Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

life changing experience

• 31-12-2005 8:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Have you ever had one of these? Maybe it was an accident you were involved it that injured you and changed the way you perceived things or a near death experience.
    Maybe you were just so fed up with the way your life was going that you just one day decided to change. Maybe you read a book or a film that changed your persepctive on things or a close relative died.

So what influenced you to change?

Cany say ive ever had but im one of those people who reads a book or sees a film and gets really influenced by it and lives that way for a while only to go back to mundane crap again. Ive never really had a life altering experience myself i would say though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

a few of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

i used to worry and panick about everything .

now i couldnt give a toss
    in 1st year i had a talk with the head of my school and since then i couldnt care if the world exploded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I have had a few life changing experiences:

When I was 10 I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes.

When I was 15 my brother and I were out for a walk when we bumped into a guy that I had a crush on when I was a kid, I was still too shy to speak to him but when we got back home I was determined not to let my shyness rule my life.

When I was 29 I had a really bad break up - I was very close to loosing it, then I realised that it was not worth getting upset over something like that. I have been through worse things since so I am nearly greatful that the event happened.

My mums illness - firstly being told that she would die, then her having surgery, then coping with the fact that she is severely brain damaged. All of us pulled together when she got ill, we had at least one strong one at a time to chear up the others, though it was very tough - I am not used to being the strong one, but I have had to be. It has been a very humbling experience being with her, she has taught me so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

I had to get an operation back few months ago, and afterwards I realises what was good in life and what I needed and didnt need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

Only small ones for me as nothing major has ever really happened in my life but comign across The AntiChrist by Nietzsche in my library is one of the things that made me really open up to life and its multi faceted strangeness.

Another was the first time I took LSD, liberating and constricting at once, still not sure what all that meant but by far the maddest thing I ever put myself through, but I did it many times again so I assume it was for the good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Not as shocking as the above but one day on the radio (John Kelly's Mystery Train) heard a song called Song For My Father by Horace Silver and was blown away. If I hadn't have been listening to the radio, my life would seriously be completely different now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Worked in a a hospital for physically and mentally disabled people.For a little while, it didn't change me completely, but I realised a good few things.
    Time and just general different experiences...friends, boyfriends,music, a certain embarrassing job. Have all managed to change me just a little bit. Now I'm a lot calmer, reflective, wiser and just a little bit bitterer because of them!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

CathyMoran wrote:

When I was 15 my brother and I were out for a walk when we bumped into a guy that I had a crush on when I was a kid, I was still too shy to speak to him but when we got back home I was determined not to let my shyness rule my life.

When I was 29 I had a really bad break up - I was very close to loosing it, then I realised that it was not worth getting upset over something like that. I have been through worse things since so I am nearly greatful that the event happened.

My mums illness - firstly being told that she would die, then her having surgery, then coping with the fact that she is severely brain damaged. All of us pulled together when she got ill, we had at least one strong one at a time to chear up the others, though it was very tough - I am not used to being the strong one, but I have had to be. It has been a very humbling experience being with her, she has taught me so much.

Ah wow Cathy. I havent slept in nearly 27 hours but that made me stop, think and smile at your strength there. Fair play. I think these things build character.

Ive one personal thing happen to me this year that made me see life in a much more carpe diem fashion. I look at things with more of a "phuck it, lets try it anyway" attitude than I did this time last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

About three years ago i awoke to two burglars in my room. One beat me over the head with an iron bar. Kinda makes you realise that this sh1t doesn't just happen to people on the news, it can happen to you too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

About 2 years ago someone tried to murder me... ever since then I've been fairly paranoid, stressed and depressed... Not particularly uplifting.... but when life gives you lemons (murder attempt) you make lemonade (paranoia, stress, depression).

It's all good. At least I know I'm not easilly killed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

when life gives you lemons you make lemonade

When life gives you lemons order tequilla! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

IvaBigWun wrote:
    When life gives you lemons order tequilla! ;)
    Or stick them down your top and pretend you've bigger boobs... :D :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

About a year ago I underwent cosmetic surgery to enlarge my penis. I've been more confident ever since and the women go wild over/on it. I can send on emails to anyone interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

CathyMoran wrote:

After reading that, I have the utmost respect for you. You go girl ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Illness totally changed my perspective on life and how I live it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

CathyMoran wrote:

I've experienced something a bit similar regarding a seriously ill parent.

Just over 3 years ago my dad was diagnosed with cancer for the second time. What he went through was barbaric in the six months before he died. Fortunately we were all with him as he lapsed into a coma and died having battled so hard to live.

Since then I've toughened up and will not let people walk all over me and have cut off contact with a so called best friend whom I was advised by a number of other close friends/family that she wasn't a real friend.

Having my first child helped me mature into a calmer more responsible adult.

Separating from husband for 6 months made me face up to what I want in life and how I expect to be treated and even though we are happily back together for a couple of years I still want nothing to do with his horrible family. I choose who I want in my life now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

The time I found a fiver down the back of the sofa ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 HST

When I went to Austrailia with my then girlfriend and her family I was 16 and the first time I was away from home, It was a wierd feeling. She had her parents and siblings with her, if she got sick for home it was only for Ireland and her friends. I got home sick for a while and hated the first few hours of it. As time went on it got easier and I sort of had to grow up or else mess everything up. I was given responsibility for about 3000 Euro. I was tempted to blow it all in the first week.

