Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much of a bogger are you?

• 22-11-2005 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭

How much of a bogger are you?

Test: http://www.netsoc.ucd.ie/~rory/quiz/bogger/bogger_test.html
    You're civilised! Congratulations, you are a normal human being. You have the ability to carry out involved conversations and have the mental capacity to imagine complex and abstract ideas. You probably don't smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

http://www.netsoc.ucd.ie/~rory/quiz/bogger/city.html

wuhoo!!! and I dont live in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

Congratulations, you are a normal human being. You have the ability to carry out involved conversations and have the mental capacity to imagine complex and abstract ideas. You probably don't smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭SoBe

Victor wrote:

dont be too happy victor i got the same reply as yourself,and i live in longford :p

just goes to show how reliable it is :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

This obsession Dubliners have with Culchies has to be some kind of inferiority complex...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

This obsession Dubliners have with Culchies has to be some kind of inferiority complex...
    i concur

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Hrm, Civilised it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Hilarious!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

You're civilised!Congratulations, you are a normal human being. You have the ability to carry out involved conversations and have the mental capacity to imagine complex and abstract ideas. You probably don't smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

theres prob alot more culchies in dublin than real dubliners themselves.Nothing wrong with been a culchie even though im civilised acording to the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Same as everyone else apparently, civilized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭mayhem#

You're a bogger

You are a member of a dying breed (probably because you don't wash often). Your culture is dying out and the world you grew up in is long gone, society has moved on, isn't it time you did also? Sell the land and get a real job that doesn't involve walking cow **** through your straw roofed cottage in the middle of a two house 'town' in the back arse of the back arse of nowhere.

Quite funny seeing that:
    1. I'm not even Irish
    2. I run an ISP

E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

You probably don't smell.

The test's broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

mayhem wrote:
    Quite funny seeing that:
    1. I'm not even Irish

E.

The Republic of Cork is not officially recognised, bogger boy.:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Oh that reminds me of an old joke;

Did ya hear the one about the Dubliner with an inferiority complex?
    He thought everyone was as good as he was...

:v:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

http://www.netsoc.ucd.ie/~rory/quiz/bogger/city.html

Civilised and I'm from the coutry boy, top of the morning to you, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Civilised it seems.. Pah! But I was a little bastard when I was growing up though so Im told..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

That test was written by Syth, one of the regulars here :p
    And the questions... the result of one number theory lecture worth of brainstorming from Syth, myself and one of our friends. :) The questions were directed to give the result that one of our friends was an absolute muck savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

That test was written by Syth, one of the regulars here :p
    And the questions... the result of one number theory lecture worth of brainstorming from Syth, myself and one of our friends. :) The questions were directed to give the result that one of our friends was an absolute muck savage.
    You all need to listen in class more.

True, funnily enough I failed number theory that year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Indeed, I find 'culchies' to be far nicer people on average than 'civilised town folk' like Dubs.. and that's coming from someone born and bred in London. It's funny Dubs calling the rest of the country culchies, to me, Dubs are culchies themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I probably qualify as a culchie but the ultimate test is.....Culchies are the only people in the world who eat sandwichs out if the boot of the car at GAA matches regardless if its a Junior C match between ballybollocks and Nobber Gaels or the All-Ireland final in croke Park!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Steve_o wrote:
    I probably qualify as a culchie but the ultimate test is.....Culchies are the only people in the world who eat sandwichs out if the boot of the car at GAA matches
    Done that, lived the dream...

Civilised \o/

Rhyme wrote:
    Done that, lived the dream...

Civilised \o/

Its something non-culchies or Dubs for short can't appeaciate!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Congratulations, you are a normal human being.

WOHOO!!! (even though im a culchie??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Laguna wrote:
    ...Dubs are culchies themselves!

This is why i love dublin... 45 minutes on the bus from the centre of the city and your in the country

Not many people in dublin would consider themselves city folk, i dont think!?

Mostly we all come from the suburbs

"been misunderstood by a Dublin because of your accent?"

I come from Dublin... and this happens to me alot

conclusion... this test is exactly the kind of thing that will get me funny looks when I'm anywhere outside Dublin (in Ireland) and i tell them where I'm from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Steve_o wrote:
    Its something non-culchies or Dubs for short can't appeaciate!!!:D
    ...But i am a Dub... well suburbs

I'd love to meet the pretensious ucd nerd who designed this and hit him in the teeth with a hurley.

* Yes its all spetl wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I'm civilised, who would of thought it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Congratulations, you are a normal human being. You have the ability to carry out involved conversations and have the mental capacity to imagine complex and abstract ideas. You probably don't smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Steve_o wrote:
    ..Culchies are the only people in the world who eat sandwichs out if the boot of the car at GAA matches ...
    ... on the motorway hard shoulder.

ronoc wrote:
    I'd love to meet the pretensious ucd nerd who designed this and hit him in the teeth with a hurley.

* Yes its all spetl wrong.
    Try the 4th year computer science lab :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

Civilised, and I used to live in Naas... guess that place is still civilised, even with the fields and farms, and cattle and sheep and horses around the place... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

mayhem# wrote:
    You're a bogger

You are a member of a dying breed (probably because you don't wash often). Your culture is dying out and the world you grew up in is long gone, society has moved on, isn't it time you did also? Sell the land and get a real job that doesn't involve walking cow **** through your straw roofed cottage in the middle of a two house 'town' in the back arse of the back arse of nowhere.
    Same here.

West Sligo represent! *does Fred Durst hand movements*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

That things a loada sh1te! How in the name o' jaysus could it tell me that i'm not a bogger???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

I live in the middle of nowwhere & i came out normal!! Come on whoever did this silly & i mean very silly survey was not being anyway realistic at all. I mean the country areas in Ireland are not as backwards as ye think in Dublin!!
    The guy who thought up this survey needs to get out of Dublin fast cause he'll end up being very narrow minded!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i live in Kildare.
    if i go to Dublin i'm called a culchie.
    if i go anywhere else in the country i'm called a dub. i can't win. i'm staying at home. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The commuter belt paradox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

indeed.
    a friend of mine was in america a couple of years back and he met ron jeremy.
    to avoid an explanation of where in Kildare Leixlip is, he told ron that he was from Dublin. ron then pointed out that Leixlip is actually in Kildare. turns out he has a friend who is a professor in Maynooth college and has been in Leixlip quite a few times.
    people from Cork still insist i'm from Dublin and a porn star can tell that i'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

I made that test a good long time ago. I had forgotten about it.

It's just a bit of fun. One of my best mates is from Tipperary, he helped with a lot of it. How else am I supposed to know what a Texel is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Love

Civilised.

Definitely. According to them, I'm a culchie... I live in Kildare. (Newbridge)
    julep wrote:
    i live in Kildare.
    if i go anywhere else in the country i'm called a dub. i can't win. i'm staying at home. :(

Happens me too! All the time! In Donegal I'm a "townie", in Dublin, a "culchie"!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I have a 10 year old nephew who is a born and bred Dub and has only once been "dowen da cúntree" and he would most likely be classed as a muck savage because even a flippin 10 years old would know the answers to almost all those childish questions :v:

And yes dubs do have an inferiority complex due to them having feck all culture/class/style and just generally being good west brits and buying all the multinational crap thats thrown at them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dutchboy

I must have clicked 95% of all the boxes! :eek:

So its true...........

Rhyme wrote:
    ...But i am a Dub... well suburbs

Ah the suburbs are practically the country anyway!!! I'm talking about inner city dubs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

julep wrote:
    i live in Kildare.

Believe me, I can sympathyse...