Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Big Telly, A Big Ticket & Olé Olé Olé

• 08-12-2005 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭

just a heads up about various big PPP happenings tonight.

$3 rebuy tourney at 9pm has a bonus prize of a 42" Plasma TV as part of the Xmas Holdem Competition - xmas holdem

The second $10 rebuy satellite for the big Christmas Cracker tourney in the SE is on at 10pm - christmas cracker

Another feeder to the PPP Grand Slam Irish Team GF is also on at ten. We had a great boardsie turnout to the last one, nice one willis! - grand slam

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

One of these days Karl you'll also be able to tell me I can play these tourneys from cash in my neteller account.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

yea,we demand neteller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

lol :)

was talking about this at meeting earlier. not towing the compnay line here fellas - neteller is top of the list. i'll let you know as soon as i do.

any chance of skin specific STTs for tournament's around the country...?

skin specific stts are on the way but medium term.

in talks for online satelites for tourneys all over the place.

will post details when i get them.

good stuff Karl....you are working to hard take next week off.If the real ppp-pitboss says anything just tell her you cleared it with the lads on boards;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

On top of the Neteller thing can you get some reload bonuses going?

lafortezza wrote:
    On top of the Neteller thing can you get some reload bonuses going?

on my list, about half way down ;)

less likely than the others in the short term though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

While were at it Karl i would like to make a few suggestions. Im play on PPP solely and put in a lot of hours at the tables thus generating a lot of rake for the site but dont seem to be getting much in return(except for excellent cust service :0) whereas newbies are get $300 freerolls every couple of Hours for doin nowt!i cant be arsed playin 457 players to win $87. What rewards do PPP offer their more regular and more rake-generating customers?

Also, the freeroll for the SE €500 game requires 10,000 paddypoints, yet these $300 freerolls require none!how come?Personally i feel a monthly freeroll for the top 50 rake-generating players on PPP would be a good idea. For example UB are offering their top5 rake-generating players a $25k buy-in to the WPT EACH!players who are the bread-and-butter of PPP need to be looked after or will go elsewhere imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

willis wrote:
    While were at it Karl i would like to make a few suggestions. Im play on PPP solely and put in a lot of hours at the tables thus generating a lot of rake for the site but dont seem to be getting much in return(except for excellent cust service :0) whereas newbies are get $300 freerolls every couple of Hours for doin nowt!i cant be arsed playin 457 players to win $87. What rewards do PPP offer their more regular and more rake-generating customers?

Also, the freeroll for the SE €500 game requires 10,000 paddypoints, yet these $300 freerolls require none!how come?Personally i feel a monthly freeroll for the top 50 rake-generating players on PPP would be a good idea. For example UB are offering their top5 rake-generating players a $25k buy-in to the WPT EACH!players who are the bread-and-butter of PPP need to be looked after or will go elsewhere imo

yea what he said:) and reload bonus'sssss are a must;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

karlh wrote:
    $3 rebuy tourney at 9pm has a bonus prize of a 42" Plasma TV as part of the Xmas Holdem Competition - QUOTE]

aaaaaaarrrrrrrrggggg out in 3rd, i could see that telly in the sittin room and all!! :(

karlh wrote:
    on my list, about half way down ;)
    Post the whole list and we'll tell you what order they should be in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Was down to the last 5 in the rebuy qualifier for the SE tourney when my PPP connection was lost. By the time I get back on I find the tourney over and me bubbled in third :mad: Jopke. No more PPP for JP methinks.

Congrats to Ollieboy1 who took it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Was down to the last 5 in the rebuy qualifier for the SE tourney when my PPP connection was lost. By the time I get back on I find the tourney over and me bubbled in third :mad: Jopke. No more PPP for JP methinks.

Congrats to Ollieboy1 who took it down.

It was sick to watch. :( Ollieboy played a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

ollie won again?? good god does he not have enough money haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

What is it about the Tribeca connection (Karl ? PPPB ?)

It's the only network that contiunously, and by contiuously I mean every 20 or 30 mins or so it loses connection, albeit normally for less than 20 seconds, but sometimes longer.

Broadband eventually arrived out my neck of the woods recently, but moving house now anyway, typical.

Unlucky JP (you haven't forgot your "Auction 15 "& "25" idea have you) and well done Ollieboy again, some going !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

yeh, sorry about that Juan Pablo. Its not nice to see a player loose out that way, you had a good stack and would have had a great chance. I had to take adavantage of the situation and kept raising your blind.

Again, a big sorry, but if we meet up some night I'll buy you a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Culchie wrote:
    What is it about the Tribeca connection (Karl ? PPPB ?)

