Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What DON'T you like about Firefly / Serenity?

• 09-01-2006 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭

Since so many Browncoats can't admit that the series/movie have any faults whatsoever (aside from being cancelled that is :( ) I thought I'd post on this as there's one thing I can't stand about Firefly: the theme tune. It just grinds...

I can imagine
    some of the deaths from the movie
    would be issues of discontent for some but given the universe the story is set in, it was sorta necessary - like Jayne says to Book "lives like mine don't last long..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

I really like the theme music, although for some reason the music from the movie reminded me too much of damien rice.

One bit in the flashback episode (can't remember the name of it), the episode where we see flashbacks of Mal buying Serenity and getting the crew together, did annoy me a bit though. The bit with
    Kaylee having sex with the engineer in the engine room
    ... took away some of her sweetness ... also jealous of the engineer ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

how yer man got sucked into the engine at the end of the train job and there was no damage what so ever done to the engine. Now thats totally unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Gravity. Gravity is the one physics plothole in serenity, particularily due to the fact that serenity tends to dock upside down.

Sleepy: The theme tune bugged me too at first, but it grew on me after a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

From the film, I didn't like the humour. It felt too much like the humour you'd find in an episode of 'Buffy' and was wildly different from the more relaxed humour of the series. I think it felt too forced in the film.

And from the series, I didn't really like the episode 'Heart of Gold'; what were they thinking? :confused: But nothing big apart from that that I can think of at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My biggest dislike for the series is the way I feel so guilty for not having caught it when it was being aired. Like it could still be on if enough people like me that love the series now, years after, had copped onto it when it was originally on...

Just watched the special features from the boxset and you can't help but feel sorry for Joss Whedon in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

Inara, Inara, Inara - pointless and sweet to the point of toothache!!!

I'm only sorry the Reaver didn't succeed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

...you haven't seen the series, have you?

Yes I have and I really disliked her in that too.
    I reckon she's just the eye-candy, like that simpering little bit of fluff in Xena.
    It would have been a hoot if Nandi had lived and came aboard Serenity, don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

washiskin wrote:
    Yes I have and I really disliked her in that too.
    I reckon she's just the eye-candy, like that simpering little bit of fluff in Xena.
    It would have been a hoot if Nandi had lived and came aboard Serenity, don't you think?
    Hang on, you're saying there was eye-candy in Xena? Never!

Back on topic, I'd have to say that I also disliked Inara. I understand why she was there, but I didn't understand why they had to show her being there. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Zoggy

washiskin wrote:
    Inara, Inara, Inara - pointless and sweet to the point of toothache!!!

I'm only sorry the Reaver didn't succeed!!!

You can't be serious!
    You say you've seen the show, surely you can see she was a vital character.
    She played an important part in the crew dynamic and was a lot more then just eye candy.

And besides, if it wasn't for her this place would be full of rumours of Kayleigh and Mal, Zoe and Mal and even Jayne and Mal.

I suggest you go watch the show again. A lot of it wouldn't work without Inara involved.

"I suggest you go watch the show again. A lot of it wouldn't work without Inara involved."

I've watched the show solidly for the past 8-9 months, Zoggy.I've seen the film 9 times in the cinema and almost every night since I got the DVD.

I thought this thread was for expressing what we didn't like about the series/movie.....seems I can express it only if it's not disagreeing with other peoples views......:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Zoggy

And all I'm doing is disagreeing with you, is all.

Personally, I can't understand why Mal didn't throw Jayne off the ship.

All he seemed to do was make silly comments and sell out the Tams to the feds. Which would have backfired on Mal, as the feds would have found out who had been keeping them.

Also, Mal seems to spend a lot of time telling him to shut his mouth.

And as you've seen the movie so much, you must have caught that there is a little tension between them, making me think more that Jayne should go.

GET RID OF JAYNE??!!
    are you serious?
    jayne is one of the most well written, well acted sci-fi characters EVER!
    he knows exactly who & what he is...doesn't portray himself as anything only the money/power hungry muscle-head he is...knows that folk like him don't last long and want to make the most of the time they have (The Message) and is big enough to know when he's f***ed up...(Ariel)
    Mal saw a useful quality in him on their first meeting when Jayne told him he'd found them easy enough (Out of Gas) and takes him along for backup in almost all of his jobs - even though he knows he'd sell his mother....

Get rid of him and you lose 90% of the humour that Firefly was good at and you also lose some of the best acting from Nathan and Adam (Ariel and Serenity..." do you want run this boat?")

