Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Streak of getting no cards

• 18-01-2006 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭

Was in a college tournament and for an hour and a half i got nothing at all. I won only one hand because of a bluff?

Whats the longest ye have gone without getting anything at all. I mean nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

depends what you regard as nothing and what position you're in when you get a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Was in a college tournament and for an hour and a half i got nothing at all. I won only one hand because of a bluff?

4 complete orbits (40 hands) without one card above a 9 !

Fitz double chance in December ... 2 4 rocks !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

depends what u mean by nothing. 5 minutes maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

indeed. one mans AQ is another mans 72. make mine a JK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I mean anything not even getting a pair

Every hand i folded came up with nothing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I went 3, maybe 4 hrs without a category 1 or 2 hand at the IPC main event in Citywest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I went four hours in a cash game in the Fitz a while ago without getting a card higher than Jack. I actually posted about it here. Definition of card dead.

If I had any experience I would have known to leave after the first two hours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I mean anything not even getting a pair

Every hand i folded came up with nothing too

you know things are bad when even the cards your folding are missing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I've gone six months without getting aces in a live tournament - Which is a considerable amount of time. Finally got them last week and promptly lost with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Doctor Fell

Could be worse, at least you can't lose any money while you're getting nothing. Much worse to have a long, long streak of getting shafted when u get great cards. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

Culchie wrote:
    4 complete orbits (40 hands) without one card above a 9 !

Fitz double chance in December ... 2 4 rocks !

So that means you were dealt 80 consecutive cards <9...

Am I working this out right...

(32/52)^80/1 = (1.35434957 × 10^-17)/1 which is:

0.00000000000000135434957% or 1 in 73,836,180,900,000,000

:eek: :eek: :eek:

I have no idea if your calculations are correct, however I can absolutely assure you that it happened.

Doc Farrell was on my right, and the times he didn't peep at my cards, I was showing him when he was gone from the hand...it was getting funnier every time.

Made a move with 2 4 twice as they were someway connected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Fatboydim wrote:
    I've gone six months without getting aces in a live tournament - Which is a considerable amount of time. Finally got them last week and promptly lost with them.
    I got them twice last night, first time against QQ and second time everyone feckin folded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

Yeah, I've a feeling I've made a mistake there somewhere, I haven't done probability since my LC and even then I sucked.

Anyway, it wasn't that I didn't believe you, there have been plenty of times when I have gone ages without a hand. It's just can't believe the number that I ended up with there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I went 6 orbits in the SE €50 double chance last week without a picture card. Bets hand was 6T sooted. I've never seen as many 27/28/29/37/38s in my life.

Wnt onto a cash game after and got even worse for the entire 3 hours.

Them fecking dealers in The Fitz have their favourites you know, they know well who tips and who doesn't.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

have never gone so long without a picture card...but I have def gone as long/longer without getting anything.....

One was so bad that I went through my history, typing every hand and printed it out to show the lads. Went an entire stt (can't remember exactly how many rounds, but came third and it was up to level 5) without getting a decent hand. J10s was my best hand of the tourney. I was getting plenty of picture cards, but they were of the K2 J3 Q5 type. I know some people may consider them playable, but I would much rather 78s to K6o. Even my low hands werent connected... like 82 104 73 etc etc... it was very tough going.... forced to do a lot of bluffing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

The first 63 hands in a PokerStars MTT. Nothing good, played a few hands when in the blinds. Didn't win one of the first 63 hands.

Recently played in Pokerevents in Athlone, Cavan, Sligo, Galway, and €1100 in Citywest. Got almost nothing in these five events.

Athlone 66 best; Cavan AQ; Sligo QQ; Galway 99. Citywest 88. Best hand was QQ in Sligo and an AK in Citywest.

But it turned immediately in the €275 Citywest event two days later. Pocket AA first hand and AK on fourth hand and a reasonable mix afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

played in a 15 seat tournament online last night and was getting the best cards of my life. AK AA JJ QQ AA KK. Suffice to say i was promptly knocked out early by every hand missing the deck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

people aren't going to like this but if the hands aren't coming start lowering you starting requirements and have a bit of fun. try to make moves and see which ones work for you and which ones dont. this could be handy for future experience or your luck might just change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

handsfree wrote:
    people aren't going to like this but if the hands aren't coming start lowering you starting requirements and have a bit of fun. try to make moves and see which ones work for you and which ones dont. this could be handy for future experience or your luck might just change!

When your cards go as dead as that 6 8 starts to look like amazing cards, until K K 10 flops. Unfortunately thats why you need so much patience because you have to wait an age sometimes to connect with a flop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

since we're talking about runs.. and someone else already drifted over to good runs instead of bad....

I got KK 5 times in one $50 STT :D

And just the other day (when massively shortstacked) I got JJ dealt to me 3 hands in a row, it was the end of the tourney, and each was an all-in showdown... won the first two :mad:

and handsfree,
    If your playing cash games - I would NEVER do this. But in tourneys there are plenty times you must do this... if you pick your moments well, against the right players... no problem

I got AA 3 times and KK once in last nights boards mini-tourney, but I must have played them like rubbish because my re-raises got folded on every occassion.

Culchie wrote:
    I got AA 3 times and KK once in last nights boards mini-tourney, but I must have played them like rubbish because my re-raises got folded on every occassion.

I called your re-raise with KK then my roadstone radar start flashing post flop. :p

ntlbell wrote:
    I called your re-raise with KK then my roadstone radar start flashing post flop. :p

I was in SB with them, just made up the BB, as I wasn't get paid at all ... I knew I could rely on you to try and nick them:D

Culchie wrote:
    I was in SB with them, just made up the BB, as I wasn't get paid at all ... I knew I could rely on you to try and nick them:D

!!

I had a hand!!!