Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€50 Tourney. Swinford, Co. Mayo - Sun. Jan 29th

• 20-01-2006 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭

1.Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    Electric Mouse Poker

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    Commercial

3. Date and Location of event
    The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
    Sun. Jan 29th

4.Registration and Start time of event.
    Reg from 5.30pm pm. Starts 6.30pm. Bonus Chips for players registered by 6.15pm – 500 chips.

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    No

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    Unlikely to be max. number as venue can hold 150 approx. Info: 086 8988306

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    NL Hold Em rebuy

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    Entry - €50. 2 Rebuys - €25 or1 Rebuy + 1 Add On - €25 for 2 hours.
    Start – 4,000. Rebuy – 4,000 Top Up – 5,000

9. n/a

10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    87.5%

11..Any guaranteed prize pool.
    No

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    See 8.

13. 4,000

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    Rebuy – 4,000 Add On – 5,000

15. 25/50, 50/100, 75/150, 100/200, 150/300, 200/400, 300/600, 400/800, 500/1,000, 700/1,500, 1,000/2,000, 3,000/6,000, 4,000/8,000, 5,000/10,000, 7,000/15,000, 10,000/20,000, 15,000/30,000

16. Blind timeframes
    Blinds: Level 1-4 15 mins... Level 5 – 10. 20 mins. 15 mins. thereafter.

17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    Less than 30 players – Top 4. 30-40 players – top 5. Over 40 – Top 6. Over 50 – Top 9 (Final Table)

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    Dealers at last two tables. We hope to have dealers for last 4 tables but es yet only confirmed for last 2.
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director
    Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    TD

Refreshments served at interval. Further details contact Michael @ 086 8988306

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

Only going if all westport couples are banned!!!

Should be good. How many can the place hold??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

How many can the place hold??

Can hold well over 100 but don't expect anything like thast. Would be very happy if we hit the 50 mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Might go, will get back to you, talk things over with the wife :D

talk things over with the wife
    Why not bring her? The last husband/wife team at our tourney came 1st and 3rd for a total of €1,530;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

What's the word on the Shrule tourney tomorrow night?

On in Gibbon's Bar at 9pm. Had about 30 runners last time. Entry - $20, Rebuys - €20 (Unlimited - 75 mins.) Starting Stack - 4,000. Rebuys - 4,000. Top Up - 5,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Just the gf for the last 2.5 years, may as well be the wife. she hates poker she's just coming around to my addiction. Im not going to rub it in her face by asking her to come to my tournies :D

Rebuys - €20 (Unlimited - 75 mins.)

Uh-oh.

Uh-oh.
    Presume its the unlimited rebuys you don't like? I understand but its a strange thing with new players...they baulk at paying a reg fee, so to bump up the prize pool and ensure we get a few bob we tend to have unlimited rebuys. To be honest though the average spend is approx. €50 a head though some lads think nothing of spending over €100 without getting within an asses roar of the money. In our bigger buy in tourneys like the one you played in The Mouse we do limit the rebuys or charge a reg fee. We are trying to find a balance and ultimately we listen to the players at our different venues and try to tailor tourneys to their needs.

I can see why you do it, but unlimited rebuys, even for the first 3 blind levels only (I think this is the case here) is a little much. It turns the whole thing into a gamblefest for the rebuy period. Even limiting to 3 rebuys or 2 and a topup is going to help a fair bit.

I'll pop down tonight and se how things go. Have you considered/do you already run a straight freezeout tourney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

One of the things that always get said about rebuy tourneys is that they are 'all in fests', especially before the freezeout period begins.

However, one point that always get missed is that all these rebuys (a) Add significant money to the prize pool and (b) Very importantly, add a significant amount of chips to the tournament.

Without these extra chips, in an evening tournament ran on 20-25 minute blinds, it would be an 'all-in fest' alot quicker in the night that it presently is.

I'd rather the 'all-in' mentality in the first three levels, (Beside this is where you can build a stack on other peoples frenzy) rather than constantly during the last 12 levels.

Just thought I'd put that point accross, as it's one that doesn't get airing very often.

unlimited rebuys, even for the first 3 blind levels only

Rebuys for first 4 levels. Level 1 15 mins. Level 2 to 4 - 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hoolamoppa

unlimited re-buys attract the new players too, as they feel one chance at this new poker (new to them) is not enough, and its a physco thing. If they know they'll get a few chances, then they will try it, Freezeouts tend not to attract fish, they get frightened of the cold, and much prefer the warmer freshwater that is 'the buyback' !!!! its a fact !!!

They just cant help it!!!

UL buyback for the first hour, or 3 levels is a good idea when introducing a new game. Good players should adjust accordingly. But i do think making the buyback a little cheaper then the buy in would even increase the PM pot more, Increase the overall chips in circulation, and attract the new players even more.

Culchie is right re chips in circulation , the more the better, and the tourny benefits at the end when the blinds are high, freezout tournys tend to turn into a crap shoot very quickly at the end for this reason. it is at this stage that the good players come to the fore, as it should be !!!

Thats all, sorry went on a bit there,

Vegas Baby player !!!