Compare that to the architypal "tart - with - a - heart" Inara is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Who said get rid of Jayne? Get your head checked! :p

After being a big Buffy and Angel fan I missed Firefly on tv. When I saw Serenity in the cinema,I bought Firefly and its just brilliant.

Obviously it soiled some things,like when I was watching the series I knew
    Wash and Shepard would dieBut Joss likes to kill off characters,you can see that from Buffy and Angel. Its makes it more realistic. Its not a total happy ending where everyone survives.

There were some things I was disappointed about though. I understand Joss had to make the movie for the fans,but also for people who had never seen Firefly before,so they could understand. I was annoyed we never got to find out what
    Shepard was all about. I remember in Firefly he got shot and he gave the Alliance his ID card. They patched him up and let them on their way. In Serenity he says "I wasn't born a Shepard Mal", Mal says "You'll have to tell me about that someday".... "No I don't" He died and we didn't get to find out anymore

Also in Firefly I wanted to know what the hell those Alliance guys were..."Two by two with hands of blue". They were freaky,and killed people with a little stick that made a noise. :p No mention of them In the movie.

Other than that,great tv show,great movie,give us more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

tvnutz wrote:
    Also in Firefly I wanted to know what the hell those Alliance guys were..."Two by two with hands of blue". They were freaky,and killed people with a little stick that made a noise. :p No mention of them In the movie.

I assumed they were making River into one of them just better in a more death less blue stick type of way.

Actually dont find anything bad about it still 4 eps to watch tho :D Some minor things regarding the guns and how they are portrayed that are a bit silly. I like that he doesnt even try to explain anything about how they travel or even where they are in terms of a real space, keeps the trekkies away.

Out of gas classic homage to Homer and the metal rod?

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

The hands of blue lads are explaned in the Comics (well at least why they aren't in the film is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

I dislike the plot differences between Serenity and Firefly.

In Firefly (esp. Ariel) we see that Simon has no idea what's wrong with River, he just knows they messed with her brain. However in Serenity, he knows she's a trained assasain.

I dislike the way in Serenity (the film) it was Simon who rescured River. In Serenity (first episode of Firefly) it's implied that mild mannered Simon wouldn't be able to rescue River, instead he used he vast wealth to pay someone else to get her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Syth wrote:
    I dislike the plot differences between Serenity and Firefly.

In Firefly (esp. Ariel) we see that Simon has no idea what's wrong with River, he just knows they messed with her brain. However in Serenity, he knows she's a trained assasain.

I dislike the way in Serenity (the film) it was Simon who rescured River. In Serenity (first episode of Firefly) it's implied that mild mannered Simon wouldn't be able to rescue River, instead he used he vast wealth to pay someone else to get her out.

That bugged me too, as did the way we never get to find out about the Shepherd. After the Alliance Guy said "That's no Shepherd" I expected an explaination but was left confused about him for the rest of the series. The Shepherd had somuch potential as a character and had Joss continued with the series he could have done so muc hwith him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

Piste wrote:
    That bugged me too, as did the way we never get to find out about the Shepherd. After the Alliance Guy said "That's no Shepherd" I expected an explaination but was left confused about him for the rest of the series. The Shepherd had somuch potential as a character and had Joss continued with the series he could have done so muc hwith him.
    Ron Glass (the actor who plays Book) is quite thin in the film. I heard that he was sick at the time. If there was another film or TV series, whedon could have a prequel or flashbacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ganeagla

well, i would have to say the only thing that bugs me is some of the language they used in the film, especially Kaylee. When she says 'nothing twixt my nethers' and 'you mean to say...sex?' It just feels a little forced - a little over the top 'down home' kind of language, and since I hadn't seen the series when I saw the movie, it just rubbed me the wrong way.

But I love how the language works in the firefly series though.. it flows better because it is part of a larger whole...

I suppose Inara is probably the weakest character, but she is fine, i think. I suppose she is the eye candy, but i would prefer her to, say, Seven of Nine, whose only purpose is to wear skin tight outfits! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Lawdie

sutty wrote:
    The hands of blue lads are explaned in the Comics (well at least why they aren't in the film is)

Very Saphire and Steel concept. What were the elements!

The biggest issue with Firefly... it was not funded more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I don't think it's that it wasn't funded more, certainly Joss Whedon made enough from Buffy and Angel to fund Firefly, but I think the demand just wasn't there.