Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

electric shock experience

• 12-01-2006 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

hi how r ya....4 months ago i had an awful experience i got a very bad electric shock from a blender being left in the water plugged in by my manager in where i work...... my hands r still burnin and the bang that i heard in my head still haunts me.....i was treated really bad....and this is effectin me really bad....is dere any1 out dere who have experienced a 240volts who have survived dat i can talk 2?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

get to a lawyer fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MiniMetro

Same happened to me with a coffee machine that wasn't earthed properly.Strangest feeling ever. I had something in my hand when it happened and it took me about half an hour to find it afterwards because i'd thrown it so far. One of the least pleasant feelings I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

hi how r ya....4 months ago i had an awful experience i got a very bad electric shock from a blender being left in the water plugged in by my manager in where i work...... my hands r still burnin and the bang that i heard in my head still haunts me.....i was treated really bad....and this is effectin me really bad....is dere any1 out dere who have experienced a 240volts who have survived dat i can talk 2?????
    Ive been shocked by the mains (ZOMEG 240 volts!!) a bunch of times. Probably about once a year since I was 5 or 6 years old.
    I didnt find it a big deal, so I can't really help you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

is dere any1 out dere who have experienced a 240volts who have survived dat i can talk 2?????

Yup, loads of them, used to work as an electrician, so I got some pretty bad ones, and know some lads who were nearlly killed.

Very few people are killed by 240volts, it's normally 400Volts(or more) that fatalities arise from unless they're standing in a puddle of water.

Believe it or not, the odd (non-fatal) electric shock is actually good for you as it gives your heart a bit of a *dart*.

I don't understand how your hands are still burning, I don't want to sound trivial about it, but I'd say it's in your head, probably due to shock (if i'm wrong I apologise) I'm only going on my own experiences, probably +20 shocks, they don't really bother me that much at all now. Normally you wouldn't feel anything after 10-15mins.

Can you give any more details about the accident? Are you sure it was only 240 volts, you can get 3-phase 400 volt mixers? It's a pity you weren't treated with a bit more care, it can be a scarey thing when your not used to it.
    More details if you can please & did you see a doctor at the time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

it is 4 sure unpleasant.... i was fired back 5 foot and hit off d press...i dislocated my jaw and have 2 get surgery on it this month

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

my hands r still burnin and the bang that i heard in my head still haunts me

have you been to a doctor?
    because if you are still feeling bad, you should.

also
    please don't use anymore 'text speak'
    it hurts my eyes and your comments are difficult to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

well i didnt c a doctor....and it was a big deal 4 me!!! i was fired back 5 foot from the sink and hit a press...i subsequently dislocated my jaw and have 2 get surgery on it this month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Crikey, sounds awful. Sound like you could have post traumatic stress. Go and see a doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Grimes wrote:
    get to a lawyer fast

But make sure you learn to spell and use a keyboard correctly before you enter into correspondence.

I've had more electric shocks than I can count, many of them off full-whack mains voltage (and several of them in work). AFAIK it's only a real danger if the current passes through your chest, where it can stop your heart.

But, the bottom line is that you could have been killed or seriously injured due to this manager's negligence, so you would likely have a case. Pretty dumb of the company not to at least offer you a 'quietening' bonus.

it is 4 sure unpleasant.... i was fired back 5 foot and hit off d press...i dislocated my jaw and have 2 get surgery on it this month

I'd be surprised if that was only 240volt. Your company would almost be definetly liable for negligence, you haven't given a whole lot of details, what was the mixer doing in water? what type of socket was it plugged into? why did you go near it? Is it an industrial type mixer or your typical home-kitchen type effort?

You should inform the Health and Safety Authority (http://www.hsa.ie), and get a solicitor involved.
    Are the company paying you sick? are they paying for the Operation, it's all pretty vague to me?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

happened to me in my old job, was standing on a chair, fiddling with the ariel on the back of the hifi in a vain attempt to get five live for a champions league game, touched off an uncovered wire and got a hell of a shock.. blown off the chair and flew about 6 feet backways.. funny now that i look back on it...

Sico wrote:
    AFAIK it's only a real danger if the current passes through your chest, where it can stop your heart.

Current always takes the path of least resistance, so if you touch a live conductor with your hand the current will pass up your arm, down your torso, down your leg and out to 'ground'.

I don't know 'littlemermaid's' exact details, but when you get a shock in general, the current will nearly always travel through your chest cavity, so what you've said isn't really true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Funny how people when they have an accident where another person is liable they are haunted for months with symptoms that never go away........

Or am I just being cynical.....

