Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shag Week / Rag Week / DCU Mini Brother

• 25-01-2006 6:31pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi Everyone,

Just a lovely all students mail to help you with that exam/assignement
    procrastination! Sorry it's a bit of a long one but you'll be glad to
    know that it is because we have so many CRACKING events lined up for you
    in Semester Two!

And if you'd like to get paid to enjoy them as part of our RAGCREW then
    just mail our _Excellent_ Events Manager, Shea McNelis at
    shea.mcneli@dcu.ie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The first week back is SHAGWEEK :) Standing for Sexual Health Awareness
    and Guidance. Deirdre Moran, your _Wonderful_ Welfare Officer has lots
    of events in store for you, including the annual LEGENDARY SHAG Quiz,
    Speed Dating, Condom Demonstration (not just for beginners :p ), Anne
    Summers Party, Utopia Party and more.

As well as being a great laugh, the week is about giving you all the
    information you need to ensure a healthy sex life.

SHAG Packs will be available all week and will include condoms,
    lubricant, lollipops and informaion leaflets basically all you need for
    the dirty deed... EXCEPT a partner! There will also be talks during the
    week on STI's; explaining what they are, the dangers, how to get checked
    etc. More details will be available on life.dcu.ie and in An Tarbh.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Your second week of term is RAGWEEK and this years promises to be the
    best RAGWEEK DCU has ever seen! Some of the acts confirmed are Rodrigo
    y Gabriela, The Chalets, The Radio, The Immediate, Aslan, The Rags, The
    Camembert Quartet
    AND MORE...

This year there will be no less than THREE RAG BALLS with bar-extensions
    during the week and the entrance fee into each of them is €10. Every
    night will be something different.

Monday is our Dance/DJ night (still waiting for confirmation of the
    headline, our originally confirmed act, Mylo, has some disgusting ear
    infection and has cancelled all of his bloody gigs for 2006), Wednesday
    is Indie Night and Thursday is Irish Rock. If the three of these nights
    all rock yer socks then you can avail of "The Three-Balled Ticket"
    costing JUST €25. This gives entrance into the three balls...obviously
    enough :)

The Tuesday of RAGWEEK is Valentines Day and for all you lovely DCU
    couples out there, we have Rodrigo y Gabriela playing in the Venue, with
    tickets at €12.50. For everyone else there is €3 drinks in the bar and
    there's also the infamous RAGTRIP...not bad alternatives!

AS WELL as all that, there are bands and DJ's playing all day every day
    in the Old Bar...what more would you expect?!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

HOWEVER, the drinking/socialising/partying is just one side of RAGWEEK,
    the other side is ::FUNDRAISING:: Very few of you may know that RAG
    actually stands for _Raise A Grand_!

This years chosen charity is the DCU Annual Fund. This fund supports
    students from socio disadvantaged areas with scholarships, through the
    Access Programme, helping students afford university. In some areas,
    less than 2% of young people progress to higher education...We want
    RAGWEEK to help students get to DCU in the first place, and then help
    them enjoy it when they get here!

:: FINALLY...(well done if you got this far!)

Our biggest fundraising event is our... DUM DEE DUM DUM...

* * * M I N I B R O T H E R * * *

"What is it?!" we hear you cry!

WELL!

Mini Brother is DCU's very own REAL reality show. Four students will
    live in a Mini-Cooper parked outside SPAR for four days. Life inside the
    Mini will be broadcast LIVE inside the Old Bar for your viewing pleasure
    over a few pints.

The prize for the winning Mini-Mate will be a FABULOUS holiday from
    GoForLess
    and Mini-Mate auditions will be held in Week 1...watch this space!

WHO GOES? YOU DECIDE!

Mini-Mates will be voted out by text message, details of which will be
    posted up closer to the time. Mini-Mates will have to perform tasks over
    the four days in the Old Bar(embarrassing ideas welcome...muahahahhaa!)

If you want to see the Mini-Mates making EEJITS outa themselves, then
    get fundraising... The Old Bar will be the main collection area for
    charity donations. The hope is that we will have a minimum of €1000
    raised everyday before the Mini-Mate tasks begin...

