Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Tournament in the Fitz

• 23-12-2005 3:50am
    Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭

At the money stages (for which I was briefly still there :mad: ) Luke announced that the 500 + 40 game in the Fitz would be a bimonthly event on a Saturday afternoon (presume 3-5 start time), with the first one in about 6 weeks.

97 runners tonight for 48500 prize pool with 20k for first!!!

I enjoyed it as much as you can enjoy any tournament where you were fairly shortstacked most of the night, and got money back for 17th, but as I got subsidised entry for 350 it was 200 profit I guess. I was on course to move to average stack level when my 88 all-in from BB was called by as even shorterstacked 23c and he hit trip 2's on the river. I was crippled an a near quadruple up next hand didn't help as the hand after I went out with 77 vs K10. The main criticism I would have of most of the Fitz tournies is that the prize pool is always fairly top heavy, 1k for 9th, 20k for first.

So, whether you heard or not, you can say that you read it here first about the new bimonthly tournie in the Fitz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

5starpool wrote:
    I enjoyed it as much as you can enjoy any tournament where you were fairly shortstacked most of the night, and got money back for 17th, but as I got subsidised entry for 350 it was 200 profit I guess. I was on course to move to average stack level when my 88 all-in from BB was called by as even shorterstacked 23c and he hit trip 2's on the river. I was crippled an a near quadruple up next hand didn't help as the hand after I went out with 77 vs K10. The main criticism I would have of most of the Fitz tournies is that the prize pool is always fairly top heavy, 1k for 9th, 20k for first.

I played this tonight, as usual I would have the criticism that the prizepool is very bottom heavy -- 5k is taken out for the 10th-18th place finishers who IMO shouldn't get paid at all with 100 runners.

I nearly caused a war tonight when with 20 players left a deal was suggested to take money off first and give it to 19th and 20th. I was the only objector and it didn't happen. A few hands later Macker is knocked out in 20th and the player on my right asks me what I want to do now. This player is short stacked and plays only to get into the money, with no intention of playing another hand until two more players are knocked out. I am average stacked -- certainly not safe, but not desperate. Now I have no intention whatsoever of taking a similar deal but I tell him if he has something to propose I'll listen to him. He stands up delighted and asks if there are any objections to taking €500 off first for 20th. Of course I object again and he starts telling me I'm an asshole and God knows what else. He folds his button and blinds to me the next two rounds, but he makes the money and busts out in about 15th. Several other players give out to me during the break for not taking the deal, although Margaret tells me "good on you" for not taking it, which makes me very happy.

I get to the final table but finish 9th after being bluffed out of a massive pot for my case 3BB. Might post it here, maybe I'm just an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Fair play to u Dave. Imagine how the player that was knocked out in 20th or 21st would've felt if we had done either of those deals... everyone knew the bubble was to burst at 18 and played accordingly. I suspect there might be another multiway chop after your exit. Wp anyway. Post the hand, u know u want to. I'm still cringing over that move I made with A6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

Any more reports on the finish?

I tried to crack AQ with KK at about the 45 players mark but it just wasn't to happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

5starpool wrote:
    At the money stages (for which I was briefly still there :mad: ) Luke announced that the 500 + 40 game in the Fitz would be a bimonthly event on a Saturday afternoon (presume 3-5 start time), with the first one in about 6 weeks.

Will he have freerolls for that I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

did he actually say afternoon? i presume the regular saturday freeroll slot will be used with the main event starting at the usual 8.30. there was enough for 3 tickets today. i finished 18th itm but i'm not at all happy with how i played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

So who took down the big money last night? Any boardsters/Fitz regulars/notables?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

dave was on cash game with macker when he stormed down the stairs,And he ranted the lad who used to deal the so and so wouldnt take a deal a few older regulars agreed u were a bollix no bull**** u were dead right, i think they when they have there 500 will ship it in on anything and make a balls of the game.K 4 sooted called for 9000 againest me with 40 left it held up sick.whoever called u ana asshole should have been sin binned i think no need for personal abuse at the table water of a ducks back any way .

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

RoundTower wrote:
    I played this tonight, as usual I would have the criticism that the prizepool is very bottom heavy -- 5k is taken out for the 10th-18th place finishers who IMO shouldn't get paid at all with 100 runners.

Dave, when I say top heavy I am not referring to the number of players being paid. I agree that 18/97 is too many to get paid, although having said that I am one of those that wanted the deal to pay 19/20, as I think I told you, me being shortstacked and going allin at least once a round for the last 4 rounds and all. We will just agree to disagree on that point, I understand where you are coming from at least.

Personally I think paying 12 would be a better option in this case, with first taking 15k and the rest spread a bit better, something like:

Again, I am sure this will be an agree to disagree point.

Actually I wouldn't mind your payout schedule. The current one is both top heavy and bottom heavy, it pays a lot both to the first place finishers and to 10th-18th. Perhaps it needs to be more "middle heavy".

