Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

any one going to Europa 2nite?

• 05-01-2006 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

just wondering if any of you bordies is thinking of going to the game 2nite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

whats the game and where is europa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

ditpoker wrote:
    whats the game and where is europa?

€25 Re-buy tournament at the Europa Hotel on the road into Drogheda. Get there before 9pm for 200 bonus chips.

I am going to play this myself to get rid of all the bad beats before the Citywest tomorrow.

Free Xmas drink to all boardsters who make themselves known to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Yeh, I was thinking of heading up ... until Rounders123 started talking about bringing his sister to the Fitz, so I'm undecided now again.;)

Feck it, Drogheda it is.....Keep Mrs Culchie happy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I have to pop up again sometime,I miss the "locals" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Culchie wrote:
    Yeh, I was thinking of heading up ... until Rounders123 started talking about bringing his sister to the Fitz, so I'm undecided now again.;)

Feck it, Drogheda it is.....Keep Mrs Culchie happy.

Dishonouring ones marriage vows in Las Vegas:eek: Not in my casino:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

ShortStack,
    i will deffo come up then but how do i let my self known to you and get the free drinks?

Gholimoli wrote:
    ShortStack,
    i will deffo come up then but how do i let my self known to you and get the free drinks?

Just ask for Mike or check out my handsome picture on the Antes Up homepage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Shortstack wrote:
    Just ask for Mike or check out my handsome picture on the Antes Up homepage :)

Well myself and Martin headed up to Tournament, nice snazzy new poker tables, knocked out on the bubble, cracked Shortstacks As10s with my KsQs and he still bought me a pint of Budweiser. Great tournament and nice first prize of €1,400 plus ticket for the €250 game. Some funny characters there, was there any more Boards people there (saw Big Dragon) anyone else?

smurph wrote:
    Well myself and Martin headed up to Tournament, nice snazzy new poker tables, knocked out on the bubble, cracked Shortstacks As10s with my KsQs and he still bought me a pint of Budweiser. Great tournament and nice first prize of €1,400 plus ticket for the €250 game. Some funny characters there, was there any more Boards people there (saw Big Dragon) anyone else?

I enjoyed playing the tournament instead of running it. Obviously I forgot not to bluff and was out quite early trying to accumulate some chips. I would be interested to hear from any dealers how many hands they would deal in an hour as I am still deciding whether to bring in dealers for this tournament (obviously with a slightly higher reg). Last night we got through at least 3 rounds of the table in the first hour with 8/9 players seated, bear in mind this wa the rebuy period where a lot of flops get seen.

Good to meet Smurph, also spotted were BigD, Culchie and Scotty#. Also present was Gholimoli who is actually a nice guy :eek:

yeah i was there two and went out on the bubble with my JJ against QQ.
    was on table 8 with some interesting (to say the least) players.
    the dude to my right folded an AK to a raise of 3K with blinds of 400/800 when he only had 3K left and had already called for 800.
    then the same dude called my all in next hand with his KJs against my 53s.
    my hand won.
    got up to 16K at one stage but the blinds were going up fast so had to make moves.
    all and all i enjoyd the game but i think the levels are just to short and should at least be 20 min.
    Shortstack bought me a drink as

the dude to my right folded an AK to a raise of 3K with blinds of 400/800 when he only had 3K left and had already called for 800.
    my hand won.
    got up to 16K at one stage but the blinds were going up fast so had to make moves.
    all and all i enjoyd the game but i think the levels are just to short and should at least be 20 min.
    Shortstack but

my hand won.
    Shortstack bought me a drink as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

it must have been a strong one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭MGrah

Shortstack wrote:
    I enjoyed playing the tournament instead of running it. Obviously I forgot not to bluff and was out quite early trying to accumulate some chips. I would be interested to hear from any dealers how many hands they would deal in an hour as I am still deciding whether to bring in dealers for this tournament (obviously with a slightly higher reg). Last night we got through at least 3 rounds of the table in the first hour with 8/9 players seated, bear in mind this wa the rebuy period where a lot of flops get seen.

Mike, I've played this a few times and would really welcome the idea of having dealers even if it meant raising the buy in/top up to €30. While there are always a good number of casual players at the game and this really adds to the enjoyment factor, sometimes the dealing is a little slow and it becomes frustrating. An example would be a couple of weeks ago, where shortstacked I was waiting for a spot to make a move one guy was displaying his full portfolio of shuffling skills (4 methods! :eek: ) each time he dealt, taking more than a minute from each level. The spot came by the way with AJ, needless to say it was cracked by A5.:rolleyes:

On the other hand things are definitely improving for those who play regularly, the first night you ran this, the first blind I posted was at the end of level 2!

cheers

Gholimoli wrote:

If I could get people to arrive earlier then I would increase the levels after the break. The plan is to get the tournament started by 8.30 and then all levels will be 20 min. However getting locals to the tournament by then is not going to be easy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭MGrah

Shortstack wrote:
    If I could get people to arrive earlier then I would increase the levels after the break. The plan is to get the tournament started by 8.30 and then all levels will be 20 min. However getting locals to the tournament by then is not going to be easy :)

Charge them extra Mike, or possibly tell them the bar will only be opened if everyone is reged, seated and ready to go at 8:30. That'll get them there (or stop them from showing up :p ).

Mike,
    first of all thanks for the drink and good luck in citywest .
    About the structure of the tourney I deffo think levels are too short. even with dealers I think 15 min rounds becomes a crab shoot from middle stages on wards.
    i had stack of about 9K blind level 400/800 .played maybe two hands and the blinds went up and it just forces you to make moves and take gambles.
    I think you can bring up the reg fee up to even 35 and not that many ppl would mind the extra 10 in exchange for more playability.
    Just my 2cents.

I think the best way is to just start at 8.30 regardless. The masses will soon turn up on time when they learn things start on time. Otherwise they will keep turning up 30-40 minutes late knowing they are on time.

I must make a return to this tournament soon but im definately going to that boyne valley freeroll game, 30min levels i like it!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Not being a homo or anything here Mike but do you have a clearer pic of yourself? I'm trying to place you as one of the lads who runs the tournie in the Europa. Do you always be there??

Buck_Naked wrote:
    Not being a homo or anything here Mike but do you have a clearer pic of yourself? I'm trying to place you as one of the lads who runs the tournie in the Europa. Do you always be there??

You probably see him all the time just thats a pope john paul / saddam hussain style portrait your looking at there:D

Buck_Naked wrote:

There is one here

I am not often at the Europa anymore, I run the Monaghan & Stamullen tournies and Brian does the Europa.