Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

apologising

• 13-12-2005 2:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭

Just a little background. This hand is from tonight's PPP Christmas Cracker freeroll with 7 players left. I'm the CL with 11k approx and there is one disconnected player with a blind or so to my immediate left. For this hand, I'm the BB and the levels have just gone up to 300/600 and most stacks are now less than 10BB as a result. It's folded to Rich_Dub1 who's the SB and he fills. I push all-in with 29o. My reasoning was that he had limped with around 6BB, this is a perfect situation for a shortstack to steal. He didn't do this so I safely assumed that he was looking to hit on the flop. Also, the disconnected player would was going to be all-in in the next two hands so if he gets eliminated, then Rich_Dub1 is one place closer to claiming the ticket. So I push and he calls with KJo. This confirmed my thoughts, no-one traps (or at least shouldn't try to) with KJ.

I hit a two on the flop and it holds up.

D: Game [118] started with 7 players.
    D: franz bopp wins 7,470 with Pair: 2s
    Rich_Dub1: moooooooooo
    jonner6996: ugh ul
    D: Game [119] started with 6 players.
    Paul Larkin: ul
    Rich_Dub1: ffs
    Paul Larkin: gg
    Rich_Dub1: take the fecker dapper
    Rich_Dub1: dirty 92
    D: Davideee wins 3,300 with Two Pair: Kings and 9s
    D: robbie365 wins 800 with Two Pair: Kings and Jacks
    DapperG: I'll move in with 10-2 wait and see.
    Rich_Dub1: he didn't even apologise

Had Rich_Dub1 pushed, I would have folded and he would have had enough chips to do damage for another orbit and be in good position on the button for the disconnected player's blind. Therefore, it was predominantly his own bad play rather than my outdraw that led to his elimination.

Now I can't tell if his last comment was tongue-in-cheek but I suspect it wasn't. Looking at this in the context of a live game, I don't think this would be said, even as a joke. The only time I think I have ever considered apologising is if I accidentally call an all-in/ misread my hand online with rags and outdraw my opponent horribly but definitely not in a winner takes all tournament. 29o beating KJo is not a terrible beat, it is simply a beat.

Any thoughts?

Edited to add that I came third losing a preflop all-in with QQ vs AKo so Rich_Dub1 got his wish, even though it wasn't Dapper who took my chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

You dont have anything to apologise for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Nothing at all. You should have dished out the abuse right back at them, and then posted it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Agreed there's nothing to apologise for, he got exactly what he wanted ..... he limped, knowing you'd go over the top with anything ........ you duly obliged ...... he called ........he lost ..... END OF STORY. If anything he should be thanking you. It's never wrong to put someone all-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Never apologise unless you make a bad move and outdraw someone... like some sort of an outdrawing..... megamuppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

What have I started. Let me start with an apology - ulla, if you found me offensive, that's understandable - reading the transcript out of the context of the whole tournie makes this seem worse - I was having some craic last night with boards guys. I was being lighthearted about the whole thing, sorry if that didn't come across. It would have done in a live game. No offence intended.

As to the play;

1. I read you right.
    2. One place paid, I would not have made this move ITM
    3. I would have folded to any other bet above 50% of my stack you would have made, but your all-in screamed 'don't call' so I'm calling here. A pair would have been nice as a trap, but I'm happy looking for a double up with overcards against rags. You have a 6-1 lead over me, and I need to catch up fast.
    4. Trust me I've made worst plays than this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

it was just unfortunate for Rich that you were willing to make moves and pick up the ante and he did make the right call but he did play the hand quite poorly looking back on it. He could have raised preflop, knowing that if he limped you were going to be moving in because you had done it so many times before. A better spot for him to limp in would have been with JJ or better and wait for your raise to pick up the ante so he could get your chips.

Which coincidentally, was what I did with AK. I was stunned when you flipped over QQ and even moreso after winning the race which set me up to win the tournament.

Obviously you don't owe him an apology for trying to make moves and pick up the ante. He could have done that himself instead of playing weak then whining when it didn't go his way but such is life. It wasn't that great a call either, considering you could have had any Ax going to the flop which had him completely dominated but at the time it was the right call given your playing pattern before that hand -- everyone limps and I'm moving in to pick it up.

Tact wrote:
    It wasn't that great a call either

Lol, that's not what you said last night on the other thread. :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

In defense of Richard we (I am Paul Larkin on PP...and in real life,strange as it sounds) were having abit of light hearted crap talk,at one stage even slagging Tom and his new love interest teddy.

The atmosphere at the table was good with a fair bit of banter.But I can see how if this comment was taken out of context it looks bad.He is not a bad bloke...even if he was trying to steel my blinds on Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭ullu

I realised that no offence was intended by the chat after the hand, it just looked like the "didn't even apologise" comment was a bit out of place so I couldn't tell. I also thought it would be a good opportunity to ask about people's opinions on apologising in general.

Well done on the win TacT, I'll have another go tonight and hopefully see you there!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ullu wrote:
    I also thought it would be a good opportunity to ask about people's opinions on apologising in general.

Don't apologize unless you mean it....and I am sure no poker player means it.

I'll have another go tonight and hopefully see you there!

GRUDGE MATCH!!!

I'm in!!

:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

i love saying "OH SORRYYY" with a cheeky grin on my face to knock a player out, that same player that thought he was great on a no show bluff LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

i think a "HEEE HAWW" as per Lafortezza would have worked here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

absolutely nothing to apoligise for here. as u said he was short stacked if he's hand was good enough to call the sb's all in then it was good enough to push when he had position.
    its sounds like tongue in cheek:o or a bag of sour grapes:eek: either way the reply to this is the same "tough ****e":p you played it badly:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

ullu wrote:
    I realised that no offence was intended by the chat after the hand, it just looked like the "didn't even apologise" comment was a bit out of place so I couldn't tell. I also thought it would be a good opportunity to ask about people's opinions on apologising in general.

Well done on the win TacT, I'll have another go tonight and hopefully see you there!

congrats on the win. It sure wasn't MadsL but food for thought heh :p
    I'd noticed you going all-in whenever the pot was limped around ullu and was just waiting to pounce with a limp call on someting big, I was hoping it was going to be better than AK but it did the trick :)