Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

audiocity.ie

• 08-12-2005 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

did anyone ever order stuff from this new irish site? It's been a week and I haven't got my order yet(guitar and amp). They said they sent it to DHL last friday@ like 2pm. And I still haven't got it. I sent them an E-mail yesterday with no reply.

They're in Dublin FFS. I get stuff quicker from the UK sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

havent ordere myself but an old bandmember did and I woouldnt recommend it, not just for their delivery but prices too :eek: :eek:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Considering the stupid amount of spamming he did on these forums a while ago, I wouldn't go near the place. Completely unprofessional imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

Crap name as well tbh. Sounds like a cheap PA hire company. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

if you were going to buy online why the **** did you choose an irish site that probably lists goods at the same price as irish shops? pointless in my opinion

until a decent Irish company comes along my money will continue to go to here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

LundiMardi wrote:
    if you were going to buy online why the **** did you choose an irish site that probably lists goods at the same price as irish shops? pointless in my opinion

first time buying, Don't know any shops + they deliver(or so they say >_>)

lol, what shops do you recommend for next time?

my main supplier is www.musicstore.com

a lot of people use www.thomann.de but I'm not their biggest fan (crap delivery, poor customer service)

Well, the Pacifica 112s seem to be the same prices on that second german site at least..

I paid €229 for the Pacifica Guitar and €83 for the GM108 amp... with "free" delivery..

whats the damage on that?

well where is it at present?

Music Store is now only €20 shipping with UPS (tracking numbers 'n all ;) )

plus if u wanna pay Cash On Delivery its extra €13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Well look at this, DB01 on thoman is 70 euro dearer, http://www.audiocity.ie/store/mu_product_info.php/cPath/98_123_66/products_id/386 list price is $240

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Mick Shrimpton

Wow, Didn't know they existed...

Just ordered some cheap mics. Normally I'd use musicstore but couldn't justify paying postage on such a cheap order. Free postage definately a great incentive on small items.

Once they get the site a bit fuller, I could absolutely see them competing with the big boys.

Thanks for posting this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

http://www.audiocity.ie/store/mu_product_info.php/cPath/98_120_281/products_id/533

http://www.thomann.de/thoiw6_yamaha_pacifica_112_blk_prodinfo.html

the same guitar going for the same price on both audiocity and thomann, but of course delivery charges from audiocity would be less, but the site looks well dodgy.

ferdi wrote:
    the site looks well dodgy.

Exactly!

Setting Up A New Business, Rule #1: how to look professional :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Wow, Didn't know they existed...

Just ordered some cheap mics. Normally I'd use musicstore but couldn't justify paying postage on such a cheap order. Free postage definately a great incentive on small items.

Once they get the site a bit fuller, I could absolutely see them competing with the big boys.

Thanks for posting this.

lol, I guess any publicity is good publicity...

I'm still waiting for my Guitar tho!! :/ And it has no tracking number either. They just told me they sent it to DHL and that I should have someone waiting to recieve it. I sent them another E-mail. I'm going to ring them tomorrow if it doesn't arrive..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Good luck to them, Dublin needs more competition. Sounds like they have some teething troubles, delivery and customer relations-wise which they'll need to sort out swiftly. Mud sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

If it went DHL they HAVE a tracking number. I'd get on to them and demand to know where you items are and a tracking number or you want you money back. You have consumer rights and you should report them if you don't.

I wouldn't take that ****!

Sounds like whats happening is as they are only open they dont keep stock so they dont have ergo they havent actually sent it and so they cant give a tracking number, Im sure it is being shipped but not to you.

Thanks for posting this.

err... what??? :confused:

The guy is waiting a week for an item supposedly sent by dhl, i once ordered something from france, it was sent via dhl and i got it in 18 hours..

So why did you order from them?

Boggles the mind

Sounds like whats happening is as they are only open they dont keep stock so they dont have ergo they havent actually sent it and so they cant give a tracking number, Im sure it is being shipped but not to you.

you could be right there bud...

Its the classic trick of a new internet shop, they do this until they start making regula sales and the profit from the first few sales lets them buy in stock.

You know you might be right. I couldn't get in contact with them today. So I sent another E-mail.(The third one!). Still no reply.

If I can't reach them by monday there will be HELL! :v:

c1.jpg

EDIT: A girl called me today saying they did indeed send it out and that she will get in contact with the couriers to see what the story is...... she seemed sincere about it. >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

feylya wrote:
    Considering the stupid amount of spamming he did on these forums a while ago, I wouldn't go near the place. Completely unprofessional imo.
    Indeed, just got some new spam from that crowd. I wouldn't go near a company that spammed bulletin boards for free advertising when they can pay for it and look like a professional company. Spamming just screams low quality and dodgy service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭selephonic

well the difference between them and thomann is that you can quite easily pop out to their store. There's a map on the website. I might go out and pick up a mic from them, be interesting to see what kind of stock levels they have.

