Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamezville

• 29-11-2005 6:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭

I used to love this show, Sky 1 are showing repeats at like 5am on weeknights, is there any plans for a new series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Hopefuly not gamer tv and when games attack are much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I've no interest in games but I enjoyed the show purely for it's 'car crash' value. The two presenter were just 'avin a larf' which I liked and that Sarah one was easy on the eye and no mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Yeah that's what I liked about it too.. + The GAMES GURU is such a laugh.. Bring back Gamezville :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

this show is without doubt one of the worst game programmes on tv

i give it 1 G. wtf is a G. the games guru deserves to be run over by a bus. that show is so poor on so many levels. "what do you like about this game Daz?" "gameplay is not too great but the graphics are unreal, i give it 4 G's"

it is shows like this that make games like FIFA popular

how could one forget about the smug little **** in the face off

i really hate that programme. a piss poor attempt by Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I hated Gamezville because the presenters seemed so clueless. Some of the other staff, like Simon, the blonde guy, and Sarah were alright.

Has anyone watched GameOne on TMF on Sundays? I've only seen the one episode, and it was OK. At least it was up-to-date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

i hated it at first because it took itself seriously, but the second series was fun because it started to take the p1ss out of itself & by the end the games guru was fantastic

i loved his skit on how he used a joypad using telekenesis when it was pianfully obvious that the string was visible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I agree with Madrab.... it got alot better towards the end, and the guru was pretty funny (when he started taking the piss out of himself). I say bring it back for another season, dump Jamie and Darren, and make Sarah presenter. :)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Anyone remember the gaming programme that used to be on Channel 4, in the early hours of the morning or late at night?

It had 3 women, one of which is on Bravo. I think it was called Bandits or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Thumb Bandits, byte?

I luv Gamezville innit, it's the fo shizzle.

I'm not really sure what I'm saying :(
    (Gamezville is awful, pure uncut awful)

Dominic Diamond ftw
    I miss Kevo

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ah yeah, Thumb Bandits, that was it! Thanks koneko. :)

Ah the good ol days of Dominic and TheGamesmaster! Those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

kevo > gamezville

RAPID!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

byte wrote:
    Ah yeah, Thumb Bandits, that was it! Thanks koneko. :)
    No.. no.. that came later, that was the show with Ian lee in it, wasn't it?.. the show you were thinking of was called 'Bits'

Anyone rememember Games World years ago on Sky? Big Boy Barry was great, and it also featured a young David Walliams of Little Britain fame playing a creepy nerd.

Oh yes... and Madame Pixels Peep Parlor... haha... great stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Was that the one where contestants would face off against the various personas like the Big Boy Barry you mentioned? I seem to vaguely recall it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yep. That's right.

It was on 5 days a week and Monday, Wednesday and Friday were face off challenges presented by Bob Mills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Ah I remember that show from my youth. Big Boy Barry was the review section of the week was it not?

On the topic of old gaming shows, does anyone remember the Super Mario show they had on TCC? Or even the one presented by Violet Berlin on TCC? I vaugly remember Flimbo's Quest being one of the challenges so it is going back a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i remember the old super mario show it was great; if you have sky digital - not sure about other tv companies - try looking at tiny pop, they show mario and the old sonic cartoons sometimes.

dvd's

i intend buying these soon enough once i clear this months credit card bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Mossy Monk wrote:

i give it 1 G. wtf is a G. the games guru deserves to be run over by a bus. that show is so poor on so many levels. "what do you like about this game Daz?" "gameplay is not too great but the graphics are unreal, i give it 4 G's"

LOL!!
    Brilliant review Mossy :D

Agreed with Pigman II too... that Sarah one was good eye candy for a games programme.
    Actually, didnt "Jet" from Gladiators do a kind of "Games Guru" character for some programme? Was it GamesMaster?
    Have a vague memory of her in a tight black catsuit giving gaming tips... please tell me that was actually in a show before I get worried...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Cremo wrote:
    i remember the old super mario show it was great; if you have sky digital - not sure about other tv companies - try looking at tiny pop, they show mario and the old sonic cartoons sometimes.

I remember the cartoons but I remeber an actual show where two lads dressed up as Mario and Luigi and 2 contestants raced through various levels from Super Mario Bros.

