Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pps numbers for polish people!!

• 30-01-2006 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

I heard that they are not issuing any more polish people a pps number as there are too many of them coming in to work here. Did anyone else here anything about this or is total crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

koolkat wrote:
    I heard that they are not issuing any more polish people a pps number as there are too many of them coming in to work here. Did anyone else here anything about this or is total crap?

No and yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I heard they Department of Social Welfare local offices are rounding them all up and selling them off to pet food makers! OMG LIKE!!!!

On a more serious note: ever thinking of picking up the phone and asking the local office?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Actually it may have been a misinterpretation of the following news item from
    the Irish Times today.
    Organised network dealing in fake PPS numbers
    Report warns of ‘huge trade’ in P45s and certs
    Carl O’Brien, Social Affairs Correspondent
    Internal investigations at the Department of Social and Family Affairs have uncovered a significant level of fraud in the use of bogus Personal Public Service (PPS) numbers to claim welfare benefits or bypass the work permit system.

A report into identity fraud, obtained by The Irish Times under the Freedom of Information Act, found there was an organised network which involved “huge trade” in genuine documents, such as P45s, tax credit certs and social services cards, in order to obtain PPS numbers.

It warned that growing evidence of identity fraud could lead to a “lack of confidence” in the PPS system, which is used to help open bank accounts and obtain credit cards.

The Southern Region ID Project report, completed at the end of 2004, warns: “Many other cases of ID fraud have been encountered and will continue. The influx of new immigrants from the new EU members states has brought new problems and there is a need for constant updates . . . As a department our first line of defence in this area is at the PPS No. issue stage.”

The report called for a multiagency taskforce to deal with ID fraud and warned that many cases of fraud reached no conclusion as individuals involved “simply disappeared”.

The number of PPS numbers allocated to foreign nationals has been increasing dramatically, especially since the accession of eastern European countries in May 2004.

Latest estimates show around 166,000 PPS numbers were allocated to migrant workers from accession countries since accession.

In 2000 a report suggested the State was losing between €25 million and €50 million as a result of such identity fraud. In a statement to this newspaper, the department said the estimate was “highly speculative and based on the possibility of fraudulent claiming rather than actual experience”.

Also, figures supplied to The Irish Times shows there has been a significant increase in the number of cases of suspected fraud being investigated by the department.

In 2002, the department’s Client Identity Service Control, which monitors identity fraud issues, examined 635 cases of suspected fraud, 204 of which were found fraudulent.

These fraud cases resulted in 12 arrests.

Last year the same section investigated 1,393 cases of suspected fraud, 377 of which were found to be fraudulent. This resulted in 94 arrests.

A more detailed analysis of fraudulent cases for 2004 shows that 303 of the applications were from non-nationals who presented false/forged documents purporting to be from EU states, 20 were other non-national documents and one was Irish documentation.

Much of the kind of fraud identified in the 2004 report documented the use of false passports to obtain PPS numbers, other false ID cards, and the use of bogus UK and French ID cards.

The report involved the investigation of eight companies in the south of the country, where it was known there were high proportions of non-nationals.

In one company survey, six of the seven employees were found to be using false IDs.

“The common factor . . . was that employers demanded very little by way of verification of identity.

“As long as the employee was able to provide a P45, PPS (number) or tax certificate, the employer presumed their identity was okay and that they were allowed to work.”

Employers who require just P45s or PPS numbers have more false ID workers than those who have more stringent controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i hear they're rounding them up and putting them on trains to a ghetto. anyone else getting deja vu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They're actually taking the Nazi stance and tattooing serial numbers onto all the polish. That's why they're not getting PPSNs anymore.

Seriously, where do people get this crap from? Builders telling stories over the 9.30 tea break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

tis feckin mad how many they are letting into the country though the eceonomy can only look after so many people yet there just seems to be a constant stream of foreigners in here and not half as many fo us are leaving so im not sure how thats going to work out and im sure as hell not moving to poland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

i'd love to move to poland. its so cheap, and they have snow.

have you ever thought that maybe, just maybe, that the polish people come here to work, to make money to send home to provide for their families? polish people, and all other nationalities for that matter, are all willing to work in jobs that irish people aren't willing to do, and they're willing to work in them for lower than the irish people. think about it, if you're an employer, would you prefer to have a polish person who get the job done, doesn't complain about it, and is willing to work for minimum wage? or have an irish person who moans all day, half does the job and constantly looks for more money?
    irish people say they need more money to live in ireland, but polish people can come here, rent houses, live, AND send money home. irish people just don't do that.
    and do you think americans complain every summer when 1000's of irish students flock there for the summer to do j1's? or that they complain when people who emigrate to try find a better life go there to make that life?
    ARGH! people like you just really p1ss me off. and i bet you're one of the ones that doesn't want the queen in your country.

