Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrested on Henry St.

• 21-01-2006 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭

Was walking down Henry St. today having come from O'Connell St. and police cars started their sirens and sped down the road. When I reached the end of the road there was a garda escorting an Asian woman out of Penneys and she had handcuffs on. Anyone see this?

Just thought that I'd never actually see anyone get arrested from a shop before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Didn't see it but that doesn't sound like a simple case of shoplifting to me, you don't get squad cars speeding down to arrest a shoplifter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

IVe seen people being arrested outside shops dozens of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

She could have been shoplifting, got caught and caused a fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Someon got arrested :eek: , hold the presses....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Stroppy shoplifters must be a daily occurance on Henry St. I've seen it often enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

my mum was driving down a ramp in a shopping centre car park today and was hit by a lativian man driving up the ramp. he was later arrested by the police for driving whilst under the influence of drugs. not actually sure what he had taken but should soon find out. wish i'd been there to see the prat handcuffed. he tried to escape by driving towards the exit but didnt have the cop on that a ticket was required to get out. my sister chased after him, crazy i know (i told her), but thanks to her frantic screaming security guards got him and called the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

If the person in the shop hit the panic alarm.... detectives and squad cars rush to the scene. It happened in Statoil where I worked... A new bloke hit the panic alarm, within 20 seconds... ish... 2 Squad cars and an armed detective were on the scene.

Funny... although the cops didn't see it that way.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

its kind of wierd cause i though henry street only attracted the most genuine of people.

Shoplifting (assuming that's what it was in this case) goes on all over the city. "Evil doers" are everywhere, both north and south of the liffey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Lump wrote:
    If the person in the shop hit the panic alarm.... detectives and squad cars rush to the scene. It happened in Statoil where I worked... A new bloke hit the panic alarm, within 20 seconds... ish... 2 Squad cars and an armed detective were on the scene.

John

I did this once. It took moreso five-ten minutes than 20 seconds though...similarly, nobody saw the funny side - though I shifted the blame :)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

alleepally wrote:
    Shoplifting (assuming that's what it was in this case) goes on all over the city. "Evil doers" are everywhere, both north and south of the liffey.

there might have been a tone of sacrasim in my eyes.

Shoplifiting from Penneys is a bit sad don't you think? If I was going to shoplift on Henry St I think I'd go for something a bit nicer like Arnotts.

there might have been a tone of sacrasim in my eyes.

oh.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I saw exactly the same thing but it was before Xmas.. An Asian girl as well (early 20's).. She was being escorted out the back door of Penny's in front of the GPO...

I wonder was it her again :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

xzanti wrote:
    I saw exactly the same thing but it was before Xmas.. An Asian girl as well (early 20's).. She was being escorted out the back door of Penny's in front of the GPO... I wonder was it her again :eek:

lmao ah probably Xzanti, seeing as shes the only asian in dublin and all.
    sure the Irish can be just as bad, this one time on Henry street ..
    :eek: I knew I knew your face from somewhere! :v:

lmao ah probably Xzanti, seeing as shes the only asian in dublin and all.
    sure the Irish can be just as bad, this one time on Henry street ..
    :eek: I knew I knew your face from somewhere! :v:

Lol... I was joking ST.. Keep up :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

xzanti wrote:
    Lol... I was joking ST.. Keep up :v:

You will be out on your tail if you dont learn how you use your :v: 's and you :rolleyes: 's then..... ;)

Oh right... Hold on... :rolleyes: There ya go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Lump wrote:

John
    Rightly so - what if they had caused an accident blue lighting to a call. Remember what happened in clonskea during the summer when that old lady got wedged between the patrol car and the bus shelter - panic alarm. Not so funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Sarsfield wrote:
    Shoplifiting from Penneys is a bit sad don't you think? If I was going to shoplift on Henry St I think I'd go for something a bit nicer like Arnotts.
    I remember sitting in on a court case once in the district court down in Tipperary (it's a bit of a zoo down there, you get people showing up to court drunk and the majority of cases are about the use of Agricultural Diesel)
    But anyway, there was this guy up who was charged with stealing a pair of runners worth €6 from Lidl. The state had to pay a translator to come down for the case which would have cost several hundred (as the man wasn't fluent in english) and he escaped with a €20 fine.

But anyway, there was this guy up who was charged with stealing a pair of runners worth €6 from Lidl.

Exactly my point. If he'd stolen a better pair of runners he might have been able to outrun the security guards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Sorry not reading past about post four, but I was there, seen most of it and nearly got run down by the unmarked squad car. Some guy was getting arrested for something, no one I spoke to really knew what, but he attacked the arresting garda, and then "the forces" were called in. One guy I spoke to said that all the cops were in McDonalds so responded instantly!

Did anyone see the crazy preacher woman after? She was scary! Seen her later on Nasseu St. trying not to step on the cracks on the pavement! Still preaching!

Just realised it wasn't Henry St. I sen this on, it was a street off Grafton St. no where near Penny's or Arnotts. What I seen was just down from Tower Records, unless there's two Henry St.s....

Le Rack wrote:
    Sorry not reading past about post four, but I was there, seen most of it and nearly got run down by the unmarked squad car. Some guy was getting arrested for something, no one I spoke to really knew what, but he attacked the arresting garda, and then "the forces" were called in. One guy I spoke to said that all the cops were in McDonalds so responded instantly!

Did anyone see the crazy preacher woman after? She was scary! Seen her later on Nasseu St. trying not to step on the cracks on the pavement! Still preaching!

Just realised it wasn't Henry St. I sen this on, it was a street off Grafton St. no where near Penny's or Arnotts. What I seen was just down from Tower Records, unless there's two Henry St.s....

Shock, horror :eek: 2 arrests and a nutter in city centre on the SAME Saturday! What a cosmopolitan society we live in :D

I saw a squad car with 3 cops & 1 non-cop in it yesterday at 1:30 on Wicklow St, beside BTs and just down from Tower. Another 2 cops stood beside the car. I'm guessing the non-cop was uncooperative during the initial arrest.

Also, there was a crazy woman preaching on my bus on the way into town yesterday morning. Complaining about the English newspapers she was - British filth she called it. Corrupting holy Ireland. I didn't ask if she was headed for Nassau St.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Sarsfield wrote:
    Shock, horror :eek: 2 arrests and a nutter in city centre on the SAME Saturday! What a cosmopolitan society we live in :D

I saw a squad car with 3 cops & 1 non-cop in it yesterday at 1:30 on Wicklow St, beside BTs and just down from Tower. Another 2 cops stood beside the car. I'm guessing the non-cop was uncooperative during the initial arrest.

Also, there was a crazy woman preaching on my bus on the way into town yesterday morning. Complaining about the English newspapers she was - British filth she called it. Corrupting holy Ireland. I didn't ask if she was headed for Nassau St.
    ooh, sorry again, mine happened thursday!, but the crazy woman had a childrens back pack on, was in about her 30's 40's and was talking about the pope and the police force...
    then she was talking to the cracks on Nassau st...