Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another 'no show' from sky

• 16-12-2005 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭

Has anyone a contact name or email address that I can get something done.

It is a long story but for the third time an engineer failed to show up yesterday. I am seriously pi$$ed at this stage and any muppet I get speaking to can only re-book an installation and supervisor are like yer one in 'little britian' .. 'computer says no'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭wolfman

Sky are a shower of ****ing ****
    Going through the same **** here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

You can always threaten to cancel your order.

I'm beyond threatening
    I am trying to cancel it as I type
    Phone has been connected 43 minutes waiting to cancel!!!!!!!!
    They are SO bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭sylver72

if you are in dublin sierra communications (you know the big yellow vans with the blue writig on them) fit the sky stuff.If outside this area they sub out the work to various companies.Call sierra in their dublin office and give your case ref/job number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

sierra's number keeps ringing out .. and to be honest after the way I have been treated by them previously I have no intention of speaking to them ... 2 no shows (without even a phone call) and a 'sub' calling out demanding unreasonable amounts of 'cash' for additional cabling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭ITV2

Yeah i too have just got a No show from sierra/Sky... the engineers mother is sick or something.. And so all His calls are cancelled... and they have no phones in seirra?????...

So i rang sky and reported sierra.. and got a new date in early jan 06... But with electroplus this time

now where's me rabbits Ears?

T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭higster

Have had similar experience....suposed to happen on the 2nd Dec, no show & then could not do until the 3rd Jan..and I had canceled chorus. Found some e mail adreses......
    ExecCustEnq@bskyb.com & AllCustomerCareEscalation@BSkyB.com.

Did get e mails back eventually (~3 working days) and now have an instalation booked for Tuesday. If doen't show I think I've got my hands on JamesMurdochs e mail....he's next on my list..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭higster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Simply ask them to cancel the job and refund your money. Then ask an independant installer to fit it. :)

Waited 56 minutes the other day and had to hang up as needed to head out, but I am back on this again.

I am not in Dublin, but whats the story regarding getting another guy to do it??? Do you still get Sky to do change of address on system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Waiting over 6 weeks in Waterford then told that my order didn't go through. Also they said they'll ring back on Saturday, still waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

It seems a lot of people are having problems as Sky is overwhelmed by sheer volume of orders coming up to Christmas. Not as band as Broadband where Eircom told third parties last week, no more lines till January.

wolfman wrote:
    Waited 56 minutes the other day and had to hang up as needed to head out, but I am back on this again.

I am not in Dublin, but whats the story regarding getting another guy to do it??? Do you still get Sky to do change of address on system?
    It's not that simple. You will need to cancel the existing job and go to indo installer and sign new contract, wait for new cards and arrange install. In my case he was out the day after I received the cards.

New cards???
    They never sent new cards the last time as it was only a move and not an install?? So do I need to get new cards also?

suprise suprise ... the rescheduled engineer call out is due today. No call from said engineer before 9am as promised. Sky can't contact engineer ... and I need an ETA as I can't take another day off work.

What a complete shower of fcuking gobsh1tes.

If the box isn't repaired today there will be a free Minidish, about 60 yards of cabling, a Pace Multiroom box and a Sky+ box with a dodgy hard driving waiting for the first taker on the footpath outside my house.

wolfman wrote:
    New cards???
    They never sent new cards the last time as it was only a move and not an install?? So do I need to get new cards also?
    In that case simply contact a new installer and off you go.

I called Sky .. they can't contact Sierra yet. I got the number, 01 4198686, it sounds like it is disconnected.

I called Sierra's main line and was more or less told to p1ss off by a receptionist who obviously gets plenty of these calls every day. I told her I couldn't get through and she said you just have to keep trying !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

wolfman wrote:
    New cards???

If you are just moving (not a NEW install for NEW customer), then you don't need a new card. In fact you can DIY or get any installer that can do satellite.

