Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A strange and funny hand from last night at the SE

• 27-01-2006 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

Played the SE last night and it was a great night’s fun, had a great laugh
    with loads of players from this forum, so would like to thank them for
    making the night so enjoyable.

The following hand was the hand that got me to the final table, couldn’t
    believe it when I saw it.

I was UTG and the blinds were 600/300, I had pocket 10’s and raised the
    blinds to 1800, player in cut-off position pushes with all his stack which
    is 4.2k, at this stage I was happy for 1 caller, the player on the big blind
    also push, with about 3.6k. Now at this stage I was worried, I could be up
    against a larger pair or 3 to 4 over cards etc. My stack was about 6.2k and
    we were down to the last 17, so the call would nearly get me to the final
    table if I was ahead and held up. The 2nd all-in, really put me off calling
    this, but with 1800 invested I decide to call, hoping I was up against Ace
    rag from the first caller and maybe AK from the 2nd caller leaving them with
    only 5 outs, 2 on the aces and 3 on the kings.

I showed the 10’s the 1st player throws over 77, happy days the 2nd player
    throws over 77. Couldn’t believe it. They had 3 outs on the river for a
    straight but I hit the trip 10’s on the turn. This brought my stack up to
    13.5k which was the biggest stack on the table at this stage and allowed me
    to take the blinds with small pairs or raise’s preflop.

Made it to the final table with about 17.5k and in good shape. Played well
    on the final table, lost a race with my JJ against AK. Won and lost other big pots and made it to the last 3 with about 1 / 3 the chips in
    play.

Prize pool was 2050 and the split was something like this, 850, 550, 300,
    200, 150.

There was a player at the final table who was very rude to most players and
    had a really bad odour, you could smell this guy from 10 yards. He wanted to do a deal and when I said no, he abused me and told me that he’s been playing for 30 years and I would get no extra money etc etc. At this stage I knew he would tighten up and I felt I could out play him preflop. On a steal from the SB with 96 he called and had KQ and took me out as we both
    had +50k in stack size, the blinds at this stage were 4k/8k, so the steal
    was a playable move, so no regrets from my play all night.

It was nice to get into the prize money as it was last September since I
    cash and that was after 4 cash’ in a row, so here’s hoping my luck is back.
    I’m playing VN game on Saturday and might go to the Redcow on the Monday
    night.

But I had a great night and it was very enjoyable. The SE had about 3 / 4
    cash games going and is starting to get a regular crowd and they told me that they are going to start adding money to the prize pools to attract more
    players. Parking is also great, €10 is very good value.

Ollie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭clint_silver

wheres the SE? and come to think of it, where exactly is the fitz as well? cheers..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Ollieboy wrote:
    they are going to start adding money to the prize pools to attract more
    players. Parking is also great, €10 is very good value.

that'd be great if they started adding money to the tournaments, but they may not add too much to the 50e game, last week they had 60+ runners, i think yesterday was 40 but thats with a big game in the fitz.

well played last night ollie... who went on to win do u know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Sorry, left that out.

General First
    Martin, guy sitting to my left Second and he played a very good game all night
    Me 3rd
    the other foreign guy game 4th
    and the guy in seat one came 5th when he went all in with A8 against my A7, i hit 7 on river.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Ollieboy wrote:
    There was a player at the final table who was very rude to most players and
    had a really bad odour, you could smell this guy from 10 yards. He wanted to do a deal and when I said no, he abused me and told me that he’s been playing for 30 years and I would get no extra money etc etc.

I was playing a cash game there last night (don't ask...) The player you refer to wouldn't have been Hussein, would it? I noticed him causing a stir at the tournament table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

The General's a funny character and could do with a shower alright. I saw one gimp abuse him in the SE one night for being Iraqi. Playing at a cash table with him a few weeks ago, he pushes his stack all-in and then gets up saying oh yeah, time for me to go home. I'v never seen a worse attempt at gamesmanship in my life. He got 2 callers and turned over the floped nut flush, which was blatantly obvious IMHO.

