Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity News: Board Students. Did we get a mention?

• 07-12-2005 1:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭

The answer is no.

I wonder if Anne-Marie Ryan who writes these lovely articles (Page 6, TN, bottom) reckons that the paper itself caters for what trinity students chat about. Well...maybe it does and she's right. But this does not negate that small, begrudged and slightly irrational feeling that we've been cast aside, forgotten.

You may think "well hey, this is boards.ie, it has no affiliation with the college really, she probably gets her stuff from the other college's more official notice boards etc.". Nope, from what I can see they're taken right here from boards.ie. Talking about the UCD, UL, DCU, NUI-May, NUI-Gal, WIT and even Carlow IT boards.

She mentions spockety's angry sticky giving out to people for calling DCU boring. (Yeah that's right, I researched it, wanna fight about it? I'm sick and bored so I've time on my hands OK!)
    Or UL students excitedly anticipating their Christmas Daze event.. Though "excitedly" is not the word I'd use to describe how they're feeling. I'd happily substitute that adverb with "sarcastically", "derisively" or even "dejectedly" after their campus bar packed up and left.

Ah no fair play to her though. She did a good round up job, giving a taste of what all the other college message boards are chatting about. Still though, around the country, does it have to exclude us? This is by far the most active college message board. And maybe I'm bias but IMHO, it's also the most interesting, just look at the recent Glory Hole thread for some gradually increasing top notch entertainment. We have and have had some characters too. From the odd SU officer, to the crazy monkey-suit wearing recent medicine graduates, the editor of TN, iron stomach contestants, Chris Gambino was here for a good while too until we banned him, even the odd girl posts here!

So whaddyasay Ammo? A fleeting glance for a cursory utterance the next time? ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Havent seen said Article yet...

are we famous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I cry "conspiracy".

Perhaps she thinks if she mentions TCD's boards enclave, that that would be an official endorsement, and has taken the soft route by neglecting to mention it? But you're right, it is a gaping oversight on her part. For shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Yeah I did notice that. Good old Crash got a mention on my page via Stargal though :D.

If some society (Sci-Fi maybe, Joe?) could organise an event with the TCD Board, or vice versa, I'm sure it wouldn't look too weird in the TN.

Or sure maybe one of you lazy bums could get off your arse (or well, actually, sit back down at your computer) and write a little piece. Personally I nominate Ian for his creative talents, but the nominations are open. Sure we could even write a communal piece. Or a joined letter. And then we'll send it off to Mr. Handome Editor and maybe he'll squeeze it in somewhere?

I'm tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I took great offence at my mention in TN - it claimed i had a speech prepared. thinking of sending an angry letter to the editor

"sir,
    i would like to request an apology for the statement in TN(Crowns and Sceptres issue) relating to my speech on the topic. the writer, one Ms. Bohan, claimed that i had a speech prepared. this is a false accusation. i was, in fact, drunk.

yours etc.,

Neil McGough"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Careful whatcha ask for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Chris Gambino was here for a good while too until we banned him
    hahahaaaa :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

"sir,
    i would like to request an apology for the statement in TN(Crowns and Sceptres issue) relating to my speech on the topic. the writer, one Ms. Bohan, claimed that i had a speech prepared. this is a false accusation. i was, in fact, drunk.

yours etc.,

Neil McGough"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

The National News page is for what's going on in colleges around the country and general student related issues that aren't Trinity specific, the main news section and news features would cater for Trinity stuff so that's probably why you're excluded. I'd have no problem wiht Anne Marie including this board though if she wanted to. If she thinks it's better without that's grand with me too.

now deal with my accusation andrew!!

I took great offence at my mention in TN - it claimed i had a speech prepared. thinking of sending an angry letter to the editor

"sir,

yours etc.,

Neil McGough"

I'll publish it if you send it as an official letter to the editor (trinity.news@tcd.ie) ;)

Done and done

hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Andrew 83 wrote:
    The National News page is for what's going on in colleges around the country and general student related issues that aren't Trinity specific, the main news section and news features would cater for Trinity stuff so that's probably why you're excluded. I'd have no problem wiht Anne Marie including this board though if she wanted to. If she thinks it's better without that's grand with me too.
    Indeed. I was only making an appeal to the former. Fleshing out the "logic" behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

ApeXaviour wrote:

From the odd SU officer, to the crazy monkey-suit wearing recent medicine graduates, the editor of TN, iron stomach contestants, Chris Gambino was here for a good while too until we banned him, even the odd girl posts here!

I will accept that the SU officers that post here are odd, as one has to be a little odd to decide to run for election in a SU, but are all the girls who post here by definition odd? I prefer to describe myself as 'quirky' and 'mercurial'. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

To be correct sir, it was a gorilla suit! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

"sir,

yours etc.,

Neil McGough"

In my defence, you did walk up to the podium with a bit of paper in your hand which you looked at every so often during your speech ;)

i did have one at one stage that had notes on it - that one just said:

"Wands.

Sceptres.

Bull****.

John Mannions non warty skin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

i did have one at one stage that had notes on it - that one just said:

"Wands.

Sceptres.

Bull****.

John Mannions non warty skin"

Yeah that's pretty much all it said, I remember proof-reading it, at least i think I remember reading it.

tut tut tut , all this imbibe'n of alcohol, terrible stuff.

speaking of which, why is the trinity news website a page of spam? would putting the paper up there as a pdf not be a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

speaking of which, why is the trinity news website a page of spam?
    Linkage?
    would putting the paper up there as a pdf not be a good idea?
    Seconded

Website last year was http://www.trinity-news.com/.

That other address was bought out by an American college paper a few years ago, it's up to them that it's fallen into spam. The plan is to get pdf's up on the other site.

http://www.tcd.ie/Student/Publications/
    you might wanna get someone to update the link on that page...

We're revamping that whole page in Januray so it'll go then.