Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some questions that require answers.

• 24-11-2005 4:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭

Poker Content

1)You are in the BB in a large buy-in NL tournament with 2 tables left, 6 players on each table, final table forms at 9 players. You have 100k chips, blinds 2k/4k.

All players are of a decent standard. Average stack is 80k.
    UTG raises to 10k and has 40k remaining. A middle position player pushes for 60k, the button who is a very loose player and has been lucky several times pushes for 185k. Before you can act the UTG player announces he is all-in for 40k.

Through the magic of the X-Ray specs that you have, you can see each of the Villains hole cards.
    UTG has red AA, MP player has 5h6h, Button has JsTs. You have black KK, think about it for 10 seconds and then decide to call/fold. No calculators!

2) What is your main site for playing most of your online poker? What is the single biggest reason that you choose this site?

3) What are your goals for poker in 2006?

4) Suppose a player verbally announces "raise" but not a specific amount in a NL cash game, stacks up 5BB worth of chips, and hands it down onto the middle of the felt without letting go. The chips are firmly rested onto the felt by the player's hands still holds on in the same position as if he were about to shuffle his chips. A second player then announces raise. Can the first player still take back chips and make it a min raise?

5) When playing online poker at home do you talk to the monitor re: what's happening on screen?

6) If you had to play headsup against a poker bot designed by a major poker site, what game and what structure would be the easiest to win at? I.e. limit/PL/NL, Omaha/Hold'em/Stud/etc.

Non-Poker Content

1) There is a plane (Boeing 777, prop plane, whatever) on a moving, conveyor-type runway. The runway moves in the opposite direction of the plane at the exact same speed as the plane's wheels. There is no wind. Can the plane take off?

2) I originally posted this on After Hours a few months ago. It's still a valid question and one that requires alot of reasoned thought. All information necessary is contained.

The question: How many 5 year-olds could you take on at once?

The specifics:

- You are in an enclosed area, roughly the size of a basketball court. There are no foreign objects.
    - You are not allowed to touch a wall.

- When you are knocked unconscious, you lose. When they are all knocked unconscious, they lose. Once a kid is knocked unconscious, that kid is "out."
    - I (or someone else intent on seeing to it you fail) get to choose the kids from a pool that is twice the size of your magic number. The pool will be 50/50 in terms of gender and will have no discernable abnormalities in terms of demographics, other than they are all healthy youngsters.

- The kids receive one day of training from hand-to-hand combat experts who will train them specifically to team up to take down one adult. You will receive one hour of "counter-tactics" training.
    - There is no protective padding for any combatant other than the standard-issue cup to protect your goolies a little bit.

* The kids are motivated enough to not get scared, regardless of the bloodshed. Even the very last one will give it his/her best to take you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

atari jaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Too many big words for you Oscar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Ah I've figured you out you sick bastard. I had the answers to the others filled out but they were just padding to make you seem normal. In actual fact all you care about is the answer to this question....

2) The question: How many 5 year-olds could you take on at once?

and me too. It was my favourite thread possibly of all time on boards.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=219120

For the record, all the years of smoking and boozing have taken its toll. Also, have you seen some of the 5 year olds these days? Fueled up on on junk food some of them look like line backers. I might have trouble getting past the 10 marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

1. Fold. What UTG will probably win (81/19 to beat you), does not compensate for what you can take off the big stack.

2. VC Poker. At microlimits it's the easiest to make money on.

3. To have fun, and win one big (>5K) prize.

4. Yes he can. Action had not finished.

5. All the time. I even talk to the cat about some hands.

6. Dunno. No limit deffo. Probably Omaha, cos that's all just luck anyway.

1. Plane is on a treadmill, can't take off, there is no creation of differing pressure to enable the eings to produce lift.

2. I'd take 40 or so, maybe more. The number is not that critical, there are only so many who can present a threat at any one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

lafortezza wrote:

1) There is a plane (Boeing 777, prop plane, whatever) on a moving, conveyor-type runway. The runway moves in the opposite direction of the plane at the exact same speed as the plane's wheels. There is no wind. Can the plane take off?

no, the plane is effectively static, like a car on a dyno and there is therefore no air movement over the wings to generate lift.

