Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

impressive

• 28-11-2005 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭

basically i want ppl's opinions on this cos im wonderin am i good or is this just common.

basically my story is started playing on pacific poker about 6 months ago.dont play on net all that much
    i got a free $10 and turned this into $150 playing all tournaments, altought iv lost 50 in last few days thnks to an incredible run of bad beats. so atm my accounts$100, but i was wonderin wheter this is any good r jus average.

for more info
    i started playin $2.20 20 man tournaments and worked my way up to $5.50 10 mans and now $11 10 mans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ur doing just fine.

Remember this, as Culchie reminded me:

You don't go broke because you lose. We all lose. You go broke because of the limits you play.

Play inside your comfort zone and keep winning! Don't go down the sliding scale of playing bigger to recoup what you have already lost. Have a read of my post below on Rory's thread for all the advice and experience that I can muster after 2 years of this craziness!

gl, d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Doing well initially in online poker like this is actaully considered the norm for online players. Now there is an element of the anthropic principle there, as people who become regular online poker players are the ones who didn't get their asses handed to them when they 1st started. I'd advise disabusing yourself of the conecpt of "good" as a player, it's entirely relative to the whole world of other players - X is better than most of the players who play $50 sit n goes but is worse than most of the players who play $200 sit n goes - is he good or not?

Doc is right - it's all about limits. Gus Hansen went broke this year, is he bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

wow, this is turning into a love-in fest but that little post is excellent. This is probably the best amateur poker forum around. I wish this kind of stuff was around when i started (losing money) two years ago.
    excellent point hotspur, 'good' really is relevant to the limits you play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I did the same with my Pacific Poker account, I think it's at 300 right now. I had it a good bit higher but blew alot drunk one night. They've since closed my account because they think I'm a bot, I have to send them a copy of my driver's license or something which I haven't gotten around to. Great site for sit and go's though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Daithio wrote:
    They've since closed my account because they think I'm a bot, I have to send them a copy of my driver's license or something which I haven't gotten around to.
    A bot that's capable of setting up their own account! From what i've seen in online poker rooms I didn't think such intelligence existed in humans never mind bots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

:cool: You're doing great Ciaran.....Doc and the lads have given you great advise..Keep enjoying it..
    Below is an extract from a Cardplayer article about 'Freddy' Deeb...
    "

If he didn’t take chances, Freddy never would have got rolling in poker. Flashback, to 1987: Freddy gets into a big argument with his ex-wife. Now, he has a suitcase packed and a hotel booked for a week. A bit on tilt, he heads to a casino after winning $8,000 in a no-limit hold’em game. That was big money in 1987. “I went crazy and blew it all,” he said. Now, in an ultimate state of limbo, he’s at the bar having a beer. A friend asks him if he knows that seven-card stud and hold’em has just been legalized in Los Angeles, and the games are full of fish. “He told me I should go to L.A. with him,” Deeb said, “and I told him I couldn’t, because I was broke.” His friend told him not to worry about the money, and since Freddy was already packed and had nothing better to do, he got his suitcase and checked out of his hotel, and within minutes they were on their way to the City of Angels.

To this day, the California poker action that Deeb waltzed into during the late 1980s remains unprecedented. “I’m telling you, that boom was the biggest boom poker has ever seen,” he exclaimed. “It made today’s boom look like nothing.” When Freddy and friend walked into The Bicycle Club (now The Bicycle Casino), the action was frantic, with nearly a hundred games going, everything from $10-$20 hold’em to stratospheric $200-$400 mixed games. “There were about 25 people on each list,” he said. “That is how crazy it was, and nobody knew what the hell hold’em was. They couldn’t even spell it.”

Freddy Deeb in the midst of tournament action, and with World Poker Tour host Courtney Friel
    With a little loan from his buddy, Freddy had 60 bucks, not a dime more. It was 1 p.m. He sat down in a $3-$6 game and won $400 in an hour and a half. He quit, hoping to perhaps play $10-$20 or $15-$30. As he listed himself for these games, a threehanded $20-$40 game opened up right next to the board. He watched the game for a while. “They were playing so bad, I had to take a shot,” he declared. “The minimum buy-in was $200. I played for about two hours and won about $4,400.” His $60 was now up to about $5,000. He cashed out and then saw a $100-$200 hold’em game. “They were playing horribly,” he said. “The buy-in was $2,000. I didn’t even play for an hour and I was up $24,000. That was big money, money that I never had before.”

He cashed out again and then found himself surveying the big games. “That is my style,” he stated. “When I am winning, I don’t give up.” He found a $200-$400 mixed game, in which they were spreading stud, lowball and hold’em, and he took a seat. “I had never played lowball before in my life,” he laughed. “The buy-in was $5,000. I played for six hours and eventually they kicked it up to $300-$600. By 5 o’clock in the morning, my bankroll was up to $96,000. I ran $60 up to almost $100,000, and since then, I have never looked back.”
    ":cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Spiritus

The lessons for Ciaran are obviously:

- Get married.

- Get divorced.

- Get your gamble on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Spiritus wrote:
    The lessons for Ciaran are obviously:

- Get married.

- Get divorced.

- Get your gamble on.

Speaking from experience here, I totally agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I think it's common to do well initially - you have the necessary focus at the start. The challenge is to maintain that focus and continue pulling in cash (as opposed to see-sawing).

I'm struggling with cash games on PPP at the mo. I turned 10 euros into 150 is a short period of time but I'm back down to 60/70 now. I'm convinced the problem is that I don't have the time nor the patience to play cash games. I may go back to STTs, cash games are too much like work for me.