Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a mobile 'phone?

• 03-12-2005 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭

I'm considering getting a phone and am curious to see how many people have one.
    Also, if anyone has any pros or cons of having a phone, feel free to post them. :)

Do you have a mobile 'phone? 65 votes

I have a mobile phone.
    0%
    I used to have one, but don't now.
    93%
    D-GenerateFunkyChickenBKtjeandoorangeroosterFunkyRabiesRiamfadaBigCongarthvpretty*monstertuxysnickerpussShazbotpassiveRed AlertRngerthe evil limeAngelofFireSeifer 61 votes
    I have not had a mobile phone.
    6%
    ChinafootRuskie4RentLovelyHurlingPreset No.3 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

feel free to post this in the correct forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Slippers

I think almost everyone in the mobile forum will have one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Slippers wrote:
    I think almost everyone in the mobile forum will have one...

Touche. No Ive recently gave up my phone, lost it in Coppers two weeks ago and Im finding life aboslutely great without it. You go out way more, call round to your mates all the time, and just think of the radiation factor. As George Fox said to the courtsman, carry that sword with thee as long as thou canst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

troll? :confused:

Ok, yeah I have one, so does everyone I know. They're quite popular nowadays, or so I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Are mobile phones still around? I was sure they would just be a fad.

When it says 58 views, does that mean 58 individual users?

Jeez Slippers, youre a real whizz kid aintcha

It could have been repeat viewings. I just thought 8 out of 58 was a bit low is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭john^doyle

yes i have one, i dont know how i'd manage without it. its just this handy thing to txt people, if you're inside the club and they're outside and you're like "where are you?" and then you can find them. plus, txing the girl you like and stuff - i know u could talk face to face but its i dunno easy and sort of easier this way

txting is fun too.

i cant be bothered with picture phones or the mp3 stuff at all tho. just txting and calls for me.

Sounds good. It seems like it makes it easier to talk to people.
    Sort of like an internet forum.:)

Anyone else got opinions?
    Any stories about what it's like to have a phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭tripper

WTF? WTF? Are you joking, have you been living in a ****ing cave? This has to be the most stupid thing i have ever seen here. Stories about what its like to have a phone. I supose it does make it easier to talk to people, because its a ****ing phone, thats what they ****ing do. Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭xXxnaoisexXx

you have to get a phone, i would'nt be able to live without my phone, there are no cons there is only pros!!:)

There are also things like this to consider.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=1538247&highlight=van+der+Waals#post1538247

Excuse the red highlighting, I used it to find the post.

tripper wrote:
    I supose it does make it easier to talk to people, because its a ****ing phone, thats what they ****ing do. Jesus.
    I didn't mean easier in a practical sense. I meant easier in terms of opening up to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

this one time i was walking down the street and my friend rang me on my mobile and we talked for a while and then i hung up........wow:mad:

this thread is actually retarded, :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

What has this thread got to do with UCD at all? Peachy will have a heart attack if she sees this :D

I got bannage from after hours how come there is no bannage for this.... I call for bannage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭rasher_b2

I have a phone but I hate it. The world would be a better place without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

wow man lame thread... you deserve an award for this!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

I like this thread! My phone broke the other day and its really frustrating, i'm all over the place because of it.
    I need a place to lament its untimely death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Slippers, do u have a b&w TV by any chance?

A Telefunken PALcolor F 431.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

sarcasm

Slipper's head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭PaulDoh

Scraggs wrote:
    wow man lame thread... you deserve an award for this!!!
    Is this thread for real or were you just bored slippers?:confused: Seriously, you need a phone. Pacman is the coolest.:v:

PaulDoh wrote:
    Seriously, you need a phone.
    ok
    can you expand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭PaulDoh

Slippers wrote:
    ok
    can you expand...
    OK.

Slippers + No Phone = Having to actually talk to people in person, people thinking you're dead because they haven't heard from you in a while.

Slippers + Phone = Not having to talk to people in person, being able to send a quick text to let people know you're alive.

Anyone care to expand more? I'm too tired to think.

Just buy one and try it out. It's a win-win situation - buy a phone for €70/€80ish and it'll probably come with €80 credit anyway so you're not really losing any money. If you don't like it, just don't buy any more credit for it after that. I don't know what else to tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Economaniac!

This thread must be regarded as catalyst for one of the lowest days in the history of boards.ie

Has anybody heard of this internet gismo? I hear they have it on computers now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

yeah i have 4 at the moment, a k750i, 6230i ,3120 and also a 1100

what a stupid question to ask as every one has 1 or more fones nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

really tbh Slippers, dont listen to these people.
    my opinion is, if you have lasted this long without one, dont bother. yes they are handy sometimes, but i really reckon they are over-used and over-rated. you dont 'need' a phone, as you have clearly demonstrated considering you have never had one. it'll just swallow your money with calls and texts.
    how did we all manage before this mad invention?
    it can make life easier in some ways, but i find so many people are just so annoying with their mobiles these days. people are permanently attached to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

lost it in Coppers two weeks ago and Im finding life aboslutely great without it. QUOTE]

