Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A sad day for poker at the SE

• 05-12-2005 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Apparantely the tournie director in the SE did Luke Ivorys "new winning streak bonaza" speech when announcing the prizepool, he didnt even have the decency to remember all the words either. Anyone thats ever played in the fitz loves hearing the sound of this legendary speech and for me there are not many other tourny directors who can pull this speech off apart from Luke. I was glad to hear that it went down like a lead baloon though.
    Boourns for the SE :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Nobody can do that like Luke.....did he get it badly wrong...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

I hear that there was only 18 there last night, and ten the other day... whats the story with the low turnout at the SE, the venue is great but no-one seems to be going...

ditpoker wrote:
    I hear that there was only 18 there last night, and ten the other day... whats the story with the low turnout at the SE, the venue is great but no-one seems to be going...

Parking is a big problem,i believe they have a car park being built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The atmosphere is much, MUCH better in the Fitz, that might partially explain the lower turnouts. I know atmosphere and fun probably don't concern the truly dedicated poker players (who might even view the distraction of human interaction as -EV :)), but it matters to the majority of live tournament players I think. If the poker room at the SE was better connected to the gaming floor, I think the venue would be a little more exciting, it just seems a bit cut-off up there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Dub13 wrote:
    Parking is a big problem,i believe they have a car park being built

I dunno, I don't think it's as simple as that.

It's hard to put your finger on it, it's like it's nearly too swish to relax.

Trying to put it in context, it's like walking into your local for a pint in your best suit, just doesn't feel right.
    Or if you've ever stayed in a five star hotel in Thailand or somewhere, and you are treated like royalty in the hotel, with two people opening every door for you, OK for a while but something not right about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

Personally I think the fact that it's new is one of the big problems.

There're a lot of people not going to the tournaments because they're not expecting big numbers or a lot of interest there yet. It's a vicious circle.

They should add cash to the prize pool,on till the numbers go up.

Dub13 wrote:
    They should add cash to the prize pool on till the numbers go up.

They should do something like that alright.

A Christmas festival with added value or similar. They need to lure the bulk of the regular crowd in all on the same night at least once for them to feel like it's "their club".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

The third time I played a freeroll in the Merrion Mags remembered me and greeted me by name. The second time I played in the Fitz Luke greeted me as I walked in (again by name).

I wasn't playing cash games and I was only getting used to the playing live before I started playing small multi rebuy tournies (of which they make f**k all money as far as I can see) and yet I felt part of the club and very comfortable and welcome. The SE just doesn't have that. All this good evening sir and stuff is fine (and I've played in the SE 5 or 6 times, and split a game there) but they still don't know me, I can see their minds working out how much I am worth to them (its a business and I understand that) and thats really what it is for me.

Don't get me wrong I'll still play there on a Thursday rather than freeroll or heaven forbid not play!! But unless I thought the game was particularly good value (some of the ex pub players they were getting were atrocious) or if they start throwing a few bob into the pot now that the newness factor is gone I won't be heading there as my first preference.

Also if you look at how quick the Fitz are to respond to players requests for changes to tournaments where there are problems and the comfort/trust factor people have in their TDs to make consistent rulings I think that is playing a part in the SE failing to make inroads on the market so far. Also the regulars in the Fitz are a big part in making playing live there very enjoyable.
    I know them and they know me and therefore no one tournament exists in isolation which really adds to the fun and the challenge. The SE doesn't have any real regulars or a club vibe but if they stay working hard at it they might get there.

Here is the link to there new website,nothing on it yet.

http://www.thesportingemporium.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

when i look at the SE's tournament list, alot of them are 3 rebuys or multi-rebuys. take for example sunday night, its 30 multi rebuy... i played in it once (did quite well actually) but when you sit down with someone with bottomless pockets and he keeps pushing all his chips in til the break it means for the first 90 mins, unless you have a large bankroll you can only play AA or KK. In contrast, the fitz on a sunday have the 30 freezeout, regularly attracting approx 50 people, becuase all 50 know they are on teh same level regardless of bankroll. If the SE are going to have 30 multi rebuy they may aswell make it 100 freezeout. I know i'm looking at this from a student point of view but there are alot of student players... even the merrion now have a 20e freezeout on thursdays a i think... its the smaller games like that which are open to pretty much every bankroll that will build an atmosphere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I find the place to be very ostentatious but in a good way!.
    Actually standards are slipping!. I wasnt brought hot chicken skewers or any other food as i played like i was offered the last time i played there a few weeks previous. This time there was just a small bit of fingerfood at the bar at the break. Also all the fridges behind the bar were empty except for a bottle of cordial whereas before they were chuck full of minerals.
    I dont miss detail like this;) !
    pity i dont have the same eye for observation at the tables!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

I agree with you Rounders, I notice the same, less food and cheap coke, Dunnes or something. This really put me off the place and parking is a massive issue. Also agree with Olliek and Cluiche point.

