Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with Pokerevents Ticket. (Need opinions)

• 13-12-2005 7:11pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok so Pokerevents generously gave SSF a ticket (for one) and accom (for two) to their Winter Open in Galway next week.

I was considering putting this as a prize for the SSF game recently but the fact is it would be a waste as its worth far more then any extra runners it would have brought in.

So my thoughts are:
    1. Auction it here, you guys know the value of it so I would expect to fetch a tidy some for it.

2. Play an online tournie for it but thats trickier as I need for the operator to collect the cash and then get the money to me.

My thoughts are that option 1 is the best idea. Any further ideas?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Give it to the boards.ie league champ, and ask him go 50/50 with charity on any winnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Dev please read thread on Winter FO

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I think you would get alot more money if you had the online tournie for it.But you are running out of time for that option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

Dev, ill have a looksie about setting one up on ppp if ya like. an invitational could work. you can collect money as standard SFF contributioin and i reg the people who have paid from a list you give me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

karlh wrote:
    Dev, ill have a looksie about setting one up on ppp if ya like. an invitational could work. you can collect money as standard SFF contributioin and i reg the people who have paid from a list you give me?

Dont forget that pokerevents are boyle sports sponsored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Give it to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Ah go on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Think fintan has suggested (in his thread on the event) to upgrade the single ticket plus accom. to two tickets and give these to the boards online and offline poker player of year winners. Reads that way to me anyhow.

If anyone is going to sell / play for a ticket, I'm interested in trying my luck :)

ionapaul wrote:
    Think fintan has suggested (in his thread on the event) to upgrade the single ticket plus accom. to two tickets and give these to the boards online and offline poker player of year winners. Reads that way to me anyhow.

If anyone is going to sell / play for a ticket, I'm interested in trying my luck :)

I like that idea, send Hector and Daithio down to Galway, they give 20%+ of their winnigs to SSF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

bohsman wrote:
    I like that idea, send Hector and Daithio down to Galway, they give 20%+ of their winnigs to SSF

what will SSF do with 20% of two bad beat stories? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

ocallagh wrote:
    what will SSF do with 20% of two bad beat stories? :D
    LMFAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

if you're running a single table or auction pm me and i'll give it a shot (maybe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I'll gladly give 20% of any winnings to SSF as Oscar suggests above.

bohsman wrote:
    Dont forget that pokerevents are boyle sports sponsored

yeah i know that. get them to do it.

i just like the idea of an online playoff. people can make a donation and have a shot at the ticket. more money for SFF the better! :v:

karlh wrote:
    yeah i know that. get them to do it.

i just like the idea of an online playoff. people can make a donation and have a shot at the ticket. more money for SFF the better! :v:

Wasnt having a go, just seem to remember PPP being highly offended when VC Pokerevents tried to give away tickets at the winter festival

i think its quite different but i don't care either way tbh. i just want SFF to make money and i'd like to have a go at the ticket myself (which i cant if its on PPP)

how about a quick MTT in the Fitz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

quick MTT?

Paper, scissors, rock tournie?? Before tonights Fitz game?

bohsman wrote:
    Wasnt having a go, just seem to remember PPP being highly offended when VC Pokerevents tried to give away tickets at the winter festival

Just for the record. Daragh put up 4 x tickets for the Sunday 250 during the Irish open, to be awarded to high hand players @ our Galway and Cork super-satellites. I had no problem with this as I have a good time for Daragh. I promoted the Irish open, using the words the Merrion Irish Open and awarded our players with the prize. V.C guys had no problem with this.
    At the second event during the open I think it was a 100 with re-buys on the Friday, while I was playing Mags approached me and said Daragh said if you like we can promote your Dublin satellite by giving away tickets to the high hand player. Maggs announced the prize, and then the argy bargy started. Two players won the high hand almost immediately with 2 x royal flushes. Maggs approached me again while I was playing and asked if it was o.k to give both players the prize. I got up off my seat to ask one of the V.C lads who was playing next to me and He said o.k. I then approached Maggs who I noticed was having a series conversation with a lady I did'nt know. Maggs called me over and I said to her thats fine. The lady who I now know to be Nikki was very upset with me and said for me to look around and understand this event was pp and I had a cheek promoting anything else. I cut her short and told her not to talk to me , but to talk to Maggs. That's my version of events, and I have'nt seen Nikki since, but I heard from a friend of Nikki's that she took great offence to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

That's my version of events, and I have'nt seen Nikki since, but I heard from a friend of Nikki's that she took great offence to myself.

I don't think a public forum is the best place to post about this. I'd suggest you pm her if you wanted to discuss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Lets set the record straight.
    Fintan. Not sure if you are aware but Nikki (aka I) post here. There were many people in the room at the time your tirade began "YOU F****** DONT OWN THIS F***ING EVENT WHO THE F*** DO YOU THINK YOU F***** ARE!" .. I imagine that apology will never be fothcoming.

Lets get back to the topic and leave this alone. (Lies make baby jesus cry)

I don't think a public forum is the best place to post about this. I'd suggest you pm her if you wanted to discuss it.

I dont particulary want to discuss it at all. The subject was brought up with incorrect information, so I thought set the record straight. Sorry if I offended you or any1 else.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Thread more derailed then a British Rail express.
    Locked.

DeV.