For some reason this post smacks of trolling but anyway go to a doctor for the hands and a therapist for your mind. Wanting to talk to others who have had an electric shock makes me smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Aye, I've gotten quite a few jolts from mains(in work). But nothing as bad as needing surgary/reciving burns. However the company are at fult for the shock as it happened inside it. I would say talk to the Health and Safety Authority as suggested by sparks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Knife in the toaster. Great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Don't forget that mains AC is 240V RMS. The voltage during an electric shock episode could reach a peak of 320V.

There are some benefits to an electric shock though. When it happened to Mel Gibson in What Women Want he gained the power of being able to read women's minds. Others survivors have gained increased powers of strength and intelligence although I don't think the latter has happened to the OP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

If you didn't go to a doctor, who is doing the surgery next month....your Vet? I apologise if I am wrong but something fishy about this one.

"Believe it or not, the odd (non-fatal) electric shock is actually good for you as it gives your heart a bit of a *dart*."

That was worth checking out this thread on its own:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Sparks400 wrote:
    Believe it or not, the odd (non-fatal) electric shock is actually good for you as it gives your heart a bit of a *dart*.

/me sticks tounge in to electricity socket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

el tel wrote:
    There are some benefits to an electric shock though. When it happened to Mel Gibson in What Women Want he gained the power of being able to read women's minds. Others survivors have gained increase powers of strength and intelligence although I don't think the OP has to worry about that.
    Exactly. She should be paying her boss :D

From the sounds of things, maybe you were mildly traumatised by the experience or some such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

I've received two shocks in my life. I was under a desk and I put my hand near the power supply on a pc and I got a mighty shock out of it, my arm flew into the air hit the desk with a lot of force and came back straight down and I got a second equally strong shock. Needless to say I was sore for a day or so ;)

Would have been funny if you shouted something that sounded like Heil at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Yeah I got a shock a little bit like what you described when I was about sixteen. It was a weird feeling, I cant remember what happened very well, but apparently I just jumped and kept putting my hands in the air for some odd reason. My brother got freaked out and ran home. Its all good though, now I can move furniture with my eyes, ahh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

My brother got freaked out and ran home.

Hahaha, your bro kept a cool head I see.

I've been zapped by a gas oven, had my finger on the igniter and pressed the button, wasnt pleasent. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

As a teen I used to work with a tree surgeon. On one job we were topping a line of trees. As I tried to pass the saw to the guy in the other tree I touched an overhead power cable. The trees where wet and I got an almighty bang. I was sent flying and was only kept from falling by landing with a branch between my legs. A shocking and deeply unpleasant experience.
    I've had spikey hair ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭AnnaStezia

As far as I know the typical domestic mains supply in ireland is 230 volts alternating current. As pointed out above it can be higher for industrial installations.

230 Volts AC probably will not kill you. 230 Volts AC delivered at the right rate of current may well kill you. It is a matter of luck.

I think the Americans used AC in the electric chairs for execution purposes. They deliver it at a high rate of voltage and current to burn out the nervous system and to stop the heart. They are considerate enough to limit the duration of shock cycles, voltage and current to stop cooking the prisoner ! I don't believe that the USA authorities ever got any complaints from shocked prisoners !!

I think AC will fibrilate a heart and probably stop it.

If you get a bad zap from the mains it is always a good idea to go to A & E for a check up. In particular, get an ECG to check that the electrical activity patterns of your heart have not been damaged.

Your employer should have been reported to Health and Safety and or the factory inspectorate if they still exist.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i find it hard to believe you'd have a 400V (3phase) blender that was capable of being dropped into the water - most machines of that type would be permanently suspended.

240V will definitely give you a jolt - the voltage jolts, the current level determines the damage - the more water the less resistance and the more current. so if the blender was in the water like that then i suspect the room and floor weren't dry either. not surprising you got a shock like that.

i got a nasty shock off a PA amplifier and an even nastier one off a hand dryer, psycologically if you're unscathed it can still be traumatising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I was sent flying and was only kept from falling by landing with a branch between my legs

Which was the worse, getting a shock or getting hit in the children's allowance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Mina Loy

I'd like to add my own shock story haha!

