Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai experience...

• 27-11-2005 2:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭

OK im gonna make this a quickie...

Saw a girl jump infront of numerous cars on a main road on my way home tonight.
    So I ring the Gardai and explain, they send a squad car out (after me keeping a good distance behind her for about 20 mins)
    I explain the situation and one Garda accuses me of "calling them out for this bull****, throw her in a cab and stop wasting out time"

OK first of all, I would not call an attempted suicide a 'waste of time',
    Secondly, personally I coudnt have cared less if she got mashed against a wall, no skin off my teeth. But heaven forbid some innocent car driver got locked up for 'manslaughter'...

Seriously, what is the story with Gardai these days. Cant be bothered complaining officially as we all know how much good that will do :rolleyes:

</End rant>

PS. Yes got the Gardas badge number, car no, car reg etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

You got an asshole.

Aside from that do you mean to imply that the Gardai as a whole are a shower of bastards? If so thats a stupid comment to make.

EDIT: Hmm, sorry, that came across as more hostile than I intended. I only wonder at what you hope to achieve here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 oblian

and yet where the hell would we be without them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

No, not all Gardai are 4ssholes, I have had some very good experience with Gardai, but sometimes I wonder are they picked at Random from the 'Ignorant bag'

I am not hoping to achienve anything, just wondering if any people had similar experiences with 'Trained professionals' having such disregard for human life, hence the </end rant> statment :)

I wonder would they have considered it such 'bull****' if they had to scrape that girl off a wall? Would they have told the driver of the car that he was wasting their time for phoning them telling them what had happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

JohnCleary wrote:
    Cant be bothered complaining officially as we all know how much good that will do :rolleyes:

PS. Yes got the Gardas badge number, car no, car reg etc...

Get your complaint in and make sure you follow it up. You could also inform one of you local counselors, that might help to get some action being taken.

What's the point coming on here moaning about them if your not prepared to get off your arse and do something about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

Your local politician is the best route.

Davey - While I appreciate what your saying, I would hate to embarass the girl in question, I know her and she just (obviously) had a rough night on the drink obviously.

What you say was running through my mind, thinking 'I cant wait to tell every local news-paper and radio station' ....

Problem is I was half jarred myself, so you know what the response would be :rolleyes:

However, I was cautious to be on private property when confronting the Gardai in question, so they couldnt arrest me for being drunk in public. Had I been on public property I reckon I would have been arrested because I gave them a mouthful. Their response was roll up the window and drive off because they knew what they said was completely and utterly immoral, unethical and wrong.

How could someone justify a person jumping infront of a car 'bull****' and 'a waste of time' ... It boggles my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

That's fair enough. Once you've had a few the drinks you won't get very far with a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Smart move getting all the details.
    the gaurds are just human like the rest of us - it's not like everyone of us does our job 100% perfectly 100% of the time. so what we all need is some thign to keep us in check - whether it is a supervisor or customer complaints etc.

So basically if you lodge a complaint with them and then other lodge complaints against the garda hen eventually it will get noticed and something will get done.

If only people complained then we'd get the proper customer service from the guards. That's the way it works Expecting them to be some sort of super civil servants otherwise is day dreaming.

Having said that I did witness a few months back a young silry garda deal with some people in a station about their complaint and nobody couldn't have expected more helpful treatment.

That's fair enough. Once you've had a few the drinks you won't get very far with a complaint.

Aye, im thinking of goign into the Gardai station tomorrow and apologise for 'wasting their time' ...

Then when they accept my apology im going to ask them why they condiser an attempted suicide a waste of time. They may not be so smart when they get bluffed infront of a reception full of people. He was well able to be a b0llox when he had 3 Gardai behind him... Ho Ho Ho

When I say 'they', I mean the Garda in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

would an option not have been to direct the girl home yourself, or get one of her friends of realtives rather then the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

You can't be bothered complaining through the correct channels, but are happy to come on here and moan!

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

John, go and complain, we had to following a road accident 6 years ago, my ma was involved in a a pileup and the gardai were called when the sergeant that came out started saying just move the cars this is all f'in rubbish you could see the garda with him was mortified. he was an ass, the driver of the car in front was a garda himself and insisted we call the gardai, as did the woman who caused the accident behind us, as for our car, he was told to f off himself when he told us to get it moved, the back bumper had been pushed in through the back wheels, you couldn't move it, we went and complained the next day, and got an appology from sergeant cranky bastard and a very nice call from a super intendendant assuring us this wouldn't happen again and that the garda in question would be disciplined.

(the eejit even went as far as making smart arse comments about women drivers to the girl that caused the crash, not the best course of action at the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I've never had much probs with the Guards as far as I can remember, but I know people who are constantly complaining about their ignorance and stubborness. Actually when skateboarding was 'in' I remember the Guards gave a lot of hassle, many making their job out to be a vendetta against all baggy-trousers.
    But then again you had the "I didn't see anything ;) " Guards aswell.
    Does a Guards county of origin have anything to do with this attitude? I mean would a country guard in Dublin react more/ less seriously to an incident?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I think people would report Gardai if there wasn't an under-lieing fear that your card would be marked from then on. It is useless to point out the only a minority of Gardai would abuse their power in that way because it seems you are already dealing with one of the minority.

There seem to be regularly threads regularly questioning the actions of the Gardai on boards, it would make you wonder just how big this minority really is?

Lump wrote:
    You can't be bothered complaining through the correct channels, but are happy to come on here and moan!

John

Lump - Yeah im doing the exact same thing 99.99% of boards.ie users do ... figures! :rolleyes:

would an option not have been to direct the girl home yourself, or get one of her friends of realtives rather then the guards

1) I flagged down a taxi - she was having none of it

2) I didnt want to interfere any more. Heaven forbid she could have accused me of sexual assault/assault/rape etc... You know how it is.. the girl always looks like the innocent party

3) There was NO one around, only cars flying by!

Hagar wrote:
    I think people would report Gardai if there wasn't an under-lieing fear that your card would be marked from then on

This constantly runs through my mind - thank you for pointing it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Did she actually get hit or were cars milling around the place trying to avoid her?

Was she gone by the time the Gardaí came? Whatever the circumstances, no need for them to go off the hook.

I must say my experience with Gardaí have generally been good. I was caught drinking when I was 15 or so, but the Garda knew I was shítting myself. Even though they had to pick up the bottles we had flung over a wall and onto a driveway where they smashed, they were nearly laughing about it and certainly alleviated some of our worries.

Even the numerous times I ran into them when I skateboarded, it was always "I'm sorry lads, I have to move you on because of insurance" etc.. I never experienced any of the tales of gardaí confiscating skateboards or whatever.