Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas

• 12-01-2006 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭

Hey i've been reading the forum for a few weeks now but this is my first post. My family are going to vegas during the summer but i'm only 18 :mad:! Anyway i was wondering how strict are the casinos and would it be worth my while to get a fake id? Has anyone been and successfully used a fake drivers licence etc.? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

They are very strict but you may get away with a drivers licence especially if you look older

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

friend of mine got away with using a fake id in cash games, you will definately need id to play. and i wouldn't invest too much money into any one game because they may keep your winnings. if they find out your id is fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I have been there a number of times and yes, it is strict (in the big casinos at least). I was 26 the last time I was there and was asked for ID many times. Also, I don't think you will have much luck with any of our 'traditional' fake IDs, when I lived in San Diego we had almost perfect fake Irish driving licenses that were refused almost everywhere we went! Thank the lord for the Mexican drinking age and the tram to Tijuana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

When I was 18 I was in vegas for a couple of days I went into most of the casino's and had no trouble. I wasn't even asked for ID and I'd say I probably look younger rather than older. I wasn't playing any poker at the time so maybe getting into the cardrooms is more difficult although I know of a fair few people(under 21) who've played cash in vegas without any problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Jeez, I must look a lot older than my 29 years. I wasn't asked once when I was over there. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Seeing as this thread was started. (I can start another if Mods wish.)

I'm going to New York in March .... anyone know much about the Atlantic City poker scene as well, or recommend websites with details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Culchie wrote:

I'm going to New York in March .... anyone know much about the Atlantic City poker scene as well, or recommend websites with details.

Im told its massive at the moment, loads of NL cash games and tournaments especially with the crackdowns on poker in New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

Culchie wrote:

http://www.jazbo.com/poker/acpok.html

i stayed in the taj. nice poker room, played 1/2 limit. the rooms were lovely but a little pricey.

if youre on a budget try http://www.theirishpub.com/html.htm but they dont offer rooms all year round so check ahead. There are also a couple of motels close to the irish pub, less than 5 mins from the boardwalk and less than 15 mins from the taj.

all in all though, AC is a bit of a hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

De Deraco wrote:
    friend of mine got away with using a fake id in cash games, you will definately need id to play. and i wouldn't invest too much money into any one game because they may keep your winnings. if they find out your id is fake.

Don't worry about them keeping your winnings, they would need to be 100% sure you had a fake ID to even think of that. They will tell you "sorry sir, we can't accept this, but we'll accept your passport, since we know you couldn't have got into this country without one". Then you take your chips and go to get your passport and end up trying another casino. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

Does anyone know what type of ids the accept in the casinos in general? Like will some casinos only take passports etc? Also can anyone recommend any smaller casinos cos they probably wouldn't be as strict i would think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

sendic wrote:
    http://www.jazbo.com/poker/acpok.html

i stayed in the taj. nice poker room, played 1/2 limit. the rooms were lovely but a little pricey.

if youre on a budget try http://www.theirishpub.com/html.htm but they dont offer rooms all year round so check ahead. There are also a couple of motels close to the irish pub, less than 5 mins from the boardwalk and less than 15 mins from the taj.

all in all though, AC is a bit of a hole.

Accommodation isn't a problem, staying with Brother in Law in NY. I believe the casinos are laying on buses bringing the New Yorkers with them.

Thanks Lads, any further info most appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭doc71

Culchie wrote:

foxwoods insnt too far from NY..biggest pokerroom in the world

I used my drivers licence when i was over there i was 21 and looked older so they accepted my friends also as it was a perfect copy. I heard they kept the chips and returned them to you once you brought your passport. plus i heard they check your id very closely once you win a tournament but barely glance at it before you enter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Amaru

I hear that the 300/600 game at the Taj is full of weak tight world champions. Some of them will even fold to a 4th bet preflop, and then ask you if you had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭sparkulicous

Does anyone know what type of ids the accept in the casinos in general? Like will some casinos only take passports etc? Also can anyone recommend any smaller casinos cos they probably wouldn't be as strict i would think..

I Was over there last summer, i'm 23 and in new York, new York, MGM and Cesars wouldn’t let me sit down without showing a passport. wouldn’t except driver's licence.

We went to this small casino well off the strip on tropicana call the wild wild west. it dosent look like much but the Dealers were ledgends. good craic had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

I read on another forum that loads of people who were over in california on a J1 photocopied their passports but changed the date and it worked in all the clubs! They just said that they didin't want to lose their passports. Any chance a casino would accept this? Maybe if i had a drivers licence and a student card aswell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

Amaru wrote:
    I hear that the 300/600 game at the Taj is full of weak tight world champions. Some of them will even fold to a 4th bet preflop, and then ask you if you had it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Culchie wrote:
    Accommodation isn't a problem, staying with Brother in Law in NY. I believe the casinos are laying on buses bringing the New Yorkers with them.

Thanks Lads, any further info most appreciated.

I was over there in 2004. We stayed in the Tropicana and it had an excellent poker room. The only other one we played was the Taj (has to be done) which was classic. The city is a dive but great for cards.

http://www.talking-poker.com/viewarticle.aspx?article=3

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was in AC briefly in 2003, played about 6 hours of limit poker in Bally's. I was a young and unwise player then who didnt feel up to the NL game. Didnt get asked for ID though, but I was 26 at the time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

De Deraco wrote:
    I used my drivers licence when i was over there i was 21 and looked older so they accepted my friends also as it was a perfect copy. I heard they kept the chips and returned them to you once you brought your passport. plus i heard they check your id very closely once you win a tournament but barely glance at it before you enter.

Did they know you fu*k goats

never came up thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I used a fake drivers license over there two years ago. It was a dodgy looking light blue shaded Irish one aswell, had no trouble with it anywhere

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I hope the CIA are reading this thread and you all get caught and sent to Guantanamo Bay,that will sort you lot out....you do the crime you do the time.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Dub13 wrote:
    I hope the CIA are reading this thread and you all get caught and sent to Guantanamo Bay,that will sort you lot out....you do the crime you do the time.:)

This is still about the goats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Hey i've been reading the forum for a few weeks now but this is my first post. My family are going to vegas during the summer but i'm only 18 :mad:! Anyway i was wondering how strict are the casinos and would it be worth my while to get a fake id? Has anyone been and successfully used a fake drivers licence etc.? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance..

Do a Stuey on it. Have about 150K in your pocket and if asked your age, just say "would any 18 yr old have this amount of money ?".

Should work.:)