Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heart Surgery.

• 11-01-2006 8:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

hi all,

my Father is going in for a triple bypass operation in the next few days, and I am sh*tting myself at the thoughts of it. I've read a bit about success rates and what have you, but the thoughts of the ribcage being opened etc scares the begorrah out of me.

Has anyone any experience with family or friends having had this type of surgery before, and what was the experience like for the person and their family? My father is 62, smoker (not any more now though, stopped when he heard about the operation) and moderate drinker, and I'd like to hear anybodys experiences. I suppose I'm probably looking for reassurance that things will more than likely go well.....but any experiences would be welcome.

pologies if this is posted in the wrong place.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

My da had this done and lived for 35 years after. As you can no doubt deduce it was done a long time ago with techniques that were ground breaking at the time but primitive by today's standard.

Yes you are going to be worried, it will seem like touch and go for a while. His life may change a bit but at 62 he is probably won't be doing too much physical stuff so he won't be too badly affected.

I would say all will be well. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

My dad had it done as well few years back, he is still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭declanoneill

My dad got this done back in 2000, He was a little unlucky in that he had a bad time afterwards, seemingly down to the nursing staff. As a result I've gotten to hear about a lot of other people that have undergone the surgery. With the exception of my dad, most of them only go back to the hospital for check ups. My dad ususally ends up going back in for a week 2/3 times a year, but he still lives his life and is fine.

I hope all goes well for your dad, try not to worry, he's in good hands :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

The cracking opening of the sternum is a bit of a sickener all right but they have to gain access somehow. Under general anaesthetic there's no pain but it is uncomfortable afterwards. This is an extremely common proceedure and like all operations there are risks but the improved quality of life post-op is well worth it for most patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Archeron wrote:
    My father is 62, smoker (not any more now though, stopped when he heard about the operation) and moderate drinker, and I'd like to hear anybodys experiences. I suppose I'm probably looking for reassurance that things will more than likely go well.....but any experiences would be welcome.

Dont worry, My Da went through it to at the same age, same circumstances. I was really worried and tbh its up there with one of the most shiittiest times of my life. But he's better than ever. Without tryin to sound like an asshole but you gotta think of it like he's gettin a new engine, he's porbably gonna end up alot more healthier than you are now! My dad is absolutely fine now, i know its hard but try not to worry. He's still on a fair amount of medication (12 tablets a day) but Ive never seen him as good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Archeron wrote:
    Has anyone any experience with family or friends having had this type of surgery before, and what was the experience like for the person and their family? My father is 62, smoker (not any more now though, stopped when he heard about the operation) and moderate drinker, and I'd like to hear anybodys experiences. I suppose I'm probably looking for reassurance that things will more than likely go well.....but any experiences would be welcome.

Both my dad and uncle.
    Trilla wrote:
    Dont worry, My Da went through it to at the same age, same circumstances. I was really worried and tbh its up there with one of the most shiittiest times of my life. But he's better than ever. Without tryin to sound like an asshole but you gotta think of it like he's gettin a new engine, he's porbably gonna end up alot more healthier than you are now! My dad is absolutely fine now, i know its hard but try not to worry. He's still on a fair amount of medication (12 tablets a day) but Ive never seen him as good!
    Totally agree. It is crappy thing to have to go through but he will be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Try not to worry - My mother had this done over a year ago & has never been better.. I in fact am going for Major Heart surgery myself in the near future & I know it's very very frightening.... I think it's actually harder on the family than the person actually having the operation.

with regards to your dad, it's going to be very frightening for you going into the ICU after the operation, he is going to connected to lots of machines & will have two tubes coming on from uder his ribcage, this is completely normal, & they will be taken out the next day. His breathing is going to be very shallow & when the respirator comes off he is going to be breathing kind of weird for a couple of hours, it's the next day that the worst because he will get all poofy & swoolen, this is from being on the Bi-pass machine & it'll go down in a couple of days.

I promise you after that it all gets better, it really is two or three bad days & then he will start to get back to himself..

