Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jay-walking allowed by a garda!

• 29-11-2005 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭

This morning I actually saw a female garda actually assist in a jay-walk across the N11 at the cabinteely flyover, unbelieveable, gardai aiding and abetting a crime. She was turning back lots of kids who were trying to cross, making them take the bridge but let one girl go for some reason. My mates brother was fined for jaywalking in the same spot, I had a good mind to take her details and report her. Worthless fu-ckers, I wonder what would have happened if she was killed, she had to actually sprint in the end dodging traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

rubadub wrote:
    I had a good mind to take her details and report her.
    So you came here to complain instead. Well, I'll do my best, but I can't promise anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Maybe they were helping a blind person...? lol

Don't report it, don't waste police time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Isn't jaywalking only a US thing?

The only bit of road that you cannot legally walk on is the motorways. Doesn't mean that it's a good idea, but I dont think its an offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

DaveMcG wrote:
    I won't since I live nearby and don't want constant harrassment from the fu cking kunts. I would not advise anybody to every report any of the criminals in the biggest gang in Ireland, not worth the aftermath blacklisting.
    Just pisses me off that they actually fined my mates brother, that was not seen as a "waste of police time", so I dont know why reporting a garda that assisted in an offence is. There was nothing apparently wrong with the girl, she was about 16, if there was something wrong she should have been using the flyover. the garda was on the first mini island, the girl and a boy crossed, the boy was sent back. She helped her across to the main island, and then let her on her own to cross the main 3 lanes (she had to run to avoid on coming traffic)

robinph wrote:
    Isn't jaywalking only a US thing?

The only bit of road that you cannot legally walk on is the motorways. Doesn't mean that it's a good idea, but I dont think its an offence.

It was brought in a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

cops obviously turn a blind eye to it in the Waterford area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

i remember the day it was brought in, i was in town watching guards nip across oconnell st along with everyone else & thought it will never work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

I crossed at the junction down the road (at dunnes) for years when i was at school, i think i walked in front of about 20 odd garda cars...

was only ever told to use the fly over once

I crossed at the junction down the road (at dunnes) for years when i was at school, i think i walked in front of about 20 odd garda cars...

was only ever told to use the fly over once
    it may have been legal back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

There are drug gang wars going on, people being shot and bombs being recovered. I reckon a bit of jaywalking is the least of our or the Gardai's worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 The_Understandi

Here here! I thought it was only the states that punished Jay-walkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

god can ya just imagine someone being arrested for jay-walking.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Well it sounds like she had her hands full trying to stop a load of kids and one slipped through before she had time to notice.

Kernel wrote:
    There are drug gang wars going on, people being shot and bombs being recovered. I reckon a bit of jaywalking is the least of our or the Gardai's worries.
    exactly, but they still did my mates brother. Why go for hard targets when the easy money making ones are so simple and safe... I remember seeing gardai turning around and walking away from fights in town, a regular occurance about 10 years ago on o'connell street. They were minor fights that they could have dealt with, with no backup
    Stark wrote:
    Well it sounds like she had her hands full trying to stop a load of kids and one slipped through before she had time to notice.
    Did I make it sound like that? There were only 2 at that time, a boy about 13-14 and the girl. Both walked to the first mini island and you could see her telling them to go back. The girl did not slip by, like I said she was assisted across the the second bit, thats what I couldnt believe, they were all talking amongst themselves at one stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

DaveMcG wrote:
    Maybe they were helping a blind person...? lol

blind or invisible :v:

rubadub wrote:
    Did I make it sound like that? There were only 2 at that time, a boy about 13-14 and the girl. Both walked to the first mini island and you could see her telling them to go back. The girl did not slip by, like I said she was assisted across the the second bit, thats what I couldnt believe, they were all talking amongst themselves at one stage.

The obvious contradiction there aside ("she told the girl to go back, she assisted the girl across"), this is what you originally posted:
    rubadub wrote:
    She was turning back lots of kids who were trying to cross, making them take the bridge

It seems you can't stick to the one story.

