Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photojournalism: Turning a Blind Eye

• 14-12-2005 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭

Background note:

The banner held up by two men in the background is part of a campaign to find out the truth about Terence Wheelock's death when in Garda(Police) custody.

"Terence was arrested with three others on suspicion of stealing a car and taken to Store St. Garda station. Two hours later he was found unconscious in his cell. Gardai[Police] claim that he tried to hang himself but his family say he wouldn't have committed suicide..." - Quote from leaflet distributed by campaigners.

The campaigners want an Independent Public Enquiry into Terence's Death.

TurningABlindEye.JPG

I was walking across O'Connell bridge when I noticed that banner, then I seen a member of the Gardai directing traffic. The Garda was paying no attention to the protest, he seemed like he was doing it on purpose. I thought that it'd be quite poinient to get a shot of the Garda in the foreground, with the banner in the background.

I'm quite happy with how it came out, tell me what you think.

Thank you for reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

talk about right place,right time.
    nice:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Thank you Karoma! I guess that's what photojournalism is all about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

only suggestion is: remove the thing on the middle-right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Savage shot, I love the little things, The Irish flag, the orange-man on the traffic lights, the people holding the banner talking to each other behind it.

Very good shot.

Sean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Flipflip

Class shot man.

Perfect timing! Seems liek you've got an eye for Photojournalism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

Best thing about this photo is that there is so much to take in. You can look at it again and again and notice more and more. I like the blurred face of the Guard, the obstructed faces of the protestors. Very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

A Jaywalking Garda who has recently watched the Ring. We can see how this will end.:D

The concern of the public and the Gardaí is conspicous by it absence. Well portrayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭FinoBlad

well done, I'd crop it a little at the top/bottom/left hand side, to draw attention to the garda and the banner more distinctly. but its a superb shot.

Thank you to everyones comments so far, I've noted all of your suggestions. I think a crop at the top might be good, but I do like the way the black statue and light sky contrast.

Thanks again for everyones replies. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Flipflip

I dunno, I wouldnt crop it.

Your eye is lead nicely to the picture.

i think the crop is perfect as it is.

I amn't going to crop it, but it's a valid suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭conorgriff

Hey shrimp, class bit of spur of the moment shooting. Job well done

Thank you conor, I'll go check ur gallery out I think.