Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so, what's not rubbish in your eyes?

• 13-01-2006 11:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭

prompted by the other thread about coinage, i now want to ask you what do you hoard, if anything? What item(s) gradually build up in your abode? What are the things that you know you should throw away, and that everyone close to you knows you should throw away (and regularly urges that you do) but you just can't bring yourself to dump?

Personally, i went through a fetish of minding all tickets to everything I went to, including things abroad. I gathered quite a collection of cinema tickets, museum tickets, train tickets, plane tickets, concert tickets, disco tickets, raffle tickets, lotto tickets, musical tickets (after a few trips to the west end), ballet ticket (just the one - swan lake in prague :)), tram tickets (dutch ones, during the pre-Luas era), metro/underground tickets; basically, if you needed a ticket to gain admittance, I kept it. Why? Come back to me when I've thought about that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

for some reason stupid things like Hot Press magazines that i never throw out but never read again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I keep tickets too. Ones from abroad especially. But I'd only keep one of each type as a souvenir so no thousands of CIÉ bus tickets lying around the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Bus tickets... nightclub fliers from other countries, the cars have all their old tax discs still in the holders, one behind the other, (the main one is grand cos its newish-the beemer is 20 years old!!!), foreign bloody money, can ya still change pesetas kroner and deutschmarks???

Aside from that I'm fairly ruthless really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Gig tickets, never throw away a gig ticket! Other than that i tend to hang on to trinkets or accessories that interest me at the time, and then never wear them/look at them again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Little Miss...

Have some loada crap from school that i'd love to get rid of but just am too lazy to do...so the plan is after the leaving cert... to have a MAJOR bonfire with loads of my friends and burn the whole lot. Oh and i tend to save tickets from stuff too concerts etc... i have a couple of barbies too :) should really give them away...hmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Magazines, and comics. Got stacks, and stacks of Mens health, PCGamer, PCZone, Scientific American, Marvel, DC, Image, it's unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Lady_Macbeth

simu wrote:
    I keep tickets too. Ones from abroad especially. But I'd only keep one of each type as a souvenir so no thousands of CIÉ bus tickets lying around the place!
    I've become more selective; now only ones of more significance only make it to my collection, which was purged of all those Bus Éireann scraps. Haven't really added anything in a while. Good excuse for a holiday, methinks :D
    the cars have all their old tax discs still in the holders, one behind the other, (the main one is grand cos its newish-the beemer is 20 years old!!!)
    this reminds me of my pinboard; I've all my timetables since 1st year in secondary school still up there, and just pinned the newest one on top (with the same pin), I've 5 from school and 3 college ones...should really take them down....naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahh!!
    foreign bloody money, can ya still change pesetas kroner and deutschmarks???
    AFAIK, I think you can still take them into the Central Bank and exchange them. I heard them (whoever 'they' may be...) harping on on the radio recently enough; maybe they're stopping the service soon or something? Or maybe it was just a reminder to people that they are still there..... Don't know, but you can check it out....

- Lady

so the plan is after the leaving cert... to have a MAJOR bonfire with loads of my friends and burn the whole lot.

You think that now. I had the same plan. But there was absolutely no way come the 23 June 2004 that I was getting rid of my 4 lever arch folders (English, Irish, Maths, History) and 3 regular folders (French, Biology, Economics) plus innumerable notebooks. No. Way. Ever. Still have them, under the bed; haven't looked at any of them since. But it was too painful to throw them out; they were my best friends for the hell that was the Leaving Cert. They got me through the bad times; I wasn't going to dispel them to the bin just because the good times started rolling. :o

this reminds me of my pinboard; I've all my timetables since 1st year in secondary school still up there, and just pinned the newest one on top (with the same pin), I've 5 from school and 3 college ones...should really take them down....naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahh!!

My sentiments exactly, must be the hoarder in me... or laziness, actually it's probably laziness...
    AFAIK, I think you can still take them into the Central Bank and exchange them. I heard them (whoever 'they' may be...) harping on on the radio recently enough; maybe they're stopping the service soon or something? Or maybe it was just a reminder to people that they are still there..... Don't know, but you can check it out....

- Lady

Ah, I'm sure I can, but for what I'd get now, I'd say if there's eighty quid in the lot I'd be doin well. Thanks all the same for the advice. So do you hoard anything else besides class timetables?

"But, soft! methinks I scent the morning air;
    Brief let me be. Sleeping within my orchard,
    My custom always of the afternoon."