EDIT: above reply hadn't been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

1)
    Fold. I don't think i've enough chips to call.

2) Pokerstars. Reasons: Software, structure of tournaments, buy-in levels of tournaments. Not as many fish as other places but right balance for cash games imo.

3) What are your goals for poker in 2006?
    1) Win a lot of money. More than 2005 if possible.
    2) Win a few tournaments.
    3) Play in a BIG tournament.

4)Can the first player still take back chips and make it a min raise?
    I dunno. Ask the tourney director.

5) When playing online poker at home do you talk to the monitor re: what's happening on screen?
    Only when someone sucks out on me or I want to intimidate them into calling ;)

6) If you had to play headsup against a poker bot designed by a major poker site, what game and what structure would be the easiest to win at? I.e. limit/PL/NL, Omaha/Hold'em/Stud/etc.
    PL Omaha would probably the hardest to program a decent bot but PL Holdem would probably be my choice because it's the game I think i'm best at.

Non-Poker Content
    Off-topic :p
    Probably no and 3 or 4 would be my answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Imposter wrote:
    3 or 4 would be my answers
    You could only beat up 3 or 4 five year olds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Poker Content.
    1) I haven't done the math but I think it's got to be a call.

2) Party Poker. The higher buy in SnGs are the softest on the net. They also have a largest number of players which makes finding good cash tables easy once you've built up a decent buddy list.

3) Make 6 figures from online poker. Win a large live multi.

4) I think the proper ruling is once the chips are over the line that is the amount of the raise, but its probably a rule that is not strictly enforced in all casinos.

5) I shout outloud but not to my monitor. That's would make me insane.

6) Limit Omaha Hi/Lo. It's likely to be a bots weakest game and I love split games.

Non Poker Content:

1) lol! NO!

2) None. I'm a pacifist. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

lafortezza wrote:
    You could only beat up 3 or 4 five year olds?
    Yes. They've got super advanced training remember. :)
    Plus if you had 40 (for example), even though only 4 or 5 could hit you at any one time, how the hell can you knock them out? Assuming the others all pile in tight you can't throw them out of your way and/or move much/at all. With a smaller number you can do that. Once you get to 6 or more you lose a lot of mobility if they use their training correctly. Plus i'm not the tallest so my hands wouldn't be as free as a taller person who could keep their hands up above the midget's reach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

1) Think I would lay it down, not sure the amount you could increase your stack by is worth the risk involved.
    2) Stars - seems to be less suckouts
    3) Play more live tournies, and win more money then 2004
    4) I think it can be left at a minimum raise
    5) Occassionally but not all the time

Non poker content

1) Dont think so
    2) Have not got a clue

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Poker Content.
    1) Fold....

2) Paddypower is my "home" site,when it started I just tried it and got used to playing on it.I love the shorthanded STTs,I grind away on the PP shorthanded STTs as David O'Leary would say "its my bred and butter".Not a big fan of the MTTs on PP.I also play a bit on Pokerstars,the last few weeks I have been play a table on PP and Pokerstars I think its essayer double tabling on two different sites.

3)To play alot more bigger buy in events.

4) No...he has made his bed now the cnut can lye in it and take his hand out of the Cooke jar.

5) Yes sometimes...

6) NL Hold'em,just because its my best game.

Non Poker Content:

1) Not a chance...(lafortezza,I am starting to worry about you)

2) About 30 ...(lafortezza,I am really fcuking worried about you now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

Poker content:

1. Call

2. 'All in poker' has overthrown ppp for the time being at least. the 'rounders' game on all-in is brilliant.

3. To block as many players people from winning tournaments as possible. I might not win myself but i'll make sure you dont. Also to win a poker trophy of any kind even if its the 'blocker champion '06 award'.

4. I'd let someone else decide whats best as usual.

5. Rarely even change my expression at the stuff ive seen playing online.

6. Holdem as its the only game i know. At the moment im feeling every other game bar omaha is ridiculous. When i go into a casino and see players playing that game where you hold about 15 cards i feel like saying "ah would yis fcuk off lads".

Non Poker Content:

1. A Harrier

2. When i came too i couldnt remember just how many i managed to dispatch but i presumed by the size of my swollen hands i played a blinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

1) Fold.