eh hello calm yourself ive no problem with polish people or the fact that they come here to work and provide for their families etc. (read th epost, think then answer) i know lots and they are all very nice my question is where do we fit everyone? not just the polish people but everyone (irish, lithuanian, nigerian, african etc) we havent exacly got the biggest country now have we and theres barely enough houses as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

eh hello calm yourself ive no problem with polish people or the fact that they come here to work and provide for their families etc. (read th epost, think then answer) i know lots and they are all very nice my question is where do we fit everyone? not just the polish people but everyone (irish, lithuanian, nigerian, african etc) we havent exacly got the biggest country now have we and theres barely enough houses as it is
    Where to we fit everyone? No idea; and as long as ever other arsehole insists on living in a one off house with room for a pony out back, I don't see an answer anytime soon either...

hardly want to live in a lego box either though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Doctor Fell

xenophobic rant.......

Wow, what a well reasoned opinion. Where, to start:

there's nothing mad about the amount of people coming here. Immigrants come here to work because we have the highest employment rate in EU, and we are a rich country, compared to e.g. Poland with massive unemployment. That's fairly logical, don't u think?
    And it's not a matter of letting them in - they're entitled to come here, just like Irish people are entitled to travel elsewhere.
    U also said Ireland isn't big enough - really???***!!! 150 years ago Ireland had a population of 8 million, so I wouldn't start getting worried yet. U also said where to put them???? U don't put them anywhere- these are people who come here to work, so they find their own accomodation just like normal people, surprisingly.
    You're attitude is very xenophobic, and don't bother protesting, you know it is. I'm not insulting your intelligence, but if you don't know what it means look it up in the dictionary - it's beside racist.
    Oh yeah, I seriously doubt u know loads of Poles like u said. If u did I'm quite sure you wouldn't be portraying them as "a constant stream of foreigners".

And by the way, if I wanted your ass, luck would have nothing to do with it, you small minded ignoramus. Go on, dig ur hole deeper by making some horrific and ignorant comeback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭killeoin

Welcome to our country....I for one hope you enjoy it here.
    best of luck.

killeoin wrote:
    Welcome to our country....I for one hope you enjoy it here.
    best of luck.

Don't know if ur being sarky or not, but I'm Irish mate. would of that was fairly obvious....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭killeoin

Don't know if ur being sarky or not, but I'm Irish mate. would of that was fairly obvious....

umm....sorry! Waz actually being serious!
    Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

tis feckin mad how many they are letting into the country though the eceonomy can only look after so many people yet there just seems to be a constant stream of foreigners in here and not half as many fo us are leaving so im not sure how thats going to work out and im sure as hell not moving to poland

Are you on drugs? The Polish cannot claim any social assistance (the dole) when they arrive in this country. They either work and pay taxes, or don't work and die of starvation, or go back to Poland.

Or maybe your comment about us not leaving means that you're talking about physical living space? In that case we'll put Corporal Willie O'Dea out in the airport with a megaphone shouting "NO! GO HOME! THERE'S NO SPACE LEFT! YOU'LL BURST THE COUNTRY!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

I heard they Department of Social Welfare local offices are rounding them all up and selling them off to pet food makers!

hmmmmm Polish Sausage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

150 years ago Ireland had a population of 8 million, so I wouldn't start getting worried yet.

You forget we also lived 16 people 2 pigs and a couple of chickens to a room and in crushing poverty at the time....

BuffyBot wrote:
    You forget we also lived 16 people 2 pigs and a couple of chickens to a room and in crushing poverty at the time....

Mmm, slight exagerration there pal. And with the massive technological advances etc, improved engineering and what not, I'd say we could accomodate a lot more. Do u seriosly think we're stuck for space in this country???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

just drive anywhere outside of dublin. what do you see? fields! oodles of space.

Doctor fell lets face it no matter what I wrtite and in what forum you always have a problem with it. congrats your the first person on my ignore list. Considering you have no way to know how many people I know or where from most of your arguement is as usual, pointless. At the moment theres a housing crisis in Ireland prices are rising continuously and this gets worse day by day. I live in a village where for the last 20 years nothing has been built except house thousand upon thousands of them no facilities of course and no sign of any to come and now the number of people in the country keeps growing and growing so this trend will continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

nothing has been built but thousands and thousands of houses? weird way to make a point.
    anyway, relax. The Poles are not here to take anything from you, they are just here to work and make a bit of money. They don't want to evict you or anything. live and let live mate.

