Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nine Inch Nails playing Ireland??????????

• 28-12-2005 02:37PM

anyone know if NIN will play Ireland in 2006?????????????????
    theres been rumours.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭SlipknotBitch9

hm, where did ye hear these rumours from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

psshhhyahhh...they'll be playing Slane....
    friend of a friend of a friend making up stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

There's always rumours. Been a decade since they played here, so I wouldn't hold my breath. Actually, do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

Allegedly in one of those talk to Trent webchats someone asked Reznor why he ignores his Irish fans and he said he'd play in 2006. So goes the rumour. I THINK someone told me it was in a metalhammer a few months back.

Thing is, even if he did say it, Reznor recently has been acting like a whiny kid and is constantly trying to prove he is infallible so if anyone challenges him at all hes inclined to snap back with a quick "well actually you're wrong Im right" so wether he will follow up on this remains to be seen.

EDIT: found it http://www.9inchnails.com/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t8183.html search for "ireland".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I know a few people who went over to London or Manchester to see them and the reports weren't great. Apparently it's NIN Lite. None of the ferocity or excitement of yesteryear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭SlipknotBitch9

I went to see them in Manchester, was ****in' brilliant gig:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

would be nice to see NIN live but i'm not holding my breath.

i think rammstein is more entertaining to see live. get those feckin laws changed and bring those bad boys over :D

What laws?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Is reznor banned from the country or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

No but apparently he was really pissed off at the sh*thole venue (SFX) NIN had to play in last time they were here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

I think he was talking about Rammstein, although I don't know what laws either.

Rammstein are not banned from Ireland, neither are Slipknot or Marilyn Manson.

Rammstein couldn't do a gig here because there is no venue suitable for their show (with all their pyrotechnics), and Slipknot cancelled their last gig because they didn't sell enough tickets!

Marilyn Manson cancelled because he had something better to do like film a video.

eth0_ wrote:
    Marilyn Manson cancelled because he had something better to do like film a video.

Actually he was meant to film a live DVD at the Point but the film company that was doing it pulled out so Manson thought it wasn't worth the bother to just do a live show without the cameras :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

No..the gig was to be released as a dvd, but the price of hauling the recording equipment was too high...so they re-scheduled the show for LA.

And Rammstein don't play here because there is not enough demand.

NIN would be cool to see live.

No..the gig was to be released as a dvd, but the price of hauling the recording equipment was too high...so they re-scheduled the show for LA.

It was an English company I thought. In any case, the gig didn't need to be cancelled just because it wasn't being recorded.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

fingers crossed he'll play soon.
    The whole NIN lite thing, I think that may be partly because he was playing small venues, stuff like that.
    He says his next European tour will be bigger (venue size anyway), and that may mean more spectacular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

the rammstein laws thing is that you can't have pyro indoors in ireland, and they wont play unless they have their pyro

flogen wrote:
    The whole NIN lite thing, I think that may be partly because he was playing small venues, stuff like that.
    He says his next European tour will be bigger (venue size anyway), and that may mean more spectacular

It was nothing to do with venue size and lights, NIN Lite as in NIN without any of the heaviness you expect. Even the old songs seemed forced and angsty. Trent just doesn't seem like his heart is in it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

the rammstein laws thing is that you can't have pyro indoors in ireland, and they wont play unless they have their pyro
    Well, play outdoors is the obvious solution then, surely. Somewhere like the RDS would be good as it's quite compact for an outdoor venue.

Sorry that's bs...plenty of bands use pyro indoors.
    Machine Head did twice...and that was in the fekcin ambassador.

It really is to do with supply and demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭munky

Ah come on, if slipknot can get in then surley bands of the quality of Rammstein and NIN can get it too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

John2 wrote:
    Actually he was meant to film a live DVD at the Point but the film company that was doing it pulled out so Manson thought it wasn't worth the bother to just do a live show without the cameras :rolleyes:
    They had sold the tickets at cut-rate prices (£13 if I remember correctly... or was it €?) and likely they couldn't afford to put on the show unless they were filming it. I heard he wasn't given a visa based on some sort of conviction that he was facing in the US. They wouldn't have had to haul any recording equipment, we have plenty in this country. What production company was going to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i'd like to see NIN live

Lodgepole wrote:
    They had sold the tickets at cut-rate prices (£13 if I remember correctly... or was it €?) and likely they couldn't afford to put on the show unless they were filming it.

No, tickets were £22.50...as per any usual point gig at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Lodgepole wrote:
    They had sold the tickets at cut-rate prices (£13 if I remember correctly... or was it €?) and likely they couldn't afford to put on the show unless they were filming it. I heard he wasn't given a visa based on some sort of conviction that he was facing in the US. They wouldn't have had to haul any recording equipment, we have plenty in this country. What production company was going to do it?
    The court thing in the US was something to do with rubbing his crotch off the back of a security guards head :rolleyes:

No, tickets were £22.50...as per any usual point gig at the time.

They were indeed, nothing cut price about them.

flogen wrote:

He said he was going to play smaller venues in 2006.
    He's announced dates in North America up til April now, still no European ones. Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

eth0_ wrote:
    Rammstein are not banned from Ireland, neither are Slipknot or Marilyn Manson.

Rammstein couldn't do a gig here because there is no venue suitable for their show (with all their pyrotechnics), and Slipknot cancelled their last gig because they didn't sell enough tickets!

Slipknot played the RDS in June...

Maiden/Manson was amazing there..would be legend if Rammstein played there (since it is outdoors) supporting some other band...

I wish NIN would play, my boyfriend would probably die of happiness..

Slipknot played the RDS in June...

As a support band though.

I'd die if NIN played here! Mmm trent.

Incorrect.

Slipknot
    Friday, 10th of June 2005.
    RDS main hall.

That's twice in two years, one of which was there own show.
    They are not banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I wish NIN would play, my boyfriend would probably die of happiness..

I'm already dying of happiness, Trent promises...