Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xboxs Now €100 At Smyths

• 09-12-2005 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

Better than a crappy PS2 and €60 cheaper!!!
    €100 at Smyths Toys- saw it on the website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

WHEN YOU BUY ANY XBOX GAME!!

ok, only a few quid extra... but its the small details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭turnfan

smyths always have plenty of cheap games, around €14.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

turnfan wrote:
    smyths always have plenty of cheap games, around €14.99

I'm willing to bet that its any FULL PRICED title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

who cares? xbox for €100 with any fully priced game is a v. good deal. so what 140-160€? good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

It's even better when you get it chipped and never have to pay for a game again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

sturgo wrote:
    It's even better when you get it chipped and never have to pay for a game again.

i wasnt gonna say it, in fear of mod abuse, but WELL SAID :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

maybe the mods won't give you abuse but I will.
    that's my ****ing livelihood you're talking about.
    i hope your homes are burgled this christmas and that some skangers rob your cars and burn them out. no difference. theft is theft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭shltter

And microsoft would never rob anyone

That statement is so ignorant - do your parents know you're online on your own ?

If you think Microsoft is the only employer in this country in the games industry you're very wrong.

€100 for the console (even if you have to buy a game) is a damn good deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

The Xbox is a fantastic machine, you could always spend €170 on an inferior PS2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

But then you'd never get to play classics like ico and shadow of the colossus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

shltter wrote:
    And microsoft would never rob anyone

As I said yesterday,
    me wrote:
    "Its been what, 4 years, since XP was released? If I were a cynic Id say that Vista is the same product given a re-release. XP will no longer be supported and everyone will have to get Vista. Microsoft are probably thinking, "Yeah, its been a while since we sold XP to everyone, maybeeeee...everyone should, eh, buy it........again?.

Can't complain though, linux is ****. I tried to log into it yesterday in college to study before an exam, wouldnt let me in!

I finally lost it and hit the computer with the keyboard several times, which caused the console to open. A linux friend spotted it and typed some jibberish into the console. Turns out the partition was full because of the browser cache.

Yep it wont let you log in when the disk is full, which is stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i am looking into getting an xbox so i can view stuff from my pc on the tv :) this is perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Pataman

Thinking about buying one, which games would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,347 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Hmm...this sounds interesting. Do I really need three current gen consoles though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Star Wards Battlefront II = winner

I've had an xbox for 2 years and it rocks, mod it if you're into a solid media player and for playing homebrew games ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

Bought myself an xbox (2nd hand) from gamestop for 99 the other (and halo2 for 17). Piracy sucks imo because firstly the industry suffers and secondly you dont even enjoy the game as much when you get it for nothing.

I love going into the game shops and looking for a pre-owned bargain (oh and dont say 2nd hand gaming is bad for the industry cause that's rubbish).

360 holds zero interest for me until there's a game I like - so for now its doom3, half life 2 etc! W00t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

shabbyroad wrote:
    maybe the mods won't give you abuse but I will.
    that's my ****ing livelihood you're talking about.
    i hope your homes are burgled this christmas and that some skangers rob your cars and burn them out. no difference. theft is theft.

Get a life. Piracy is factored into the price. If it was such a big deal how come a)Microsoft is the biggest company in the world and b)the computer games industry is now bigger than the film industry.

I hardly think that your "livelyhood" is affected by anybody in heres pirating of Xbox games. And hey, if you do find yourself out of a job get another one. You have no reason to bitch.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

secondly you dont even enjoy the game as much when you get it for nothing.

Did you forget the smiley ? I enjoy things even more when I get them for nothing. That being said I don't pirate games mainly because I play sweet all of them.....the consoles are for the kids..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

But then you'd never get to play classics like ico and shadow of the colossus

Amen to that

you dont even enjoy the game as much when you get it for nothing.

lol, have you actually even studied consumer utility??? I think you'll find that you are quite WRONG on that one.

And tell me, show me how piracy can have an effect on the games industry yet second hand sales dont? The producer only receives revenue for the first sale and have lost revenue on another new sale from the second hand sale.

