Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like your job?

• 05-01-2006 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

I was wondering how many people actually like their job, or how the important it is to you to like your job, regardless of what money you are earning from it?

I'm self employed but I have a very love/hate relationship with my work tbh. Its great at times but very stressful other times, but I earn more doing it (playing poker) than I could in any other job.

Thoughts?

Do you love or hate your job? 78 votes

Hate my job but love what wages I'm on
    0% 0 votes
    Love my job but hate the wage
    16% 13 votes
    Hate me job and hate the wage
    26% 21 votes
    Love my job and love the wage
    29% 23 votes
    indifferent, I wouldn't be back if I won the lottery
    26% 21 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Cianos wrote:
    I was wondering how many people actually like their job, or how the important it is to you to like your job, regardless of what money you are earning from it?

I'm self employed but I have a very love/hate relationship with my work tbh. Its great at times but very stressful other times, but I earn more doing it (playing poker) than I could in any other job.

Thoughts?
    Get me a job and I'll tell you how I like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I really like my job, am happy with the wages but will be asking for a raise soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I love my job. The wages could be better but that will rise with more experience & more education. The boss is very generous with time off & stuff like that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

You don't have a poll option for "indifferent, but I wouldn't be back if I won the lottery"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

You don't have a poll option for "indifferent, but I wouldn't be back if I won the lottery"

yup, that sums me up too.
    the people I work with in my office here are good fun, but the job itself is neither great nor bad and the same for the wages, after all, who is ever going to say they get paid enough?! it pays the bills and I've worked in worse places....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Iv had way worse jobs tbh.. Moneys good too, got better as of last month as well and I got an unexpectedly big bonus... Well big by my standards anyway... Im happy enough for the minute :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

after all, who is ever going to say they get paid enough?!

But ye could still be pretty chuffed with what your earning

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

poll changed to reflect majd/my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

/see blog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I started a new job in an office about a month ago after working in a music shop for nearly 3 years and i hate my new job, and the wages are crap aswell :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

As a self-employed poker player do you file tax returns? If so do you claim for expenses like dark glasses, royal flush cuff links, flashy suits etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

i absolutely LOVE my job... ok its only 16hrs a week and its only minimum wage but i still love goin in everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

love my wage well compared to what i used to be one. Im not earning a fortune but I see it as a stepping stone. Not crazy about my job - I really like parts of it but other parts drive me crazy mostly just things about how the company is run etc nothing I can change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

magpie wrote:
    As a self-employed poker player do you file tax returns? If so do you claim for expenses like dark glasses, royal flush cuff links, flashy suits etc?

Lol...I get a weekly allowance of coffee, thats about it.

You dont have to pay tax on poker winnings in this country, which is handy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

Dont like job and am looking at the moment, wages ok....i can live on them but ill be at home for a bit yet!!!
    The people are cool though
    If i won the lotto id go back and take them on the p1ss and then id be gone smoke an all behind me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I'm pretty indifferent. I don't despise the place but the wage is not particularly good. I only live a 15 minute walk away which is a handy bonus (no getting up too early for me!). That said, I'll be off down the shops tomorrow to do the Euromillions. Come on 90 million big ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I ****in love my job.:D :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Best job I've had so far, that said it is only the 2nd 'full time' position I've had since leaving college so I won't count me chickens. Money is good enough and will be deadly in about 6 months with all things goin well. Boss is as laxidazy as anything so I can pretty much do what I want.. it still is only a stepping stone though and I dunno if I'll be here this time next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Don't really mind it at all. People I work with are nice without being my best mates, work is interesting enough though not ovely challenging or exciting, salary pays the bills and is relatively good given my experience so I can't really complain. Still, if I won €20,000 on the lotto, I'd be gone travelling in the blink of an eye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

rb_ie wrote:
    I really like my job, am happy with the wages but will be asking for a raise soon enough.

