Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Dream house.

• 07-01-2006 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭

We've all fantasized about what our dream houses will look like, usually on the can. Describe what your dream house would be if you had an unlimited amount of cash to spend on construction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Binomate wrote:
    We've all fantasized about what our dream houses will look like, usually on the can. Describe what your dream house would be if you had an unlimited amount of cash to spend on construction.

I would actually only build something pretty modest. A 3 bed would suffice. Bigger houses mean more cleaning :D
    Im still no closer to it either, was damn sure I was going to win euromillions last night :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Money being no object also caters for maintenance costs, and sure feck it. Throw in a car or too as well.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I would actually only build something pretty modest. A 3 bed would suffice.
    Ha! Mine would be something similar to Bill Gates or Aaron Spelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

i dont see the point of massive houses with 20 bedrooms that will never be used. if it was just for myself i'd have 5 bedrooms for when freinds stay ,an indoor heated pool and jacuzzi large living rooms for home cinema a gym a games room a walk in freezer large kitchen a nice garden area with decking etc and the house would have to be somewhere warm like canaries or california

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

Ahouse like this near the beach would suffice!
    http://allhomes.com.au/c/ah?a=sp&p=243688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭declan_lgs

Zascar wrote:
    Ha! Mine would be something similar to Bill Gates or Aaron Spelling
    I don't get why anyone would want such big houses... Where the hell is Bill going with his 40,000 square feet?

I'd have something not too huge, but that just looks cool. Bill's "ecology house" looks cool alright, but it's too unrealistically big for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

Small house, High price and design. Fully networked, recording studio, Lcd window blinds, Hidden underground bunker, surface to air missiles eh hold up Im losing my self a bit. :D

Idealy Id love to renovate a castle, but the mega bucks aint rolling in Im afraid.

This place would be nice:
    wright_fallingwater.jpg
    This would be a good thread for pics so if any of you out there know of any good ones post em up.

While much of the boom has created some real eyesore's, we also have been privy to some kick ass architecure in ireland as of late, we are lucky feckers in that we also have a cool heritage of buildings as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

something like they do on extreme makeovers home edition - nice big living room with big fire, nice couches and a plasma screen. modern kitchen with all appliances - full dishwasher, big drum washing machine, 2 section oven, gas cooker, HA-MUGE fridge/freezer, and everything chrome/wood effect. oh with an island in the middle!
    5 bedrooms would be fine. mine would be ensuite, dont care about the others! :) And a study/office for my college crap. And a den with a massage chair and television.
    Indoor pool would be nice. Jacuzzi/hot tub is a must.
    plenty of storage needed - i have lots of shoes.
    a nice garden too, with a deck and a big BBQ.
    Nice garage, maybe a shed in the garden that has loads of space and is well organised with new tools and stuff in it.
    I'm sure there's more - let me think about it!

Fec! Img code disabled!
    Spellings house has a "gift wraping room" :rolleyes:

Honestly why is it people prefer grandiose waste over comfort?
    The reality is you'll probably never be that rich, so why waste your precious costs on space and pointless crap. It's hardly as if your planning on having 16 children now is it?

Linky's:
    http://www.riai.ie/gallery.html?type=regional

http://www.channel4.com/4homes/ontv/grand-designs/

NYOM!
    http://www.channel4.com/4homes/ontv/grand-designs/houses/D/dorset_gallery.html

http://www.riai.ie/gallery.html?type=regional&year=2003&item=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

A snooker room anyway.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

South facing, large windows, modern, minimalist, high ceilings, bare walls (I hate clutter with a passion) some land (outside Dublin obviously, Im not a millionaire) wide curved staircase, hugh bathroom with a big corner bath (big enough for 2) :D at least 4 good sized bedrooms for if I decide to sprout a few gremlins :D Good big kitchen with one of those island counters in the middle of the room with charcoal counter tops and black tiles on the floor...

Yes... Some day... Its in the post :rolleyes: :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Something like this would be cool! I like the idea of having the door in the middle, nice big windows either side, although I would like a nice big garden too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Mmmm, I like this one too, check it out:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

This will do fine:)

A nice lake surrounding it, land to go galloping on horsies, big enough to host some kick ass parties and have my non "I like you because your rich" friends stay there and also.. the sun;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Basement pool room with a bar and lovely leather couches.... Its the dream.