I like the place, dealers etc, but it needs more players. Maybe there's not enough space in the market place yet. I think they'll need to add to the prize pool or something. But its already slipping and I'll be heading back to the Fitz from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm with olly, I'll be playing the €50 double chance on Thursday over the Fitz freeroll, if you're not in that special freeroll frame of mind playing that tournie is tough on the old noggin.

On Luke's final table prizepool speech, the second he starts into it I can't help but grin like a Cheshire cat, I'm sure I look like an idiot but I can't keep the smile off my face. If that speech was a woman, I'd make her my wife...but that would be a hard woman to keep happy...like Ann Margret in the Cincinnati Kid...

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

It's hard to put your finger on it, it's like it's nearly too swish to relax.

Its like Boards. I was once asked to sit on a panel with the owners of LocalIreland, Online.ie etc... all the multi million pound jobbies, huge salaried teams of content writers etc. None were doing as well as Boards was despite not having a penny. This was a big business networking event and the comparé turns the mike on me and asks why we've been so successful compared to the others.
    My theory (and my answer) on this goes like this: Its like the multi million pound pub syndrome in Dublin. You have all these fantastic pubs with waiters and barmen in black tie etc, but the busiest pubs are the likes of Stagshead. The crack is fantastic there because noone is worried about sloshing a pint around. You don't feel like you are in your rich auntie house and you have to mind your elbows!

The Fitz is very much like that and will appeal to a certain type of person (obviously I'm one of those people!). The Merrion for me always felt cold and like a casino rather then a club. The SE feels a bit in between the two but is definitely targetting the Merrion more then the Fitz. I cannot believe that this city can only support 1 major club...
    I like the SE, I'd go more if the Fitz wasnt on the route from my place to it! :)
    I think they need to market it and advertise the tournies.
    But the one thing they cant do is create an atmosphere where someone can shout accross the room "oi, Luke, I'm grabbing some cards and chips for a sit-n-go, a'right? Sorted!". Thats not going to happen because of their positioning in the market. All the same, I think the SE will do fine. I hope so, as I like it.

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

they should get a big tourny organised a 20/30k gtd. and get it online for online qualifiers, using any of the irish poker sites, as most of us play online. will attract the crowds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

bmc wrote:
    They should do something like that alright.

A Christmas festival with added value or similar. They need to lure the bulk of the regular crowd in all on the same night at least once for them to feel like it's "their club".

Yea they should let Tom and boards do the structure and prizepool and get PPP involved:rolleyes:

bohsman wrote:
    Yea they should let Tom and boards do the structure and prizepool and get PPP involved:rolleyes:

:o

A little bell rings somewhere in the background...

I remember that thread!

It seems my finger is just slightly off the pulse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Tom has it spot on (and me:v: )

I think when it gets on the map, I'd say the SE will go down very well with visitors to the city, and that is where they will make the big bucks.

The lads over from the UK, the pros.

I tell you another audience the SE would suit if they decided to try and target ......Women !

If they get the women in, the blokes won't be long in following them down.

I can see the place buzzing in the summer time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I for one like Culchie's high class brothel idea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

truly dedicated poker players (who might even view the distraction of human interaction as -EV )

Classsic gotta love the EV addicts lololol :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

was playing there last night and the place was buzzing. apart form the torunie...i busted out of the tournie around 12:30 and the roullete and blackjack tables were packed by the time i left.

they had 2 cash games going also.

tournie only had about 27 runners but there was no1 there that i would fear playing against.

personally i dont find the place itself intemidating but the staff could be a bit more welcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Personally I really like the SE. Thus far I've found it much easier to win money in the cash games.
    I really like the €150 freeze they have in there - even won it once. I know the numbers have been dropping but that's because it's new.
    Some nights I've been in there they've had 3 or 4 games going at once.
    The poker director in there (don't know he's name) has been given a budget and after xmas they will be adding money to their prize fund. As far as I know the monthly €300 freeze is meant to be good also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Ballyman

I was in there one two weeks ago on a friday night and the poker director that was on duty that night, Brendan I think his name was, was a complete and utter knob.
    He really needs to take a human interaction course. He spent the whole night standing over our table shouting at people to shut up.

