Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mesner

• 07-01-2006 8:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭

Anyone remebers Mesner at all. Iam trying to get my hands on there album. Any have a copy of this and willing to sell/trade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Whoa Mesner, blast from the past! cant help you with cds or anything but I've seen some of the members around Laois now and again. I will say that the likely hood of getting the album is fairly low to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭booth

They played at Ballyfin college when I was in school and were firing out copies of St Jesus Uncle God into the crowd. Someone got their leg broken apparently.
    I remember such ... classics ... as Black and Orange and Flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

flowers was a beautiful song. Reunion tour now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

they were, for quite a while "the next big thing". They supported quite a few big bands as well (pumpkins at one point in Europe if memory serves me correctly). Last I saw or heard was the Heineken rollercoaster tour (remember that) in 98 when they played the collages around the country. they had been signed and were recording an album but it never materialised.

Lead singer was a bit of a tool apparently.

Ah Brendan McEvoy or Macca Boy the singer/songwriter as we now know him. In fairness he had a distinctive voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭legologic

I could probably copy a tape of St Jesus Uncle God for ya. I've only got it on tape.
    PM me if ya want.

so does anyone know what happened them / where are they now ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Stevee

booth wrote:
    Ah Brendan McEvoy or Macca Boy the singer/songwriter as we now know him. In fairness he had a distinctive voice.

He seemed like a bit of a bell end. He looked like Ernest P Worrel from the Ernest films

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Doc_Savage

jesus i went to school with those guys from Mesner!! Blast from the past!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 panman

Black and Orange video.

[link deleted by John2, you can't post links to non-official sources of copyrighted material]

OMG you are a legend man. Ha ha ha. That's great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Bstatic

Yeah I remember mesner, I too was at the famous ballyfin college gig, only a first year and in the front row! I thought they were great! So I rushed out to buy their "st.jesus uncle god" e.p, but when I put it on the stereo I wasn't impressed so I went back to the shop (trax) and changed it for flowers (their other cd), I thought well maybe these are their good songs that I heard live but they were okay not brilliant, but I couldn't return it this time so I kept it. It was definitley a case of better live than on cd.
    I played a gig with maca boy a couple years back, he's actually pretty sound!
    And his songwriting has improved since

Cool. I think I was in 1st or 2nd year also. The Flowers single was prob better alright. Although the 4th song on St. Jesus Uncle God was alright too if musically simplistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I used to work with Brendan. He was O2's commercial Sales Manager for Leinster. The last I heared about him was that he left O2 about six months ago after getting a new manager and a recording contract in LA. Fair play Bren. I also heared some early mixs of his new LP and have to amdit I liked it. Its a much better sound to the singer song writer Sh1te he ploding along with for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 chickybabe

Any luck finding the Mesner album Starn? Think i've a few singles knockin around the house somewhere. I know one of the lads from the band very well, he has plenty of spare cd's at home!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭tinka

hilarious thread! i went to see them some years ago in portlaoise, thought mr. mcevoy was the bee's knees! i think i have some of the singles from the gigs... must root them out. cringed when i heard he had changed his name to 'macaboy' :o

No Luck so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭legologic

Yeah... sorry about that :o still waiting to get it back!!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 panman

starn wrote:
    Anyone remebers Mesner at all. Iam trying to get my hands on there album. Any have a copy of this and willing to sell/trade

Mesner never released an album. They released 4 singles afaik.But maybe in the future.

Anyways new website went live yesterday. :D

http://www.mesner.org

Cheers. Any word on a Irish tour.

Did everybody get a good long look at this.

http://www.mesner.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭FinoBlad

Any fans of Mesner might like to know they are in the running in a music comp in the usa. And doing quite well so far.

See this link for more info http://musicnation.com/vb75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

I remember that gig in the study hall in Ballyfinn. As far as I can remember the principal bro. matt stopped the gig and told everyone to go back to class and just as most of them had filed out the door the music started again and we all rushed the stage! I think bro. matt was caught up in the melee! Great craic! (I hope I remembered that correctly!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 civil defence g

Hi All,

I remember Mesner at the start of their career Brendan used to sing with my brother and his mate Bobby. I have his flowers album gathering dust somewhere. Can pass it on as I think I only listened to it once or twice.

xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 DirtyEpics

That Mesner have a new single out, a couple of videos done and are announcing their truimphant return to the irish music scene with a gig in the Skybar in Portlaoise this Saturday 27th of October?

I hope it goes well for them - nice fellas and great musicians

So whatever happened the comback ??

zombie-thread.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

I recorded a few songs with Brendan as Macaboy. He's a lovely chap and all go all the time .

He has a new band called 'Sircles' which is basically him and the Blizzards minus singer and keyboards player.

He's a grafter and that I admire.