Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what was this show???

• 02-12-2005 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

ok, not much to go on here but I'm trying to remember the name of this show. It was on the BBC I think back in the day, and involved all these kids in what I think was some kind of undergound cave system. Everything was dank and dripping noises echoed around all the time. Plus there was some kind of seaweed/mucus monster.

I seem to recall travel on a magic carpet too and much dire blue-screen trickery. Am I outta my mind here? No one I know seems to remember it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Steveire

Fraggle Rock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Knightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Kernel wrote:
    Knightmare.

Seconded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

http://www.knightmare.com/

oddly addictive viewing back then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Richelieu wrote:
    ok, not much to go on here but I'm trying to remember the name of this show. It was on the BBC I think back in the day, and involved all these kids in what I think was some kind of undergound cave system. Everything was dank and dripping noises echoed around all the time. Plus there was some kind of seaweed/mucus monster.

I seem to recall travel on a magic carpet too and much dire blue-screen trickery. Am I outta my mind here? No one I know seems to remember it!

You know, this sounds a hell of a lot like something I remember from years ago myself but which nobody else seems to be able to remember either. And I can't recall the name myself either and I've been trying to find out about it for years now too. The thing you mentioned which struck me was the "seaweed/mucus monster". I remember this monster alright, it was basically, I suppose, a guy walking around covered in what looked like seaweed. Lived in some sort of cave or something. And, for some reason, I seem to have this memory of this cave being near the sea because I can picture it walking around a beach or something in my mind. I have a feeling we're thinking of the same show here so, if anyone else can remember and knows the name of it, I'd appreciate it as well.

And no, I'd better mention, it wasn't Knightmare or Fraggle Rock either. Something about these kids trying to stop these seaweed creatures or something, if I remember correctly. And yes, I do seem to remember it being on BBC, during the summer holidays too possibly.

Anybody?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

now you have me thinking aidan! i remember the walking pile of seaweed too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Swamp thing ?
    linky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sounds like Swamp Thing to me :)

I remember that secret underground cave in the swamp, and...I think....he used to always have this scene where'd he'd fly out the entrace in some sort of vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

This would be Under The Mountain

Yeah... it was a pretty good show... Mr. Wilberforce was pretty scary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Ruadan

There was some show, simelar i think, set in like a labarinth, first series was a bunch of kids helping some intense, serious guy in black, second one was a black kid and this jokey guy named Lazlo, who had this slime slowly takinhg over his body, the kid first meets him in this room full of people mummified by the slime, and Lazlo is the last left behind, the kid gets slime on his hand.

I remember there was the same evil witch woman they were fighting in both series,a nd he was looking for somekind of bracelet to cure himself, i can remember one line clearly, at the end of some episode "Lazlo-the slime, its reached your neck!"

thats what sprung to my mind at the sight of thius tread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i think it was called the labyrinth? i remember it too the kids were walking in the forest and ended up in a cabe and there was a guy dressed in black with a white face trapped under a rockor slimy stuff i think ruadans on the right track there>?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Did the guy in black have a severly receding hairline and was there a sort of physcodelic movement through the cave with creepy music in Labyrinth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Yeah it did it was a bit trippy alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

I think ye are thinking of this

I remember it too, was weird in a good way

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081877/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Ruadan

That was it!

OMG i wasn't sure if those 2 series were linked at all. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

I think ye are thinking of this

I remember it too, was weird in a good way

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081877/

Fairplay. Ron Moody, He was great.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Irjudge1 wrote:
    Fairplay. Ron Moody, He was great.:D

That was how I found it actually, somehow his name was embedded in my mind with this weird show I watched as a kid and the descriptions in this thread led me to look him up

I thought he had some Irish connection which was why I remembered him but it appears not

Cool wierd show though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Richelieu

fair play! I think this is actually it!! Well done masked stranger