Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bright outspoken females desirable?

• 22-01-2006 11:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭

Are intelligent, knowledgeable, and outspoken females desirable?
    A lad dates a very intelligent and knowledgeable girl. Perhaps much brighter than he. Would he prefer that she play a subordinate role to him: (1) in their private relationship; and/or (2) in public (For example, not be outspoken and demonstrate her knowledge by challenging the opinions of others, while in his presence)?

For the purposes of this discussion, let's assume that the girl is very good looking (so that we don't get side tracked). Furthermore, can we talk not in terms of ideals, but rather what we really experience today?

What say ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

[
    A lad dates a very intelligent and knowledgeable girl. Perhaps much brighter than he.QUOTE]

An "intelligent and knowledgeable" woman is highly unlikely to date a much less brighter man. I would imagine that the reverse is more likely, but in reality intelligent people will seek out intelligent partners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Litcagral wrote:
    [
    A lad dates a very intelligent and knowledgeable girl. Perhaps much brighter than he.QUOTE]

An "intelligent and knowledgeable" woman is highly unlikely to date a much less brighter man. I would imagine that the reverse is more likely, but in reality intelligent people will seek out intelligent partners.

You were doing well up to the point of An "intelligent and knowledgeable woman is highly unlikely..."

you should of just stopped there. :mad:

Get a grip on yourself, no they're not! you should be all seen, not heard. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Gaillimhtaibhse

ntlbell wrote:
    Get a grip on yourself, no they're not! you should be all seen, not heard. :rolleyes:

Picture Gaillimhtaibhse running to her closet to get her flame thrower. "Darn!" she screams. "I've used it so much in the the last 24 hours that it reads EMPTY!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Yes, they are. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

definitely..last thing you want is for your mates to think your g/f's a bit on the slow side...or for yourself for that matter..it doesn't matter how good looking a girl is..if she can't connect on more than the sexual level the guy will eventually get tired of her..

Airblazer wrote:
    definitely..last thing you want is for your mates to think your g/f's a bit on the slow side...or for yourself for that matter..it doesn't matter how good looking a girl is..if she can't connect on more than the sexual level the guy will eventually get tired of her..

What has your mates got to do with who you decide to go out with??

Can you not make your own decisions? does everything you do have to be approved by "the lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I wouldn't want a girl to feel she has to tone down herself just to make me, or any guy she's with, feel comfortable. If his ego can't cope - in public or private, then don't bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

i don't mind how smart a woman is, as long as she knows who her daddy is.. aww yeahh!:D

LundiMardi wrote:
    i don't mind how smart a woman is, as long as she knows who her daddy is.. aww yeahh!:D

yeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaawww :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Brother To God

I have found it rare that a woman would date a man less intelligent than themselves,but if this did happen to me,I would prefer her to be herself with me but do not want to be put down or argued with in front of friends,I would show her the same respect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I like a woman who has intelligence and an opinion but not one who has to (as you say) 'demonstrate her knowledge by challenging the opinions' of others.

If some individual thinks black-is-white then good for them. But likewise I don't want to be with someone who has to constantly browbeat this person into submission. Continually wasting energy on such pursuits is surely a sign of an inherient lack of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

There seem to be two questions here:

Are intelligent women desireable?

and

Should a partner be secure in their relationship not to demand that the other person change for them?

The answer to the first is a question of personal taste, the answer to the second is yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

Bright outspoken females desirable?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

how do you measure intelligence? by school or college grades? by general knowledge? by the fact i probably spelt intelligence wrong?....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

A lad dates a very intelligent and knowledgeable girl. Perhaps much brighter than he. Would he prefer that she play a subordinate role to him: (1) in their private relationship; and/or (2) in public (For example, not be outspoken and demonstrate her knowledge by challenging the opinions of others, while in his presence)?

For the purposes of this discussion, let's assume that the girl is very good looking (so that we don't get side tracked). Furthermore, can we talk not in terms of ideals, but rather what we really experience today?

What say ye?

Jesus christ you're really insecure about this. You sound like you're taking a very roundabout way of saying that you feel as if you're below her. A relationship is not about showing people off or using people, you shouldn't come on here asking people how you SHOULD act. You act yourself and share yourself with the other person, and if it doesn't work out then fsck it, at least it's not built on a lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

YES! and it's damn sexy too. Plus, if they're hot, the sex appeal goes up exponentially! Unsurprisingly, the combination is not that easy to find. :(:confused:

But, you don't want them to be outspoken for the sake of it. That's a turnoff, im talking about the one's who would support the "Righteous and Noble cause" of a door closing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Hmm, let me think about that while you iron my shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

YES! and it's damn sexy too. Plus, if they're hot, the sex appeal goes up exponentially!

Thing is tho she'd probably have the uncontrolable urge to point out that her sex appeal is more like a linear function and that you are merely exagerating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Gaillimhtaibhse I suggest you read the charter for this forum.
    Is this a person issue for you, if not this thread will be moved.

el rabitos wrote:
    how do you measure intelligence? by school or college grades? by general knowledge? by the fact i probably spelt intelligence wrong?....

So, attempting to answer your very insightful question, if you say "She's intelligent," then perhaps her thinking and reasoning are beyond what you would expect her to gain from school, or university, or work, or self-study, or experience?

*Curtesy of CCCP revisionist history*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Course that's assuming you actually are intelligent and bright.

Thaedydal wrote:
    Gaillimhtaibhse I suggest you read the charter for this forum.
    Is this a person issue for you, if not this thread will be moved.

Thank you for contacting me.

You are the moderator and may elect to do what you feel is most appropriate.

Course that's assuming you actually are intelligent and bright.

No, just one of many passengers on the Ship of Fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Hmm...Well I think she ment a personal issue...for you...personally...not a person issue...as it was posted in the personal issues forum...

Also, I don't think people are struggling with this..i think they are taking the p|ss out of you because of the blatant stupidity of the question...

Intelligence dosen't define how desirable or otherwise a person is, and no matter what type a person is, they are always going to be desirable in some peoples eyes, and not so in others...as with everybody...

So, whatever, if you are having trouble being desired, i suggest you look at other attributes to your personality as the cause, and don't blame it on your apparent inflated intelligence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

My girlfriend is one, so yes i find them desireable :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Dagnir Glaurung

Only if they use their intelligence and outspokeness well and not to talk down to people. Basically, add modesty to the list of attributes and we have a winner.

A stuck-up intelligent female is worse than a stuck-up beautiful female in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Yes, as long as she's outspoken about the right things and in the right environments. For any West Wing viewers, think Amy and you'd know what I mean... *drools like a gibbering buffoon*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Dagnir Glaurung

Sleepy wrote:
    Yes, as long as she's outspoken about the right things and in the right environments. For any West Wing viewers, think Amy and you'd know what I mean... *drools like a gibbering buffoon*

This man speaks the truth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

YES! and it's damn sexy too. Plus, if they're hot, the sex appeal goes up exponentially! Unsurprisingly, the combination is not that easy to find. :(:confused:

But, you don't want them to be outspoken for the sake of it. That's a turnoff, im talking about the one's who would support the "Righteous and Noble cause" of a door closing!

Spot on. And anyone who defines themselves as 'outspoken' generally tends to fall into that camp.