I could probably draw you a graph but I dont even think that would help you understand.
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Linoge wrote:
    Get a life. Piracy is factored into the price. If it was such a big deal how come a)Microsoft is the biggest company in the world and b)the computer games industry is now bigger than the film industry.

I hardly think that your "livelyhood" is affected by anybody in heres pirating of Xbox games. And hey, if you do find yourself out of a job get another one. You have no reason to bitch.
    Couldn't have said it better.

Well done Linoge and Sprinkles. I'm impressed and overwhelmed by the sound basis of your argument.

You could have read about the development studios that have closed down. You could have read about the layoffs.
    You could have learned what the real cost of developing a game is.
    You could have learned what the margins are.

With all the information and power at your fingertips you chose the other option. Instead of taking the easy road and reading up on the facts about piracy and the real cost to business you post this incorrect, ill-informed nonsense.

No. No you lads. You took the other road. Genius. Pure feckin genius.

But then ignorance is bliss isn't it ?

I'm informed. You're not. That's unfortunate. You have made the choice not to learn. Go read. Then come back to me and prove to me I'm wrong. I've been working in this business for 15 years and regularly encounter this ignorance. It's nothing new.

turnfan: that's still a great deal. I've told a few friends because they're getting some great deals on 2nd hand games. I might even buy one for the kids because they're still playing some of the original xbox games and it'll free up the 360 for me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 AgainTheTime

Linoge wrote:
    And hey, if you do find yourself out of a job get another one. You have no reason to bitch.
    Yeah, cos your mortgage, car repayments, ESB, heating, food bills etc will all wait until you get your next job. Sure isn't that how life works?

How old are you mate? I'm betting your still a teen, as anyone older would have the intellegence to not make such a silly statement :rolleyes:

Anyway...

Edit: Oh, and no offence to any teens who read Linoge's statement and disagreed with him. Don't mean to tar anyone with the same brush.

Linoge wrote:
    a)Microsoft is the biggest company in the world and b)the computer games industry is now bigger than the film industry.

LOL. that's funny

No it's not "the biggest" and no it's not "bigger".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

shabbyroad wrote:
    Well done Linoge and Sprinkles. I'm impressed and overwhelmed by the sound basis of your argument.

You could have read about the development studios that have closed down. You could have read about the layoffs.

With all the information and power at your fingertips you chose the other option. Instead of taking the easy road and reading up on the facts about piracy and the real cost to business you post this incorrect, ill-informed nonsense.

I'm informed. You're not. That's unfortunate. You have made the choice not to learn. Go read. Then come back to me and prove to me I'm wrong. I've been working in this business for 15 years and regularly encounter this ignorance. It's nothing new.

turnfan: that's still a great deal. I've told a few friends because they're getting some great deals on 2nd hand games. I might even buy one for the kids because they're still playing some of the original xbox games and it'll free up the 360 for me. :D

http://www.wired.com/news/business/0,1367,35848,00.html

http://mindprod.com/jgloss/piracy.html

Piracy is many layered and you would be extremely foolish to think that people downloading music or cracking xbox games is going to stop the Global consumer machine from marching steadily forward.
    Everything is 'pirated' these days not just digital media in fact the largest growing sector in duplicated merchandise is Pharmaceuticals, yet look at how unimaginably rich they(pharmatceutical companies) have become in recent years.
    In terms of Microsoft it is unlikley that they could have such market dominance without piracy (read article attached).

Quote:that's my ****ing livelihood you're talking about.

It is more likley that your livlihood will be destroyed by big business bent on making absurd profits regardless of the cost to everyday life and people.

I really hate breaking down posts and pulling them to shreds, but I think you deserve it.
    shabbyroad wrote:

Firstly, thanks:rolleyes:
    shabbyroad wrote:
    You could have read about the development studios that have closed down. You could have read about the layoffs..

Yes, because game developers close down purely due to piracy. No developers have made bad business decisions, made crap games or just got lazy and were left behind.
    shabbyroad wrote:

Whats your point, they wouldn't be in business if it wasn't profitable. Ryanair can fly you to London for €1. I've never heard anyone saying poor Ryanair. And a second hand 737 could cost €20 million.