Not a big house but nicely layed out. The great thing about being an engineer is you have great aspriations for your own house.....all I need now is the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Six berooms...
    A huge warm kitchen for gigantic sessions.
    A drink cupboard that never emptied.
    A pool table...
    A room full of instruments, state of the art speakers and huge comfy leather couches with a huge plasma tv screen and loads of movies..
    Rooms with wall to floor bookshelves filled with books
    Wooden floors.
    *dreams*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I'd love an old Victorian style house, with a cellar and tiny attic rooms on the top storey. Interestingly shaped rooms (not all just square) with quite low ceilings, and long narrow passages. I love that kind of claustrophobic feel in a house. Intricate coving, skirting boards and the like and small winding staircases throughout. And there would be different levels on the same floor, like a tiny staircase leading down from a dining room to a kitchen, or from a bedroom to a bathroom or something. It would look something along the lines of this...
    http://tralfaz-archives.com/comics/geary/Victorian%20House.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭declan_lgs

Something like this would be nice.

I'd also like a massive open plan room with about 50 poker tabes! Bowling alley, Gym, indoor and outdoor pool, and very important, An empty room with a comfortable seat in the middle and the floor would be a subwoofer and each wall a speaker. This room would be totally soundproof and the sound from the speakers would be of the highest quality ever. The seat can then be removed, the walls will expand back to make a massive dancefloor, there will be tiny projectors, projecting crazy images onto each wall, ceiling and floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

I'd live in a shack so long as it's on a beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

cormie that's a mad idea but I LIKE IT!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Bettyboop

any of these would do me fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

ahh yiz are a greedy bunch of feckers :D

You lot would be disasters if any of you won the lotto.
    Speaking of which, the euromil's wasnt won. 100mil next friday.

The only home I'd sway away from my modest 3 bed for would be bill gates' place. size doesnt matter :rolleyes: the fact its facing a lake is very appealing to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭CodeMonkey

Unlimited amount of cash eh? I'd buy the edinburgh castle, kick all the tourists out and insists that all my servants address me as sire or your highness.

Dublins georgian buildings are class as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I don't mind what size the house is as long as I'd have a pool, gym and cinema room.

And the (marble-floored) garage must be at least half the size of the house, with space for 5 or 6 cars and fully stocked shelves on all the walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I'd love a huge entertainment section!
    Def a snooker table
    A poker table
    Indoor swimming pool
    Gym
    Basketball court would be cool
    Oh, a recording studio would be so cool!
    A big room with a grand piano, drums, guitars, etc.

Would HAVE to be near the sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

A white house on Pupukea hill overlooking a beach on the North Shore. Lovely.

It's got to be detached, I don't want any moany neighbours complaining I'm having too much fun:rolleyes:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Meh, I could only fit the west wing into the picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

I would have a five bedroomed houseaswimming pool inside and outside a recording room for music amd a room with a Big screen tv a snooker table a computer to plaqy video games and 2 flash cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I want something like Dr. Snugles work shed.

Good old Rickity Rick... Who wouldn't want to live in a house that has legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

I want something like Dr. Snugles work shed.

Good old Rickity Rick... Who wouldn't want to live in a house that has legs?

Oh the memories.
    Id have a normal house on Earth, then a getaway space station/house orbiting the Earth with all mod cons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Loved the idea of a bowling alley in a house since i saw kingpin. That and a bar and a snooker table. Underfloor heating and a room with a massive fire and large sofas. pleanty of plasmas etc throughout the house. Id like to have the system that plays songs throughout the house and you have small terminals on the walls so you can control the music from anywhere in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

I'd like a Georgian house on one of the Squares on the Southside (Merrion or Fitzwilliam maybe). The interior would need a heated pool, a computer room, auvio-visual room and a proper old-fashioned study with wood-pannelled walls, wooden desk, and big leather chairs. And no computer TV or sound equipment in the study.

I'm not so sure I'd like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

my dream house is my friends, its so beautiful. getting a house like his is my goal!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Font22 wrote:
    my dream house is my friends, its so beautiful. getting a house like his is my goal!!!!
    That's easy. Just kill him and then wear his skin and pretend to be him for the rest of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i want a detached bungalow with a basement facing the sea/a lake with loads of land around it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

We'll all have giant houses when we perfect the people shrinking technology.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

A huge plot of land. To be completely self sufficent. Running water, from the top of a mountain so its clean.

House that can be heated by fire rather than relying on gas/oil.

Food stores. Oh, and lots of ceilings that can be solar panels.

Basically,something that is archeticulary sound, pretty to look at, and completely functional for when the world crashes.