I don't know what happened in the end, I'm sure a deal was done at some point. Another Fitz regular who was at the final table told me he had been abused by an older player who with 8 left or so started called him names because he didn't want to discuss a deal...in the middle of a hand! I don't like to name names but some people here will know both of the abusive players.

My almost final hand: I have 50k in chips on the button, average is 75k, chip leader in the big blind has about 200k. He was playing solidly on the second last table but has reverted to type and made some loose calls in the last orbit, which is our third or fourth of the final table. Folded to me. I make it 15k with 55 and he calls. Flop TT4 no suits. He checks, I bet 20k and he calls after thinking for ages. Turn 7, I think it puts 2 diamonds up. He bets my last 12.5k. I think for ages (unusual for me) and fold despite the huge pot odds (unusual for me). I figure he can't be bluffing for my last few chips and remember a hand he played on the second last table where he flopped trip As with A5 as the preflop raiser and checked behind, so his first reaction with a hand like this may be to check, which makes sense here anyway. He shows KQ hearts. I go out next hand.

God this was painful to write about, especially since the site decided to lose it and I had to write it out again. Of course I can stick it in preflop or on the flop, and I expect that's the advice I'll get from most players, but I think the smaller raise and smaller bet are fine. Anyone else fold here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I don't know Dave. Maybe it is a fold, I mean you're fairly certain you're drawing to two cards, and no matter what pot odds you're getting they're certainly not good enough for this. I think that I definitely would have pushed on the flop, I mean you can't hope for a much better one with 55, and essentially not pushing is value betting, which you can't really afford to do with a pair of fives. His bet on the turn was dumb, but I suppose he's probably calling your all in cos he's in so deep already he might as well make the bet if he's going to call it. I think I maybe would have called, but can't be totally honest as I have all the information now. Very tough one, but I think the biggest mistake was not pushing the flop.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

This ended as a four way split with one guy taking 15k, one taking 9.5k I think, and 2 (including the guy in your post above, who we'll leave nameless, but I get on well with, nice guy) got 6k each.

Apparantly the chip leader had taken most of the former chip leaders chips, and was way out in front, with 2 lagging a fair bit behind 2nd too. I only know of one person involved in the deal.

Edit: I made a rash and ill-judged comment to you Dave during the earlier mentioned badness and I would like to apologise for it now. I get on (I hope) fairly well with you, and would hope that won't change. I blame it on the stress of being shortstacked and going all in every round to stay alive. I hope you accept is as genuinely out of character. At least it was a tournament related comment, not a personal insult, if it was the latter I would dererve a slap.

5starpool wrote:
    Edit: I made a rash and ill-judged comment to you Dave during the earlier mentioned badness and I would like to apologise for it now. I get on (I hope) fairly well with you, and would hope that won't change. I blame it on the stress of being shortstacked and going all in every round to stay alive. I hope you accept is as genuinely out of character. At least it was a tournament related comment, not a personal insult, if it was the latter I would dererve a slap.

I don't remember this at all, if you were trying to get me to agree to a deal in your favour you have nothing whatsoever to apologise for. It was the guy calling me an asshole I didn't like.

Good to see whatever about 7pm Boards is just fine around 7am...

**** in the time it took to write this post i just lost a ****ing 4000 dollar pot time to go to bed. Not even a bad beat I was drawing dead on the flop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

i was one of the 4 involved in the chop at the end, will do a full report on the final table later when i have a bit more time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