2) Don’t really have a main sight as I flit around. But my favourite site is Bugsys because of the tournament structure. My least favourite is the Prima Network. Too many Scandies.

3) To play in a major US tourney and cash. I’m aiming for WPT opener at the Mirage which I hope is in May.

4) No.

5) Of course I don’t talk to the monitor that would be silly. I talk top the poker gods.

6) Limit hold ‘em – As my experience against AI poker software is that an all in prompts an aggressive response on DD Tournament Poker for example. Go all in with AA and you will get four or five callers.. One will always suck out on you. Therefore Limit allows you to get away from the hand.

NP 1) Yes.

NP 2) 4 [My magic number was 2]

I’ve answered this without looking at anyone else’s answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

1. A Harrier

Good work.

I'd reckon i could take 150 5 year olds. Probably knock 1 out with one 10% pwoered punch to the kisser. Is there girls to beat up as well or just guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

1. Fold i dont think it would be worth the risk. Save your chips and wait for a better opportunity.

2. Just taking a break from online poker, but pokerstars was my site of choice.

3. To keep on improving my nl hold em game and take part in at least one 50e plus buy in tourney. Oh and get poker player of the year in dit poker soc :rolleyes:

4. No idea

5. I more abused the monitor then talked to it. But we have made up now. :)

6. Hmm well i know it wouldnt be snap( and not only because its not a poker game) would have to be nl hold em just cause its my only competent game)

Non poker
    Harrier would have difficultys i think as it would be going backwards as its taking off? but not too sure about that. Any other plane no.

2. Having thought long and hard about this i have a few questions. Do you start at the opposite end of the court to the little devils? Are there fat kids and skinny kids? Do the girls have pig tails which you could pull?

If the answer to all of the above is yes then i would say about thirty or so. My tactics would be to run as hard as possible at them hopefully breeching there line of defence. Pick up a girl by her pigtails and start rotating 360 degrees as fast as i could having her legs smashing into the other kids faces.
    (I hope the men in white coats dont come to take me away for this)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tourneque

1) Fold. (Unless I can use my specs to see what the board will bring)

2) Betfair right now. Prefer it over 'stars for cash games.

3) Improve my NL cash game and eventually move up to $1/$2

4) Depends on the cardroom but looks like angle shooting and for that reason I'd say no.

5) I didn't think so but apparently so. My girlfriend usually gets a bit miffed when I spurt out 'No Club' in the middle of a conversation.

6) No Limit Omaha

NP
    1) No. Planes do not fly because the wheels are moving.

2) Depends how many Weetabix I've had.

This question of the plane is vexing me. Surely it is relative to the air and not the ground. And for the plane to be moving forward at all [irrespective of the conveyor belt] it's engines have to be on. And if it's engines are on then they are moving air. But is it enough to create lift???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

a. fold
    b. ppp at the mo used to play on VC the ol man kept loggin in and burning the bankroll. so moved house and let him keep that, couple of fatheads on tribeca....
    c. clear the credit card
    d. i dunno
    e. kinda use the monitor as a long distance can on a piece of string askin yanks " how can they call with that"
    f. NL holdem. although some omaha high low might throw him of if we introduce props....

1. no fly

2.zero cheatin feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

All the questions don't really count except the last one...... which strangely enough happened to me. Walking through Ballymun Primary School (as you do) I was set upon by a class of five year olds smoking joints. I managed to take 32 of them before the guards took me down. You see the trick is to aim for the head with a good solid punch/kick will snap their little 5 year old neck and they fall like a sack of $hit. Now they weren't super trained or anything but they knew how to fight, being born in the GHETTO and that.... Still though, they weren't that fit, probably from the years of drink and drugs...

So my answer is 32

Fathead... Your picture... Is that when they heard Gary Glitter was trying to board a plane to Thailand?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Bozzer

The plane can take off in your example.
    The planes velocity doesn't equal it's wheel velocity.

Bozzer wrote:
    The plane can take off in your example.
    The planes velocity doesn't equal it's wheel velocity.

Not even when its on the groud? The plane's momentum is zero. If it takes off will it suddenly go from a traveling at a ground speed of 0 miles per hour to an air sepeed of 100nph in 0 seconds? Just curious.

