Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freerolls

• 05-01-2006 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

Hey just a quick question, anyone know of any freerolls in the casinos around dublin, i need some practice!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Read the stickies above.....one tonight in the Fitz 8.30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

jazzy_jeff wrote:
    Hey just a quick question, anyone know of any freerolls in the casinos around dublin, i need some practice!

Cheers

Freeroll on in The Fitz tonight at 8.30. Usually a lot of runners playing for €270tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭jazzy_jeff

cool, i think ill pop in to that in the fitz.. is there a limit to the amount of people and does it fill up?

what ya mean bout the stickies, just read them in general or is there somethin bout freerolls i missed?

jazzy_jeff wrote:
    cool, i think ill pop in to that in the fitz.. is there a limit to the amount of people and does it fill up?

what ya mean bout the stickies, just read them in general or is there somethin bout freerolls i missed?

No Limit ... Could be 100 runners hard to know really, alot of to-ing and go-ing.

Debating whether to go in myself tonight, (would like to play the 270 this month, as Shortstacks big tourney is on the week after) .... or visit Drogheda tourney.

Anyway ... good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

why not play the 50 double chance in the sporting emporium...

Fathead wrote:
    whats that about? i havent been round the casinos much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

How many runners is the double chance getting? I have been meaning to play that one.

Fathead wrote:

Have the crowds picked up Fathead?

Last time I was in there the week before Christmas I was told there was a private party on, I was not a happy bunny.

Do a report tomorrow and let us know the craic now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

jazzy_jeff wrote:
    whats that about? i havent been round the casinos much

Double Chance: Players receive half of their total chips from the start and may take the remainder at any time in the first hour as a rebuy or as an add-on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭xzodia

there is also a freeroll in the merrion casino on monday nights aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

no idea. haven't been to the SE yet hopin to break my cherry later.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The best value freeroll is the Saturday one in the Fitz,its for the Monday 100 game.I have not played this (or any freeroll) in a long time maybe a year ago but back then it was paying out about 6/7 tickets.

I would be interested to hear what kind of numbers they are getting now...and how many tickets on average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

SE 50 double chance last time i was in had 4 full tables and plenty of play.

and it also had candy ... ah candy .... pocket aces 3 times and kings twice ... before the break and paid on all .. nice girl too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i've played the SE 50 double chance 3 times now, 4 tables minimum i'd say, might be a little less if theres people taking a break before citywest, then again, could be more if people want a game before citywest, so im sticking with my 4 tables estimate. its a good game, chip-stack to blind levels is nice enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

I'll be bringing my sister to the fitz freeroll tonight, her first time in a cardroom!. I tried suggesting "Maybe your not quite ready yet" as my target was well into february but i was getting to much hassle. Now she's all nervous about going!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

All in pre-flop any Group1 hand. Otherwise fold.

Easy....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

MadsL wrote:
    All in pre-flop any Group1 hand. Otherwise fold.

Easy....:D

Actually thats a good tip for anyone. I'll be doing a bit of that if i get the cards!.

A townie said at the start of the last one i was at "Why dont they just make it a freezeout to stop people buying back in"

Ended up going to the fitz tonight, didnt do very well at all but it was an experience, gonna head in on saturday for another look. i didnt realise you could rebuy at a freeroll, i was under the impression that freerolls were freezeouts so i didnt bring money, stupid but probably accounts for why i was out so early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

yeah i played in the fitz for the first time last night and came 3rd. missed out on a ticket but got €80 credit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Are these on every Thursday? I live 5 minutes from Fitz so might go this week. I actually have a membership with the Fitz but never actually played a game. Is it only tournaments or are there tables that you can join and leave as you please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

eirebhoy wrote:
    Are these on every Thursday? I live 5 minutes from Fitz so might go this week. I actually have a membership with the Fitz but never actually played a game. Is it only tournaments or are there tables that you can join and leave as you please?

There are freeroll tournaments on every thursday 8.30, saturday at 4.30 and sunday at 6. There's one on in the merrion casino, just around the corner from the fitz, tomorrow night at like 8.30 i think. I've been to the fitz ones a few times, thinking of trying the merion tomorrow, see what its like.

There are cash games, i think there are €25 minimum entry and €50. You have to show you have that amount in chips, but you can leave whenevr you want. Thats what i understand from it anyway, haven't done any of those yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thegaffer

the fitzwilliam freeroll on saturday has some quite memorable people. its quite the laugh. not a bad prize aswell considering how many competitions you could enter with each win. ill be there every saturday 2