious'. Do the security guards turn a blind eye to that type of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

No they dont.

Ps if it bothers you, why didn't you walk over and crab the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Wandering through campus the other day, coming in the nassau street entrance. There were two people on the wall by the entrance to the Arts Block (in full view) rolling a joint. Not hiding anything in any way. Seemed a bit 'over-obvious'. Do the security guards turn a blind eye to that type of thing?
    Nope, I got arrested for something like this in college (was in a more secluded area) in the earlier non drug-free days. I don't see why rolling offends you, it's more the smoking in confined spaces (the ****ing 13A) that you should be worried about. For some reason skangers are in such a hurry they have to have a smoke on the bus (maybe they have an urgent appointment with a car stereo). I'm sometimes in a hurry to take a dump or exercise other bodily functions, which I believe to be more important than the need for any sort of unnecessary (and offensive to the lungs) consumption. I reckon I should do just that. onto the bastards' laps. Retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Dead Ed wrote:
    Nope, I got arrested for something like this in college (was in a more secluded area) in the earlier non drug-free days. I don't see why rolling offends you, it's more the smoking in confined spaces (the ****ing 13A) that you should be worried about. For some reason skangers are in such a hurry they have to have a smoke on the bus (maybe they have an urgent appointment with a car stereo). I'm sometimes in a hurry to take a dump or exercise other bodily functions, which I believe to be more important than the need for any sort of unnecessary (and offensive to the lungs) consumption. I reckon I should do just that. onto the bastards' laps. Retards.
    Everything in the above post I have to say I personally agree with, and then you go and call them "retards". A bit ignorant don't ya' think? Sounds like skanger talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

ah now, people who smoke on buses (or in some cases, smoke heroin) deserve absolutely NO respect. in any way. my only issue is that that comment is demeaning to the mentally disabled :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

"...I don't see why rolling offends you" (posted by Dead Ed)

But isn't using recreational drugs illegal in Ireland?

Surely the same attitude would apply as with other crimes such as shoplifting or assault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Thirdfox wrote:

Surely the same attitude would apply as with other crimes such as shoplifting or assault?
    Indeed, using cannabis is involving yourself in a criminal culture that as McDowell said, at the top has people murdering each other so anybody with any morale values should be bothered by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

I'm a bess head, where is the new clique so I can push them out?:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Dead Ed wrote:
    Nope, I got arrested for something like this in college (was in a more secluded area) in the earlier non drug-free days.
    Ah yes.. that wasn't fun. Least you didn't get strip searched though mate. For some-reason they fingered me (not literally) as the instigator. :rolleyes:
    Thirdfox wrote:

Surely you can see the difference? The law sees things in black and white, people don't.
    I'm a bess head
    Figured as much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

I'm a bess head, where is the new clique so I can push them out?:mad: :mad: :mad:

hate that!

Just to point out the law doesn't see things as black and white (or else we wouldn't have civil law cases :p )

So... smoking cannabis is socially/ethically/morally(?) acceptable, murder less so and paedophilia gets you killed in prison... interesting.

However I was just making the point that I would have a problem seeing people taking illegal drugs right in the open, without a care in the world.

*edit* typoooooooooooooo

Thirdfox wrote:
    However I was just making the point that I would have a problem seeing people taking illegal drugs right in the open, without a care in the world.
    Why? Does it affect you or anybody any way? It's termed as a victimless crime. Do you think that legal and ethically wrong are mutually exclusive?

Personally, in absolute terms, I don't see the difference between somebody lighting a cigarette or drinking a can outside without a care in the world. None are entirely appealing, but they aren't offensive. What if you saw somebody copying cds on their laptop in the library, would this similarly offend you?

Thirdfox wrote:

well, I don't think there's any comparison between rolling a joint and smackin someone over the head with a brick or looting their shop. The "illegal" connection you made is a bit ridiculous in this case and all you need to do is look away. You can't shut your lungs, however (without the obvious happening).

cianclarke wrote:
    Everything in the above post I have to say I personally agree with, and then you go and call them "retards". A bit ignorant don't ya' think? Sounds like skanger talk.
    Well, there's obviously some retardation (?) in their mental development if they think smoking a joint on a bus is in any way (I ain't gonna put the word cool in inverted commas 'cos I'll be up there with the moral brigade but you know what I mean). If the term retard offends you, I'll call them "cuntflaps" (ever see that countdown episode [I reckon it was a skit though]). Seven letters on a screen shouldn't be any form of issue for anyone apart from some sort of rigorous nitpicker.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Ah yes.. that wasn't fun. Least you didn't get strip searched though mate. For some-reason they fingered me (not literally) as the instigator. :rolleyes:

Surely you can see the difference? The law sees things in black and white, people don't.