It's the only network that contiunously, and by contiuously I mean every 20 or 30 mins or so it loses connection, albeit normally for less than 20 seconds, but sometimes longer.

Broadband eventually arrived out my neck of the woods recently, but moving house now anyway, typical.

Unlucky JP (you haven't forgot your "Auction 15 "& "25" idea have you) and well done Ollieboy again, some going !

Culchie.. post again after actually using your broadband!

Nice one Ollie.. PPP's star player ;0)

Culchie.. post again after actually using your broadband!

No, it's OK. 3 months away at least.

I just want to know why it is only the tribeca network.

willis wrote:

It is a $200 freeroll and it costs - 300 paddy points to enter. (PPP Specific)
    The other freerolls are not free to enter it costs loyalty points.

Other adhoc giveaways we have are there for existing customers and not advertised to gain customers.

Grand slam is €5000 entry.... - 10,000 paddy points.

PPP spent an absolute fortune rewarding loyal customers and does so consistantly. Brithday Bash promo???? Were you on the site at the time?

We have as Karl has said a list of new incentives and reward schemes coming up. Rest assured we have not intention of ignoring you!

All however cannot be done at once. I would like to think that we have improved and are continuing to do so.
    Keep the feedback coming it is invaluable

Culchie wrote:
    No, it's OK. 3 months away at least.

I just want to know why it is only the tribeca network.

:rolleyes: I have only ever heard YOU make this complaint!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

well done ollie , id a liken to take you on only for that dam quad on the river :mad: :D

PPP spent an absolute fortune rewarding loyal customers and does so consistantly. Brithday Bash promo???? Were you on the site at the time?
    I'm curious as to whether the fortune you've spent on promotions and so on would match up to similar Tribeca skins? What was the Birthday Bash promo?

A site like Doyle's Room which share the exact player base that PPP has, is able to offer a massive signup bonus and rakeback is available as well. I don't know anything about running a poker site but surely that costs a huge amount.

:rolleyes: I have only ever heard YOU make this complaint!

:rolleyes: Maybe YOU should read this forum more thouroughly, because they'res plenty of complaints about continuous disconnections from tribeca network, but not affected by other networks.

its true ive been disconnected alot. and its not my connection as i can use other sites..although sometimes it is my broadband playing up..but i have lost money heads up due to problems with ppp network issues, and not refunded
    :( , but i do think the site is getting better, would like to see rb though, would also like to see the 10% bring lowered abit :)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

a-k-47 wrote:
    id a liken to take you on only for that dam quad on the river :mad: :D

You were very unlucky A-K-47, that was some hand. I couldnt believe it when I saw the Q.

I'm sure we'll get the chance again, maybe in the main event for the 60k, no deals do.lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

its true the tribeca sevrver is constantly causing problems, i have broandband and play on other networks and rarely (if ever) get discon from these sites but it seems every session on ppp results in a discon or some other glich!

david-k wrote:
    its true the tribeca sevrver is constantly causing problems, i have broandband and play on other networks and rarely (if ever) get discon from these sites but it seems every session on ppp results in a discon or some other glich!

Thank You ... Culchie is not alone !

lafortezza wrote:
    I'm curious as to whether the fortune you've spent on promotions and so on would match up to similar Tribeca skins? What was the Birthday Bash promo?

A site like Doyle's Room which share the exact player base that PPP has, is able to offer a massive signup bonus and rakeback is available as well. I don't know anything about running a poker site but surely that costs a huge amount.

Out ethos as indeed has always been the ethos of PP in general is to give back an unpredidented amount of profit to the customer.

The promo I am speaking about was a tiered payment made to the entire base back in July to mark the six month anniversary of PPP.

I will not get into an argument regarding any of our partner sites on Tribeca. Doyles have a fantastic set up and great offers. We have a seperate suite of offers including and not restricted to refer-a-friend bonus, daily giveaways with 0 action point or cash entry. A daily december promotion giving away PSP's Plasma TV's LCD screens as addtional prizes in $3 rebuy tournaments. Satellite tickets for points. Highly competitive sign up bonus.

If we choose not to go down the rake back route. It is because we see poker more as a game of enjoyment. What is rakeback to you???? Rakeback is nothing more than a contrived method.. why not simply cut the rake amount you are taking from customers? Why Take it in the first place only to give it back like its something for free!!!????