Your attempt to just make whatever dig you can at the gardai is pretty thinly veiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

So you came here to complain instead.

He/She obviously posted here for discussion, this being a discussion board and all.

rubadub wrote:
    exactly, but they still did my mates brother. Why go for hard targets when the easy money making ones are so simple and safe... I remember seeing gardai turning around and walking away from fights in town, a regular occurance about 10 years ago on o'connell street. They were minor fights that they could have dealt with, with no backup

Unfortunately, I've heard about the reluctance to interject in fighting, that's something I would never agree with. Sometimes with the job you have to get into those situations, take the abuse/hits and restore order.

Your mates brother was very unfortunate, the Garda must have been under pressure from his sarge to make some arrests or issue some tickets. Was he issued with an on the spot fine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Mossy Monk wrote:
    cops obviously turn a blind eye to it in the Waterford area
    thats cause as soon as it was legislated about 8 years ago every paper in hte counrty went on a rant about gardai (not cops) should be out catching real criminals and not poor eejits trying to cross the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Jaywalking, which basically amounts to it being illegal to cross the road. In that case, I am a serial offender. As most of us offenders do, we usually do it in a safe way, as our own health and well-being are on the line. Having said that, I've often taken my life into my own hands, but I am here to tell the story. Often the traffic is a standstill anyhow, so there is little or no danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Stark wrote:
    The obvious contradiction there aside ("she told the girl to go back, she assisted the girl across"), this is what you originally posted:

Your attempt to just make whatever dig you can at the gardai is pretty thinly veiled.

You read it wrong, there is no contradiction. He said the boy was told to go back and the girl was assisted across.

Stark wrote:

No, I just didnt tell the whole story. I was at the junction for a few minutes on a bike waiting for the lights to turn. Bunches of kids were walking about to cross on the road, she was signalling them to go to the flyover and they did, lots of them, before they set foot on the road. They recently removed the barrier there so now it is actually to cross using the road. Then she went onto one of the islands and the girl and boy came along and started to cross, then she went over to them on their island and was talking to them. The boy went back but she helped the girl to the next one.

I didn't think my "dig at the gardai" was veiled at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Lionheart84

She was probably only a new ccountry cop that just got overwhelmed by the situation.She seen one making a break for it and decided she had to let her go cause she was gone too far..
    I doubt for one second that if i jay walked in front of a guard it would be allowed..

Lets all reember guards only become guards because they want revenge for being bullied at school asshole`s, whatever you al do don`t ever say it to one though.
    What county was the jay walking in ?

Lets all reember guards only become guards because they want revenge for being bullied at school asshole`s, whatever you al do don`t ever say it to one though.

As a serving Garda I take offence at that statement, it shows the narrow mindedness of today's youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

What county was the jay walking in ?
    judging by the fact that your spelling is poor i'm guessing you were one of the bullies

By the way, on the jaywalking front, "jaywalking" is only illegal within a few metres of a pedestrian crossing and on motorways on this country. Everywhere else, the pedestrian has right of way. It sucks for motorists who can be held liable for a pedestrian's stupidity, but that's the way it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Can anybody tell us what act this was brought in under or a link to the actual text?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

I jay walk when ever I can, as much as I can. It's a stupid law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

There's a law for that now? ;)

I've always thought the Irish attitude to the law is quite a healthy one. We're definetly of the mindset 'Yeah that law makes sense so I'll abide by it ... and conversely ..... no that's a stupid law stick it up yer arsé'.

So in this case 'stick it up yer arsé'. I was vaguely aware there was a law here for JayWalking but I've never let it stop me. I've even done it right in front of Gardai and they've never said anything to me.

j walking is seriously frowned upon in america!

