Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security Guard-ai???

• 08-12-2005 9:20am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Iv seen this a lot lately... I find it quite funny actually, security guards are dressing more and more like the actual Gardai, not just their attire but their cars... The first time I saw it was about a year ago, a fiesta with an illumius green stripe down the side of it pulled up along side me and for a second I actually mistook it for a Garda car.. Yesterday on my way home I saw something similar but now they actually have sirens on the roof??? :p WTF does a security guard want with a siren?? Its not like they're exempt from having to obey traffic lights??? Is it just a gimmick or what??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

the worst is when these trappings get the guys jumped up so they think they can do whatever they want. i really don't like the security guards in the new dundrum shopping centre. they seem like a pack of **** who are playing at being cops. they are unhelpful, rude and think they're running some sort of military airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Red Alert wrote:
    the worst is when these trappings get the guys jumped up so they think they can do whatever they want. i really don't like the security guards in the new dundrum shopping centre. they seem like a pack of **** who are playing at being cops. they are unhelpful, rude and think they're running some sort of military airport.
    Yeah I noticed this a couple of years ago, I think the whole reason for the cars etc looking like Gardai ones is for the benifit of drunk people and the like...unless you are 100% on the ball it would be hard to tell the difference if your drunk as F**K!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Have you ever seen the gimps in UCD? I was a member of the gym there for 6 months and those guys are OTT. If you stand at your car too long they come over and ask you to move on. Honestly, while talking to someone on a Saturday afternoon in the gym car park I was asked to move on..... Anywhere remotly busy you will see them in there half garda/half centra uniform walking right over to groups "Steaking them out" waiting for something wrong, its like something out of a comedy. Like a whole task force of Deputy Duey ala scream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Red Alert wrote:
    i really don't like the security guards in the new dundrum shopping centre. they seem like a pack of **** who are playing at being cops. they are unhelpful, rude and think they're running some sort of military airport.
    I spotted them stopping a group of teenage Spanish students from taking photo's of each other the other day in Dundrum. Though it has to be said, the guy did it in a polite, friendly manner.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

It's a psychological trick to get people to think they actually have some kind of authority, which they almost never do.

RainyDay wrote:
    I spotted them stopping a group of teenage Spanish students from taking photo's of each other the other day in Dundrum. Though it has to be said, the guy did it in a polite, friendly manner.

For the purpose of mational security? Is Dundrum really a nulclear weapons factory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

tbh i think its the opposite thats happening, cops uniforms are looking more and more like security gaurds. God be with the days when coppers dressed in semi- military uniforms. You knew where ye stood then, not like the friendly lite blue crap they wear now. They'll be in garda trackies next

:v: <sure its no wonder kids these days have no respect

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

xzanti wrote:
    Yesterday on my way home I saw something similar but now they actually have sirens on the roof??? :p WTF does a security guard want with a siren?? Its not like they're exempt from having to obey traffic lights??? Is it just a gimmick or what??

And the Guardi are not exempt from the traffic laws either and are liable to get charged with driving offences if they break a red light or speed and cause an accident during a chase for example.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Bambi wrote:
    tbh i think its the opposite thats happening, cops uniforms are looking more and more like security gaurds. God be with the days when coppers dressed in semi- military uniforms. You knew where ye stood then, not like the friendly lite blue crap they wear now. They'll be in garda trackies next

Well thats true also... Its a b*tch really cause you used to be able to see them a mile off.. Now you could be beltin through the lights and there they are.. In there little navy jump suits looking at you :o Oooooops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

ever see the security guy in "naked camera" on rte???? very funny, or dom jolies security guy LOL
    in new zealands capital christchurch they employ private security companies to police the city centre,saw a documentary on it, they have nearly all the powers of regular police,i dont wanna see our police going down the privatised route but judging by the performance of the gardai lately they couldnt be much worse

robinph wrote:
    And the Guardi are not exempt from the traffic laws either and are liable to get charged with driving offences if they break a red light or speed and cause an accident during a chase for example.

That would be why gardai who plough into bus stops and kill some poor old dear can expect to be charged for it just like joe public...

:v: < that bus stop was resisting arrest and you know it!

I keep thinking the title of this thread (Security Guard-ai???) is Security Guard-artificial intelligance???

I'm dissapointed each time that its not this security guard

joejoem wrote:
    I keep thinking the title of this thread (Security Guard-ai???) is Security Guard-artificial intelligance???

Well Im terribly sorry if one is disappointed... I shall endevour to post more little robots to keep one amused in the future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

RainyDay wrote:

yeah you need a permit for that.

xzanti wrote:
    Well Im terribly sorry if one is disappointed... I shall endevour to post more little robots to keep one amused in the future...

Your kindness and consideration will not be forgotten. I hear the robot rabbit is all the rage with young women these days, might be a good discussion topic....

joejoem wrote:
    Your kindness and consideration will not be forgotten. I hear the robot rabbit is all the rage with young women these days, might be a good discussion topic....