There is one guy who's an SE regular and appears to eb good friends with Willow, the 2 of them always having a bit of banter. He's an arrogant self-righteous git and generally makes insulting remarks about younger players and table etiquette etc. Played a few tourneys with him now and his attitude is the same in all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

ianmc38 wrote:
    The General's a funny character and could do with a shower alright. I saw one gimp abuse him in the SE one night for being Iraqi. Playing at a cash table with him a few weeks ago, he pushes his stack all-in and then gets up saying oh yeah, time for me to go home. I'v never seen a worse attempt at gamesmanship in my life. He got 2 callers and turned over the floped nut flush, which was blatantly obvious IMHO.

There is one guy who's an SE regular and appears to eb good friends with Willow, the 2 of them always having a bit of banter. He's an arrogant self-righteous git and generally makes insulting remarks about younger players and table etiquette etc. Played a few tourneys with him now and his attitude is the same in all of them.

He's not a junior version of 'Medallion Man' is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Hussein is Hussein - simple as that - he's the daddy of poker characters, and no-one's junior version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I think Hussein is brilliant, he does kind of stink though. Fair play to him getting 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

Daithio wrote:
    I think Hussein is brilliant, he does kind of stink though. Fair play to him getting 1st.

I reckon Hussein is actually a good guy, but yeah, he does get a bit worked up at times. Whether he's winning or losing he's very "animated" so it doesn't come across very well when he's a bit off form. On the whole though I think I like him.

If you're in his good books, he'll be the first to wish you well and will you on to the final table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

well done ollile taking me out last night, the bubbl really hurt me, 77 on the steal and u had JJ. U had bn all in the preious two hands in a row so thought u might slow down, gutted wen got the call,
    well played though, banter was good and well done to Hussein

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

bmc wrote:
    I reckon Hussein is actually a good guy, but yeah, he does get a bit worked up at times. Whether he's winning or losing he's very "animated" so it doesn't come across very well when he's a bit off form. On the whole though I think I like him.

If you're in his good books, he'll be the first to wish you well and will you on to the final table.

A character is the least of what I would call him. My top phrases from Hussein would be:

1. Very young, very clever man
    2. Why you rise? I fukcin all in!!! (Bang chips)
    3. Cecil-cacil-saugages (sang). Homage to Cecil. Cracks me up.
    4. You don't win I kill you!!! (said in the nicest possible way of course)

I wonder if I will get my 50 quid back off him now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

DocO wrote:
    well done ollile taking me out last night, the bubbl really hurt me, 77 on the steal and u had JJ. U had bn all in the preious two hands in a row so thought u might slow down, gutted wen got the call,
    well played though, banter was good and well done to Hussein

You were very unlucky mate, you played a great game all night and deserved to be in the money. You had a big chip lead from early on, which is very hard to play with and was willing to call people with any 2 cards and outplay them on the flop.

Bad timing on the 77, but I was on a bit of a role at that stage.

We'll do it again I'm sure.

Ollie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

cheers ollie, and well done.
    until next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

5starpool wrote:
    I wonder if I will get my 50 quid back off him now.....
    Dominic, the 50 quid is an idiot tax for lending money to Hussein.

In my opinion, he's a total Arsecandle. Gamesmanship counts in my book, and he's just plain rude. that's not to say that he isn't a character or a good player, just that he's a fúcknut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

his rudeness is pretty funny though. he lost the head at me once in the fitz for showing a bluff to him, and i just laughed. he kept on getting more angry and eventually gave me most of the 200 in front of him.
    I guess there's a fine line between being a character and an out and out knobjockey!
    But yeah the smell!
    Ah sure there's worse people out there you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Ollieboy wrote:
    Parking is also great, €10 is very good value.
    Ollie
    Parking!?
    Where? I have been parking on merrion green and walking down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

azzeretti wrote:
    Parking!?
    Where? I have been parking on merrion green and walking down?

Ringside(at the door)
    A valet guy parks it round back and it costs €10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bombinator

hussian is very very smelly,,,,,,,i nearly past out last friday night with him next to me.....he bit of a charachter alright but i love when hes at my table as there a fair chance i will have lot of his chips gone end...or any other player who can see throw all his bull and speech play and acting..
    yet it is always a more enjoyable game when he there,plus its a loose fast game with plenty of good pots

i once called a large bet with high card as knew he was bluffing--he always looks at dealer and shouts raise 2000 while pointing 2 fingers as well....he went crazy giving out about my call and very next hand i flop house and he raise all in on tilt call.......he just stared at me for about 15 minutes after

he has some fav phrases alright
    1. i call tomorrow
    2. you raise less then i would play and win