Though an independant can cost 150 Euro for a "fresh" install and Sky may do it at a subsidized €56 or so with new Dish and LNB included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chicken_food

Have sky ordered-engineer rang this morning at 8.30 saying he'd be out by mid afternoon eveing time. He asked did i know about the phone line having been connected. I said yeh.He asked how close is the phone socket to the tv- i said in the next room (maybe 15ft of around the bout cabling req) He went mad 'what do you mean the next room?! Thats just more work!' So now i have a strange feeling he'l try and charge extra for 'cabling' when i could just get the kit in argos and do it myself. Ntl have just cut us off to as per my request,so lets hope this sky bugger shows up. Any advice on if he trys to charge us extra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Have sky ordered-engineer rang this morning at 8.30 saying he'd be out by mid afternoon eveing time. He asked did i know about the phone line having been connected. I said yeh.He asked how close is the phone socket to the tv- i said in the next room (maybe 15ft of around the bout cabling req) He went mad 'what do you mean the next room?! Thats just more work!' So now i have a strange feeling he'l try and charge extra for 'cabling' when i could just get the kit in argos and do it myself. Ntl have just cut us off to as per my request,so lets hope this sky bugger shows up. Any advice on if he trys to charge us extra?

Where abouts are you from, as I had a cowboy with a similar description to yours do an install the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

He will charge you extra as Sky will not pay him to run a cable from the next room, just try and keep it to a reasonable amount, if its more than 37.50 then just pay that to sky in lieu of having a phone connaction which you are entitled to do.

you are the proud recipient of post No. 3000:)

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭speedfreak

no show, no contact here also (Finlay Communications are doing it say SKY). Cant even get through to them. Man I knew I shouldnt have gone through SKY direct...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭s_gr

Independent Sky installers are the only way, direct with sky end up with cowboys... Much better service from independent's.

Im based in dundrum. if he trys to charge anything il tell him i dont need it as il be switching the tv position soon enough so il just use the existing 15ft of cable i have and run it on the floor. then il go to argos and get the kit for 9.50. im currently on hold trying to talk to someone about the guy whos ment to come out. still no sign of him

0035314198686 this is the number i have for the engineer. Now i have a suspicion it is sierra!! My worst nightmare come true!

He won't show this late into the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

tell him to get lost sky request you plug into a phone line so the engineer is the one who should have to worry bout that not you....i hate sky bunch of w*ankers was waiting 4 weeks, three no show installation dates, bout 10 phone calls, 3 promised calls by supervisor until i told them to put their sky up their arse

that is a sierra number alright !!

when I told a guy from Sky earlier that I had another 'no show' .. he just said 'well there is a suprise'!!!

Best of luck if you can get through to that number .. you have to keep redialling and redialling !!

Iv been on hold after riniging over 20times. still no luck with anyone actually answering tho!

Two lads from sierra communications came out. Tried saying there was an extra charge for the phone,i said il do it myself to save myself the 'extra charge' Then he said he needs a bracket for the wall because my neighbours house is in the way-this will cost me an extra 120euro. Will sky cover that? He said i need to decide by 2moro morning cos he can pick it up on wed morning. Does this sound like a load of ****e or is he serious?

120 euro is way too much

It needs to be raised a good bit up in the air. Maybe 10-15ft. Anyone have a website or shop where i could buy one myself?

if the pole is 10 or 15ft then you will lose sigbnal when the wind blows unless its very solid

yeh its not really 10ft-just had a look. Maybe 8ft at most. Do you know of any shops,cos they say they wont be able to do it by xmas if i dont know what to do by 2mo morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bigpaddy2004

Is there no Chimney on your house?

there is a chimney,but they said they dont do chimney installs anymore. Paddy,your in the business of sky digital (or so im lead to believe) Can u tell me what type of wall bracket they are talking about so i can get it cheaper!

Go to any electrical wholesalers and you will pick up 2 18' wall brackets for about €19 each +vat. a 2 inch pipe will cost €32+vat for a 20ft length. they will charge you to fit this bracket even if you do have it, so im afraid you are fighting a loseing battle! All sierra crew were given roof ladders only 2 months ago to do chimney installs. Is this installer a sub for sierra or one of their own crew?

I think he is with sierra. He has a white un marked van but said he was with them. Im going to ring them tommorrow and hopefully get them to install it on the chimney. Thanks for the help! The 120 was just for the bracket they also had to fit it!!

