Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New/revived slang

• 05-12-2005 2:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

How come I am the only person who ever notices that there can be a word nobody uses for years then over about 3 months everyone starts saying it?

You know what I mean. Example: 4-5 years ago, everyone called everyone else a "muppet", as in "ya stupid fcukin muppet". Then.....it stopped. To the extent that if you said it today people would be like "ya what?" Sort of like the South Park where Kyle is in touch with all the fads of 3 days previously, and goes around saying things that super cool Cartman stopped using "like...last week dude!"

Currrently everyone in Dublin is saying "gick" to describe something thats ****e. And nobody would admit they never said it 6 months ago "ah fcuk off you, ive said it all my life ya spa"

So why do either new insults or old ones get revived? (gick is old, twas dormant nopw its back with a vengence). And why do people claim theyve been saying it all their life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

I've never heard of 'gick' before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Gick is used to refer to Terenure College. As in "We thrashed The Gick last week lads"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

I've heard of someone referring to Airplane food as being gick before... does that help? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Gick = Crap.

I remember it about five years ago...haven't heard it recently though!

P.S. Binomate - 1000. Congrats :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Gick isn't a new word, its used to described something thats gross, disgusting and it comes from Gicky, but I thought all children used gicky?
    No?
    I use gick the whole time.
    Once, on a flight to Crete, we where served the most disgusting food, and my friends asked "what is this stuff" and I happily replied, "Its a big gross pile of gick", the very camp, tanned and greecy air steward over hear me and replied "Eh, I can eeeesure you young madam, eeet eeeees not gick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I still call people muppets, but I'm so, like, 5 years ago ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Winter Slide

when you notice the stripes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Piste wrote:
    Gick is used to refer to Terenure College. As in "We thrashed The Gick last week lads"
    Really? By who? Never heard that one. Though I was in Terenure College.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

Yep

Gick = Terenure College

Never heard it used otherwise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Kolodny wrote:
    I still call people muppets, but I'm so, like, 5 years ago ;)

I still call people muppets too. Did calling someone a muppet go out of fashion? I don't think so.

Whoever says that is a muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Tha Gopher wrote:
    How come I am the only person who ever notices that there can be a word nobody uses for years then over about 3 months everyone starts saying it?

Of course you're not the only one who notices this. It's just like a few years back not many in Ireland said 'cheers' instead of thanks. Now it's commonly heard.

There's an office somewhere in Dublin 2 where two men in tweed jackets sit around and decide what words and phrases should be popular over the next few weeks/months.

It's these two that have decided everyone should say 'sorry' way too much these days. Ten years ago you could say 'excuse me', 'pardon' or just not say anything when you got in someone's way on the street. Now you have to say 'sorry' otherwise you'll die.
    Currrently everyone in Dublin is saying "gick" to describe something thats ****e.

No they're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Hub

Tha Gopher wrote:

You know what I mean. Example: 4-5 years ago, everyone called everyone else a "muppet", as in "ya stupid fcukin muppet". Then.....it stopped. To the extent that if you said it today people would be like "ya what?" Sort of like the South Park where Kyle is in touch with all the fads of 3 days previously, and goes around saying things that super cool Cartman stopped using "like...last week dude!"

Currrently everyone in Dublin is saying "gick" to describe something thats ****e. And nobody would admit they never said it 6 months ago "ah fcuk off you, ive said it all my life ya spa"

So why do either new insults or old ones get revived? (gick is old, twas dormant nopw its back with a vengence). And why do people claim theyve been saying it all their life?

Sap!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

To be fair muppet has always been there. :D

Gick however, I've never heard that in my life, but I dunno, maybe its a Dublin thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Shít = gick

Terenure = manure

Ergo, Terneure = the gick.

QED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Oh snap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

To be fair muppet has always been there. :D

Gick however, I've never heard that in my life, but I dunno, maybe its a Dublin thing?

Yeah hear it all the time. Muppet cann't go an hour without hearing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

never heard gick before. Always hear muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

One of the best slang terms myself and my friends use is 'clown'.

E.g. "You're a f***ing clown" - and follow that up with some circus music - "Daa daa dada dada daa daa dada"

IDK, I rarely hear "muppet" anymore. The only place I ever really see it is on boards.
    The best slang belongs to all the scagbags though - "Yore a chopped up reptoile" ...(followed up with chopping gesture)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

im glad to say i never went to terenure collage.

ive heard some people saying gimped as in broken mangled or bent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Wick and gick get to me, they mean the same thing, crap.

I like using muppet/mope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

"Yore a chopped up reptoile" ...(followed up with chopping gesture)

That sounds feckin hilarious for some reason :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

A little birdy told me that "wazzzaaap" is coming back in a really big way... don't get left behind, be the first to use it in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

A friend of mine calls a womans special place her "gowel" [ryhmes with bowel]
    I usually call it her "hoohoo"
    Ive often heard him say he had recently "ripped the gowel" off one of his female companions, which I suspect meant performing a sexual act of some sort.

"wazzzzappp" seemed very fashionable for quite some time, particulary with the less fortunate in Irish society. The working class for example.

Some slang seems to have more longevity, such as "minger" or "muppet"..
    Ive often been called one or the other by out of control teens on the bus.

I have always loved "weapon"
    ... "look at that bleedin... [pause for effect] .. weapon" ...

"Sh!tehawk" is ok but only sounds good out of a particulary down-trodden mouth, such as you might observe in the dole cue.. ["Tha' shoy-hog keeps tellin me to ge' a job"]

Do people still say "gicker" for the rectum?
    I just say "anal passage" .. usually.

Im surprised "no you di'n't" hasnt caught on more but maybe it sounds a bit posh for scumbags to say.. and afterall.. scumbags are the jolly good masters of slang.

I havent heard "gick" yet but will start using it promptly.
    Its important for me to feel current. I recently got one of those trucker caps and an arm band. I was thinking of dying my hair blonde and getting one of those "fin" hair cuts.

Ok I better go now. I have to practice saying "gick".

BO SELECTA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Gick has been around for years.

Wasnt the terenure one spelled 'guick'? no idea why, thats how i remember the spelling from a looooong time ago in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Friend of mine in school (20 years ago :( ) used to call to call 'clowns' or 'gicks' ...... "Genetic Fúck Ups"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've never seen gick used in any manner besides to mean 'poo', e.g. gick on a stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I love the word Mongo, Spanner and Plank. There are a few more but I say them all the time. Great words. Can be used in many different contexts.

Your a plank
    He is a plank
    She likes that plank.
    Ye big plank
    You know what you are? Your a plank!
    Watch out for that plank you spanner.

Finally, everyone is called "Mongo" or "F*ck face"