Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to look for in a bouncer/door man?

• 19-01-2006 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭

I'm interested in what people think are important attributes for a doorman to have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

Awareness!

Politeness!

Gift of the Gab!

And just in case...the local Garda station and Hospital on speed dial !! :D

I know that you may have been looking for fighting skills? But I rate these skills in a door/security man first above being able to knock the sh!te out of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

No thats brill Paul.

I think manner is more important than anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

columok wrote:
    No thats brill Paul.

Exactly! I've seen so many muppets get themselves into trouble because they just could'int control their ego or the ego of the antagonist! Which I think is an art form in itself!

A guy I used to work for on a few doors used to always tell new guys to remember that when they refuse someone entry to the venue that that person sees you as "The Pr!ck That Wreaked Me Night!!" up until that point they were probably having a great night!! So break it to them gently and be there friend, maybe asking them to come back later or another time.

Zen or what :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

• Letting me in for free
    • A professional manner
    • Common courtesy
    • Common sense
    • Firm but fair
    • Understanding that customers are the reason they have a job
    • Understanding that their primary duty is to provide a safe environment for people to have a good time
    • First aid training
    • Letting me in for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

columok wrote:
    I'm interested in what people think are important attributes for a doorman to have?

Being one before, communication skills are the top of the list, if a person can't communicate in well manner then he can get taken up the wrong way which can lead to avoidable agro.

Good judgement, more instinct than anything. If you don't have good judgement then it can lead to stupid scenarios. Alot of people moan about being ask were they're coming from but it beats being asked are you a scumbag or not. We're only looking to see if you're half cut or a scumbag, nothing personal.

If a situation breaks out then being able to diffuse a situation rather than provoke someone into getting agro with you. Again this comes down to communication.

You have to be calm, most of the people you are dealing with are going to be hammered so they're not going to want to have people losing the rag at small things. Alot of this can come down to whether or not you're on the juice (thats steroids to those who don't know) or not. I've seen small stupid situations evolve into outrageous because doormen have been too headstrong and juiced off their tits.

I'm sure I'll think of more, but that's my 2 cents for the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭ninjawitatitude

Hey Columok,
    I would say the most important thing is patience. When the're drunk, people are rude, ignorant, frustrated, aggresive and unreasonable. But this is not the person's fault. It is the drink. They are the sole reason for the bouncers employment. Something which we are quick to forget when some spanner decides to argue the toss with you coz there's nowhere else to go and the nitelink's not for another hour.
    Second to that I would say he should be respectful. If you show no one respect, they will not show it to you. I think the bouncer should show respect to his colleagues and customers alike. I have found over the years when you honestly and respectfully explain why you are refusing someone, and that you are not setting a precedent, nine times out of ten they will leave happy. Well, maybe not happy but without incident.
    Third I would say fighting ability, cause if something goes wrong the bouncer has to be able to finish it as soon as possible. A lot of customers are quick to forget that while we may be mean or make 'unfair' calls at times, we are the reason their favourite watering hole isn't full of scum.

My own advice that I give to new members of a crew and especially someone new to the industry is; a good doorman will win every fight, a great doorman won't get into one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

just finished my shift on the door

sense of humour
    restraint
    streetsmarts
    humility
    articulate speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Everything has been covered pretty much , and we all know why. In the past i have done the doors with many brawlers, martial artists , bullys and gentleman. The gentlemen and martial artists were always the easiest to work with. The gents knew how to treat people and deal with them, the martial artists had a nice level of confidence ( though often misplaced as you can know all the round house kicks in the world, but can you restrain someone without injurying them, yourself or other punters? ) and this made them very good as aggressive drunks respond well to confidence ( though never arrogance ).

My style was always the gent, just the way i am. Born to treat people well. I find that news travels fast about doormen as well, and if stories are going around about you being an asshole then **** will come your way.

Even when stopping someone it was always a quiet business. As we normally had more than one on a door when doing stops we would simply bring the person to one side and explain the deal to them quietly, no need to inform them of any outstanding issues with the club that they may not be able to remember in front of all there friends or a bunch of strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

Just started again last night after a few years away, jesus, students are messy whores...