ok finally got a chance to sit down (after catching up on some sleep).
    i was having an awful week, on my way home at 3am early thurs morning, the car blew up, needs a new engine, 2k worth of damage, and that after someone had just nicked my jacket, and ages getting through to the AA, ended up up all night, and str8 into work, finished at 3am, really shoulda gone home to bed, but decided to chance the freeroll in the fitz for the 500k.
    Battled away in this for 3 hours, 3 seats available, ended up going out on the final table, short of a seat. Tried a satelite, lost a race for most of the chips 3 handed, was nackered and in bad form, but decided to buy into the big event anyway for euro 540. (my 2nd big buy in event after the SE at the weekend). Id just had my first losing month online in ages, and was struggling with my game, but went into this tourney with a carefree attitude.
    First few levels, i played awful, passive, calling station type poker. Everytime i seemed to raise, someone re raised, and i passed, i went from 6.5k starting to 1.5k by the end of level 3. I was shattered, had a serious word with myself, im waiting for a chance, and then i will not waste another chip.
    Chance came on my BB, with KT off, flop comes KK4 with 2 hearts, i got 2 flush drawers to match my 1500, and stood up, so now i had 4500 ish.
    Then i raised a few pots, and got up to 7k, just b4 the break, i raised my button with KJ hearts, bb moves in and if i call i have either 10.2k or 4k at the break, i decided 4k was still playable, and 10.2k was above average, and as i had layed down a few before, and he was getting desperate, there was a decent chance he had Ax or something like 88, so i called, he has AT and i spiked a K.
    So at dinner, still about 75 out of 97 runners left, and 18 getting paid, 11th - 18th was euro 550, 1st was 20k, 2nd 9.5, 3rd 4.5, 4th 2.7.
    Lost half was chips after the break and so short again, then ran into a very short stacks AA, and with 50 players left, and average about 13k, i got moved to table 1 with 1400 in chips!
    Got it in with 88 and stood up, havent really seen any hands better than this all night. I remained on a short stack for the next 2 hours, careful picking spots to move in, i didnt show anything down, and remained with a tight image on this table. (i also passed 88 when another guy showed 99 and AJ when another moved and had AK).
    So down to 20 players, and i had about 18k in chips, still just about the shortest, its after 2am at this stage, and im on about my 5th coffee, but the buzz of the tourney is keeping me going.
    Richie annonces that if no one objects, they will take 1k off the top and give 19th and 20th 500 quid also. 1 guy objects, see above post!
    (in my opinion, we have all been battling away for over 5 hours at this point, and the play had really slowed down, this would speed things up, it was christmas after all, and 19k for first was still pretty decent)
    Anyway, after this, i was convinced i was going to be 19th!!!!, and decided i would try and limp into the money. (which i dont usually do, with the top heavy structures). I was delighted to see 2 depart fairly quick, unlucky for Vivian to go out on the bubble.
    There was a break then, and i had 16k, average i think was closer to 40k, i was 2nd shortest, and shortest on my table.
    However, as 11th - 18th all paid the same, i used a different approach, i needed chips, no point limping up a pos or 2 with that stucture, so when about 4 people limped on a 4k blind, i made up the 2k on the sb without even looking. The bb who was second shortest on the table moved in, he had me covered by about 4k, To my surprise the others all folded, and i had 23 clubs.
    I had 10k behind, there was a 30k pot to be won, the bb was almost forced in, i was very likely to have 2 lives, and they were suited, im not passing here. He had 88, flop comes 24J, turn another 4 and im drawing to a deuce on the river, for a change i get a suckout, now im thinking with all thats gone before this might be my night.
    Some more careful play later, and im maintaining my stack, again without any real hands (at this stage all ive had in terms of starting cards was 88 once)
    With about 14 players left, i had 31k in chips in mid pos, i look down at AA, guy to my left moves in for 29k, i call and he has KJ off, no miracle, and now im close to average.
    Soon after have KT on my bb, see a K86 flop, and similar sized stack moves in, 2 hearts on board, its a big pot, i feel im good and call, he shows a 6 no heart, turn gives me 2 pair, but another heart, and the board makes a flush on the river. He survives, and soon he has a mountain of chips.
    Maintained my stack til 9 players left, and another break, my 60k stack was actually in about 5th, with a couple of massive stacks, and some smaller ones. Now guaranteed 1k for 9th, and its getting very late, but im finding the energy from the adrenelin, no longer feeling tired.
    We soon went 8 handed, then the table become a complete rockfest, no one seemed to be making many moves, raises were getting respect, any time a shorty moved, they won, we must have been 8 handed for over an hour.
    I was getting a bit frustrated. It was suggested to take 1k off the top again, and pay the next 4 200 extra each, since wed been playing so long, again one objector (diff guy to last time). Next hand this objector made a big raise, chip leader put him in, he passed, about 2 hands later he raised again, got put in again, and was on his way in 8th !!!! (funny how objectors always seem to be next out)
    We then agreed to take 800 off the top and 7th to 4th get 200 extra.
    Again no real hands to report, just a few moves in position, and we are down to 6 when i get 88, i have 40k , raised to 20k (blinds 2.5/5). Chip leader flat calls and moves on a J73 2 hearts flop. Im commited here as far as i am concerned, he could have had a 7, a flush draw, or just be on a stop and go, i shoulda gone all in pre flop, since i was not passing to a re raise, but i was calling his, he had KJ, and i was in trouble, but an 8 on the turn soon changed this and i was in decent shape now. (my 2nd bit of luck of the night)
    With 6 left my AK beats K7 suited all in pre flop, and we are down to 5, i try and few raises to speed things up a bit, but have to pass, and again in the next 45 mins or so, really didnt pick up any sort of hand.
    We went down to 4, and one guy gets a huge double up with JJ vs 99 of the chip leader, the JJ guy is now massive chip leader.
    Its 5.20am, i have 50k, the former chip leader (guy i split the flush with and who had the 99, also the guy who bluffed our now deal agreer who posted above) also has 50k, guy to my left in seat 7 has about 120k and new chip leader, tight player in seat 9 has over 300k. I propose a deal. We settle on 15k, 8350, 6k and 6k and im happy with that (given 2.7k for 4th and 4.5k for 3rd).
    So my biggest live cash, and a great night, now back home to bed for a couple of days !!!!