When I was in 6th class we were putting on our end of year/school show. I was in charge of the lights. My Twelve year old brain didn't seem to think that'd be a good idea to watch the switches I was pulling instead of the show. In between the rows of switches ( it was a big ancient system mounted on a wall taller than me) there was LIVE WIRES! eeaaaai. I got distracted by jack (or the beanstalk?!!) and instead of going for a switch I stuck my hand in the little corridor of live wires. I was thrown back about 10 feet and the only thing that stopped me was a pile of matresses. The only thing I can remember really clearly is the sensation of someone shaking my hand at about 1000 mph then I blacked out. I woke up to someone giving out to me about ruining the ****ing show and the smell of MY OWN BACON! eeee.. Felt a bit queer for about a week because of the shock*

*no pun intended :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Why didn't you mention this in your opening post instead of going on about 'burned' hands (which doesn't happen unless voltage is extremely high)...pass the cod love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

AnnaStezia wrote:
    As far as I know the typical domestic mains supply in ireland is 230 volts alternating current. As pointed out above it can be higher for industrial installations.

230 Volts AC probably will not kill you. 230 Volts AC delivered at the right rate of current may well kill you. It is a matter of luck.

I think the Americans used AC in the electric chairs for execution purposes. They deliver it at a high rate of voltage and current to burn out the nervous system and to stop the heart. They are considerate enough to limit the duration of shock cycles, voltage and current to stop cooking the prisoner ! I don't believe that the USA authorities ever got any complaints from shocked prisoners !!

I think AC will fibrilate a heart and probably stop it.

If you get a bad zap from the mains it is always a good idea to go to A & E for a check up. In particular, get an ECG to check that the electrical activity patterns of your heart have not been damaged.

Your employer should have been reported to Health and Safety and or the factory inspectorate if they still exist.

That's pretty much it. And we are talking current here in the MILLIAMPS!
    It Boils down to how you get your shock, the danger being that you might be grasping something that shocks you, in which case you are unlikely to be able to let go of it - and this is the key point. The EKG/ECG check up is what you SHOULD have done if it affected you that badly - but seeing as it's now 4 months later, I don't know if that's relevant any more. However if you're still feeling the effects - SEEK MEDICAL ADVICE ALREADY :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

jesus, I stopped counting when I was a teenager.

Mostly mains shocks, everything from a little frizz to being thrown across a room.

Also had some nice HT (17,000Vish) shocks while tinkering with engines. In a couple of cases I had the spark lead in a racing kart come off the engine and land on my leg, @ anything from 15,000 to 21,000 RPM thats not a nice experience. It got worse when I put the cap back on while I was driving!

Its not really the voltage that does the damage as such, if it was I would be well dead by now! Its the current that does the damage, of course a higher voltage helps its ability to overcome resistance and jump gaps.

DC is a fecker as it locks you heart solid. People have been killed from car batteries as the current is extremely high its peak load.

Electocution is one of those things, its fun and all but you dont really want to do it again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Fortunately, I never had to endure an electric shock. I am a reporter for a radio station and would like to do an interview about your experiences if it is not too much to ask. If you are willing to please email me: t.janak@gmx.de

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Fortunately, I never had to endure an electric shock. I am a reporter for a radio station and would like to do an interview about your experiences if it is not too much to ask. If you are willing to please email me: t.janak@gmx.de

LOL

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

AnnaStezia wrote:
    I think the Americans used AC in the electric chairs for execution purposes. They deliver it at a high rate of voltage and current to burn out the nervous system and to stop the heart. They are considerate enough to limit the duration of shock cycles, voltage and current to stop cooking the prisoner ! I don't believe that the USA authorities ever got any complaints from shocked prisoners !!.
    It all started as a PR exercise by Edison and Co. to show that DC was "Safer". The first execution was botched. usually it's a zap to quieten you down, and then they fry you, not plesent. And litterly fry in many cases.

Don't forget that computer power supplies and stuff like that has capacitors at peak voltage 230V AC --> 324V DC (not counting spikes)

IIRC it's about 10mA across the heat to kill you (fibriliation thingy).

Whales get it bad. Their blubber is insulating so when they are harpooned and electrocuted the return current is by the eyes and genitals. <ouch>

Yeah I got a shock a little bit like what you described when I was about sixteen. It was a weird feeling, I cant remember what happened very well, but apparently I just jumped and kept putting my hands in the air for some odd reason. My brother got freaked out and ran home. Its all good though, now I can move furniture with my eyes, ahh.

Troll or not, some very funny responces!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Binomate wrote:
    /me sticks tounge in to electricity socket.
    Like licking a nine volt battery :)

Yummy

but sore.

Done that years ago, very wierd and painful sensation.... everyone should experience it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

well i didnt c a doctor....and it was a big deal 4 me!!! i was fired back 5 foot from the sink and hit a press...i subsequently dislocated my jaw and have 2 get surgery on it this month
    it was a big deal for you, you broke your jaw, and you DIDN'T go to the doctor? Ok.. time to step away from the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Go to doctor.