The speed of the wheels don't matter here.
    The planes thrust is created by the propellers/engines. This
    will move the plane forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

The plane won't take off. The plane if effectively motionless thus the nesseccary lift couldn't be created as it is at a standstill.

The thrust from the engines are there to generate forward momentum to enable the plane to travel at enough speed to go airbourne. The threadmill has equalised this force making it unable to take off. All flights are cancelled.

The plane won't take off. The plane if effectively motionless thus the nesseccary lift couldn't be created as it is at a standstill.

The thrust from the engines are there to generate forward momentum to enable the plane to travel at enough speed to go airbourne. The threadmill has equalised this force making it unable to take off. All flights are cancelled.

You're assuming the plane is motionless.
    The treadmill hasn't equalised the thrust of the engines. If the treadmill
    isn't frictionless then friction will oppose the motion of the plane but not
    enough to overcome the thrust of the engines.

Bozzer wrote:
    You're assuming the plane is motionless.
    The treadmill hasn't equalised the thrust of the engines. If the treadmill
    isn't frictionless then friction will oppose the motion of the plane but not
    enough to overcome the thrust of the engines.

If the wheels are on the treadmill and the wheels and the treadmill are moving at the same speed in oposite directions then the plane IS motionless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Poker : Dunno, Dunno, Dunno, Dunno, Dunno.
    Plane : Dunno - Don't Care

Kids : My kid's 17 months old. He starts training NOW ... just in case he ever meets any of you sick bastards (except Nicky, 'cos he's a pacifist). In 3 and a half years, I'll be asking him ..."How many poker players can you take on at once". Tickets go on sale in June 2009 from Ticketmaster. :)

NickyOD wrote:
    If the wheels are on the treadmill and the wheels and the treadmill are moving at the same speed in oposite directions then the place IS motionless.

I have assumed we are talking about the tangential speed of the wheels (the speed at the wheels edge).
    If the speed of the conveyor equals the speed at the edge of the wheels,then the plane can move forward w.r.t the air and it can therefore take off.

Imagine the plane sitting still on the conveyor and suddenly the engines thrust it forward. The speed of the wheels will increase and the speed of the conveyor will equal this new speed(as stated in problem), but the plane will be moving forward! The wheel speed and conveyor speed will keep accelerating until the plane can eventually take off.

However, if we are talking about the speed of the wheels at it's centre then the plane will be unable to take off as the speed at the wheel's centre = speed of plane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

plane wont take off without thrust,

that kid question is fookin gas... how many 5 year olds? hmmm, i duno divide ur own weight by the avg 5 year olds weight. and multiple it by ur own weight or sum bolx like that cos im sure there tactics are to just mosh u. lets have an answer cos i spent HOURS attempting to comprise a valid explanation haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Edser

1) Fold

2) Paddypower, no reason

3) To do a bit better in tournies :mad:

4) No

5) Yes

6) No idea

1) Yes, Engines generate thrust with no relation to speed of wheels, which probably will rotate twice as fast as normal?

2) How many could you fit on a basket ball court? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I think the kids could force you back to one of the walls, which means you lose according to the rules. This would be a lot easier for them than actually incapacitating you.

They do this in Japan (not joking) at Sumo academies. As far as I know they usually use about 18-20 9 or 10 year old boys trying to either topple or force out of the ring a 30-stone wrestler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

On the airplane issue, If planes could take off this way, than every aircraft carrier would use this principle to obtain near VTOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

1) Fold. I would have called without the specs

2) Paddy. Paradise turned down my Job application on the grounds of my Quote 'overly aggressive and almost violent' end quote phone manner. Poker Stars cost too much to buy in. Also I bet on the footy.

3) Win a few more small tourneys, maybe set up my own, then try a biggun.

4) Both have broke etiquette. a) Intention not clear from first player (Strin bet), b) second player out of turn. First raise is min. Second raise is whatever he says. Both get a verbal warning and a shlap.

5) I would be worried if I didn't.

6) PL Holdem

---

1) Lift is genrated by resistance on the airofoil design of the wings. When the plane is stationary in relation to the earth, there is no resistance, and therefore no lift.

