Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thanks for all the support last night...

• 30-01-2006 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

just wanted to thank every one for all the cheering and the support last night.
    to be honest at one stage i thought i was going to go all the way but then again i guess it wasnt meant to be.
    i was very nervous playing it last night esp in the final table .
    it was closest ive gotten to big money like that and i think it did effect me in the final table.
    any who thanks for the all the support lads.
    should have posted this last night but i was still feeling sick after i saw that 8 show its ugly face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

You played some great Poker and if you were nervous it didn't show in your play. The A8 was just a horrible hand.. How that A rag merchant got that far is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

well done gholi...you played very good agressive poker from what i saw...got too sleepy to wait for the final table.

I know how you feel tho...its not much consolation to finish 6th when you feel its your night...you can appreciate limping in as the small stack to 6th but not going out on a bad beat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Ye brilliant performance Gholi, I had your table open in the backround while I was playing and saw that horrible beat with the 8. You would have had a lovely chance of taking down 1st if that didn't fall.

I was wondering how you got on earlier in the tournament. What type of strategy did you employ in the Re-Buy period, loose and aggressive or were you waiting for big hands to be paid off by the maniac's??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Congrats again......you had the most support on the final table,you would not think that many Boards folk would be still up at that time on a Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You're still buying me a pint though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Ste05 wrote:
    Ye brilliant performance Gholi, I had your table open in the backround while I was playing and saw that horrible beat with the 8. You would have had a lovely chance of taking down 1st if that didn't fall.

I was wondering how you got on earlier in the tournament. What type of strategy did you employ in the Re-Buy period, loose and aggressive or were you waiting for big hands to be paid off by the maniac's??
    in the rebuy i took alot of chances,went in with anything that had potential.
    reraised all in onec with my ATs and the dude had AA.i got 2 Ts and made my stack 8K.
    after the rebuy ,didnt get involved much in pots.a few steals and got up to 14k.
    one big hand came about when i had 98s and raised from mid position .BB called me and pot was about 10k this stage.
    flop was 484 ,he raised and i pushed and he called with 77.that was big pot that put me in the 30 k.to be honest after that i wasnt interested in getting involved in pots at all.just steal steal and more steal.
    some tables got very tight and this was true the shorter the field got.
    reraising pre flop is what really built my stack.
    if i found anything decent in the hole like 78s,T9s,44 anythying at all,i would reraise with them if any one had raised.
    it actually works much better if you reraise than if you raise with them.
    if you raise you have to drop them if you get reraise,but when you come over the top of a raiser then he will not call you unless he has very strong hand.
    some one even told me they dropped QQ after he raised and i reraised with 56 of clubs.it was about 70 ppl left.
    then towards the end when i had a cofortable stack i just loosend up and got to the chip lead position with a few good hands a few lucky suck outs.
    all my luck went out the window though in the final table.:p

Culchie wrote:
    You're still buying me a pint though.
    i deffo am man,
    i was going to on Sat as well but then again i played so bad i just wanted to get outta there and hide my self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

What tourney was this ?

NeVeR wrote:
    What tourney was this ?
    100K on PPP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Gholimoli wrote:
    100K on PPP

Well done Gholi! Bring that baby home!
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

How much did you come out with in the end?

fade2black wrote:
    How much did you come out with in the end?
    4k:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

Well done Gholimoli. I also at one point on the final table had dreams of going all the way. Then reality kicked in. I don't think I would play it different if it happened again though. It was a good night really enjoyed it. Again congrats and hope to see you u at the final table at the next 100k tourney

SirIrish wrote:
    Well done Gholimoli. I also at one point on the final table had dreams of going all the way. Then reality kicked in. I don't think I would play it different if it happened again though. It was a good night really enjoyed it. Again congrats and hope to see you u at the final table at the next 100k tourney
    amen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

yeah again well done both of ye and good post on your style of play gholimoli it kinda confirmed what I thought you were at!