Developing costs and margins are nothing to do with this.
    shabbyroad wrote:
    With all the information and power at your fingertips you chose the other option. Instead of taking the easy road and reading up on the facts about piracy and the real cost to business you post this incorrect, ill-informed nonsense..

And yet thank you for furnishing us with the information. We're the sceptics here.

I know that I could check how much piracy "costs". Its the estimated amount of pirated games multiplyed by the sale price of that game. Because we all know that the teenager who bought 3 games for €30 was going to really spend €180 for the three games had the pirate copies not been available.

If you want to show me real evidence, show me the profit and loss statement for a Game Developer. Also let me know why you think it was piracy that made them go out of business. Then we can assess it. Just show me one and you'll have me convinced.
    shabbyroad wrote:

The road less travelled by. Just because we're not monkeys. We also don't believe that Counterstrike doesn't turn kids into homicidal maniacs, is that wrong too?
    shabbyroad wrote:

Why didn't you "inform" me then? Show me the error of my ways. Piracy has been around for OVER 15 years. 15 years later you are still in the business. 15 years later and the industry still hasn't gone bust. Just how is this possible????:eek: :eek: :eek:

To finish up, if piracy was such a big deal how come the software companies have not done more to combat it? Nintendo used cartridges and they're own unique discs, why didn't Sony and Microsoft?

Because they know that it just isn't worth it. Pirated games are generally only bought or downloaded by people that were not going to buy the game anyway.

Prove me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Hey, isn't this a bargains alert thread? Can you keep it on topic please?

shabbyroad wrote:
    LOL. that's funny

No it's not "the biggest" and no it's not "bigger".
    shabbyroad wrote:
    With all the information and power at your fingertips.

Pity that you can't even follow your own directions and inform yourself.

"Microsoft surpassed General Electric to become the world's largest company, as measured by market value"

http://www.windowsitpro.com/Article/ArticleID/25619/25619.html

The fact that the information is 3 years old does not negate my point, and really only shows you to be clutching at straws.

"Video game sales exceeded the movie industry's annual box office draw last year by $1 billion. "

from http://www.usatoday.com/money/media/2002-12-03-video_x.htm

But enough of that. Back on topic if we must.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Linoge wrote:
    Piracy is factored into the price.
    You're absolutely right, piracy is factored into the price. What you don't seem to realise, or care about, is that this means that you're not stealing from some giant faceless corporation, you're stealing from those of us who are willing to pay for a product that we want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

RIGHT!!!!

take this elsewhere lads. it has f*ck all to do with "Bargain Alerts". ANd saying that piracy is a "bargain alert" is going to get you banned rather quickly.

So, every single one of you who's been advocating theft consider yourselves banned from bargain alerts for a month. Harsh? Too bad.

Sturgo
    Irish GrumPy
    shltter
    Linoge
    sprinkles

zabbo is skating the ice ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 MícheálÓSé

Lemming wrote:
    RIGHT!!!!

take this elsewhere lads. it has f*ck all to do with "Bargain Alerts". ANd saying that piracy is a "bargain alert" is going to get you banned rather quickly.

So, every single one of you who's been advocating theft consider yourselves banned from bargain alerts for a month. Harsh? Too bad.

Sturgo
    Irish GrumPy
    shltter
    Linoge
    sprinkles

zabbo is skating the ice ....

howye lads. just wondering why the lads were barred? conversations/dicussions evolve don't they? plus yer man shabbyroad wasn't exactly/at all talking about "bargain alerts"but he was for some reason omitted from the ban list? thought it was an interesting one...shame it should be stopped because of a múinteoir scoile who thought other wise and disagreed with what was said.

i don't think they (banned folk) were all advocating theft, i think one or two just pointed out that shabbyroad was making idiotic statements that claimed were facts without any sources so they retorted by providing sources and basically showed him up as being an idiot, which is fair enough eh? maybe if you are a hardcore moderator ban the people advocating piracy but the others were just discussing and calling a spade a spade or pulling up an idiot with idiotic statements, that's what discussion debate is all about no?

tá laid iontach mór agamsa, an bhfuil ceann mór agatsa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

howye lads. just wondering why the lads were barred?

did you not read the big discussion on the bargain in smyths. the one that went way off topic. thats why they were banned