Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why is halfords getting a bad name

• 20-12-2005 7:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭

why is halfords getting a bad name?? is it any particular store?? and why are the mechanics often referred to as muppets here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Err, because they're crap, overpriced and employ unqualified people without training them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭vannistelrooy10

Err, because they're crap, overpriced and employ unqualified people without training them ?

so what store is this blnch coz i get a different impression off coolock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

yea, brought my bike to halfords in coolock for a repair on a back buckle. i went to collect it about 3 days later, they replaced the wrong coloured spoke with a silver one as my wheel is all black, scratched the cross bar, and my back brakes werent working so, MUPPETS work there amongst elmo and kermit, an other time after that i went to get my gears tuned in sean duff cycles in donaghmede sc so chatting away to the person who repaired my bike, and then got talking about halfords then he tells me an apprentice mecanic got sacked from sean duffs and is now working in halfords,

Scary Ehh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

why is halfords getting a bad name?? is it any particular store?? and why are the mechanics often referred to as muppets here.

Its always had a crap name. You cant even buy any decent bikes there.

Volvoboy wrote:
    yea, brought my bike to halfords in coolock for a repair on a back buckle. i went to collect it about 3 days later, they replaced the wrong coloured spoke with a silver one as my wheel is all black, scratched the cross bar, and my back brakes werent working so, MUPPETS work there amongst elmo and kermit, an other time after that i went to get my gears tuned in sean duff cycles in donaghmede sc so chatting away to the person who repaired my bike, and then got talking about halfords then he tells me an apprentice mecanic got sacked from sean duffs and is now working in halfords,

Scary Ehh..

so you expect the brakes to be fixedwhen you asked for a buckle to be fixed. fair enough with the spoke.....maybe a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss. as for apprentice mechanics...........for a push bike ur having a laff, mr duff must be just tryin to put down the competition!!!!

Its always had a crap name. You cant even buy any decent bikes there.

GT KONA SARACEN ye all **** bikes
    so what do you cycle??

Me? Personally I ride an Orange.

Whilst I always fancied owning a Kona I was never a fan of GT and Saracen were always a little second rate imo. But then I always was a bike snob :D

But I was a bit over the top there.

I would still choose a good bike store over Halfords. Certainly for servicing if I didnt do it myself. They are a little like the Dixons of Bikes/Cars if you get my meaning.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

so you expect the brakes to be fixedwhen you asked for a buckle to be fixed.
    Yes I would expect them to verify the brakes still worked if they removed the wheel or did work on it.

BTW: Volvoboy said the wern't working afterwards - not that they were broken and he was hoping for a freebie.

Most bikes can have the tension in the brake cable adjusted without tools, and
    HINT: buckle means the wheel rim should now be in a different position, which means that the brakes MAY need adjusting but should be checked as it's probably a health and safety issue , in that the customers attention should be called to it even if they don't fix it.

Really upsets me that there are so many cowboys around in the service industry in Ireland. Far too many times you end up doing the job your self because it quicker than cleaning up after someone elses half-arsed job. ( I'm thinking of one comms company in particular ) and it may be in a worse state then when they started on the job.

so what store is this blnch coz i get a different impression off coolock

No, this Halfords in general. But hey, they're fine for going to the shops bikes and I'd guess minor repairs.

The range of bikes they stock should give you a clue as to their target market.

No, this Halfords in general. But hey, they're fine for going to the shops bikes and I'd guess minor repairs.

The range of bikes they stock should give you a clue as to their target market.

true that but you can order in top of range airbourne kona gt no point in havin instore if some scumbag will rob it

maybe a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss

Phuck that, only bought the bike less than a year ago its a half decent one too a trek 4100 now the bike has go faster scrapes down the side of the cross bar.:mad:

Volvoboy wrote:
    Phuck that, only bought the bike less than a year ago its a half decent one too a trek 4100 now the bike has go faster scrapes down the side of the cross bar.:mad:

i suppose the scrapes are inexcusable if they were caused by halfords

Volvoboy wrote:

Scary Ehh..

yea, why the fook u bring your precious bike if you just wanted a buckle fixed?????? was the frame buckled???

yea, why the fook u bring your precious bike if you just wanted a buckle fixed??????