We want all students to get involved in fundraising, whether you
    organise a sponsored drinking/scoring competition with your mates or
    whatever...! We don't care, we just want the money!!! If you want to see
    the Mini-Mates in their tasks then you know what to do... just get out
    there and raise a few europes for a good cause!

That's all folks!

See you in semester two,
    Sarah

--
    Sarah Farrell

President, Dublin City University Students' Union
    E: president@dcusu.ie
    P: +353 1 700 5279
    M: 086 173 7103

Eh, what a feckin' line up tbh. I mean, no one can say that there isn't enough for us to choose from!! Personally, I love the Lil Brother Idea! Think it'll be hilarious, and with great prizes going for it! Imagine sitting in the bar all day just watching them! lol. And torturing them at night!

I'd love to have a good idea to raise money... Love to get involved some how. I really think, fair play, hats off. What a great two weeks to come back to.

It really is a shame so many students dont read their mail...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

"organise a sponsored drinking/scoring competition with your mates"

heh, thats just trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Actually that could be pretty cool, I'm getting ideas already! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭micromegas

THE CHALETS ARE PLAYING RAG WEEK!?

:: dies ::

I love the chalets.

I assume they are Indie Rock? :rolleyes:

Actually that could be pretty cool, I'm getting ideas already! :D

sorry not interested :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭micromegas

I assume they are Indie Rock? :rolleyes:

sort of. like. they're a dublin band. very pop. kinda dancey.

think B52s.

Hrm, only B52s I know is the song they did for The Flintstones Movie... :p

cooker3, I'd kick your ass so badly in drinking games but STILL come out the wrong end of it so the feeling is mutual! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

You're missing out. In fact, here's a YTMND of Peter seeing Rock Lobster:
    http://familyguyrocklobster.ytmnd.com/
    ROCK LOBSTER!

cooker3, I'd kick your ass so badly in drinking games but STILL come out the wrong end of it so the feeling is mutual! :D

glad to hear it :)

Heh, I'm more of a Peanut Butter Jelly Time Fan...Clicky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭nachos

i'm well impressed. I'll defo be checking out the chalets and it'll be good to see RnG for a second time this year! Saw the chalets at new year's and they kicked mucho asso. can't wait to see them on. roll on rag week!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

OFF TOPIC!!!

Ffs :P

Anyway. Maybe there is some why we can raise money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

crackin' line up. can't wait to get my tickets... what can we do to raise money? huh? Huh? HUh? HUH?
    i'm up for *anything* for the craic like. prob be too drunk to remember it anyway!

i think i might audition for mini-bro

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

rugbug86 wrote:
    crackin' line up. can't wait to get my tickets... what can we do to raise money? huh? Huh? HUh? HUH?
    i'm up for *anything* for the craic like. prob be too drunk to remember it anyway!
    I like the cut of your jib :)

What do we do!>??! Besides vote for you if you get in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

So like... will they be locked inside the Mini Cooper for 4 days straight?

i'd say so...
    it'd be cool.

Probably allowed out to pee.

Hehe, can see my self coming over at 3am to annoy them.. if I'm drunk or some such.

They'll probably have windows open and chat to people... :)

Maybe they could rope george galloway in, he is up for anything to get his name mentioned

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

I can't see them being left in there at night.

Seriously. Think about it. All of Ballymun will visit eggs and all. Security would hate the SU for something like that.

I don't think it gets advertised to people in Ballymun tbh Podge. They don't come up normally like, or very rarely tbh. Especially when college starts back.

True, plus half the fun would be happening at night I reckon....:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Jesjes wrote:
    I don't think it gets advertised to people in Ballymun tbh Podge. They don't come up normally like, or very rarely tbh. Especially when college starts back.

This must be a new thing and to be honest they pass through daily. All it takes is one or two to see them. :)

True enough I guess. But we do have security. Its only one likely possibility, which I am sure the SU took into consideration.

It'll be midweek, with people on campus at all times, think there is three late bars that week, so place'll be packed. No chance for them to actually cause hassle. *hopes*

There are more positives than negatives imo!