2) About 150 +. Using a similar Kick and move combination but slightly more complex. (I have practised in the mirror). Kick Punch Move, Kick Punch Move, Headbutt Kick, Elbow Headbutt Move Kick Punch Punch. I have calculated that after this combination there will be a gap of 10 seconds. I would pick up an already unconscious opponent, place in the Boston Crab position, and as the second wave approaches apply pressure until the *SNAP*. It will be like swatting flies after that, with the spirit being broken and all.

I already replied but its gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

Wot about knocking one kid out....Picking him up by the ankles and spinning...Spin spin spin..

Or ye could hold it by a wrist and ankle...But spin..Yeah all about the spinning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Wot about knocking one kid out....Picking him up by the ankles and spinning...Spin spin spin..

Or ye could hold it by a wrist and ankle...But spin..Yeah all about the spinning...

I like it! I like it alot. I've updated my initial combination.

1st Punch grab spin

2nd Spin Spin throw

3rd Kick punch kick punch

4th Headbutt Elbow Grab Gouge Knee Spin Spin Throw

The last one is the dogs. Pity the poor kid though...

EDIT: I practiced in the mirror with my lifesize (hohoho) Green Giant. The final Knee is surplus to requirements...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Can't believe I'm getting involved in this thread, but I dont like the spinning idea, as it would be far two tiring. Realistically, the only chance the kids have of winning are to put you on the ground and stomp the hell out of your head. Once you get seriously fatigued (which will happen quickly enough when you're swinging around a 25K weight), enough will storm around you to put you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Did no-one think of bringing a stick with a nail in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Plane Q: Huge physicy type 13 page thread on it here: http://forum.physorg.com/index.php?showtopic=2417&st=0
    But to summerise
    the wheels and the jets have zero relation to one another.

your assuming the jets are actually driving the wheels, but the wheels do nothing but freewheel.

no matter how fast the conveyor tries to spin the wheels backwards, the jets push against the air around it, and thrust forward. the wheels do nothing, thats why i tried to use the analogy of the hovercraft cos it might be easier for some people to grasp that concept, that the wheels are only there to try and offer as little friction as possible.

the question DOES NOT STATE THAT THE PLANE IS STANDING STILL. it simply states that the conveyor moves at a speed equal to the opposite of the planes forward movement THAT IS ALL. hell the conveyor can move at 10 times the speed of the planes forward movement, and as long as the wheels dont fall off, the plane will always take off.

of course if the plane was STATIONARY it wont get lift, but the question doesnt say this..

and the candle so to speak will only blow out if the net speed of the plane goes over a certain threshold where the wick can no longer support the flame, and it blows out. so to answer your question, as long as the plane is moving forward (which it ALWAYS WILL, when PROPELLED FORWARD by somehting OTHER THAN THE WHEELS) it WILL blow out the candle, and it WILL take off.
    Others:
    1: Fold.
    2: Cant remember, VC/Pstars
    3: Get back playing on some sort of regular basis
    4: ??? No
    5: All the time
    6: Some sort of Holdem

1 As above.
    2: As devey said, the original was one of the funniest threads ever on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Poker content:

1)after 10 seconds i said fold.
    after working it out i said fold.
    from what i worked out you're getting 5.2-1 to win for pot odds of 2.1-1

2)ladbrokes/pokerstars. no idea why, play more live.

3)make as many correct decisions as possible, and make as much money as possible

4)i would say you can take some back, but the dealer would prob have to decide.

5)i dont like to make a "phil hellmuth" scene in live poker, but online i do it all the time

6)Limit Omaha

Non-Poker Content:

1)No?

2)One. They'd outlast me by fitness levels. Plus i'd probably freak out beating the **** out of 5 yr olds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

I really think any more then 15 5 yr olds would be able to jump on top of you and with one of the little bastards on each arm and one on each leg you would be pretty immobilised. I think crititical mass for em to do this would be about 15. Any less and i think a lot of fast moving around could keep only a few of em around you at any one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Saw a similar thread on 2+2 about the 5 year olds, loved it, but the best idea for handling them has got to be, running up to one of them, knock him out, pick him up by the legs and use him as a club, you could then embark on batting practice with as many 5 year olds as you like..... :D:D:D