Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Des Bishop....good show??

• 31-12-2005 7:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭

Hey guys

Between two minds whether or not to buy tickets to Des Bishops new show? Have seen him on tv only and he seems a good laugh...anybody seen his new show??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

yes it was absolutely hilarious!!!
    unfortunately i was sitting centre front row and he took the piss outta me for most of the show... still good tho! [and he's hot]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

YEAH HE SO HOT!!!

I'd imagine it'd be good craic after a few pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Pixie4

Oh yes...hot bigtime...must remember to avoid seats in the firing line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Watched his dvd yesterday, seems more preoccupied with getting a serious point across in a humorous way than actually making ya laugh out loud.

I'm never really one of those people in the audience that actually laugh out loud, those kind of people at a movie annoy me. Even more so than the guy who sits at the back and coughs for 2 hours. If I find something funny, I usually note it and then have a think about it later on.

Very philosophical Atrocity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭tie_mi_shu

went to see him lots of times in the international, funny guy.. chatted with him after the shows etc.. he once called me up to the stage in vicar st to take the piss outta me.. meet him after the show to get a t-shirt signed.. all in all he's funny but any time i've talked to him i taught he was a snobby C, wouldn't give ya the time of day...

i wouldn't go to see him again, i don't like him off stage, i taught he was quite rude imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭embraer170

Des Bishop is great the first time.... but gets a bit boring after hearing the same thing for the 5th time.

I sure get up to some adventures!!

It's comical the way even the simplest of misunderstandings always seem to end up in a sexy and terrifying mystery for me! Uh Oh SPAGHETTI O's!! :)

Makes boring, mundane life more interesting I suppose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I started watching the DVD about the Minimum wage jobs... I stopped after about 5 minutes.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Funny guy, saw him a few times about 3 years ago. Good first time, but seemed to use same jokes it different shows. Definately worth a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Eh, pretty much all comedians do that. You can't expect them to write new material every time they go on stage. Certainly though they should change their set once every year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Eh, pretty much all comedians do that. You can't expect them to write new material every time they go on stage. Certainly though they should change their set once every year or two.

I saw him 3 times in about a year and a half. I'd heard about 1/3 of the jokes before. Thought that he'd had enough time to pen a few more tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

if its the show about bringing comedy to disadvanteged areas dont go.There was so much potential for good jokes but he really wanst that funny but he really is just one comedian who i dont think is quick or witty.He kept on ssaying no heckling and it was just was to staged and rehearsed,no spontaniety like a good comedian should be.Went to see karl spain in Dolans in limerick 3 nights ago and he didnt even write any material he just went on stage and worked the banter with the audience.I was dying laughing-he is fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

hilarious!! i wasn't expecting much but i thought he was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Atrocity wrote:
    I'm never really one of those people in the audience that actually laugh out loud, those kind of people at a movie annoy me. Even more so than the guy who sits at the back and coughs for 2 hours. If I find something funny, I usually note it and then have a think about it later on.

Jaysus I'd say you're great craic!

Pixie, if you liked the DVD then you'll probably like him live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭natter

Ya he's very good live, a big gang of us went to see him last year in college, nearly wet myself laughing!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

embraer170 wrote:
    Des Bishop is great the first time.... but gets a bit boring after hearing the same thing for the 5th time.

Yes exactly... My bf almost wet himself* watching the stageshow where he was impersonating the traveller lads.. But someone bought him the dvd for Xmas which just happens to be that show and we were struggling to laugh tbh... just not recyclable at all... Very funny first time round though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Atrocity wrote:

yes, damn those people who find things funny when i am trying to mentally retain information for processing at a later time.

perhaps you should bring a dictaphone and record it so you can play back later and analyze it, freeing you up to just enjoy yourself for the duration of the concert?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭brian_boru

Yeah its Hilarious, i went to see it last month some time, when he did the bit about the travellers from Tuam, i was nearly Pi55in myself, i live near there, so he did a brilliant impression!!! There were tears in my eyes from laughter durin the whole show, there was also a funny bit when a guy from Finglas or somewhere (with a black eye) was givin a bit of grief and Des took the piss, but was seriously fearing for his life after cos the guy left half way through, and Des said the Security Guards said they knew of yer man and he was a heavy so lay off, funny as feck lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Find his shows (tv anyway) to be more entertaining than funny. My mate saw his new dvd and said he was very disappointed with it.

When's the show about the inner-city comedians on (or have I missed it :confused:?) I saw one of the Ballymun guys doin a short set in the international bar and he was brilliant.

i think he may be doing some more over january in Vicar St., thats where we saw him, fitting in is the name of the show. i could be wrong though, i doubt he would do that many shows!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

I saw his new show in UCH here in Limerick on the last extra added date night (oh.. at the end of the show he said they had added another date. BA$TARD!!!) :P . The show was brilliant, have the time he was going on about empty seats.. the thing was sold out but there where 2 empty seats in the front row! I wish i knew before hand.. got some crappy ones at the side he walked out and was like "Hello, and hello to those in the **** seats and pointed right at me!!!" Neh. He was great though, it was mainly scripted stuff.. but he was joking around with the people too!
    Haha, came up with some great gags about traffic in Limerick, he's funny when he's angry!
    Like 2 weeks after seeing him i saw Karl Spain in the University of Limerick, he was great, most of his matieral i had heard before though from The Panel and his TV show... but he really likes to work off the audience!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I saw him 3 times in about a year and a half. I'd heard about 1/3 of the jokes before. Thought that he'd had enough time to pen a few more tbh.

when you go to a concert, do you expect them to play new, unheard songs at every performance?

yes, damn those people who find things funny when i am trying to mentally retain information for processing at a later time.

perhaps you should bring a dictaphone and record it so you can play back later and analyze it, freeing you up to just enjoy yourself for the duration of the concert?

LOL i actually hate the fact that people laugh at all, i mean why laugh at something you find amusing when you can do more beneficial and worthwhile things like help the environment and all that sho!te!!!

Roysh!!!

now you're catching on! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

brian_boru wrote:
    i think he may be doing some more over january in Vicar St., thats where we saw him, fitting in is the name of the show. i could be wrong though, i doubt he would do that many shows!!!

That tour has been extended until April believe it or not.

His new TV show starts next Monday, Jan 9th on RTE 2 for anyone that's interested.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

embraer170 wrote:

Totally agree, he is very good at coming up with new or original material

Cheers guys and gals for all the replies...ClareBear is right in saying the "Fitting In" tour is extended to April...he is in the INEC in Killarney on March 31st for anybody who is interested!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Hes been going on the same act for the last 5 years.