Working in a hotel changes people it will thoughen you up and not let assholes walk all over you.

The next thing that is going to change my life will be a letter that I am waiting on from the army...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

Life changing things :

In 5th class, my mum was going into hospital for an appointment. She was severly stressed. I was told she would be coming home that night then leaving the next day to stay in the hospital for a long period of time. She never came home that night and I think I tend to trust people less because I was promised she'd come home that particular night.

Last year, around middle of November I was told my Godfather had cancer. My dad went to Calcutta then on a trip he had been preparing for for months. He told my mum that if my Godfather died that he wanted to come straight home. But while in Calcutta, he suffered a stroke. My Godfather died 5 days later. Definately the hardest week ever.

My dad wasn't able to fly for a few weeks so his brother and my older brother dropped everything and flew over to him. My brother missed his college finals. That really showed me what family was for.

Sorry if I rambled.....

edit : Another thread on After Hours reminded me of this..
    In first year, I made friends with a girl in my year and we started going to the gym together. She wore a big hoodie and I asked would she not bake? She lifted up her sleeves and showed me that she cut herself.. It really disturbed me.
    In 2nd year, same friend was in a fight with another girl over a guy of all things. (He went out with both of them and spiked their drink.) The other girl overdosed and went into hospital. All eyes turned on said friend and she overdosed a few weeks later but no-one knows.
    Now in 3rd year, friend went to doctor and has stopped cutting but has awful scars all over her arms.

It's really worrying the extent some people go to to 'ease their pain'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

K (self pity time here) :(

My parents divorced when I was about 9....Mum left and moved halfway across the country...( I vividly remember the day she came to say goodbye...has left me with major separation anxiety)

Moved out of home when I was about 16, that made me grow up quick. Lots of life lessons learned then!

My dear Grandad died 2 weeks before I had my first babe.(Had never lost anyone close to me until that day)

Had my first child at 19 (was engaged to be married as well) but totally freaked out after my son was about 9 months old, had severe postnatal depression, nearly killed me.....and I mean literally. I have soooo much respect
    and empathy for people who suffer any type of mental/emotional episodes.

Nearly 5 years ago a good male friend killed himself. I was pregnant with my beautiful daughter at the time. I was soooo angry, hurt, shocked etc at what he did. He left on this planet a son that will never ever know his great father. I don't think I have forgiven him for that as yet. Lots of unanswered questions there.

On New Years Day a few years ago I found the strength and determination to get out of a very very violent and volatile relationship...it was the hardest thing I have ever done it, but I am a stronger person for it. I have learned that no one in this world will respect you if you do not respect yourself. By God, it took me nearly 30 years to realise that it's better to be alone and content than to be with someone who destroys every ounce of your being!

Hmmmm, and I had some not so great medical issues in 2005. Scared the bejesus out of me. From this I have learned that life is too short to just sit around waiting for things to happen....grab life by the balls and enjoy every day as if it were your last!!!!

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

From this I have learned that life is too short to just sit around waiting for things to happen....grab life by the balls and enjoy every day as if it were your last!!!!

Good outlook there SexeeAussie :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I discovered boards.ie...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

2005 was the biggest life changing experience I ever have or ever will have.
    Crazy how so much **** went wrong and how much horrible stuff happened - here's hoping 2006 will be life changing in a good sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

it was such a crazy year; I had some of the best and worst times of my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Hmmmm, and I had some not so great medical issues in 2005. Scared the bejesus out of me. From this I have learned that life is too short to just sit around waiting for things to happen....grab life by the balls and enjoy every day as if it were your last!!!!

Great attitude SA ;o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

In 2004 I suffered a bad period of generalised anxiety and mild depression, but lucky enough got over it. Them few months of hell totally changed my outlook on life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

2003 my family decided to make a go of it in another country, leaving me with the choice to stay and finish college or go and start all over again in another place. I stayed and it was one of the most difficult periods of my life.. I did stupid things, blew money, unnecessarily repeated a year in college, was jobless, became broke beyond belief.

But with a lot of help and patience from my missus I seem to have struggled through and now things are lookin ok.. rosy even :) Still haven't seen the family since '03, and I'm sure when I do see em again it'll be wierd.

But it was a massive turning point none the less. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

About 2 years ago someone tried to murder me... ever since then I've been fairly paranoid, stressed and depressed... Not particularly uplifting.... but when life gives you lemons (murder attempt) you make lemonade (paranoia, stress, depression).

It's all good. At least I know I'm not easilly killed.

The Winner.........hands down.
    Bloody hell........speechless.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

spiderlegs wrote:
    Worked in a a hospital for physically and mentally disabled people.For a little while, it didn't change me completely, but I realised a good few things.

You're the same as myself. You quickly realise that your problems are fairly insignificant on the whole scheme of things and to appreciate how lucky you are.