Same here, only asking this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

yeah i love my job except for the fact i have to be there 5-9 monday to friday

kinda gets repetitive doing nothing for 20hrs a week but nice to get over twenty euro an hr to do it....

spend most of my time surfing the net when there or studying for my finals

id say in a 20hr week id do less than 4hrs of "actual work"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

Like the wage, like the perks (mobile phone, laptop etc.), but could do the job with my eyes closed. Don't hate it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

mine is only part time, to see me through college. I'm on pretty good money, but I work very hard, do loads of overtime and I feel I get very little recognition for it. Getting time off is near impossible and I get no support from my boss-he puts me under a LOT of pressure and the company I work for are tight-ar$es. The bonus I got at Christmas was pitiful considering the work I put in and the fact that the company is making obscene profits. They made a load of people redundant and only offer terrible contracts to new employees (and most of these are only temporary contracts, so they can let them go at a moments notice) using the excuse that "its a very bad trading environment" then they go and post up their profits which run into the hundreds of millions....:rolleyes:

/rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i despise my job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

I hate my job so much I've moved into the miserable zone and now it is time to leave. I've only written computer software for the last 11 years, so because they are all (w)bankers they of course know better and have left me with a mess of a project which is of course my fault. Leaving now before I have an anger issue.

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

My job isn't bad, I'm paid 5.20 an hour, which would suck to most people I guess, but it's alright for me...mostly weekend work, the kids are funny..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I started a new job 2 months ago. Moved from IT into Finance, took a 10k rise and I only work 3 weeks a month. Also I get to surf the net and watch dvd's alot during the day. So I F**king love my job :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Rozabeez wrote:
    My job isn't bad, I'm paid 5.20 an hour, which would suck to most people I guess, but it's alright for me...mostly weekend work, the kids are funny..

That is terrible. I sorta like my job. I love it some days, other days not so much. Pay is decent though, pays any bills I have and more.

But overall, meh. Wouldn't turn down lottery retirement.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I absolutely love my job, there's great perks and my colleagues are fantastic, I don't even need the money but I just had to apply for the job - only thing is that I expect I'll find it difficult keeping it up when I go back to college. I didn't know what option to choose in the poll though, because I love my job but am rather indifferent to the money right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

I like the job , dont like the amount of stress Im under though , Moneys fairly cruddy should go up a bit over the course of the next few years though when all me exams are done and Im a fully fledged accountant :) , gotta say though workin 9 to 5 monday through friday and doing a college course 9 to 5 saturday and sunday is goina suck big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Meh, it's all right...When I started I loved it and it's gradually begin to slide...it has its moments though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I love the work experience that I'm on. Does that count? If they offer me a job when I finish college I think I'd be very happy with it. I don't think I could do a job I wouldn't enjoy. I suppose some people just have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

Could be worse. Not really much to compare it with but I'm guessing it's easy going enough and I can't complain (too much) about the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Indifferent would be the best way to describe how I feel about my job. Sure I like the fact I get to talk about video games all day, but to still be on only €8.80 an hour after nearly 3 years is a bit of a kick in the pants. Also there's an awful lot of crappy/dumb customers to deal with... but I do like helping the nice ones..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

whats not to like about my job, i work in a video store get free rentals and sweets. the only bad thing is the **** pay and the customers who feel they dont have to pay fines for being late because "i've never brought a dvd back late in my life".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I used to love my job and going into it in the mornings, but then I realised I was incredibly naive as to how the company worked.
    Your paid crap money, if you have half a brain worked is heaped upon you while the moron's get to stand around doing very little. No matter how hard you try and succeed there is never any recognition. There is little hope of promotion. Newbies were secretly paid more than the people there years- very nasty incident, didn't go down well. Every wednesday meeting is very negative where we are reguarly cursed at. There are no perks whatsoever.

I used to love it, now I am bitter and cynical!!!! But I am doing something about it!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

i just go in and avoid manager\supervisor\working all day, am at work now :D

I would prefer to be self employed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

In a word: yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

im only working part-time as im a student but i hate my current job, cant wait until the end of the month to start work placement...

new job here i come....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 seriouslyme3

Loadsa money for skating around on a block of ice..... LOVE MY JOB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I studied journalism for three years and when I finished I started doing freelancing and I hated it. I never knew how much money I would have in any given week and I ended giving it and just got an office job. I decided recently that Im happy to do the boring office stuff as long as I have no overtime and I get plenty of time off. Maybe in a few years I will decide I want something different but for now Im working to live not living to work. So I don't love or hate my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Rozabeez wrote:

Note to underagers: do not get real work. It is slavery. Sell copied CDs, drugs, yourself, anything to make money but just dont get a job at 5.20 per hour.

Work in a large company. 11 per hour, its a great wage compared to my old job. Its an alright job I guess, I suppose its more losing my liberty in the evenings I dislike than the actual job. But hey, it buys the beer :)

My other job, which is poor pay, is alot more craic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Rozabeez wrote:
    I'm paid 5.20 an hour

Do you make Nike runners in the middle east?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

:D happy as a pig in sh*** with my job..