No I think its the rampant rabbit your thinking of.. Nothing whatsoever to do with Security... at all...

joejoem wrote:

hmm..if them yokes are made in hong kong then it might explain where those 700 chinese gardai are coming from

:v: <can they program it with a culchie accent but?

Bambi wrote:
    :v: <can they program it with a culchie accent but?

lol
    xzanti wrote:
    No I think its the rampant rabbit your thinking of.. Nothing whatsoever to do with Security... at all...

Is he any relation to the duracell bunny? I hear he can go on and on and on and on and on and on and on..........

joejoem wrote:
    lol

Is he any relation to the duracell bunny? I hear he can go on and on and on and on and on and on and on..........

I think hes a second cousin if Im not mistaken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Evac101

joejoem wrote:
    Have you ever seen the gimps in UCD? I was a member of the gym there for 6 months and those guys are OTT. etc etc etc

Having done that job 4 years ago (ish) while the IT Crash was making my life a misery I can assure you that the security guards dislike talking to the people in UCD just as much as you dislike them talking to you ;P

However.... they are under orders regarding behaviour that UCD considers unacceptable or to be discouraged and, on the majority of the campus, in view of security camera's which may or may not be supervising them at the time. If you have a problem with their behaviour, take it up with UCD - thats where the orders come from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

rent-a-cops tbh, they have sweet fa more powers than you or i. more of a deterrant than anything else.

"move along there please"
    "NO"
    "ehh......i'm off to call the real guards "

Must be a fairly sucky job to have to do though but going on power trips is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ek942

Sparky-s wrote:
    yeah you need a permit for that.
    You need a permit to take pictures of teenage spanish students? Well I'm not going to start paying for something that i've been doing for free for years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

They cant legally have sirens(except on private property) on there cars they can however have lights except blue ones as is the norm for the emergency/voluntary services they cant go threw red lights either

secuirity guards are just cop wannabes:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

secuirity guards are just cop wannabes:rolleyes:

Or Templemore rejects. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Bond-007 wrote:
    Or Templemore rejects. :D
    You're thinking of bouncers :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Evac101

Or people who take the job to pay the bills. Your attitudes folks seem to be, in the main, very snobbish about this profession/job/whatever. Guess web egalitarianism is a myth? Surprise, surprise.

<edit>
    Though Xzanti's post below makes me realise I may be a little touchy regarding this :D
    </edit>

Evac101 wrote:
    Or people who take the job to pay the bills. Your attitudes folks seem to be, in the main, very snobbish about this profession/job/whatever. Guess web egalitarianism is a myth? Surprise, surprise.

Well the thread was originally about the fact that they're attire and transport seems to be morphing slowly into that of the Gardai... With regards to the personality of each individual member of the profession I suppose everyone is different and there are always those who will abuse their position, I personally know a few security guards and like you said they only do it to pay the bills and are the nicest people you could meet IMO...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

TCD Security are particularly egregious offenders in the "Dress Like a Real Rozzer" stakes.

Incidentally, I always thought Impersonating a Police Officer was a criminal offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Im a part-time security guard and I dont like any of the people I meet. Mostly rich little drunky daddy boys who think they are hard. Its funny cause when you do get hastle , those people wait till they are at least 7 foot away before calling you whatever , then high fiving all their mates. Its a job I do to get me through college. Im not a wannabe anything and the people I work with are more in league with gangland bosses then the gardai.

Just cause some of you wern't let into a club once in your lives for no reason means you feel big about coming online and slagging off security like the men you are?

One more thing: the bloke in the uniform dosnt want to dress like that, Its the COMPANY UNIFORM you tits not the man waring it. Morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Grimes wrote:
    *blah blah blah* Morans.

I never do this... but the irony here is so strong.

Sorry . I find it hard to type because im actually and southern hick. Now woo me my intellectual better.

As for powers. You can be refused entry
    Put out of a building
    If you raise a fist to security hes legally entitled to do what he wants once you dont die
    He is there to call restrain a suspect if needs be while the gardai come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Chillax man, just found it funny... couldn't give a **** how smart you are, the irony in your post was amazing! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

grimes has got a chip on his shoulder

ive never had a bad experience with a security guard, id probably just ignore them if they didnt show respect

and who cares what they wear, its irrelevant

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

a permit? who do the centre think they are?

bounty wrote:
    grimes has got a chip on his shoulder

I actually do. And Im sorry. Its a job where you are spoken down to by so many people. And I find its the well to do crowd that really treat you bad. Cursing at you and ignoring you. Its a tough job and it aint nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Security guards arent there to be nice. Personally if i was a security guard i would adopt an attitude of being a prick for my working hours, esp. a bouncer in a nightclub. They are doing a job and have to be alert at all times. Who cares if they are being ignorant, you could be glad of them if some knacker pulls on you.