Figured as much
    I DID get bloody stripsearched, it was yannick that didn'e (possibly because of being tin TAP. Seemingly the government even bribes the police on their behalf. Damn freeloaders. I don't get paid for being from longford, do I? *****.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Why? Does it affect you or anybody any way? It's termed as a victimless crime. Do you think that legal and ethically wrong are mutually exclusive?

Personally, in absolute terms, I don't see the difference between somebody lighting a cigarette or drinking a can outside without a care in the world. None are entirely appealing, but they aren't offensive. What if you saw somebody copying cds on their laptop in the library, would this similarly offend you?

Did I hear correctly? You say the drugs trade is a victimless crime? I wouldn't agree with that statement at all. As a fellow poster has said people get murdered in the drug trade and in fact if you murder someone while under a the influence of drugs you could get your sentence downgraded to manslaughter - that does concern me (and others too I would think).

To answer your question yes it does affect people who are not using the drugs, and if I wanted to be pedantic I could say it affects me too as the Government is forced to spend money and prosecuting and detecting drugs, money that could be spent on education, health, roads etc.

Intellectual property rights are a tricky issue and I would agree that many people don't respect copyright laws... but no-one ends up murdered because of it (to my knowledge).

Thirdfox wrote:
    Did I hear correctly? You say the drugs trade is a victimless crime? I wouldn't agree with that statement at all.
    You're mincing my words. I didn't say "drugs trade". I spoke of the use of soft drugs. Say somebody grew it in their garden and then smoked it. Would it be so offensive to you then? In fact you could say this government's harsh policy on soft drugs directly contributes to the unpleasant element of the drugs trade.
    Thirdfox wrote:
    in fact if you murder someone while under a the influence of drugs you could get your sentence downgraded to manslaughter - that does concern me (and others too I would think).
    You seemingly don't know much about cannabis. I say this because if you're using that^^ as a case against it then alcohol has 10^3 times more to answer for.
    Thirdfox wrote:
    To answer your question yes it does affect people who are not using the drugs, and if I wanted to be pedantic I could say it affects me too as the Government is forced to spend money and prosecuting and detecting drugs, money that could be spent on education, health, roads etc.
    You're correct, it is quite pedantic. But if you accept it as an argument, then it really just is another reason why the policy needs to be changed. :) You probably know more about this than me: small possession offenses warrent prosecution right? This is ridiculous, even the garda realise that as they almost never charge anybody with small possession offenses, trust me.
    Thirdfox wrote:
    Intellectual property rights are a tricky issue and I would agree that many people don't respect copyright laws... but no-one ends up murdered because of it (to my knowledge).
    You'd be surprised... DVD copying rings are as involved in underworld criminality as cannabis trade I'd wager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ApeXaviour wrote:
    You'd be surprised... DVD copying rings are as involved in underworld criminality as cannabis trade I'd wager.
    Hate to kinda go against you there, but your not comparing like with like. You've just elevated the copying cd's up to its highest and most illegal/organised form. If you were to apply the same to drugs you would be talking about major coke importers and gangs who are likely quite well ahead of there peers in the dvd copying trade in that regard too...

If you want to argue the point you'd have to stick to a few people rolling a joint vs someone copying a cd in the library or using kazaa on their laptops...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

Today is a sad day ..............for the first time in the countrys history it is now ILLEGAL to have any funky mushrooms dried wet or having your go on them

Shocking that booze is still not recoginised as the far worser drug.

Dam religous nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Thirdfox wrote:

The Nurenberg Laws made it illegal for a Jew to marry a non-Jew in Germany. If you were around back then, would it have offended you, to see a Jew marry a non-Jew ? After all it's a crime, just like shoplifting or assault. Or to take a less extreme example, would it have offended you to see an irish couple using contraception before it was legal?

Personally I think them people are stupid for doing it. I don't do drugs (well alcohol) but if I did I wouldn't do it in such an obvious place, flippin heck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

ApeXaviour wrote:
    You're mincing my words. I didn't say "drugs trade". I spoke of the use of soft drugs. Say somebody grew it in their garden and then smoked it. Would it be so offensive to you then? In fact you could say this government's harsh policy on soft drugs directly contributes to the unpleasant element of the drugs trade.

Maybe the Dope heads need to get together with some of the botany crew.

