Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

City West Big One

• 06-01-2006 6:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

Live updates on antesup forum and reports on antesup.com....

All by me you lucky lucky people :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Shame to hear your not playing Dave! I'd have bought 5% of you.

Good luck with the reports I'll be checking in during the evening and good luck to all the boardsters.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Don't worry Dave it will not be long on till Tom will be out and able to give you a hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

:( and :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

BigDragon wrote:
    Live updates on antesup forum and reports on antesup.com....

Come join me in the antes up live chat room, God Im bored. Might head in to a tournie in town with all the big players out there it mightnt be such a bad reintroduction to real world poker

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

go to the scalps. I'm heading. hopefully numbers won't be hopelessly depleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

nobodies on the live chat.

can i get a list of irish regulars still in for my coffee around 11am?
    tx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Any updates? I cant find any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

you arent alone on that one rory, there was a post four hours ago on the antes up forum saying a report was being written... Either its very long or theres a problem with the computer/network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Just home from Citywest a few minutes... I struggled through to close of play with 14.2k. Legged it fairly sharpish once chips were bagged, but I know Dave O'Callaghan has close to 60k, Oscar has just under 30k, Niall O'C still in but short-stacked afaik, wasn't really talking to anyone else afterwards... great tourney, fab buzz about the place, usually I don't get even slightly excited at poker tournaments, but seeing a surprisingly healthy looking Alex Higgins stroll around the room like he owned the place was, bizarrely, a bit of a thrill (I was a big snooker fan in my yooof!) ... By all accounts, his poker ain't quite as good as his snooker was ... Dave O'C took 8k off him during Level 1 and Bernie McMahon finished him off next Level! Bed for me, cards in the air tomorrow 1pm. Hope I find one or two hands tomorrow, had nothing to work with on Day 1. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Antesup had a problem with their laptop and couldnt post updates for most of the day/night... Some sort of virus which I'm guessing originated from some dodgy German website!!:D

Tom Oscar and David are doing great.. David might be chip leader with 60k and Tom is not far off on 40. Oscar has about 30 i think! Karlh is hanging in like myself.

I was struggling with a shortstack all day.. Saw 73o for 6hrs solid.. no joke! In 6hrs I think I played 3 hands.. At 1.30am one of the lads on the table pointed out that I hadn't shown a card all day... not one showdown!

The last 2 hrs were a bit different and I moved up to 25k.. (I won't mention my AQ v AA!!) I lost 13K on the last hand with QQ, so I start day 2 on 12K.

Mark (Pokertroll) made an amazing comeback from 1k (lost 9k in the first 10 minutes!) and he has about 30k now.

Andy Black has 57K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Is Nigel Clancy the Sligo footballer and Na Fianna (now living in Gurteen), and I presume Michelle Clancy is his wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭POKERKING

dont think so hes a dub!!how many runners were there lads?ne celebs there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

a.) 391 runners. Boylepoker topping up prize fund to an even 400k.

b) "Hurricane" Higgins, Nicky "The Diamond" O'Donnell, Mark "PaddyPowerPoker Hall Of Famer" McMahon, Ken Doherty + Tommy Tiernan were the only I'm A Celebrities that I saw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Apologies for the lack of updates. Tom's laptop fried and I still have not replaced the laptop that was stolen in Vegas. Therefore we had to use Green joker Poker's laptop which is secondhand and we had not used it online before. Unfortunately it was full of spyware which we managed to get removed to do the updates that we did but I had to reboot and the feckers respawned :eek:

To top it all I have had to go back to Drogheda to open my shop as my deputy is sick so Dave Kingston is deputising on the updates until I can get back down.

There is still a long way to go, today is when the tournament really begins, the chip leaders still only have about 1-2% of the chips and there are plenty of players capable of taking it down.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Culchie wrote:
    Is Nigel Clancy the Sligo footballer and Na Fianna (now living in Gurteen), and I presume Michelle Clancy is his wife?

Dunno Mick, Michelle is his wife though.

gl today lads.
    i'm gonna head out to mooch around and playa couple of sats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Mike if you need the machine wiped clean drop me a pm...

for the love of God don't let Dave Kingston near the internet!
    think of the restraining order! the temptation will be too much for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Culchie wrote:

think so

i remmeber him going for trials for celtic or man city about 10 years ago probably more (if it's the same one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

so 393 starters .... what is the payout structure, Top 40 to get paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Big Dragon was doing a great job last night getting chip counts in the €1000 tourney. There were about 40 tables which makes it tricky to find out who are the chip leaders. And it is even more difficult to know which top name players were eliminated.

I particularly liked his note taking style where he stood beside a player and wrote notes on a small piece of paper. It looked like he was taking an order for a round of drinks. :)

Good man Dave!