What was he meant to do? Ask the Fairies? Buckles can be pig to fix sometimes why shouldnt he get a 'pro' to do it??

the buckle was on the wheel you ****ing muppet, so id say drop out the wheel and bring it in to the shop. if you ever fixed a buckle you dont touch the bike unless the wheel has to be removed .if he has such a good bike ,he'd prob have quick release or have a clue how to remove it. and btw he did go to a pro the bloke who fixed it got paid for it.
    go home

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

maybe he doesn't have a car ?

maybe he doesnt but id say he probably does as his name is volvo boy?????!!!!!!. its more his fault for leaving his perfect bike in rather than just the wheel.

But there is no way you'd fit a bike wheel in a volvo. Is there ?
    /me backpeddles furiously

But there is no way you'd fit a bike wheel in a volvo. Is there ?
    /me backpeddles furiously

i suppose they are quite small!!!!

the buckle was on the wheel you ****ing muppet, so id say drop out the wheel and bring it in to the shop. if you ever fixed a buckle you dont touch the bike unless the wheel has to be removed .if he has such a good bike ,he'd prob have quick release or have a clue how to remove it. and btw he did go to a pro the bloke who fixed it got paid for it.
    go home

You're the muppet. Many people, including myself, would be in a position where the easiest way to get a minor repair done is to drop the bike in on the way to work and collect it on the way home.

State your interest here - do you work or did you work in Halfords ? or are you just a fan of mediocre multinationals ?

You're the muppet. Many people, including myself, would be in a position where the easiest way to get a minor repair done is to drop the bike in on the way to work and collect it on the way home.

State your interest here - do you work or did you work in Halfords ? or are you just a fan of mediocre multinationals ?

eh but its quite clear that wasnt the situation you dislexic ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

a bit of anecdotal evidence....

I went up to the livestrong clad bike assistant in Halfords in Blanch y'day, and asked him had they sold the turbo trainer that was on display two days previous....

.....Whats a turbo trainer?

Classic service.....poor volley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭cynos

Coolock branch told me a 10mm socket would take my spark plugs out any bigger and i'd be crazy for even thinking do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭cynos

They also told me they didnt sell nitro fuel although i could see the cans and pricelist on the shelf.
    If you know what you want and you know the going price for it, go there, but if your clueless be carefull of being ripped off

oh christ on a bike!!

Own a car - no,
    Want a car - yes

i wanted it so i could drop the bike into hf before work, pick it up on the way home.

Hope this put some new light on this.

-VB-

my mate does work in halfords coolock and i dont take kindly to the abuse he gets as he would know alot more about bikes than 98% of people here and the lads in coolock have a fantastic background in all types of cycling from road racing to dh to xc to freeride.
    you just have to have the decency and common sense to realise that if sombody does you a favour (volvo boy) btw the lads remember your patronising attitude, you take the favour and thank them as they did what they could with the wheel they thought that you wouldnt be such a sap about a odd coloured spoke and i doubt they charged you for the spoke.

i dont take kindly to the abuse he gets

Has anyone here abused your mate specifically? No? Thought not.
    as he would know alot more about bikes than 98% of people here

You know the cycling backgrounds of 98% of the posters on this forum do you?
    i doubt they charged you for the spoke.
    Did they charge him for the work? If so he deserves a decent job. And an unscratched bike.

Whether they are your mates or not it doesnt excuse them if they did a shoddy job.

Has anyone here abused your mate specifically? No? Thought not.

You know the cycling backgrounds of 98% of the posters on this forum do you?

Did they charge him for the work? If so he deserves a decent job. And an unscratched bike.