Also don't worry about your dad being in pain from the operation, there is some discomfort but the pain is managed so well by the doctors that it's really not that bad at all, My mother said having a baby wa smuch worse!

Where is he having it done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

ravenhead wrote:
    Where is he having it done?

he is a public patient but thanks be to the National treatment purchase fund, its being carried out in the Mater private.

thanks all for your comments, its making me feel a lot better. :)

Archeron wrote:
    he is a public patient but thanks be to the National treatment purchase fund, its being carried out in the Mater private.

thanks all for your comments, its making me feel a lot better. :)

I go there! Is he under Dr Walshe? If so, he is excellant, the after care is really brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

My grandad had a tripler done in 1994 in the Blackrock Clinic. My mother was extremely worried, but everyone kept on saying it was as easy and as common as an appendix operation!! Didn't really curb the worry mind you. But he came out it grand. But she'll never forget when she saw him after the op with all the tubes and stuff coming out of him. She sh1t herself!

She'll also never forget when he started coming around after the op. He started fcukin and blinding at her, my uncles and the nursing staff!! They didn't know whether to laugh or cry!! It was "fcuk this, fcuk that....you're all a bunch of cu*ts". And all this from a normally placid man!! It was comical....but the nursing staff explained that it was a reaction to coming out of a general anesthetic and that it was quite common!! He couldn't remember what he had done minutes later!!

Anyway good luck to your dad, I'm sure everything will go fine

ravenhead wrote:
    I go there! Is he under Dr Walshe? If so, he is excellant, the after care is really brilliant

I believe the surgeon will be a Mr Hurley. Was another Malaysian chap doing it (I think his name was Mr Varasingen, forgive me if its spelt wrong, and it most likely is) but that man is on leave now, so mr Hurley is taking over instead.
    Havent met Mr Hurley, but I met the Malaysian surgeon, and he was a top bloke. Full of good honest advice, and no pussyfooting around sensitive issues like smoking etc.

Archeron wrote:
    I believe the surgeon will be a Mr Hurley. Was another Malaysian chap doing it (I think his name was Mr Varasingen, forgive me if its spelt wrong, and it most likely is) but that man is on leave now, so mr Hurley is taking over instead.
    Havent met Mr Hurley, but I met the Malaysian surgeon, and he was a top bloke. Full of good honest advice, and no pussyfooting around sensitive issues like smoking etc.

I think that Hurley guy is short with glasses, I'm not quiet sure which one of them will be doing mine yet as I have been for my pre-op yet, but your dad really is in the best place, he'll be in & out in no time at all, they'll even have him walking around a day or so after the surgery

ravenhead wrote:
    I think that Hurley guy is short with glasses, I'm not quiet sure which one of them will be doing mine yet as I have been for my pre-op yet, but your dad really is in the best place, he'll be in & out in no time at all, they'll even have him walking around a day or so after the surgery

Thanks to ye all for the advice, I actually feel a lot better for hearing that.
    I'll breathe a sigh of relief when its all done in a few days time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

These days, by-passes are commonplace, even a triple one. My bf's dad had one over 3 years ago. he went in for a triple but when they opened him up, they actually performed a quadruple.

I had heart surgery myself when I was a kid to correct a deart defect, and the worst part was the pains in my sternum and shoulders from the cracking open of the ribcage. He will have muscular pain across there for a long time. But it's not incapacitating.

Your Dad having the surgery is a good thing. Be worried, but don't be scared.

dudara wrote:
    These days, by-passes are commonplace, even a triple one. My bf's dad had one over 3 years ago. he went in for a triple but when they opened him up, they actually performed a quadruple.

I had heart surgery myself when I was a kid to correct a deart defect, and the worst part was the pains in my sternum and shoulders from the cracking open of the ribcage. He will have muscular pain across there for a long time. But it's not incapacitating.

Your Dad having the surgery is a good thing. Be worried, but don't be scared.

What kind of defect did you have? Interested as my condition is a birth defect also..