Yea... I'm a lazy git...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

As I look around me I notice aircraft boarding card stubs and London Underground daycards all over my desk

But I think I'm just a messy bastard rather than a hoarder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

You think that now. I had the same plan. But there was absolutely no way come the 23 June 2004 that I was getting rid of my 4 lever arch folders (English, Irish, Maths, History) and 3 regular folders (French, Biology, Economics) plus innumerable notebooks. No. Way. Ever. Still have them, under the bed; haven't looked at any of them since. But it was too painful to throw them out; they were my best friends for the hell that was the Leaving Cert. They got me through the bad times; I wasn't going to dispel them to the bin just because the good times started rolling. :o

I got a decent leavin, got me where I wanted to go and I toasted every note and book I had (that I didnt manage to sell that is!!). I hated secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

gig tickets and boxes never throw these out.

My sentiments exactly, must be the hoarder in me... or laziness, actually it's probably laziness...

For me, it's simple. Dead simple. I'm just a lazy hoarder. No ambiguity about it :D
    Ah, I'm sure I can, but for what I'd get now, I'd say if there's eighty quid in the lot I'd be doin well.

/offers begging student hands
    So do you hoard anything else besides class timetables?

Unless not emptying my actual rubbish bin for a considerable while counts as hoarding rubbish....?
    Letters. I love letters. Except when they come from Meteor. Because that's not a letter. That's a begging for money. My money. Begging for my money.
    I'm not sure after that. Proportionately, I probably do because my bedroom at home is so messy that I probably can't even differentiate between what's officially hoarded and what's officially just not been thrown out yet (cf. description of my bin, above)

-Lady

PS So you're a bit spritely then also are you!?!?! ;)

Shoe boxes...theres always a use for shoe boxes.

Trilla wrote:
    I got a decent leavin, got me where I wanted to go and I toasted every note and book I had (that I didnt manage to sell that is!!). I hated secondary school.

I never said I liked it, in fact the Leaving Cert was, as I said earlier, hellish. But what did those defenceless notes do to me (bar the odd paper cut, I'm sure)? They were only trying to assist me as best they could! They had to be saved!
    Trilla wrote:
    Shoe boxes...theres always a use for shoe boxes.

Would you care to elaborate? Perhaps an example of said uses? I can only think that they would help in homing other hoarded items.....

For me, it's simple. Dead simple. I'm just a lazy hoarder. No ambiguity about it :D

Well, you're admitting it, and that's the first step on the road to recovery ;)
    /offers begging student hands

Np, 'tis here awaiting collection, filed under "Misunderstood Shakespearean Student Bursary"

Unless not emptying my actual rubbish bin for a considerable while counts as hoarding rubbish....?
    Letters. I love letters. Except when they come from Meteor. Because that's not a letter. That's a begging for money. My money. Begging for my money.
    I'm not sure after that. Proportionately, I probably do because my bedroom at home is so messy that I probably can't even differentiate between what's officially hoarded and what's officially just not been thrown out yet (cf. description of my bin, above)

-Lady

Hmmm... I don't get letters any more, not since my nice bank started pilfering my account in the name of direct debits... I like emails though, I looked a while back, and I have archived stuff back to '03... sad eh?

Np, 'tis here awaiting collection, filed under "Misunderstood Shakespearean Student Bursary"

Awww come on, I thought I was dead smart saying 'spritely'!! being the ghost who said it and all...Come on!!

sad eh?

Yes*

- Lady

*I'm just bitter re: my play on sprite/ghost....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I'm notorious for hoarding old computers and computer equipment/parts. In addition to the main machine I'm typing this on as we speak, I've got an old Pentium 3 which I use as a kind of server, my laptop which I bought last August, a piece of shít old Dell which I was actually going to throw out but decided to keep in the end and which I clobbered together and made fuctional again and keep meaning to install Linux on to play around with (been saying I'm going to do it for the past year and still haven't gotten around to it yet! :rolleyes: ).

I built another computer for my sister a few months ago from another old machine I had lying around and some spare parts but then she decided to go and buy a new computer for herself anyway! :rolleyes: So I'm stuck with that as well now! In addition to all that I've got another couple of machines stashed away in a wardrobe (most are missing some bits from being canabilised over the years but could be made fully functional again if necessary) not to mention boxes and boxes of old parts (keyboards, mice, modems, CD-ROM drives, etc.). Some of it has come in useful over the years, some of it is probably never, ever going to be used again but I refuse to throw them out "just in case"! ;):D Hell, I even still have my old Amstrad 464 and all the games and software for it! Retro or what? :D

Same goes for old discs, software and the like. Have got boxes upon boxes of old floppies, old games, utilities, CD-ROMs, magazine cover discs, etc. Some of the stuff on the likes of the old floppies gets used from time to time still so I refuse to throw them out based on that. Most of the old stuff I use on a fairly regular basis I've transferred from floppy onto CD at this stage, though...... but I've still kept the original discs safe. Once again "just in case"! :D

I won't bore you with the details of all the old computer magazines I've got piled away as well! ;):D

You wouldn't think I was a computer nerd/geek at all now, would you? ;):D

Awww come on, I thought I was dead smart saying 'spritely'!! being the ghost who said it and all...Come on!!