Hopefully they'll turn into an irish thomann that we could pick stuff up from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 AudioCity

Hi all. We just came accross this post. We hope ye don't consider this spam. We just wanted to make a quick reply. We take all criticism very seriously and we value all our cutomers comments. We are only trading since the beginning of November. We aim to provide people like yourselves with prices and services at the same level as the big German stores. It took these shops a long time to become the major players they are. Thats our ultimate goal also and we aim to do that by undercutting all the shops in this country and trying to match or better the German prices. Our warehouse and showroom is in west Dublin and we awnser all customer queries, be they over the phone or via email. Thanks very much for some of the positive comments in this tread and we have taken on board all the negative comments also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

fair play to you for doing it. The free shipping is an excellent service. I'd be worried about ordering from you at the moment because of this post and some of your prices are a lot more expensive than Thomann. You would have to at least match Thomann on prices to get my custom. Especially if it meant quicker deliverys.

The products that Thomann are cheaper for are mostly oversized items that their €15 delivery fee dosent apply too. Ring them for a quote on shipping and then compare it with our price and I think you might be surprised. We are in the process of reducing our entire range of behringer items by around 15% to make them even more competitive. Almost everything else is cheaper once you consider Thomanns €25 minumum order and €15 shipping (as long as the item isn't too big). I dont want to break the rules of this forum so I'm not linking to the site or quoting deals. I just want to remind people to check Thomanns price with ours before they dismiss us. We check all our prices with Thomann before putting them up. Sometimes we can't match their prices but thats rare. Add that to the fact that you never need to ring Germany and we are at most 5 hours from anywhere in the country and we think we offer a pretty good alternative. Our range is growing all the time and we are already receiving orders from the UK, France and the U.S. This time next year you won't remember who Thomann are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

I wouldn't count on it. But good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

http://www.thomann.de/thoiw6_behringer_lx1200h_vampire_prodinfo.html

http://www.audiocity.ie/store/mu_product_info.php/cPath/98_122_58/products_id/162

as for the shipping , Its excellent that you are free. But i've ordered Heads, 4 X 12's and all sorts together and never paid for than 22 Euro shipping from Thomann.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭disgruntled

Yeah its great that shipping is free with you and that you are an Irish shop but imo you would really need to substantially increase your range and come closer to meeting Thomann prices if you intend to persuade people to take their buisness to you instead of Thomann. Don't get me wrong I would love to see an Irish shop selling at Thomann prices, god knows its about time but personally I think you are being a little over optimistic, good luck with it.

In relation to the Bombidol post that amp(along with all the Behringer stuff) will be subject to a 15% reduction by Monday making us cheaper than Thomann when shipping is factored in.

The other thing I never mentioned is Germany don't charge EMC(re-cycling tax). We have to. Im going to leave it at that now lads. I dont want to outstay my welcome here. Thanks for replying and for the positive comments and support. I'm glad we generated some debate. Buying instruments in this country has been awkward and expensive for a long time but thats changing thanks to the German superstores. They are setting the standards in Value that we will strive to bring to Ireland.

AudioCity wrote:
    Buying instruments in this country has been awkward and expensive for a long time but thats changing thanks to the German superstores. They are setting the standards in Value that we will strive to bring to Ireland.

Well at least you're on the ball about something. Sorry mate but you're not attracting me to your store with an "Us Versus Thomann" policy, I've had awful dealings with Thomann so they are no barometer for success in my opinion.

I spend a considerable amount on gear each year (upwards of €10k this year) and I visited your site and was less than impressed with the layout, products available and overall image. It just looks "iffy" - then I read this thread about some guy having delivery issues with you, not exactly good going for a new business is it?

Regarding your shipping quotes, I use Music Store Koeln who charge €15 regardless of weight. I recently had an order pallet of 120kg, shipping was €15 - until you can match that for service, price and stock you will not convert people in my position.

I may go to an irish company for strings and leads etc but that'll hardly be worth your while in the long-term, remember its a small country and probably couldn't sustain a massive Music Warehouse because its a relatively small industry compared to mainland Europe.

Either way I wish you and your company the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Beecher

I ordered one of those Behringer foot pedals last friday night from Audiocity, sure its only 20 quid delivered what can go wrong! The answer! Nothing :v: It arrived this morning and is actually a really savage pedal besides being made of plastic (allthough it does seem studier than one would think). I will definitly use them again without hesitation! :D