Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

city west boards contingent

• 04-01-2006 2:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭

who from boards is playing this weekend in city west. does anyone know what time reg is open on friday and what time tourney starts (cant get on the pokerevents website from work, all gamming sh%t blocked)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I'll be there, so will Bohsman, ocallagh, Shortstack, Devore Karlh, Pokertroll (I think) and loads of others too I'm sure. Tourney kicks off at 6pm but I don't think it'll be a sellout so if you try and get there an hour before you should be grand. Bear in mind traffic out there on a Friday is an absolute nightmare, so maybe to be safe you should just head up early on Friday afternoon to make sure you are there in time. If you send pokerevents a private message I'm sure he'll be able to give you all the details, reserve you a seat etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

And I'll be the dead money. :D

1000/1 :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

i'll be there, should be a great weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

I'll be there all weekend. Gl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Myself, ZZR1100 and Connie147 are heading up from Killarney along with around 6 or 7 others. See you all there.

Any satellites on Friday afternoon Fintan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I suppose since I won a ticket I might as well go a long for this little tourney. :rolleyes:

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'll be along too! Looking forward to seeing a load of Boardsies out there for some poker and booze!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Any satelittes beforehand for the peasants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

i'll be there, there is a lift going if anyone needs one, have room for 2/3 people depending on body sizes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

grrr i wanted to be there, but cant get out of something on friday night now as it happens, but will be there for the saturday and sunday tournies so see u all then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭doc71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Can u register for this on the day? If so what time would you need to be there at to secure a seat?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

also what are the other tournys on sat and sun? buy in? gl boardsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

€500FO on Sat and €250 Sun AFAIK

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Samba, I'll grab a lift if you are going!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 joeshow

boyles have me in at 18/1 what a laugh.. i wish.. if they want ill take 20,000 now and not turn up...
    other news if you have not already herd the joe show is coming to the poker channel with my own show.. i will be recording the first show in the anglers rest in march,it will be a tournament for social,pub and new players,no high profile players allowed... there are only 8 seats left 550 each it will be 8 tables of 8 with the winner of each table making the final.. vegas nights also have 10 tickets ,they are going to have 50 euro sats over the next few weeks. anybody interested give me a call.. 0879287061.. or check www.vegasnights.ie
    good luck to all this weekend..joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Might aswell, i'm doing nothing else:rolleyes:

doc71 wrote:

Horrific value.:eek:

49.1% profit to Boylesports on these 50 runners. And on top of that the rest of the field (hundreds) are playing for the bookie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 SavageBeat

I'll be there all weekend also. Should be a great laugh. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

doc71 wrote:

Tommy Tiernan 40/1
    Nicky O'Donnell 50/1

lol! I'm a better poker player AND I'm funnier! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

NickyOD wrote:
    Tommy Tiernan 40/1
    Nicky O'Donnell 50/1

lol! I'm a better poker player AND I'm funnier! :D

You may be funnier but Tommy doesn't call with A9o :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭5pin5

i will be there on friday looking forward to playing with pokertrool and all the other board s ters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Culchie wrote:
    Any satelittes beforehand for the peasants?

Hi Mick,

Hope the Crimbo was good to you.

While trowing away a nice stack of chips on Boylepoker last night - Donal mentioned satelittes start at 2pm on friday. I am guessing that they are stts with at least a 100 buy in

check www.pokerevents.ie

Jeeeeez, those odds are NUTS lol.... Andy Black 8:1 to win a tounament Boyles are "expecting" 500 runners at? :)
    How could ANY HUMAN be at those odds...

I'm flattered to find myself at the same odds as John O'Callaghan, one of the most talented, old school players in the country, I'm sure he's not flattered at all and the only one there that looks like a decent bet! (oh and incidentally, didnt he knock out both his sons in the PPP Xmas Cracker....? Yes, that John O'C, father of Dave and Niall O'C!).

I'll lay The Boatman brothers at 20:1 too.... when was the last tournie they won?

In fairness, laying odds for poker tournies is like herding cats. Getting the odds right (or even vaguely right) is hard and its impossible not to piss people off when they find out how much respect you give their game! All the same, there are some conspicuous anomolies in that list but its all a bit of fun I guess.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

DeVore wrote:
    I'm flattered to find myself at the same odds as John O'Callaghan, one of the most talented, old school players in the country. (oh and incidentally, knocked out both his sons in the PPP Xmas Cracker.... Yes, that John O'C, father of Dave and Niall O'C!).

Damn PPP Xmas Cracker.. I still shudder when I think of it.. If I play on Friday I'll be out for my revenge!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

jeese... i didnt know all u guys had such rich sugar daddies.

i'll be playing on the Sunday and I shall resent every penny i lose.

(not that i've lost much recently :rolleyes: )

but i think i'll go out on Friday night for a pint and see what a grand pissed away looks like in the faces of the early barflies.

newsflash! roryc just rang me to say that he's puttiing me in the big one!

hang on - i misheard him.

i don't think thats even legal Rory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

oh and btw

GOOD LUCK!

(damn, i wanna play now.....)

I wouldnt be playing even the 250 if I hadn't won the ticket :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I'll be playing, hopefully only the big one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

I might play on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

I'll be there too. Probably arrive early Friday avo to beat the traffic and to give the satellites a go, but I'll play all weekend either way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

kinaldo wrote:
    I might play on Sunday
    You're sig image is not allowed to be animated afaik, you might want to remove it before one of the admins does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

kincsem wrote:
    Horrific value.:eek:

49.1% profit to Boylesports on these 50 runners. And on top of that the rest of the field (hundreds) are playing for the bookie.

Oscar's not a bad bet at 80/1, but I agree it's a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

kpnuts wrote:
    I'll be there too. Probably arrive early Friday avo to beat the traffic and to give the satellites a go, but I'll play all weekend either way :)

So is there definately stt/mtt satelites at 2pm or is it just a myth, as most people know my bankroll is minimal but an auld qualifier I can stretch to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

gerire wrote:
    So is there definately stt/mtt satelites at 2pm or is it just a myth, as most people know my bankroll is minimal but an auld qualifier I can stretch to.

Sats are happening from two according to the ad in pokerplayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I'll be picking Karl and Tom up around 2.15ish in Town if there is anyone else in need of a lift i have one more space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Lplate wrote:
    Myself, ZZR1100 and Connie147 are heading up from Killarney along with around 6 or 7 others. See you all there.

Any satellites on Friday afternoon Fintan?

Satellites from 14.00. See you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

I'm there for the big one too, first tournament in a while, but it's good to start back small! :)

BTW, how do E/W bets work in poker tourneys? Is it finish in the top four for a 1/4 of the odds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Hoping to head out for the satellites. I've never been to city west so what bus would you get from town and where would you get off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Ive only ever gotten the 65B out there but apparently the 50 and 77X all go to there aswell. All these busses start from Eden Key in the city centre

http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Citywest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Yeah I just checked out the dublin bus site, I should be able to find my way there without too much trouble. Cheers.

Just an idea.

Obviously there will be a mix of players knocked out - those with wheels and those without. Maybe we should have an informal system where players knocked out go to the Pokerevents desk and offer lifts / ask for lifts.

Then they can swop bad beat stories on the trip into Dublin. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Good luck you boardsters! Will be following your progress on antesup and plan to throw a few quid on Oscar and maybe one or two more. As I mentioned to Olly last night, going on a huge session tomorrow night and as a result couldn't play even if I won a ticket :)

Yeah right...