Awww, me sowwy... ya see you edited that in while I wasn't looking, you master of witticism you ;)
    Yes*

- Lady

*I'm just bitter re: my play on sprite/ghost....

What can I do to make it up to you?

:p

Awww, me sowwy... ya see you edited that in while I wasn't looking, you master of witticism you ;)

What can I do to make it up to you?

:p

WOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHH!!! *smug*
    BOO YA! UH-HUH!

Sorry, got a tad carried away with my moral victory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

not this thread anyway

WOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHH!!! *smug*
    BOO YA! UH-HUH!

Sorry, got a tad carried away with my moral victory

Ho hum... not very sporting, I'm upset now...:eek:

liamskater wrote:
    not this thread anyway

oooohhh burnt! *meow*

Oh yes...but he's cool doncha know... everyone sez so...

Ho hum... not very sporting, I'm upset now...:eek:

I am very sporting. I just always win :D

It's true what my English teacher told me, Hamlet's mammy was a cocky little thing... :D

go back to school, you insolent little boy :v:

Yes, miss, but you'll have to discipline me first <runs>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I still have my commodore64 keyboard and monitor and a huge box of tapes despite the fact that my tapedeck is broken and therefore I can't load any of them. The craziness is further compounded by the fact that I have an emulator running on this computer with every game ever so theres absolutely no reason to keep all that gear!

I guess I'm just impressed to see a monitor that still hasn't crapped out after 20years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I just keep little things that mean stuff to me, tickets, letters, some things that would look quite random to some people etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Gig tickets, cinema tickets (except the Ormonde who have started using receipt type ones!), bus/train tickets from anything memorable, Time magazines from famous events (9/11, the Euro etc) and all my old Q magazines!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

College notes...pfh, as if theyre gonna be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

i have nearly all me christmas/summer reports since junior infants.

i have a s---load of leavin cert notes from last year and for some reason just won't throw them out.

i've kept nearly every football shirt i've had since i was tiny too.

and i have all me communion and confirmation cards as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

for some reason stupid things like Hot Press magazines that i never throw out but never read again.

Yeah I'm the same with Hot Press. I've about 20 of them that I never look at again.

I've a collection of Cork City programmes, 90's singles, and old college notes. I wouldn't really mind if I lost any of them though.

I've a few tickets and stubs from Spain, USA and places too.

And I've got lots of old boxes from PC games (from when they all came in needless big boxes instead of just DVD cases like today)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

For some reason i find it impossible to throw out those white boxes that cdwow deliver cds and dvds in. I have a stack of them about 4ft high in the corner of my room and god knows how many under my bed. I also do the same with the screen click envelopes.
    Theres also a collection of broken guitar cables that "i might need one day"
    I keep old concert tickets but most people do that.

[QUOTE=Lady_Macbeth
    Would you care to elaborate? Perhaps an example of said uses? I can only think that they would help in homing other hoarded items.....[/QUOTE]

Would I care to elaborate? Most certainly...

Shoes for one! CDs and old tapes, old photo albums etc...you get the drift.

Oh yeah used to make little garages and petrol stations for my matchbox cars way back in d day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I keep old magazines, but I like to go back and read them again from time to time.
    It's kinda interesting to compare then and now.

Trilla wrote:
    Oh yeah used to make little garages and petrol stations for my matchbox cars way back in d day!

Shoeboxes had amazing artistic abilities back in the day. Brilliant as houses. Mansions, even. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

I've got magazines that I never look at and probably never will, books and notes from school and college, old computer parts, hundreds of used 1day bus tickets, CDs from a bad music phase that I'll never listen to again, loads of empty boxes and a lot of empty beer cans and bottles scattered around the place.:p I have 2 drawers full of random stuff that has been in there about 10 years and I cant even remember what it is or when I last opened those drawers *me goes to look*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

If I didn't lose a race number during a race I keep it. I must be coming up to a hundred by now