One example, I had QcJc and the flop came with 3 clubs. Big raise in MP and then an all in by the guy beside me so I folded in LP. When it came to showdown the guy beside me showed Ac10c and MP had 888. Hand over. I then said to the guy beside me, "Thankd god I folded, I had QcJc" and laughed. I might as well have said I rode Brendans mother. He lost the plot abusing me for talking about a hand, even though it was over. Nobody else minded. What did I do wrong??

He was at this all night. Abusing people for talking at the table. Maybe it's just me but I found this to be completely uncalled for.

Also, on another note, some exceptional eye candy sat down to deal (her name was Candy also BTW!!) She only dealt three hands and oul sourpuss decided that this was enough and sat down himself. Scenery went way downhill!!!

And to top it all off I ended up losing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Thankd god I folded, I had QcJc"

nice laydown :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Ballyman wrote:
    I was in there one two weeks ago on a friday night and the poker director that was on duty that night, Brendan I think his name was, was a complete and utter knob.
    He lost the plot abusing me for talking about a hand, even though it was over.
    He was at this all night. Abusing people for talking at the table. Maybe it's just me but I found this to be completely uncalled for.

Thats shocking that is. Was this a cash game or tournie?. Did nobody remark on his comments at all?. When you sais he sat down, did he sit down to deal do you mean?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

Bernard is the boss there, and I find him very nice and professional. He handles situations fairly, as far as I've seen, and seems quite happy to take suggestions.

and yes, Candy the Aussie dealer is a complete sweetheart, and quite stunning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

DeVore wrote:
    but the busiest pubs are the likes of Stagshead. The crack is fantastic there because noone is worried about sloshing a pint around. You don't feel like you are in your rich auntie house and you have to mind your elbows!

O/T
    Worked beside the Stags Head years ago. can't remember much about it. Wonder why.:o

One thing I can remember was we told one of the newbies in the office we would be next door if he fancied a drink after work. No sign of him. A little later he arrives in.

He said he went to another pub by mistake, it was full of women, but they were not too friendly. :confused: He had gone into the George, and it was ladies night. :v: :v: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I might as well have said I rode Brendans mother.

:D ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

fixer wrote:
    Bernard is the boss there, and I find him very nice and professional. He handles situations fairly, as far as I've seen, and seems quite happy to take suggestions.

and yes, Candy the Aussie dealer is a complete sweetheart, and quite stunning!

Ah Candy....lost many a hand looking at her when I should have been paying attention elsewhere.

Bernard is the main boss - I've found him very good also

Culchie wrote:
    I tell you another audience the SE would suit if they decided to try and target ......Women !

If they get the women in, the blokes won't be long in following them down.

I agree with you there Culchie. It seems to be a market that they have completely ignored if not shunned.

However, there may be some stumbling blocks for them...
    Ballyman wrote:
    ...on another note, some exceptional eye candy sat down to deal...

We poker players may not seem the most welcoming to that particular target audience.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

bohsman wrote:
    Actually PPP came up with the idea and brought it to the SE (I'm just along for the ride!). It started with PPP and thats probably a problem for the SE, they need to get out there and fight for their players, marketing and advertising the place.

Its not like I fooled you into doing it, I mean, I stated what it was for at the top of that thread LOL :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Ive been thinking that a good idea for them at the moment is to probably run 2 tournies, a high stakes a nd a low stakes nightly...they have enough tables for it and they seem to be only averaging 30. every night for the tournies they are currently running.

Bernard is usually a grand lad.... :confused: Its a big move up for him so maybe he just had a bad night.

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

devore i see there is a feeder to a $650 buyin for the SE, is this just on 2nite or are there a few diff sats?. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I hear the SE cancelled the 150FO with no notice due to a private function. Not the way to get poker players on your side

bohsman wrote:
    I hear the SE cancelled the 150FO with no notice due to a private function. Not the way to get poker players on your side

Scandalous :mad: