Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Stephen's Day

• 24-12-2005 12:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭

Right well it starts here...

Apart from all the big races which I, and the rest of you, will get to in time I want to start with my nap:

BALLYGALLY BAY - Leopardstown 1:25

Watched this horse make up a lot of ground and just go down by a head in Fairyhouse at the start of the month so stuck him into the book. Stevie Mahon said afterwards that he maybe wasn't ridden in the best way and he'd come on for that etc... Anyway, there's a certain Mr. Carberry on board this time and I think it'll be hard for him to mess this one up. Very confident of a win with this one. If he does as I expect him to, then we'll have to back his stable mate, vox populi who will run on the 27th.

This is just the start of what, hopefully, will be a very profitable thread for us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

It's not quite a nap, but Finger On The Pulse is racing 12:55 leopardstown on stephens day. The horse is very well regarded by the connections. (bollocks to that i know.) So far there is two maiden hurdles under its history, first time out he was beaten only 3 lengths by Ikitaf who has subsequently gone on to beat o'muirtheach (sp?). The run after that he came 2nd to a horse called Marbeuf, who hasnt done much since. This horse is due to win a maiden hurdle, monday looks like the day, but who knows, iwill be backing it anyway. thoughts/opinions welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Jaysus we're going to be minted come Stephen's night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fr wishy washy

fade2black wrote:
    Right well it starts here...

Apart from all the big races which I, and the rest of you, will get to in time I want to start with my nap:

BALLYGALLY BAY - Leopardstown 1:25

Watched this horse make up a lot of ground and just go down by a head in Fairyhouse at the start of the month so stuck him into the book. Stevie Mahon said afterwards that he maybe wasn't ridden in the best way and he'd come on for that etc... Anyway, there's a certain Mr. Carberry on board this time and I think it'll be hard for him to mess this one up. Very confident of a win with this one. If he does as I expect him to, then we'll have to back his stable mate, vox populi who will run on the 27th.

This is just the start of what, hopefully, will be a very profitable thread for us all.

This is a very good horse that I've been watching myself.....made for Carbo imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Carlitos

Ballgally bay or Dreux?, dreux is a horse that will stay in there the whole race which is so important in leopardstown, havnt heard much of balgally bay :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

I was told to make sure to back Ballygally Bay by someone that should know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭blahblah06

what do u mean kc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

There's a strong word for Jimjonpaddal at Down Royal 3:00, comes from a reliable source who says to back it each way.

I also heard a whisper for Green Belt Flyer at Leopardstown 3:05, the source of is a bit hit and miss with their information.

Carlitos wrote:
    Ballgally bay or Dreux?, dreux is a horse that will stay in there the whole race which is so important in leopardstown, havnt heard much of balgally bay :o

Ballygally Bay.Very interested to see how P C gets on with this horse.....

blahblah06 wrote:
    what do u mean kc
    Sorry didn't mean hes a dead cert but got it from a reliable source. Definitely going to back him.

My selections for today are as follows:

3.50 Bethanys Boy 11/2 (3rd)
    3.35 Fuel Cell 4/1 (np)
    12.30 Sweet Oona 9/2 (2nd 1 & 1/2 lengths)

All each way bets. good luck lads

Healio wrote:
    It's not quite a nap, but Finger On The Pulse is racing 12:55 leopardstown on stephens day. The horse is very well regarded by the connections. (bollocks to that i know.) So far there is two maiden hurdles under its history, first time out he was beaten only 3 lengths by Ikitaf who has subsequently gone on to beat o'muirtheach (sp?). The run after that he came 2nd to a horse called Marbeuf, who hasnt done much since. This horse is due to win a maiden hurdle, monday looks like the day, but who knows, iwill be backing it anyway. thoughts/opinions welcome.

Nice one healio just wish i put more cash on it haha

Had that one too. Thanks Healio

how did ballygally do

Was 3rd after around a mile but fell away to 2nd last very quickly. Dont know what happened him. Clear Riposte @14/1 won

ah sure not too be

Any opinion on Monkerhostin e/w in the King George today? Iv heard him mentioned a couple of times today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Did you see feathard lady winning on the bridle? Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

kc66 wrote:
    Any opinion on Monkerhostin e/w in the King George today? Iv heard him mentioned a couple of times today

Top notch animal but with KK & Kingscliff & it's only 1st & 2nd isn't it? Not as easy a selection then, I wouldn't imho but sure we'll see.

CiaranC wrote:
    Did you see feathard lady winning on the bridle? Superb.

dam, i thought macoy would do better on intersky falcon which i've now lost on back to back, his last run was very good & only beaten by a 66/1 shot.

sector wrote:
    Top notch animal but with KK & Kingscliff & it's only 1st & 2nd isn't it? Not as easy a selection then, I wouldn't imho but sure we'll see.
    Paying on 3rd as well

Sh*t I thought Monkerhostin had it. I backed him e/w at 25/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

went with magern myself. i have been a fan of monkerhosting for two years now, but didnt even consider him for this race. great finish.

Monkerhostin ran a corker, almost had it alright, great selection btw, i knew it was a great animal but thought that lot would have beaten him back.

he was accelerating too, another couple of lenghts & he had it, great race!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

It was a good finish alright...

Fair play on the Monkerhostin selection, am glad KK got it tho :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I've read these baords a few times and don't get much chance to post. Seems like there are a good few posters with a very good knowledge of horses.

Anywas I got word for a horse in the last race in Huntingdon today. It's called 'The Piker'. I wish I could give you more information but unfortunately thats all I was told.

Apologies in advance if the word is cr@p.

tks for the tip, worth a flutter as much as the next I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

its bertie came 3rd, so that wasnt a bad call. my only return today, everybody, awwwww!

blahblah06 wrote:
    My selections for today are as follows:

3.50 Bethanys Boy 11/2 (3rd)
    3.35 Fuel Cell 4/1 (np)
    12.30 Sweet Oona 9/2 (2nd 1 & 1/2 lengths)

All each way bets. good luck lads

came out even thanks to healio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Winelover

'Finger on the pulse' SUPERB TIP Cheers set me up for a really good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

Well your are all very welcome, my father as most of you might know has half shares in most on mr.clarkson's horses today they were very confident in finger on the pulse and he won well. im glad a few of you were on it i was tried to post about the king but i had to go to work F**king Paddy power!! Goodnight so far im out on the piss tonight in anyways.

blahblah06 wrote:
    how did ballygally do

Too bad to be true tbh,I thought Carberry never got the horse settled at all and was never going well.Has to be better than what you saw yesterday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

And then of course Vox pupuli wins the next day.