grand I will live ye with one final thoght though - heres another aspect of it all - forget PPs numbers how many people come into th county have no drivers licence or insurance? this worries me a lot as I know 2 people recnently who were in accidents only to discover that the peopel driving the other car had no tax, insurance or a licence. Im not making this up a mate used to work in a place where everyone had come in from other countrys, only about 5 irish guys in the place and basically they would all buy a car between them and only one of them had a licence and they all drove it! One got caught and was put in jail for a whole 3 days... 3 days what woul dhappen if one of us got caught doing that? If you wanna have plenty of people coming in here fine but they shoul dbe obeying the legal rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

my advice - worry about yourself. Leave the policing to the guards. You are not obliged to insure your car here until you've been here six months. If you are in a crash with an uninsured driver - whether Irish or not - you'll be compensated by the motor insurance board, who will get the money back from a similar body in the country of the uninsured driver (if they are not Irish). Just the same as if you had a crash uninsured abroad.
    as I know 2 people recnently who were in accidents only to discover that the peopel driving the other car had no tax, insurance or a licence. Im not making this up a mate used to work in a place where everyone had come in from other countrys, only about 5 irish guys in the place and basically they would all buy a car between them and only one of them had a licence and they all drove it! One got caught and was put in jail for a whole 3 days... 3 days what woul dhappen if one of us got caught doing that? If you wanna have plenty of people coming in here fine but they shoul dbe obeying the legal rules

Probably if an Irish person got caught, the same (or actually less) would happen. I'm sure you've never broken a rule in your life, but I guess if you have its ok because it's your country after all. People break the law all the time, Irish and Foreign. Its frustrating, but its unfair to single out non-nationals as being worse than the Irish - unless you can support your argument with hard facts, don't bother making them. We've all got mates with mad stories. Live your own life, follow the rules and don't be worrying about what anyone else is getting away with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

Hey Siog you know i like you so this is not a personal attack but Your wrong as regards Immmigrants into this country, the simple fact is that they are actually driving our economy. WE need a work force to continue our expansion, in a word we need a population boom.
    As regards where are we going to fit we just need to build, take Holland for example they have 16 million people in an area the same size as leinster. Once the infastructure is in place we can support millions more we have no problem in regards to producing enough energy or water resevres..we are blessed.
    I know you didnt say anything racist so for Doctor fell to label you a Xenophobe is wrong..from what i can see alll you said was were we would we put them.
    In regard to the driving issue this needs to be addresed, but in fairness we are still developing our policies. this is a new era in irish history and IMO a change for the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

toffeapple wrote:
    I know you didnt say anything racist so for Doctor fell to label you a Xenophobe is wrong..from what i can see alll you said was were we would we put them.

Xenophobia is a fear of foreigners. Nothing to do with racism.

The posters comments have not been racist, but have been xenophobic. "Where will we put them" suggests a fear of foreigners.

Doctor fell lets face it no matter what I wrtite and in what forum you always have a problem with it.

Now you are really losing the run of yourself. I've never posted in another Forum with u, ever. If you mean other threads, I have only ever posted once in a seperate thread, and that was when I didn't agree with your point of view. I didn't even respond to your childish comebacks at the time. So let's not exaggerate things. If you want to ignore me, go for it, but remember I'm not the only one (look at the other posts) who disagrees with you on this. I'm not even going to dignify the ridiculous "I had a friend who knows foreigners are bad people etc" rant with a response. You probably can't read this now anyway, but just wanted to set the record straight.

And also toffeapple, as BendiBus pointed out I stand by my claim she's a xenophobe. Her posts clearly show she is afraid of foreigners, so point proven really. I didn't say she is racist, I said xenophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

Now you are really losing the run of yourself. I've never posted in another Forum with u, ever. If you mean other threads, I have only ever posted once in a seperate thread, and that was when I didn't agree with your point of view. I didn't even respond to your childish comebacks at the time. So let's not exaggerate things. If you want to ignore me, go for it, but remember I'm not the only one (look at the other posts) who disagrees with you on this. I'm not even going to dignify the ridiculous "I had a friend who knows foreigners are bad people etc" rant with a response. You probably can't read this now anyway, but just wanted to set the record straight.

And also toffeapple, as BendiBus pointed out I stand by my claim she's a xenophobe. Her posts clearly show she is afraid of foreigners, so point proven really. I didn't say she is racist, I said xenophobic.

Fair enough point taken.

i have no fear of foreigners. I just get annoyed living in a country that doesnt have enough housing as it is and where they are building its building blindly houses upon houses with no facililities no forward planning etc and no more and more people are coming to live here which will surely only make the situation worse and drive the cost of housing up even highter. also bothers me that its okay to come over here and drive with no insurance and no driving licence for 6 months very safe!