I'm pretty sure it actually existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

whiskeyman wrote:
    Actually, didnt "Jet" from Gladiators do a kind of "Games Guru" character for some programme? Was it GamesMaster?
    Have a vague memory of her in a tight black catsuit giving gaming tips... please tell me that was actually in a show before I get worried...
    I think that may have been Games World too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Ah Diane Youdale.... where is she now? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Gamezville was terrible. A lot of the show was takes up by 2 idiots playin tekken pr sumtin so they can get a certificate that means nothing and some dude in a cloak who gives out cheats in a creepy voice. the shows that was on bravo(dont know if its still on) was good but it was always showin re-runs. I think it was gamer.tv.

yea bits was great

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0270110/

some savage girls presenting it, especially bouff,
    bts_retro.jpg
    188bouff.jpg
    196big.jpg
    mmmm must find that "movie" she was in

madrab wrote:
    especially bouff,

She ain't fit. The fact that you've even graciously supplied a pix of her stroking my favourite comp of all time the C64 and I'm STILL not aroused only goes to confirm it.

I'd much sooner take the yank with the YeahYeahYeahs haircut.

grrr not liking bouff is a capital offence where i come from

have at you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

madrab wrote:
    grrr not liking bouff is a capital offence where i come from

have at you!!
    Not a patch on The GamesMistress tbh.
    Anyone got pictures of her, please post...

possibly, she has doen a few racey movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

Gamezville is total and utter ****e, those two fools Daz and Daren don't know their arse from their elbow when it comes to games, yer man Simon was the only one who seemed to know his stuff.

Gamesworld on sky one years ago was class it had like mystical house gamers that contestants would play at the end of the show was pure class.

Also Head to Head on the Chinldrens Chanell with V Berlin wasn't too bad still miles better than gamezville

what was the name of the show on itv years ago that used the rise of the robots fmv as it opening credits it also had violet berlin (would you??) & a games guru style mad man in the attick giving out cheats

just imdb'ed it

it was bad influence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

There was also one that was on late night called "cybernet" as far as i can remember.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Mossy Monk wrote:
    this show is without doubt one of the worst game programmes on tv..........

I couldn't agree more,
    total heap of ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I ****ing loved it.

"To get in touch with us just email da boyz@gamezville.tv...

Dat's... da boyz... at Gamezville... dot TV"

Genius. I loved it when they'd get some little 10 year old in and would hammer them in whatever game they were playing.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Lodgepole wrote:
    I ****ing loved it.

"To get in touch with us just email da boyz@gamezville.tv...

Genius. I loved it when they'd get some little 10 year old in and would hammer them in whatever game they were playing.

Yes thats cause it was "excellent" for 10 year olds and that was it, even at that it was a push. Of course most gamers are in their late teens and early twenties but lets not worry about having a program for them.

Sorry I get a mailer deamon from that domain,
    looks like they did'ent pay their domain bill :D

gotta love kicking a 10 year old at video games, makes you feel like a real man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Was GamesWorld the show where if a player lost a game, they'd have to to jump into this Aztec pit yoke?

think so

but long live dominic diamond, diane youdaly (i love you jet) & patrick moore

here you go whiskeyman, its the best i could find

jetwb01.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

Mossy Monk wrote:

Jeez , I thought they were only having a laugh , it was worth watching for the Guru alone but obviouly not for the serious gamers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

I thought it went downhill (not that it could go much further downhill) when they gave the Games Guru a more important role in the show.
    I liked when they had that Matt guy at the retro table (the only good part of the show), but then they just gave it to the Guru and it all went to hell.

Also, did they fire (blonde) Simon? I don't remember seeing him after season 1, which was a pity because he was the best one on it.

It was pretty crap, though. But I still watched it. I'm not entirely sure why..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 OptimusMime

Just thought I'd drag this up to express how **** GV was!

'twas a sub-par rip-off of GamesMaster with none of the irony and none of Patrick Moore's ninja-esque coolness.

One thing I thought was HIGH-larious was at the start of the second series, da BOYZ had blingin new watches that were larger than their ****ing faces! Totally blended in with the gangsta-bling-tastic front they tried in vain to portray.

Another unintentional laugh was how intimidated that skinny, nerdy, white guy, Stu or Simon or whatever always seemed to be when they would talk over him, even though the guy was the ONLY one who actually had anything interesting or clever to say about games.

And there were other almost racial-tastic moments involving white kidz being ridiculed mercilessly while the black kids were greeted with high-fives and laughs. Ah... good clean fun anyway!