If he is with direct with Sierra you will have it installed on the Chimney for free. But if he is a sub for Sierra (dmc cable & sat more probably) you will be charged €70 for the pleasure!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭sylver72

following an advertisement i saw in the daily papers i decided to purchase the sky+ with multiroom for 69.I called the number advertised and spoke to a very nice lady who took my details and booked an installation for Thursday 03rd November and gave me a job number for reference on the morning of the install I received a call from the installer who asked if i had received a second card. Not having been made aware of the need for a second card I was taken aback at not having been sent one. The installer informed me that without a card he couldn't install the sky+ and asked me to re-book the install. Having had to take a day off work, unpaid, to be there for the install I was very irate at this. After calling the installation line on 08705959595 and waiting for approx 15 minutes I managed to get through to an operator who advised me to wait untl the card arrived and re-book. This i did and got an install date of 17th November. I could not afford to take another day off work for this so I arranged for my elderly father to be in the house that day to let in the engineer. On the arrival of the engineer he informed my father that as the cables had to be ran through the attic space he would need my father (72) to do this for him. My father couldn't do this even if he was willing so the engineer left. I once again was forced to re-book the installation, this time for sat 03rd December, and awaited the engineers call. I waited in my house for the engineer to call but between 8.00p.m. on fri 02nd and 8.00p.m. on sat 03rd no one called from sky or the installation company. I once again tried to call the installation line but after waiting for at least 20 minutes and getting cut off (on FIVE OCCASIONS) I gave up. I finally got through on Monday morning and was told that the install should have been carried out on the sat and there was no reason as to why it didn't go ahead. AGAIN I was forced to re-book and wait for an engineer on 17th (last sat).the 69 has already been deducted from my credit card, before the installation has gone ahead,which,i have been assured by my legal advisor, is illegal. Sat 17th came and went without either a call from the installer or even a courtesy call from the company to explain why they have totally ruined my families Christmas/new year.The installer,i found out,was to be Finlays of mullingar which is only 20 minutes away from my house but might as well be on the other side of the planet it seems.i`ve tried calling them again but the phone number seems to be busy or disconnected.so much for a christmas present for the family.

thats such a disgraceful lack of customer care. I didnt even give them a second chance. I cancelled. I guess only when enough people do that will Sky take some sort of action.

sylver ... unfortunatly that is the norm now with sky installers. I have had 6 weeks of the same crap ... I wanted to cancel but as I was only moving home I was still under my initial 12 month contract and I would still have to continue to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭ixtlan

Just replying to chicken_food on the issue of a chimney install... If I knew then what I know now I would have paid extra and waited a while for an independent to do a proper install rather than have the Sky guys stick it on the chimney.

Yes, an awful lot of people have it on the chimney, and yes it's unlikely to cause any problems. It's just not ideal.

On the other hand 120 just for a bracket does sound way too much.

Ix.

meant to ask earlier, now that I've cancelled SKY direct does anyone know any independent installers in Kildare/Naas area?? thanks!

speedfreak wrote:
    meant to ask earlier, now that I've cancelled SKY direct does anyone know any independent installers in Kildare/Naas area?? thanks!

Mary Maroney 086667895

great! thanks big paddy

after alot of phone calls and cursing-they finally came back today and installed it on the chimney. There was a small cost involved/

Alls well.....welll not really-turns out someone ordered a new sky card for me?!even though the installers had one. So i cant get any of the sky movies or sports that i paid for-they say it should be delivered tomoro morning but have they any idea how long an post takes ESPECIALLY at christmas!! Its one mess up after another.

after alot of phone calls and cursing-they finally came back today and installed it on the chimney. There was a small cost involved/

Alls well.....welll not really-turns out someone ordered a new sky card for me?!even though the installers had one. So i cant get any of the sky movies or sports that i paid for-they say it should be delivered tomoro morning but have they any idea how long an post takes ESPECIALLY at christmas!! Its one mess up after another.

Dont expect the card until the first week in Janurary. But they do have the power to initialise your first sky card even if it has been cancelled, I have seen this being done before. Out of curuosity...how much was the chimney install???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 RazorEdge

Ordered Sky on 4th November, had lots of aborted installs as the Sky Viewing card has never arrived and engineer refuses to install without it. It is not a postal problems as I get about 4 or five letters successfully from Sky each time the install is rescheduled.

For the last install I insisted that the card be sent by registered post. The van got hijacked coming down from the north there last week, might have seen it on the news.

Next install attempt is 25th January. Fingers crossed!! Anyone have to wait longer than this?

Spoke to the "nice" lady on the Sierra Communications mainline as well!! Somebody mentioned her previously. I got the impression that she hated me personally. That's difficult to get across in the 3 seconds she spoke to me.