I'd love to go on a J-walking tour of America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭katiegordon

isjay walking just when you run out in front of moving cars or is it if the lights are red for them but youre still not supposed to be crossing ie no green man??

j walking is seriously frowned upon in america!

so is having a dissenting opinion.

isjay walking just when you run out in front of moving cars or is it if the lights are red for them but youre still not supposed to be crossing ie no green man??

as i understand it it is when you cross the road any point that isn't an official crossing point. Also if you cross at this point at an instant where you don't have right of way it is also jaywalking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

I mostly jaywalk to not inconvenience the traffic, i.e. if I am at a pedestrian crossing and there is no traffic coming, I will cross the road and in turn not have to waste mine and motorists time by waiting on the green man.

Pigman II wrote:
    as i understand it it is when you cross the road any point that isn't an official crossing point. Also if you cross at this point at an instant where you don't have right of way it is also jaywalking.

Actually I think it's the other way round. If you're near an official crossing point, then you're required to use it and you have to have the clear (green man etc.). If there's no official crossing point around, then you pretty much have right of way to cross the road at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

think it was actually quite nice of the guard to take a bit of time to help someone across the road...

jaywalking (terrible name btw) is one of the things we do best. love being down in the country towns where you can walk out across a road packed with cars, and as long as you wave at the car they usually let you by.

not the same in dublin anymore. jaywalking is great in germany. all these nobs waiting for the pedestrian lights to turn green on an empty road, and then you decide to cross and you see their disapproving stares!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

jaywalking is great in germany. all these nobs waiting for the pedestrian lights to turn green on an empty road, and then you decide to cross and you see their disapproving stares!

I got caught over in germany, 20 mark on the spot fine, weirdest thing ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I cross over at the government buildings every day and there's always police there. I doubt there's such a law. Surely they don't expect us to walk 100m up the road to the nearest set of traffic lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Scraggs wrote:
    god can ya just imagine someone being arrested for jay-walking.....
    Stop imagining.... I was talking to a friend today who told me that her flatmate was ARRESTED for j-walking in Dublin on Saturday night....

He was actually cuffed, the whole shabang. I thought this was a bit much for some j-walking...

There you have it folks. It happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Going back to the original post maybe it was the girl helping the policewoman to cross the road. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

jay-whatting?

Binomate wrote:
    I jay walk when ever I can, as much as I can. It's a stupid law.
    Why do you think it is in place? It is for peoples safety, I think more for the safety of motorists than pedestrians. The girl had to run to avoid traffic. Imagine somebody sprinting across the M50, trips and falls, cars swerve and brake, huge pile-up. They will turn a blind eye in most cases, since in most cases people are crossing in between stationary traffic in town etc. I don't know why the garda was even in place at the junction as she was not directing traffic and she was sending lots of kids back so she musn't have though it was ok to cross there, it seemed like it was part of her instruction while on duty there. Plus the fact I know somebody fined in that exact spot shows they do take it seriously there. I have had to brake for dual carriageway crossers before.

The poster talking of germany is correct, I was there in the morning, no cars in sight at all and everybody stood at the pedestrian crossing waiting for green.

rubadub wrote:
    Why do you think it is in place? It is for peoples safety, I think more for the safety of motorists than pedestrians. The girl had to run to avoid traffic. Imagine somebody sprinting across the M50, trips and falls, cars swerve and brake, huge pile-up. They will turn a blind eye in most cases, since in most cases people are crossing in between stationary traffic in town etc. I don't know why the garda was even in place at the junction as she was not directing traffic and she was sending lots of kids back so she musn't have though it was ok to cross there, it seemed like it was part of her instruction while on duty there. Plus the fact I know somebody fined in that exact spot shows they do take it seriously there. I have had to brake for dual carriageway crossers before.

The poster talking of germany is correct, I was there in the morning, no cars in sight at all and everybody stood at the pedestrian crossing waiting for green.
    They hardly need a law that prohibits J-walking on motorways. It's already covered in the rules of the road. Sure, they should maybe enforce it on dual carriage ways, but it's just stupid to have it in areas with lower speed limits eg. speeds < 40. It's just an annoyance.

I saw three gardaí J-walking within 100m of a set of pedestrian lights today.