Well at least we have learnt something from this thread never,never listen to lovely hurling-he's a coppers man!You were lucky you only lost your phone in there!...I hear people regularly lose their standards too when they go in there,,,,30 year old farmer from leitrem anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

It's handy, not essential but assuming no financial trouble I don't know how anyone could really claim they have no use for one. You can use one as little, or as much as you like but you are better off having one, if only for emergencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I've had a mobile phone for the past 7 years - couldnt live without one! Working in Vodafone part time now in the call centre, so I'm fairly exposed to them at the moment. If you want something cheap and practical that looks nice I'd go with the Nokia 3210, its only 80 euro in the shops or 70 on the website - plus you get 100 euro free credit with it :)

Although I enjoy being the exception I'm starting to lean towards getting one because I do feel isolated, but thats probably my fault and not a lack of telephone.:rolleyes:
    Any more comments from those without 'phones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭penguincakes

Ahh phones... Don't listen to everyone here I think this is a good thread, phones aren't as necessary as everyone thinks - as you can see, they can make people turn into assholes.

Anyway, let's see I'll try to do a pros & cons list:

Pros:
    - easier to contact people.
    - easier to talk to people, if that's a problem for you, texting "feels" more impersonal that talking face to face (much like internet forum, chat room, etc).
    - games, etc.

Cons:
    - eats money.
    - becomes rather addictive, and you may feel odd if you forget it.
    - hard to gauge tone of things people write in messages because they're very condensed.
    - often becomes a habit to check phone in the middle of a conversation, or more often in a lull.
    - phone turning off (battery dead) in middle of text conversation -> other person wondering what's going on.

I don't know what to recommend. Depends on what you want to get out of it, I suppose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭pilson

Ah seriously slippers, mobile phones are good and bad. Good in emergencies or just plain handy when you want to ring your missus and tell her to put the dinner on *ducks all the rotten veg boards.ie females throw*
    bad coz of how easy it is for your missus to check up on you... *more ducking*
    also, as humbert will explain, the more information these things transmit in a given amount of time (which is increasing with the advent of third generation networks etc...) the more microwave energy in the air you live in... which will kill the entire human race within 200 years... ok that last bit was made up but make sure you delete your call logs so your missus wont suspect you of playing away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I got my first phone 6 years ago, and I've had two phones for three years. At one stage I had three sim cards, but I thought that was a little over the top.

I find that between the two phones I spend €30 a month - especially since o2 started the 400 texts for €20 thing. Ok, so vodafone caught up, but o2 told me about it first. Plus, they e-mail me. They're friendlier than Vodafone as a network. I don't do calls. If someone calls me, fine, but they'll get a text back. It's easier, cheaper and more consise.

Phones are handy (poi-haps that's why the germans call them handys?) but they're no big deal. If you haven't needed one by now, you probably don't need one. I'm sick of getting irate phonecalls when I've been out of coverage for a few hours or had my phone turned off, simply because I'm out of contact. Maybe retaining the ability to fade away into the incontactable is a good thing!

Yeah, I remember handys.:)
    Blush_01 wrote:
    Maybe retaining the ability to fade away into the incontactable is a good thing!
    I think it is. I'm just trying to get the hang of fading out of it.:D

If I do get one I promise not to make irate calls to people when they come back from a little peace and quiet.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭liamk

this is clearly taking the p1ss its not life altering decision meteor have fones for 50squids whats that less than a night out buy one or dont its hardly up to boards.ie/ucd to make your mind up on weather you need a small pay-fone in your pocket its an accessory like a watch get over it!

Im telling you, phone = disaster. You have a better social life without it. Think about it, not having a phone encourages you to make a real effort with socialising. Your health will be a ll the better for it. Plus you wont go to hell and burn for being one of those annoying ppl on the bus - you know - those people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

umm i dont see how not having a mobile leads to having a better social life. If i want to go somewhere/do something ill make the effort phone or not.

Infact, my mobile has saved me from not finding people who i'm meeting up with sooo many times.

Those people do indeed suck :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

well i did have a phone up until friday night :mad:

and i wont even start on the gardaí!!!!

loose it or..?

*deletes peachy;s numba*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Twas nicked off the table by some little knacker and her mate.

So eh yea...anyone who has my number, delete it and when i get a new one i shall PM ye.

Saves my parents having to think about a pressie for me :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Touche. No Ive recently gave up my phone, lost it in Coppers two weeks ago .

I had a mobile phone hnaded into the DJ box a couple of weeks ago, nobody claimed it! pity it was off, i wanted to read the smutty txts!

Yeah well the music in Coppors is crap I only go there to get locked and cos its score city (even if she does run a pigfarm in Clonakilty!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

So eh yea...anyone who has my number, delete it and when i get a new one i shall PM ye.

You do know it's really easy to get your number back don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I hope you got the handset barred? Means that even though they nicked it they wont be able to use it :p

aye, you should try to get your old number back.

Coppors..as in copper face jacks (or whatever its called)? Sure that place is a hole. Ive always known its a hole and thats why you will never find me in said hole. Well if you bribe me perhaps... ;)