Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favorite Ad at the moment...

• 13-12-2005 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭

I like the tennants one with the voodoo doll. I rofl when I see it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I like the Bravia LCD add with the bouncing balls!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

There's one on the Tv here (France) for cough medicine, ,it starts with a wolf standing on a cliff, he starts to howl and hacks coughing, and gets booed, then the medicine is advertised....it always makes me smile anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

The meteor add with the 'lapdance' from lapland good one i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Julesie

I quite like the Miller ad where the guy cycles downhill to the another 6 pack and yet amazingly cycles downhill only to return to his starting point. Ahh the wonders of CGI.

P.S (Also like the song, something about a Fantastic Cat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

sony bravia add & it will probably be my favourite add ever theres something about it

second fav is the citreon c4 add with the dancing robot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Guinness Christmas ad, "Even at the home of the Black stuff, they dream of a White One."

I guess it must be the season that's in it! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Angels wrote:
    Is that the one when they say they'll give the lads a lapdance.... and then they wear clothes from Lapland and dance like their from Lapland indicating a "Lapdance" and then tell the lads that that's how they dance in Lapland, thus giving the impression it's a Lapdance?

yeah... very subtle joke there.... I *only* just got it mind you...

Julesie wrote:
    I quite like the Miller ad where the guy cycles downhill to the another 6 pack and yet amazingly cycles downhill only to return to his starting point. Ahh the wonders of CGI.
    That was actually filmed on the one street over two evenings... they cut when he goes into the shop and then just moved a lot of the props / extras down to the 2nd half for the next shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

the bravia ad stops me in my tracks

its too good... it made me cry a little

o and the Budweiser ad for Team Manchester... its funny... only seen it once though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

whiskeyman wrote:
    Is that the one when they say they'll give the lads a lapdance.... and then they wear clothes from Lapland and dance like their from Lapland indicating a "Lapdance" and then tell the lads that that's how they dance in Lapland, thus giving the impression it's a Lapdance?

yeah... very subtle joke there.... I *only* just got it mind you...

Yeah it's very subtle stuff alright. The wordplay is exquisite.

I'm still trying to work out the sequel where the 'guys' offer the two trolls a LAPDANCE in return but then instead of what I had expected they go off to Morton Stadium and DANCE a LAP around the track.

I just don't get it? Ah well I've all Xmas to think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

You must be kidding, those Meteor Ads are terrible. Anyone remeber the Harp ad from the early '90s "Hay lawrence, give us a pint of Harp and a Packet of dates"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Julesie wrote:

P.S (Also like the song, something about a Fantastic Cat)

You beat me to it..My Favorite too!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Pigman II wrote:
    I'm still trying to work out the sequel where the 'guys' offer the two trolls a LAPDANCE in return but then instead of what I had expected they go off to Morton Stadium and DANCE a LAP around the track.

I just don't get it? Ah well I've all Xmas to think about it.

I actually think I've got that!!
    I think they're doing the 400 metre.... metre....400 free texts with meteor!
    It's the only link I can get anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

xabi wrote:
    You must be kidding, those Meteor Ads are terrible. Anyone remeber the Harp ad from the early '90s "Hay lawrence, give us a pint of Harp and a Packet of dates"
    I hate those Meteor ads too. Very annoying and on too often. Just about remember that Harp ad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

The Guinness one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭namaimo

At the moment.. it would have to be the coca-cola ad..

'holidays are coming,holidays are coming...' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

If possible, I switch over when ads come on the telly. Someone trying to sell me something?, no thanks, I dont wanna know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

It's gotta be the Bravia ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Has to be Coca Colas "holidays are coming", its never really Xmas without that ad been played on TV. I hat ethem meteor ads 2, pure annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

The bravia ad is breathtaking but it doesnt seem to be on much still a brilliant ad-never gets old. i like the budwiser xmas ad with the horses!!!the best xmas ad by far.
    Those meteor ads are dire. Are they trying to be funny??
    Anybody see the "beef tonight" ads with the panda, there only really on sky. Very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

jr whitley looking for a book about how to play with his rod

those were the days...

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

madrab wrote:

those were the days...
    Ah, yes, that was the Yellow Pages or something. Was indeed a good advert.

That for some reason reminds me of Werthers Original ads, which were crap in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

madrab wrote:

jr "hartley". Easy mistake to make as he only said it around a dozen times in each ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

Angels wrote:
    :mad: What the fudge! So you're the reason they make those adds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

Even though Im a staunch Meteor sympathiser..for some reason I love that vodafone ad- the tune is just so catchy and "christmassy" and that girl is so adorable...

"ya know Im gonna be.. under the tree... Im gonna be with you.. you'll be with me-eee"

I like the Guinness ad too, although part of me wishes they only showed it last year then locked it up for at lest 20 years.. I hope people dont get bored of it.

My least favourite ads are the ancient naff re-run ads by the likes of Kellogs, Coca-Cola, and Budweiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

The best ad at the moment is the one for KFC wher yer one comes in and yer man asks for a bite of the burger. They sing very loudly and they're so white its funny. Everyone i know hates it, but its so stupid and loud that when its over you feel you accomplished something.