(disclaimer: i'm not implying that any botany students grow illegal drugs, but that they would have the skills to do so if so inclined)

Interesting points have been raised here about the ethics of buying illegal drugs - i wonder how many of the SU members who voted in favour of banning coca cola products from the SU shop due to ethical issues with the corporation's alleged behaviour in Colombia apply the same principles to drugs? There's no such thing as Fair Trade cocaine or cannabis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

I will behave, i will behave (repeat 20times) [insulting people bold.]

Putting it up there with paedophilia is laughable and someone quoting a line from McDowell. Jesus im glad I was exposed to some stuff people call unfortunate.

What makes us naive?

"dope heads" is all im going to say in reply to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

I personally didn't see anything wrong with them sitting down and having a smoke of whatever they like. Was just surprised that they did it so openly and obviously...

...although there is no denying that it is linked to more serious crime, through filtering main economy money into the underground/criminal economy.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    You seemingly don't know much about cannabis. I say this because if you're using that^^ as a case against it then alcohol has 10^3 times more to answer for.

Alcohol isn't allowed as a defence due to social policy reasons... although if you got really plastered... and had a good lawyer - who knows? ;)
    Or to take a less extreme example, would it have offended you to see an irish couple using contraception before it was legal?

No it would not have offended me, the fact that it is a crime would have though. But that just means I would support people campaigning to abolish that law (just as people are campaigning to legalise cannabis). Just because I have one certain set of ethical/moral values to one "crime" does not mean I have the same attitude to another crime.

Personally I think them people are stupid for doing it. I don't do drugs (well alcohol) but if I did I wouldn't do it in such an obvious place, flippin heck.
    I had a large and elaborate response prepared but I deemed it not worth my while to comment........................................ ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

cuckoo wrote:
    Maybe the Dope heads need to get together with some of the botany crew.

(disclaimer: i'm not implying that any botany students grow illegal drugs, but that they would have the skills to do so if so inclined)

Interesting points have been raised here about the ethics of buying illegal drugs - i wonder how many of the SU members who voted in favour of banning coca cola products from the SU shop due to ethical issues with the corporation's alleged behaviour in Colombia apply the same principles to drugs? There's no such thing as Fair Trade cocaine or cannabis.
    I have a huge problem with fair trade.............. hippies

you strike me as a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

The Nurenberg Laws
    eh i cant believe that you think your comparing like with like. nazi germany = not a morally acceptable society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

eh i cant believe that you think your comparing like with like. nazi germany = not a morally acceptable society.

But dude, like is there such a thing as morals? Or morally acceptable? Like dude, is there even a society?

[/sarcasm]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

But dude, like is there such a thing as morals? Or morally acceptable?
    Just because you're a deontologist...

Dead Ed wrote:
    you strike me as a tosser.
    I have no memory of writing that. got a hangover though...

Ha, I was (trying to) be funny when I said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭HusseinSarhan

Are you sure it was a joint? Already this year a guy I was walking with past the same place said "Wow, they are all just so blatant, smoking joints out here" or spmething to that effect. Of course in that case it was just tobacco. I can't imagine anyone rolling a joint in the arts block entrance. I think some non-smokers maybe forget people don't all smoke fags out of a carton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I have to say I agree with ThirdFox on every point. While I generally don't have a problem with people smoking dope in the presense, dope money does support organised crime. Probably allot more then coke of heroine since it's use is allot higher. Argue all you want about the laws being retarded and how it should be legalised, but theres not escaping that fact.

I've noticed of late that coke has now become a sort of recreational drug of choice. With people coming out with "I did afew lines" all over the place likes it's nothing. It was this realisation more then anything that has established my attitudes on hash, not because of it's dangers, but because of what it is, the tine edge of a wedge that is slowly allowing more and more drug use to become acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Enigma365

So is speeding and littering. I dont think hash should be legal but I dont think it a serious problem in our society. If you get offended over people rolling a joint...then whatever. I'm sure you must be horrified everytime you see someone driving at 43 kmph in a 40kmph zone.

I don't like seeing people litter either... but that is also to do with a lack of bins in the area (still can't people just hold onto it for a while longer? - They have been holding it already!)

43 kmph in a 40 kmph zone? I do believe that the law is that you are allowed a certain leeway of 5 mph (don't know what the new kmph limitation is) when driving.

However I must point out that having a view on one issue doesn't necessarily mean I will have the same view on another (as each case is different to each person).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭the smiley one

I'm going to have to agree with Thirdfox here (and not just becuase he's in my class...:p )....erm....yeah Woot Thirdfox!

Woot indeed! Glad to find that someone doesn't think I talk absolute nonsense! :)