As above in most city night clubs/bars in Dublin, manners, sense of humour, awareness and balls are necessary for a good door man,

Things not to have... a temper, a chip on your shoulder, a girlfriend :D , Clive as a friend ( as he be looking in for free every night:D

paddy

Not sure if i could go back now after being away from it. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

It been pretty well covered above but I think being able to chat away to people and to put aside your ego are the two most important traits needed for the job. For example, when a guy says he is going to kick the bejezus out of you, I encourage guys I work with to say "You probably would", and then continue talking. You'd be amazed how often aggresive males de-escalate when they think the bouncer doesn't believe he can take them in a fight - all of a sudden they have nothing to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

For example, when a guy says he is going to kick the bejezus out of you, I encourage guys I work with to say "You probably would", and then continue talking. You'd be amazed how often aggresive males de-escalate when they think the bouncer doesn't believe he can take them in a fight - all of a sudden they have nothing to prove.
    Totally agree. I've always taken that stance.
    Works wonders.

You just need to be different people for different people i find. That line has worked many times, and is great because when you cut back to normal conversation they kinda follow into it. You have given them the ackowledgement they want and they are kinda happy and kinda confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Arnagan

columok wrote:

It depends on the door.
    Is the position for a door guy working on a crew where one person's the actuall "Picker" and the rest r security and crowd control for the line that will form and for the velvet ropes/stantions; like in night clubs?
    Or r u looking for the "Picker" himself?
    Is the door an actual door to a bar or small club and there isn't a concern for any disruptive presance on the side walk?
    Is the door an entrance to a residential building?
    Is there a concern for underage drinking?
    There's a lot to consider and many different type skills that can be required.

columok wrote:
    No thats brill Paul.

Unless ur liquer license has a few violation's attached to it, in which case a flashlight and a good eye for forgeries/fake id's takes presidence.
    Can't have a job doing the door, if ya just let in a few 16year olds and the Bobby's r shutting ya down, no matter how polite u were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭ninjawitatitude

...when a guy says he is going to kick the bejezus out of you, I encourage guys I work with to say "You probably would", and then continue talking. You'd be amazed how often aggresive males de-escalate when they think the bouncer doesn't believe he can take them in a fight - all of a sudden they have nothing to prove.

Spot on. And always leave them a way out, a way to save face. And if that means you get told how promiscuous your mother is then so be it. You have to be thick skinned in this game.
    Arnagan wrote:
    Unless ur liquer license has a few violation's attached to it, in which case a flashlight and a good eye for forgeries/fake id's takes presidence. Can't have a job doing the door, if ya just let in a few 16year olds and the Bobby's r shutting ya down, no matter how polite u were.

Actually, in Ireland the law states that the onus is on the carrier of the i.d. to be telling the truth. The doorman and his club are totally covered in the event of a fake i.d. being presented. The only people qualified to judge an i.d. are gardai, customs and excise officers, Immigration officers and prison warders.

Gambatte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭fianna.5u.com

A heart of gold

That hookers dude. If popular cinema is to be believed anyway. And me running up a wall taking out four guys with an AK-47 under each arm and some sweet sunglasses says it is. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

columok wrote:
    A bald head, and a leather jacket!!! LOL

No seriously, a level head, confidence, and being stern, yet understanding and polite are all attributes, as rightfully said above.

There is nothing worst than being refused on the door by some asshole simply on a power trip with a serious ego problem.

Actually, in Ireland the law states that the onus is on the carrier of the i.d. to be telling the truth. The doorman and his club are totally covered in the event of a fake i.d. being presented. The only people qualified to judge an i.d. are gardai, customs and excise officers, Immigration officers and prison warders.

Spot on???
    Ya learn something new everyday. So what r the responsibilities of a door guy in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Arnagan wrote:
    So what r the responsibilities of a door guy in Ireland?

Letting me in for free seems to be the consensus.