Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brilliant presents Going To waste

• 28-12-2005 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭

has anyone noticed the amount of digital cameras, mp3 players or other really nice techie stuff people got for christmas and have NO FCEKIN idea of how to use them? i work in a net cafe and i've only been back at work since yesterday and already 7 people have come in askin did i know anything about these "gadgets" or how to use them one actually asked where do you get the discs for an ipod nano (or as she called it an epod nana ffs) and don't get me started on digital cameras 2 people have come in askin how to put a film in it. seriously WTF. :mad:

still give it a week or 2 and you'll be able to pick them up dirt cheap second hand! HURRAH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My Mam asked me what i wanted from my brothers and sisters so I told her a George Foreman grill from someone. Well guess what, my mam, sister and nephew all got me one. She's not the sharpest tool in the box is my Mam :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Kiera wrote:
    My Mam asked me what i wanted from my brothers and sisters so I told her a George Foreman grill from someone. Well guess what, my mam, sister and nephew all got me one. She's not the sharpest tool in the box is my Mam :)

Now you can cook three times faster... great

I only have 2 at home... you beat me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

my grandmother got two george foreman grills and all she said was "you can't even cook spuds in it, and sure i've a frying pan". she then proceeded to try to sell my mam one of them. brilliant christmas presents all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

i work in the IT/Education sector and my opinion is at least these people want to learn, you comments are very narrow minded and immature, i thought an 87 year old how to use a digital camera and she loves it, nobody has the gift to know how to use gadgets naturally, granted a cybercafe isnt for asking these questions, but at least they want to learn and arent 'afraid' of technology as many other people of that generation are. Lighten up. If they dont ask they wont know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

danniemcq wrote:
    has anyone noticed the amount of digital cameras, mp3 players or other really nice techie stuff people got for christmas and have NO FCEKIN idea of how to use them? i work in a net cafe and i've only been back at work since yesterday and already 7 people have come in askin did i know anything about these "gadgets" or how to use them one actually asked where do you get the discs for an ipod nano (or as she called it an epod nana ffs) and don't get me started on digital cameras 2 people have come in askin how to put a film in it. seriously WTF. :mad:

still give it a week or 2 and you'll be able to pick them up dirt cheap second hand! HURRAH

Those people are losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

yeah my mam is a bit behind the times aswell, i have a digital slr, and she one day brought it to the chemist before a wedding and asked what kind of film it takes :D.

And being a sparks, try telling some people how to set a digital heating clock, it really does go in one ear out the other.
    But in some cases it does pay off, the parents not knowing how to operate stuff, atleast they dont touch the hifi system i have "it looks too complicated, I wont touch it so"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

dbnavan wrote:
    i work in the IT/Education sector and my opinion is at least these people want to learn, you comments are very narrow minded and immature, i thought an 87 year old how to use a digital camera and she loves it, nobody has the gift to know how to use gadgets naturally, granted a cybercafe isnt for asking these questions, but at least they want to learn and arent 'afraid' of technology as many other people of that generation are. Lighten up. If they dont ask they wont know.

you relax for jaysus sake...

The OP's comments seem to me to be a fairly lighted jab at the old and (tech)ignorant... nothing wrong with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

oh and can anyone tell me why ppl who dont have computers buy mp3 players??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

lol yeah, my cousin got one but no fecking pc :D so she used my laptop but has no way of adding or deleting songs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Mossy Monk wrote:
    lol yeah, my cousin got one but no fecking pc :D so she used my laptop but has no way of adding or deleting songs :(

That actually is one of the main problems people have, its actually quite funny thinking of someone who decides to get one of them and "wait do i need a pc for this?"

Its like buying a load of dvds and no dvd player for them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

dbnavan wrote:
    Your sig explains it all... :rolleyes:
    I had to teach my granny how to use a mobile on Christmas Day. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Pythia wrote:
    Your sig explains it all... :rolleyes:

Hard to see what my sig has to do with it???

I have no intention of getting into slagging matches or childish retorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

danniemcq wrote:

:rolleyes: give people time, if i gave my ma a sewing machine she could have it all figured out in a day or two, whereas me or you it would take us weeks. its the same with mp3 players etc( we take a day or two to have everything figured out where it will take them a few weeks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

dbnavan wrote:

Reading the instructions helps.

But seriosuly...asking what type of film a digital camera needs...or buying an mp3 player without having a pc...the natural gift of knowing how to use gadgets won't help these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Reading the instructions helps.

But seriosuly...asking what type of film a digital camera needs...or buying an mp3 player without having a pc...the natural gift of knowing how to use gadgets won't help these people.

You don't need a PC to own an mp3 player :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Because most decent mp3 players have a line in and direct encoding, i.e. you can plug it into your cd player and record from that if you want.
    While it is good crack to poke fun at these people, ultimately dbnavan is right. Everyone has to learn sometime.

You don't need a PC to own an mp3 player :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    No, but you'll need a pc to properly utilise it.
    And only recent, big and/or expensive cd players have a line in and direct encoding.
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And only recent, big and/or expensive cd players have a line in and direct encoding.
    No, only sh1t ones *cough..ipoo..cough* don't.
    (BTW I assume you meant to say mp3 players?)

I did yeah...but still....your average run of the mill cd player doesn't come with these things.

And...if they didn't understand the concept of mp3-pc, I doubht they'll quickly grasp this option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Maybe someone with a computer could help them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

what annoys me is young ones who get 40gig ipods and put all of 5 cd's on with a few pictures of Justin Timberlake.

Same goes with filling your pc full of viruses and spyware then buying a new one at over a grand to replace it, a year or so later, we see a pattern emerging.

Fúckin morons. My cousins have done both things i mentioned above, there are 2 ipods in the house, 40 gig and 60 gig and they wouldnt have 5 gigs of music between them, and theyve bought 3 computers and a laptop in the space of a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

God i feel so bad for you, big ****in deal

weemcd wrote:
    what annoys me is young ones who get 40gig ipods and put all of 5 cd's on with a few pictures of Justin Timberlake.

Same goes with filling your pc full of viruses and spyware then buying a new one at over a grand to replace it, a year or so later, we see a pattern emerging.

Fúckin morons. My cousins have done both things i mentioned above, there are 2 ipods in the house, 40 gig and 60 gig and they wouldnt have 5 gigs of music between them, and theyve bought 3 computers and a laptop in the space of a few years.
    Ah well their loss, obviously more fúckin money than sense. The fact that they bought an iPod, regardless of the size, says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I see people like this when I'm in work too... the amount of people who haven't a clue how to use a PSP properly is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

dbnavan wrote:
    Hard to see what my sig has to do with it???

I have no intention of getting into slagging matches or childish retorts

I'm not slagging. It's just your sig makes referrence to equality issues so, IMO, it's no wonder you don't agree with the OP.