Good job the unlimited re-buys didn't put me off..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Good Man, spill the beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

busbybhoy wrote:
    Only going if all westport couples are banned!!!

Should be good. How many can the place hold??

Right that's it... we're coming over... :D

Not sure we can make it... But now I'm going to try to...:D

Good job the unlimited re-buys didn't put me off.....

I think Rob is being too modest;) . 27 Runners, he took down 1st prize of €495. In fairness ye all showed great patience with that clown at the final table. Jesus but there's one at every event. Re the Rebuys, that same clown contributed €120 to the prizepool that you took 35% of

30 Odd runners, ending up winning the thing. Only paid in and topped up - no rebuys.

It's a pub tourney, so don't expect dinner jackets. Play is very loose during rebuy. Raises aren't respected, and everyone is a calling station. Play the nuts or near nuts strongly, someone will always call.

I played 4 hands preflop before the break, and won them all with decent sized pots. After topup I was 2nd in chips at the table with 4 tables still running. The big stack had been held by 4 different players at our table, such was the nature of play.

After the break (now freezeout) I got a great run of cards (3 pairs and AQs in the first 4 hands) and built up a good stack, that allowed me to sit back and let the others slug it out. Once the blinds got high (15% of average stack) you had to defend your blinds, but by now most the the loose players were done, and blind stealing became possible.

I made my way to the final table of 7, (top 4 paid) with 2nd small stack, 12K, versus average of about 20. Blinds were 1500/800. Small stack is to my right. After a few hands, he pushes UTG, I look down at AA and call faster than a speeding bullet. Everyone folds, including the blinds, and UTG shows JJ. happy days. Flop x,x,J. Turn J. Just to annoy me river is A.

Soon after with blinds at 4000/2000 and me on 3900 in BB. I pick up AKs. Four people limp as I'm all-in. K hits and I Quadruple up. From then on, I think I knocked out everybody except one. Aggressive play at a very passive table means that by heads-up he has 3K and I have nearly 100K. Good job as my heads up live is muck. €500 ain't bad for 4 hours work on a Wednesday night in January.

For a pub tourney, these are well enough run. Play is varied, but most are new to the game and poor enough. It's more for fun than money, but that's the way I like it.

Small gripe about last night. Starting chips were 1500, with blinds at 50/25. 30BB starting is far too small to play with. Even with frequent rebuys (one guy at our table rebought 4 times AND topped up), there is still pressure to play, because the blinds are so high. Starting earlier, and having more chips to begin would get around this. I know there is pressure on the organiser to finish up. But a 7 or 8pm start would go a long way to making things more enjoyable. Last night didn't get going until after 9:30, finishing up at 1:30. This also meant that alot of players were well on (assclown (TM) at the final table was HAMMERED). Poker is like sex, more enjoyable when yer not smashed. Also, taking money off drunk people without having to jump them in the car park is fun.

Might want to change the night, as it clashed with the Westwood in Galway. If you played in Headford for Example, on a Thursday night, I have a feeling you could get 50+ runners.

Poker Pub-Spy Verdict: Well run, and cheap to play. With low buy-in, it's very newbie friendly. This can't be a bad thing.

Right that's it... we're coming over...

Not sure we can make it... But now I'm going to try to...

You'll have to make it Len to go for 3-in-a-row in our tourneys but afaraid there's no €200 bonus as on ppp.:)

Small gripe about last night. Starting chips were 1500, with blinds at 50/25
    I tried to copy structure for green joker which seem to be well regarded but am open to all suggestions. Have been thinking of increasing opening stack to 2,000.
    Might want to change the night, as it clashed with the Westwood in Galway
    Unfortunately cant change the night as we are committed to other venues mon, tues, thurs and we starting to run higher buy in games on Friday nights. I miss The Westwood myself:(
    But a 7 or 8pm start would go a long way to making things more enjoyable.
    Not being smart but have you been living in the area for long? Not a hope in hell of getting a crowd in by 8pm. In Kiltimagh we are lucky to be up and running by 10.15 even though most of the lads are within a few mins walk of the venue. It would certainly suit us to have an earlier start but cannt see it.
    If you played in Headford for Example, on a Thursday night
    Actually in Headford (O'Rourkes next week but wed night i'm afraid.
    Poker Pub-Spy Verdict: Well run, and cheap to play. With low buy-in, it's very newbie friendly. This can't be a bad thing.
    Thanks. We are not too long on the road so we are trying to improve all the time so any constructive criticism is welcome.

BTW When you hit quad jacks on the turn and led with a bet, why not check and hope he hit a pair on the river? Just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭celticbhoy

Who won?

Did many turn up? Any reoprts?

Look about 3 posts up.....

€50 Tourney - Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo. Sun. Jan 29th

30 Runners:
    1st - Keith lydon - €850
    2nd - Aiden lydon - €600
    3rd - Mick Regan - €420
    4th - Damien Connolly - €210
    5th - 8th - Gerry Morley, Paul Walsh, Noel Lydon, Gary McGrath - €50 each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

All from Kiltimagh....lol. Creating quite a name for a little town of poker players!!!

And four of them on the GAA team this year. Don't know what Pip would say....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Swinford unlucky for me. I wrote off my car there ten years ago.