There is a choice out there. If we all did exactly tlhe same thing then it would not make for a very interesting one. If rakeback is your thing and you actually believe that there is some sort of warped alltruisitc methodology behind it then off you pop! ;0)

daily giveaways with 0 action point or cash entry

lol $5 dolla me luv u long time

What is rakeback to you???? Rakeback is nothing more than a contrived method..

There is a choice out there. If we all did exactly tlhe same thing then it would not make for a very interesting one. If rakeback is your thing and you actually believe that there is some sort of warped alltruisitc methodology behind it then off you pop! ;0)
    Rakeback is free money. Not difficult to see that.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm guessing that PPP and all the other Tribeca sites have the same % of rake taken from each hand in cash games.
    So if Player Z is a regular player on Tribeca and (for instance) is paying $400 a month in rake, I have a feeling he/she would prefer a 25% rb deal for a free $80 per month. Free.

How is it a contrived method? What is this "warped altruisitc methodology"? It's an incentive to keep players at a particular site. Usually those player who play more games for higher stakes than the average. Those players who pay the most rake and who create a higher proportion of profits for the poker site.

You were very unlucky A-K-47, that was some hand. I couldnt believe it when I saw the Q.

I'm sure we'll get the chance again, maybe in the main event for the 60k, no deals do.lol

hopefully ill get the chance! i wudnt mind but yer man blew all the chips i gave him to you str8 away :rolleyes: :D although was a bb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

The idea of a decent prize a day is excellent but...
    ...daily giveaways with 0 action point..
    Sorry Pit Boss but this is useless to me
    ...What is rakeback to you???? Rakeback is nothing more than a contrived method.. why not simply cut the rake amount you are taking from customers? Why Take it in the first place only to give it back like its something for free!!!????
    Cut the rake amount so, or give us rakeback. If we get nothing back for free, as your saying, then are we not making a loss? Money not lost is money gained after all
    There is a choice out there. If we all did exactly the same thing then it would not make for a very interesting one. If rakeback is your thing and you actually believe that there is some sort of warped alltruisitc methodology behind it then off you pop! ;0)
    As I said in a thread i posted, I might just take your advice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Just on the disconnections. this is a tribecca problem as far as I can see. Not that PP shouldn't be trying to get it sorted. I don't get disconnected much but the system hangs constantly for a few seconds all the time. Like making a bet and seeing the chips being pushed towards you without seeing the others fold or the option to show your hand. It freezes on me I would say once almost every hand. This is a problem with Tribecca's infrastrucure if you ask me and they seem to be very slow to sort it out. Disconnection problems and freezes have been the mainstay for a long time. I wonder if it's any better in Poland?

musician wrote:
    Just on the disconnections. this is a tribecca problem as far as I can see. Not that PP shouldn't be trying to get it sorted. I don't get disconnected much but the system hangs constantly for a few seconds all the time. Like making a bet and seeing the chips being pushed towards you without seeing the others fold or the option to show your hand. It freezes on me I would say once almost every hand. This is a problem with Tribecca's infrastrucure if you ask me and they seem to be very slow to sort it out. Disconnection problems and freezes have been the mainstay for a long time. I wonder if it's any better in Poland?

I always said it was Tribeca, but PPP-Boss seemed to think I was just moaning at PPP.....and you're right, they bloody well should be trying to sort it out.

And she said the feedback is invaluable in just the post before mine ! (only of it's positive it seems)

Well a sarcastic smiley was used in fairness. Those smileys are great for pretending you were only joking.

Yeh, I used one in my response :v:

I actually think it's more fun when you don't use them, leave it lingering so to speak.

another 42" Plasma TV tonight in $3 rebuy tourney at 9pm!

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/sp_xmasholdem.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

ppp-pit-boss (or mini-ppp-pit-boss).
    In an earlier post you refer to the customer having a choice.
    However when I try to open a DoylesRoom A/C to take advantage of rakeback, I get told that I can't create a Real Money A/C because there already is one on my PC.
    Now I'm not sure whether its the presence of PPP or VC on my machine which leads to this message, but its hardly a sign of competition being encouraged between the Tribeca skins. (Is this legal under EU law I wonder, strikes me as a bit like Tesco Jervis St not letting you buy discounted goods because you've already bought produce in Tesco Baggot St)
    I de-installed both VC and PPP to see if I could open the Doyles A/C but I still get the message, so there must be some hidden file being stored somewhere on the PC. Anyone know what this file is so I can delete it.
    AJ

Just ping Doyles room and they will unlock your poker screen name ;0)
    It is in place to stop customers setting up duplicate accounts on any one skin.
    you may use all three if you wish (just not at the same time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Cheers PPP (You've totally deflated my sense of upseted-ness :o )