Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice; New laptop

Options
  • 25-01-2006 4:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭

Long time reader, first time poster. I am a bit of a novice when it comes to laptops so i hope some1 out there can point me in the right direction.

Price range: €850-1000

Intended use:Saving my music collection(approx 400 albums) for future download to mp3, saving some movies to watch on the long journeys i have to undertake and surfing the interweb

Mobility: Not that important

At the moment i'm looking at the following from dell:

http://configure.euro.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=ie&cs=iedhs1&l=en&oc=N01606&rbc=N01606&s=dhs&sbc=iedhsrsinspn_6000_2

But i've heard that dells customer service and delivery perfomance leave a bit to be desired. I am wondering what other peoples experiences with them have been.

I appreciate any helpful advice

sd

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Nothing wrong with their service imho.

Local call rate, low waiting time. I've had to contact them on a number of occassions for different machines and I've had no problems with them. Very helpful and they're one of the few places to recognise that I know what I'm talking about so when I say X isn't working they take my word for it and don't delay me by running thru tests I've already done.

Dell laptops are grand. Reasonable build quality. I'd buy them. Espec for what you want to do. you don't need bells and whistles.

As regards delivery, get it delivered to your workplace that way you don't waste time waiting at home for them etc.