Whether they are your mates or not it doesnt excuse them if they did a shoddy job.

hey wise guy your role know it your mouth shut it,
    i said HERE refering to boards.ie
    judging by the posts people make ..ye he does thats why its his job........ unlike most of the rest of the know it all dickfaces
    the wheel was fixed and unbuckled so eh i say job well done. and scratched bike?? the muppet had a buckle, nothin to do with frame so no need for the frame so.. his own fault.
    anybody with a worthwhile bike should be able to maintain it themselves for this very reason, i wouldnt leave my bike in anywhere to be fixed i do it at home.
    and poor volvo boy has no car ye right who would call themselves volvo boy lets face it who the **** WANTS a volvo or a name with it in it. and any ways he had a broken spoke if he loved his bike so much he wouldnt have cycled with a broken spoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Hope you get banned soon. Your inability to comprehend peoples posts is really irritating.

volvoboy dropped his bike into Halfords ON THE WAY TO WORK. He either could still cycle on it, or wanted to be able to cycle home. Either way, he doesn't have to justify himself to you. You're the "muppet".

And it really shows your level of intelligence when the best retort you have is "OMG he calls himself volvoboy and he doesn't even have a car! LOL!"

eth0_ wrote:
    Hope you get banned soon. Your inability to comprehend peoples posts is really irritating.

volvoboy dropped his bike into Halfords ON THE WAY TO WORK. He either could still cycle on it, or wanted to be able to cycle home. Either way, he doesn't have to justify himself to you. You're the "muppet".

And it really shows your level of intelligence when the best retort you have is "OMG he calls himself volvoboy and he doesn't even have a car! LOL!"

maybe you can ban me for thissuck it and what the **** is a retort that thing that i used in physics??? and if i irritate you **** off and dont read if you know i have posted now go tell on me so i can get banned you piece of monkey crap. you are also a dickface know it all.... do u even have a bike??? do you know what a spoke is???

maybe you can ban me for thissuck it

I'm not actually a mod of this forum. Sorry, kiddo :-/

What's a retort? Wow, really compounding your lack of intelligence now! Try www.dictionary.com

eth0_ wrote:
    I'm not actually a mod of this forum. Sorry, kiddo :-/

What's a retort? Wow, really compounding your lack of intelligence now! Try www.dictionary.com

actually a retort stand... and from what i can remember we used that as a sub for retard in 2nd year.... so YOU are very immature. you are a prime example of a know it all dickface

*sigh*
    Too intellectually challenged to use a dictionary properly. Sad.

re·tort1 Audio pronunciation of "retort" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (r-tôrt)
    v. re·tort·ed, re·tort·ing, re·torts
    v. tr.

1. To reply, especially to answer in a quick, caustic, or witty manner. See Synonyms at answer.
    2. To present a counterargument to.
    2. To return in kind; pay back.

my mate does work in halfords coolock and i dont take kindly to the abuse he gets as he would know alot more about bikes than 98% of people here and the lads in coolock have a fantastic background in all types of cycling from road racing to dh to xc to freeride
    If they charged then it ain't a favor.

Halfords are box shifters, at the opposite end of the scale you'd have Squarewheel cycleworks where repairs are a bigger part of the business than sales.
    Shay Wolfe wrote:
    I've been fixing buckles for 20 years and I'm still learning new tricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

anybody with a worthwhile bike should be able to maintain it themselves for this very reason, i wouldnt leave my bike in anywhere to be fixed i do it at home.

Don't trust your mate to do a good job,eh??
    and poor volvo boy has no car ye right who would call themselves volvo boy lets face it who the **** WANTS a volvo or a name with it in it.

And you play for Utd so your nick is ok.

Me thinks you might actually work in Halfúcks and can't crasp the shíte you get.
    And before you even think of going off on another rant I've maintained my own bikes for the past 19 years,raced on and off road and would never even think about going near a car shop for anything bike related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

He won't be able to reply, I've banned him from the forum and if I see him kick off like this again he's sitebanned.